Posted by soojinhou > Jan 1, 2015 07:49 AM | Report Abuse
If I'm not mistaken, no change is allowed once the portfolio is logged. So for those who buy Inari, u all might want to have a bit of cash reserve to subscribe the rights issue bcoz I don't think Mr tan will let u sell halfway to get cash to subscribe. Correct?
@OTB, this is a sad news in year 2015. I feel most of the members can benefit from your picks. Do reconsider. Thanks!
Posted by Ooi Teik Bee > Jan 1, 2015 10:06 AM | Report Abuse
Dear valued members,
I had competed in 3 contests in I3, I hope you will excuse me for not participating in 2015 stock pick. I am glad to see there are so many valued members are participating in this great event.
I take this opportunity to wish all valued members here "A Happy and Prosperous New Year 2015".
@investor77, I have invite him again. I hope he can reconsider.
Posted by investor77 > Jan 1, 2015 11:52 AM | Report Abuse
Mr Tan, can please persuade Mr Ooi Teik Bee to participate. His performance is very impressive.
We would very much like to have his opinion.
Also, would be fun if you also have other bloggers put their choice stocks, such as Alex Lu, Goreng addict, winstocks,intellect point, sam , peggy method, black spy, etc
Hi mr tan , you indeed done a great job to many silent reader like us , pls extend the dead line say to end of today or 02/01/2015 since you put the dead line till 31/01 , dont stop half way , is not so good , should be the more the merrier and is 1 time job , pls give notice and carry on , very much appreciated and thanks .
Thanks Tan KW for great effort...i hopes all sifu here continue to gv the advice & we will learn together...put aside all the ego & conflict...focus on the main objective to earn money in Bursa & improve the investment knowledge/skil. Tq
Mr. Tan...just a thought for screening those who had given their portfolio..
To pull out a person's skills in investing.. its best to have portfolio of those who had recommended at least 4 or 5 stocks. Because a single stock or lesser than <5 in portfolio is high risk high gain and cant be of good use for evaluation by the beginners...:)
Perhaps extend the date by another week or 2 to bring in all the great sifus...and only list those who had given some reasons for their recommendation :)..
Then it becomes really useful and easy to monitor..just my thoughts :)
Hi Probability, i think u are right. Maybe more accurate if we need minimum number of counter or maybe all member choose same number of counter. I'm sure the person (like me) who choose more then ten counter will result in middle, i mean he will not be top 5 or last 5 no mater market up or down. For me,2014 yr winner should be Intelligent Investor! He result 14% return with more then 10 ctr. Compare him, i only 5.6% (mostly from dividend only) ! I think his picking can survive for long run... he can double his holding every 5 year... turn 100k to 25.6m in 40 year possible!
1. Stock pick set at 10 counters 2. First 9 stock each stock around 10% in terms of value roundup to 100 share (Board lot). Tenth stock pick the balance to the last unit, disregard fraction of a unit share. 3. To state what is the expected return (10%, 15%, 20%, 50%, 100% etc) 4. To state what is the probability of achieving such a return. 5. Most likely return achieved will be % return multiply by probability. eg Expecting 50% ROI, probability to achieve 50%, likelihood to succeed is 50% x 50% = 25%. If expecting 25% ROI, probability to achieve is 90%, likelihood to succeed is 25% x90% = 22.5%
I believe this way forummer will benefit more if they have confidence in certain personality and prefer to use their stock pick rather than following stock pick by punters putting all bets in one or two warrant.
This is merely a game for syok-syok sendiri, some may just want to become famous if the warrant so picked hit jackpot. Nothing to lose, but whether any people will learn from their so call stock pick?
@trustme, i agree that it is not good to stop half way. Please accept my apology.
But, I have limitation for manage too much portfolio. For each portfolio, I need to take care the dividend, stock split, bonus issue, etc.... and calculate and perform the ranking for the result.
Posted by trustme > Jan 1, 2015 05:51 PM | Report Abuse
Hi mr tan , you indeed done a great job to many silent reader like us , pls extend the dead line say to end of today or 02/01/2015 since you put the dead line till 31/01 , dont stop half way , is not so good , should be the more the merrier and is 1 time job , pls give notice and carry on , very much appreciated and thanks .
@Probability , I like diversification and tend to agree with your view. But, different people have different risk appetite and different investment style. There is no right or wrong.
I would happy if you can help to categorize the portfolio.
Posted by Probability > Jan 1, 2015 10:42 PM | Report Abuse
Mr. Tan...just a thought for screening those who had given their portfolio..
To pull out a person's skills in investing.. its best to have portfolio of those who had recommended at least 4 or 5 stocks. Because a single stock or lesser than <5 in portfolio is high risk high gain and cant be of good use for evaluation by the beginners...:)
Posted by Probability > Jan 1, 2015 10:45 PM | Report Abuse
Perhaps extend the date by another week or 2 to bring in all the great sifus...and only list those who had given some reasons for their recommendation :)..
Then it becomes really useful and easy to monitor..just my thoughts :)
Posted by ks55 > Jan 2, 2015 12:24 AM | Report Abuse
Mere suggestion to the organiser :-
1. Stock pick set at 10 counters 2. First 9 stock each stock around 10% in terms of value roundup to 100 share (Board lot). Tenth stock pick the balance to the last unit, disregard fraction of a unit share. 3. To state what is the expected return (10%, 15%, 20%, 50%, 100% etc) 4. To state what is the probability of achieving such a return. 5. Most likely return achieved will be % return multiply by probability. eg Expecting 50% ROI, probability to achieve 50%, likelihood to succeed is 50% x 50% = 25%. If expecting 25% ROI, probability to achieve is 90%, likelihood to succeed is 25% x90% = 22.5%
I believe this way forummer will benefit more if they have confidence in certain personality and prefer to use their stock pick rather than following stock pick by punters putting all bets in one or two warrant.
I am intend to utilize my balance cash in line with my own strategy in the real market.I am thinking of create a portfolio to do that under [my portfolio] but I think that it is unfair to others participants as the reference price is based on today closing price.This will be final adjustment.Understood that the game rule will be remain until Dec 2015 (and no addition and cash put is permitted) ,however,what is the impact to the game portfolio in case of corporate exercise and movement (ie.Dividend,expiry of warrant)
It it is ok,KW please assist me in buying this too AWC 10000 shares Zelan 5000 shares MBMR WA 10000 shares
Thank you for your kind participation opportunity given. I have not yet complete my analysis for my three counters so I will continue to join you guys for learning this year.
Hope I can equipped myself with better analytical skill to participate in next year.
Lastly, must express my BIG BIG THANK YOU to you for your informative blog. I read your blog everyday and I find it very informative. Keep up the great job.
cheers and have a wonderful year ahead my respected Mr Tan
Wow. This year there will be a lot of participants for the stock pick. This is great. So sad OTB will not be joining. The community will gain a lot of knowledge from him. Maybe Mr Tan can allow OTB to join last perhaps?
And I do think we need to understand Mr Tan KW stand as well. Like he said he have limitation as for each portfolio, he needs to take care the dividend, stock split, bonus issue, etc. basically everything. I'm even surprised (and glad) he even willing to take it 55 portfolios. Challenging really. Really deserve more respect.
Posted by LuvLuv > Jan 2, 2015 08:36 AM | Report Abuse
Dear Tan
I am intend to utilize my balance cash in line with my own strategy in the real market.I am thinking of create a portfolio to do that under [my portfolio] but I think that it is unfair to others participants as the reference price is based on today closing price.This will be final adjustment.Understood that the game rule will be remain until Dec 2015 (and no addition and cash put is permitted) ,however,what is the impact to the game portfolio in case of corporate exercise and movement (ie.Dividend,expiry of warrant)
It it is ok,KW please assist me in buying this too AWC 10000 shares Zelan 5000 shares MBMR WA 10000 shares
Thanks
People who like this
You should check in on some of those fields below.
Title
Category
Comment
Confirmation
Click Confirm to delete this Forum Thread and all the associated comments.
Report Abuse
Please Sign In to report this post as abuse.
Featured Posts
MQ Trader
Introducing MY's First IPO Fund for Sophisticated Investors!
MQ Chat
New Update. Discover investment communities that resonate with your ideas
MQ Trader
M & A Value Partners IPO Equity Fund has been launched - Targeted 13% Return p.a
Latest Videos
0:17
New IPO: O&G healthcare service provider, Metro Healthcare Berhad aims to list on the Ace Market!
MQ Trader 752 views | 5 d ago
New IPO: Life Water Berhad, a manufacturer of drinking water and carbonated beverages, aims to list on the Main Market!
MQ Trader 1437 views | 6 d ago
New IPO: Mega Fortris Berhad, a manufacturer of security seals, aims to list on the Main Market!
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Posted by murali > 2015-01-01 12:11 | Report Abuse
This time is more like circus...