387 comment(s). Last comment by limko1 2016-02-12 17:22

Posted by hikai3698 > 2016-01-17 11:11 | Report Abuse

White men are the only race in this world who are proud of their own language:English! Because they don't feel that their own language is inadequate that they need to learn the language of others. We seldom see any white men speak the language of other races with their family in the public(of this I feel ashamed if compare with them)unlike certain yellow skin Asians who speak English with their children in the public and even name western names for their children as kind of glory. They like to fawn the west,they hope immigrate to the west on the ground that the moon they see in the west is rounder than the moon of their own country. They wish to mix with the west, although the white deny to accept them because of different skin color. Korean and Japanese are another. We seldom see any Japanese or Korean name English names for their children or speak English with their children in the public as an extraordinary. These people firmly keep they dignity, never kowtow to others deserved respectful. Japanese professors or doctors who do not know English are not a big deal, for non ones ridicule at them, while in other Asian countries, even the late Confucius is ridiculed by street sweepers for not knowing English.

c14820

Posted by c14820 > 2016-01-17 18:59 | Report Abuse

Looking at most of the comments, most of them do not understand the message that Mr Koon is trying to emphasize. One is just to show the bad standard of English even though the students score As. We need to work on this rather than trying to ignore this key point. Another point is the word " poor and needy " must be understood very clearly. There are many more poor and needy compared to those few cases mentioned . Do you know how many are studying locally on government loans and working part time to survive ?>

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-17 20:42 | Report Abuse

Actually who didn't laugh reading the letter above must be saint

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-17 20:45 | Report Abuse

Or they didn't understand the English

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-17 20:46 | Report Abuse

And they took very serious on the letter to figure out the messages behind it

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-17 20:47 | Report Abuse

Like a puzzle waiting to be solved

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-17 20:48 | Report Abuse

And there is rewards if it was solved
May be a map lead to a hidden treasure

Bercham11

11 posts

Posted by Bercham11 > 2016-01-19 14:30 | Report Abuse

I did not laugh at the letters and I am not a saint.Everyone has aspirations,hopes and dreams and looking at their letters,they have the qualities to make it in life.

Posted by hikai3698 > 2016-01-20 05:33 | Report Abuse

Certain yellow skin Asians regard English as word of ghost. Other than their own people, the tribes never before saw any other different races, and once their saw a white man, with deeper eye socket and extremely hooked nose, they were terrified, they regarded him as a ghost, and call him Gui Lau(a guy of ghost), and his speech was described as words of ghost. Not only that, asides of them self, they described all other races as ghost, thus a series of ghosts emerged: white ghost or black ghost etc...
In Asian, you speak English accepts honorable. Thus, either beggar or villain, as long as they come from the west, well speaking English, are deserved respectful when they come to Asian countries.
Most of the Asian countries had their own language as national language, and English is not a compulsory for university entry. However, due to the less round of the Asian moon, certain private universities and institutes stick to the 'requirement.' Thus under such circumstance, you have no other choice unless try to learn speak and write ghost's word, or you never can expect to look for a better job. What you can blame is you were birthed to a wrong country, where the color of its people are not as white as milk.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-20 07:45 | Report Abuse

KYY ( and I) certainly do not have your kinds of convoluted thinking.

Being practical is the only criteria for me. ...that is why both my children have English tuition from pre kindergarten to Standard 6 and both went to Chinese schools because the rise of China is already clear enough by the late 1990s.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:00 | Report Abuse

Soon enough this foundation will become the most seeking scholarship because government has no money left to sponsor JPA for future student

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:02 | Report Abuse

Koon will be flood with letter from JPA qualified and high quality student who speak england better than most UTAR standard

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:04 | Report Abuse

Government couldn't afford to sponsor 700 JPA student per year because all of them wanna study medicine and it is very expensive in the other country

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:05 | Report Abuse

Koon wil be flood with 700 letter from genius all over the country

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:09 | Report Abuse

Too bad Koon only can afford 10 letter by now because all of them wanna study medicine if 700 of them wanna do it, Koon will be broke in one year

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-20 22:10 | Report Abuse

Putrajaya has suspended the Public Service Department (JPA) Scholarships for degree courses and the Education Ministry's bursary for pre-university programmes amid falling national revenue.

According to Sin Chew Daily, this was confirmed by Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Wee Ka Siong who raised the issue at the cabinet meeting today following several complaints from high-achieving students.

Wee said he had asked the Prime Minister Najib Abdul Razak to rethink and reinstate the scholarship.

"The prime minister understands that the economy is not good at the moment and the people are facing heavy burden so he has instructed the chief secretary to the government and JPA to come up with a new solution.

"I can't say for certain if there will be a change of decision but we (MCA) have tried our best to appeal the matter because we don't know how the economic situation will develop," Wee was quoted as saying by the Chinese language daily.

The suspension applies to both overseas and local scholarships and affects some 700 placements this year.

Urgent resolution

Wee urged for an urgent resolution to the matter as some university commence their intake as early as Feb 1.

He added that Najib had asked the chief secretary and JPA to submit a report to the cabinet next week with their proposal.

The Sin Chew report also pointed out that some students have questioned why the JPA scholarships were suspended, but not Mara scholarships.

However, Wee declined to respond to this claims, citing that he had not heard them personally.

Asked if the suspension of the JPA scholarships was linked to the planned budget revision on Jan 28, Wee said he did not know.

A check with JPA's website found the "bursary e-filing system" link which is used by students to apply for the scholarships, have also been removed.

Putrajaya is struggling with shrinking revenue as the Brent crude oil price has fallen to a 12-year low, settling at US$27.78 per barrel.

This is in contrast to a high of US$114.81 per barrel in 2014.

Najib has announced that the 2016 budget will be revised to adust for falling revenue and will see government expenditures optimised.

gray

1,158 posts

Posted by gray > 2016-01-20 22:20 | Report Abuse

I'm assuming some of the applicants got A's in their English... How in the world did that happen?

moneyfriend

5,864 posts

Posted by moneyfriend > 2016-01-23 08:24 | Report Abuse

This old man is one leg in the coffin already but yet want to humiliate those young people.

Never look down on young poor people, you will never know where they can go with all the time & potential they have.

While half dead old man like Koon is not much time left, max is 10 years if he can live until 93, making fun at young people is maybe one of their fun thing to do in life.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-23 10:12 | Report Abuse

16 posts by money friend. But pretty obvious who is this money friend....hahahaha
question is why? market down identity also change meh?

moneyfriend

5,864 posts

Posted by moneyfriend > 2016-01-23 10:16 | Report Abuse

Desa, don't assume who am I and I am not anyone who have talked to you before. I know there are conversations among you & others like KB, Icon, whoever.

I am not interested to involve between you & others.

moneyfriend

5,864 posts

Posted by moneyfriend > 2016-01-23 10:19 | Report Abuse

Though I am new here and I talk with things inside. Also, I know you are a man with your own act, by judging from the way you are talking.

Not like paperplane, he is kind of joker in i3, that one for sure.

moneyfriend

5,864 posts

Posted by moneyfriend > 2016-01-23 10:22 | Report Abuse

I use this new ID because someone know my real identity in the other id, so not nice to be seen naked.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 10:42 | Report Abuse

I also use new ID but anyone can redognize me instantly because the accent cannot change

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 10:44 | Report Abuse

If two Icon one is 8080 one is 8888
how can I know if they are same dupe?
of course they are both two different individual I can tell you

Ryan88

1,327 posts

Posted by Ryan88 > 2016-01-23 10:54 | Report Abuse

Haha. Joke of tday. I also know who is that

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 11:04 | Report Abuse

I read the comment and I would instantly recognize the person even if they couldn't tell its name, name is just to fortify my assumption.

moneyfriend

5,864 posts

Posted by moneyfriend > 2016-01-23 11:08 | Report Abuse

That's fine to me, anyway, just continue to assume.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-23 11:18 | Report Abuse

Judging from the reply
It is easy to assume their background.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-24 08:14 | Report Abuse

Mara scholarship is said to be running out of fund to support all their study
koon foundation will be flooded with them too?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-24 13:08 | Report Abuse

Our education system will soon be running out of fund
Teacher underpay now student is not getting any pay but still need to pay for study
May be after JPA scholarship and MARA scholarship, next will be education loan affected.

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-24 13:12 | Report Abuse

PTPTN loans already reduced from roughly half of tuition fees to about 1/3.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-24 13:15 | Report Abuse

Cancelation of scholarship is equally to 100% fund reduced

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-24 13:21 | Report Abuse

2013 ( Form 5) batch promised to be send to Germany is still being honored. Knows of someone < Chinese>, just flew off to Germany.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-24 17:28 | Report Abuse

Koon can sponsor the scholarship to fly to Germany

smetrader

97 posts

Posted by smetrader > 2016-02-07 19:51 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, may I suggest you should just sponsor those who are really poor and could write reasonably good English.

enning22

2,903 posts

Posted by enning22 > 2016-02-12 17:14 | Report Abuse

don't put to much emphasis on language ability,students may not aimed to be "language word-smiths", they could be future scientists and engineers, excel in logics and mathematics,and have creative minds

limko1

283 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2016-02-12 17:22 | Report Abuse

English is important, but that's not the only important thing to consider.some people are just over the top on emphasizing its importance.