387 comment(s). Last comment by limko1 2016-02-12 17:22

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 13:55 | Report Abuse

When the English teacher can barely speak without grammartic error
They want their student to be perfect in the class and exams
I won't question if every student could excel in class but if one or two of them can come up better than the teacher you know what the teacher ego couldn't be challenged

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 14:03 | Report Abuse

Teacher is lower class slave
Engineer is high class slave
So who is the one following the advise from their parent?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 14:05 | Report Abuse

English teacher is among the lowest rank educator and slave
The higher rank teacher the one who teach engineering

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 14:07 | Report Abuse

The highest rank teacher who teach medicine?
Their rank determine their pay check

sharktank

805 posts

Posted by sharktank > 2016-01-14 14:12 | Report Abuse

Tom, if you can do 1% what uncle koon did, you can also spread the good news here. else u better shut your mouth loh.

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-14 14:51 | Report Abuse

pls la, non of your business

Posted by sharktank > Jan 14, 2016 02:12 PM | Report Abuse

Tom, if you can do 1% what uncle koon did, you can also spread the good news here. else u better shut your mouth loh.

Hoteyes

46 posts

Posted by Hoteyes > 2016-01-14 15:06 | Report Abuse

Thanks to Jeff7839,icon8888 and Rosmah Mansur for being fair and sensible...sometimes being poor from a family or having bad english due to a bad educational system is not by choice...if one wishes to give or help or donate do it sincerely and with rules strictly issued out...

Posted by Ng Kiat Siong > 2016-01-14 15:12 | Report Abuse

Those letters remind me when I was young and not any good with the English language and trying to write some letters asking for things from people who had the things I asked for. I chanced upon those letters just a couple of weeks back and they made me flush with embarrassment. But luckily for me, I ended up graduating from a good American university. I admire and applaud Mr Koon noble works on giving away scholarships. The letters on display are indeed bad. I sympathized and feel very sorry for the students, who are humiliated in this way. I hope that they are not negatively affected, but instead, turn the shame around to fuel their determination to do well.

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 15:25 | Report Abuse

Mr Koon, how about giving cash incentives to couples to have more children?

alivetoinvest

1,197 posts

Posted by alivetoinvest > 2016-01-14 15:30 | Report Abuse

"Since the publications of my scholarships offer, a few days ago, my wife is receiving about 10 applications every day. I must say some of them are deserving cases and some are so ridiculous. But here are a few examples for your amusement."

1) Not amused.

2) Everyone has to start from somewhere. Not everyone has good English.

3) You're giving out scholarships for education. Mr Koon, after reading this article, it makes me wonder if you're educated or not.

If a person like Mr Koon can be so rich, being richer should be easy :)

Posted by winnerzhang > 2016-01-14 15:34 | Report Abuse

Nowadays, Malaysian students learn "Communication English". As long as they can convey the message, they will pass or get an A for their English. Never mind the bad grammar which is not emphasized. The fact that the applicants' English are understood shows they are good: mission accomplished. So, what is the problem?

Do not compare colonial time English with Vision 2020 English.

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 15:39 | Report Abuse

Instead of just giving out scholarships, how about donating to the very poor?

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 16:25 | Report Abuse

One more thing. Both my children went to Chinese schools. So, they excel in both Chinese and English.
Follow your racial line is only for politicians from MCA, not for ordinary people.

<Posted by Tom > Jan 14, 2016 01:38 PM | Report Abuse

死爱脸的老头。。。。。。>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 16:27 | Report Abuse

a losers attitude from the Boleh land.

----------------------------

Posted by winnerzhang > Jan 14, 2016 03:34 PM | Report Abuse

Nowadays, Malaysian students learn "Communication English". As long as they can convey the message, they will pass or get an A for their English. Never mind the bad grammar which is not emphasized. The fact that the applicants' English are understood shows they are good: mission accomplished. So, what is the problem?

Do not compare colonial time English with Vision 2020 English.

liewth

Posted by liewth > 2016-01-14 16:37 | Report Abuse

Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.

--------------------------------------------------------
<speakup> Instead of just giving out scholarships, how about donating to the very poor?
14/01/2016 15:39

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-14 16:41 | Report Abuse

huh? what MCA?
You truly disgust me.....and please la don't act smart in front of me.....can laugh die

Posted by Desa20201956 > Jan 14, 2016 04:25 PM | Report Abuse

One more thing. Both my children went to Chinese schools. So, they excel in both Chinese and English.
Follow your racial line is only for politicians from MCA, not for ordinary people.

<Posted by Tom > Jan 14, 2016 01:38 PM | Report Abuse

死爱脸的老头。。。。。。>

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 16:44 | Report Abuse

why you even bother to use an English name....and then go play racial line.
People believe you half even already sure go Holland.

Bullhunter

1,188 posts

Posted by Bullhunter > 2016-01-14 16:47 | Report Abuse

wan to become a teacher also not easy nowadays,,, too many unemployed loh

Posted by Tom > 2016-01-14 16:48 | Report Abuse

zzzzzzz......no time to argue with you all

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 16:49 | Report Abuse

Tomm! MCA was good last time, now MCA is no good. This is a fact!

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 16:50 | Report Abuse

Time has changed. Move on. Dont live in the past. Now is 2016, not 1960s.

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 16:51 | Report Abuse

MCA is history! The MCA today is not the same MCA as in the 1960s. Just like the Umno today is not the Umno of the 1960s.
WAKE UP!

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 16:55 | Report Abuse

In the 1960s, the smart educated chinese join MCA.
Today in 2016, the smart educated chinese join DAP!

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 16:55 | Report Abuse

go back to your dream world, Tom.
Leave the forum to more real people.

25,004 posts

Posted by speakup > 2016-01-14 16:56 | Report Abuse

Also in the 1960s, the smart educated malays join umno.
Today in 2016, the smart educated malays join PKR!

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 17:00 | Report Abuse

you left the DAP as you will leave any struggle.
That's your character,
You can't have the persistence to succeed at any thing.

Posted by blackt90 > 2016-01-14 17:18 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr. Koon,

1) These students are earnestly seeking for your help to finance their studies. You should understand this, as you were previously a scholar from a poor background yourself. I am sure you wouldn’t like to have your application published, even if your name was removed. There is no need to embarrass or make fun of any of these students.

2) There is nothing wrong with studying medicine if one is poor. These students have their own dreams. They are just writing to you to ease the burdens of their family. Your comments seem to imply that poor students shouldn’t go for their dreams if they can’t afford it. I assume the purpose of your scholarships are to provide opportunities for poorer students to seek further education in hope of achieving their dreams. The reasoning in your comment is certainly incongruent with the purpose of your scholarships.

I hope you will remove this post if you genuinely want to help students.

SuperMan 99

1,178 posts

Posted by SuperMan 99 > 2016-01-14 17:20 | Report Abuse

RosmahMansur, you have my full supports!!!

"It is unethical"

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 17:21 | Report Abuse

i now find that i have a lot of similarities with Mr Koon and i like him more.

wakakakakak. laughdieme liao.

p.s, i would do the same if i am giving away scholarship.

SuperMan 99

1,178 posts

Posted by SuperMan 99 > 2016-01-14 17:24 | Report Abuse

blackt90, from your name I guess you born in 1990, you've proved young one can write good english. I fully agree your views.

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 17:27 | Report Abuse

mr koon, pls dont remove, i have a lot of fun reading this thread.

thank you.

LDM. Liao.

540 posts

Posted by 914601117 > 2016-01-14 17:31 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Koon.

Those applicants are in fact more or less cannot afford to study in their preferred choice of educations or those choose the best/expensive fees and hope that someone could sponsor them.

Please do not criticise or condemn at first glance. They are some who has good attitude and potential but need guidance.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:34 | Report Abuse

Student want to study medicine or engineering it is not up to me to decide
However why they insist on it?
Can't you see ymtheir determination reflect from their parent?
If not because of their parent who born them they won't blindly choose any career

limko1

280 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2016-01-14 17:36 | Report Abuse

The highest rank of teacher is one who teaches people how to punt/speculate. Never mind his educational background or experience as long as he can gives tips/ insider news, all will be happy and looked in awe at the flashy car that he drives.

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 17:39 | Report Abuse

i want to be a hollywood star, mr koon pls sponsor me to NewYork Institute of Performing Art. school fee for 4 years degree only USD 400k, u can easily afford la. its my dream, i have strong determination to be a superstar. like jacky chan, or clint eastwood.

my CV attached.

i am form 5 drop out. my height is 4feet 5 inch, i am a male,

my face full of pimples, and i walk like pregnant woman.

i believe i can make it in hollywood!

pls support me. thank you first hor.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:39 | Report Abuse

this generation is less fortunately breed
The premium breed who can speak better English has long ago brain drain by dunno who
I foresee the next few more generation will not only had bad English
Because the brain drain continue the one who couldn't speak English but can speak some native also choose to be balik
The next generation will not speak English they also cannot work hard and they are good tools for ISIS recruits

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:41 | Report Abuse

First we have good English breed brain drain
Next we have good working breed brain drain
Third we have good skill breed brain drain
What will be left after all the good breed left for the good?
And the bad breed continue to make more baby?

Posted by Laughgaodiemeliao > 2016-01-14 17:42 | Report Abuse

p.s 2.

if u want to know how i look like (sorry i cannot afford to buy camera due to family poor, father useless), u can google Jack Ma.

i look exactly like him and height is slightly shorter than him.

p.s 3. Jack Ma is the richest man in China now. dont play play with me hor.

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:44 | Report Abuse

Good breed singer also choose to develop their career oversea
Only left some bad breed rapper who end up being summoned by the enegry company

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:46 | Report Abuse

Bad breed singer make video and now it got banned and they couldn't get back their investment now they choose to be kickstarter instead
While the good breed singer just seeking help from Uncle Sam?

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:48 | Report Abuse

Next generation will not only have bad English
They cannot sing also they also cannot make good decision on their money and their future and end up in jail

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-01-14 17:51 | Report Abuse

The one who challenge LKY now is a good example of bad breed
Their sound is so broken --> bad breed
England is powerful --> bad breed
Attitude powerful --> bad breed
Attire powerful --> bad breed
Make video to insult religion --> bad breed

harpluck

21 posts

Posted by harpluck > 2016-01-14 17:52 | Report Abuse

I don't see what's wrong with the student studying law aboard. If we believe that education is equal - why does the family that makes the best of what they could being bash down because they cannot control currency fluctuation. And the person is not asking anything more than what they can't afford. Looking at today's legal system here - imagine what would happen to this student if he/she were brainwash by local law school. If 30k can bring a good lawyer back here to serve the community I think it is the best investment one can make. Now that we make fun of the person, he/she will likely still strive in life by some help from other parts of the world but we destroy another hope for our nation - all for RM30k.

limko1

280 posts

Posted by limko1 > 2016-01-14 17:58 | Report Abuse

If you get lemon in life, make lemonade out of it. Don't be a cry baby. Not good in English is not a sin, as long as the person is willing to learn, sooner or later, a good command of English is achievable.

RosmahMansur

2,870 posts

Posted by RosmahMansur > 2016-01-14 18:02 | Report Abuse

I feel embarrassed after reading the above emails. I really lost my respect towards KYY. You call yourself a donor ?

Even if they do not fit to receive your scholarship, you shouldn't be littling them in public. The reason of them being poor in English language can be multi factorial. One of them is poor teaching at schools.

Privacy and confidentiality should be outmost importance in dealing with this type of matters.

I think KYY must have forgotten his roots on how he had begun from scratch to someone he is now. Bad karma is catching up against him, lets see how far can he go around by belittling the people around him.

Posted by optimustree > 2016-01-14 18:03 |

12,703 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-01-14 18:11 |

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 18:13 | Report Abuse

well written, Exact same thoughts but that Icon calls me naive but not you....hopefully.

Posted by RoseMallow > Jan 14, 2016 05:09 PM | Report Abuse

Dear all, Mr. Koon, indeed, didn't convey his messages in the most diplomatic way. But, by

Desa20201956

2,286 posts

Posted by Desa20201956 > 2016-01-14 18:13 | Report Abuse

What good has Ah Jib done for Malaysia?