2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-06-27 22:28 | Report Abuse

Well written.
Icon 1-0 KC.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 22:34 | Report Abuse

Icon8888,

U cannot see yourself how different from Kc Chong. Both of you have very limited similarity. Different people different preference.

Anyway, KC chong don't mind to rilek keep one counter which you are impatient for that. You have ur winning tips while he has his very promising type.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-06-27 22:41 | Report Abuse

So any stock can buy? Tomorrow up?

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 22:45 | Report Abuse

Tomorrow I aim two stocks.

If free I will trade

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2016-06-27 22:55 | Report Abuse

<<KC's portfolio did very well in 2013. Prestariang, Jobstreet and Pintaras shines, delivering more than 100% return. The interesting thing is that all these three superstars' profit did not grow much after he bought into them. The re-rating was caused by Valuation Multiples Expansion (for example, Jobstreet's PE Multiple was 10 times when he bought the stock, but it expanded to 30 times within two years).>>>

When the price of a stock goes up for no sound reason, this high price is unlikely to be maintained.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-06-27 23:00 | Report Abuse

Value trader is taxing unless you really enjoy doing research.....Do research cum trading in your blood. I prefer KC type before reaching retirement age....so relaxing lifestyle. Lol

Jeffbkt

130 posts

Posted by Jeffbkt > 2016-06-27 23:07 | Report Abuse

KC method is to buy good fundamental stock with discount. Understanding FA especially cash flow allow him to know whether the managenent is efficient and consistent in managing the company asset to generate the revenue. From here he has the confidence to calculate the intrinsic value using either DCF or DDF or absolute PE as he assume that the efficiency will persist in the next few years time. He also advocate diversify as he acknowledge that he may not be right all the time also with intention to lower the risk of putting all eggs in one basket. in fact it is the downside that he is more worry than upside but of course if company fundemental had changed I do think he will sell. So it is not true that he will hold for the stock for very long time.

14,403 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-06-27 23:17 | Report Abuse

My conclusion on KC’s strategy on top of what Icon has mentioned there is a stress free strategy…..using a statistical proven principles with tapping potentials from (X) ‘the lack of patience from investors/traders and over reactive nature’ (not many can adopt these including me as I am too old to have such patience in this rather short life).

Any country, stocks, men, women, or sentences…….or even neurons in brain cells requires some of ‘potential competitive advantage’ (X) in order to add value to the system it is in to justify its existence and be rewarded in return with gains. This is the core principle ….you must have something to give in order to be rewarded…I think that’s what Icon, KC, OTB, Chrissycon, and all the telegram, FB groups created or the Bloggers who make quick buck from their postings.

For a country to thrive it may be that it has oil reserve (Saudi) or palm oil which grows in equatorial weather (Malaysia) or mining minerals like in Australia……. Men has to have physical strength and women may need to feminine nurturing characteristic to compete with the same sex for reproduction.. neuron which is most beneficial for the human survival develop more interconnections just like how small branch roads can become super highways if there is a demand to use the path.

The key word here is having the ‘competitive edge’ (X) over the others……this is exactly the reason for one to pay above the book value for a stock or lesser depending on its sustainable ROIC. The Market Value Addition MVA due to competitive advantage.

Every new business will have competitive advantage initially and then finally gets eroded by competitors who comes up with similar products or services with lesser margin….this is a very powerful phenomenon which cannot be avoided unless the management keeps coming with innovative product to improve or maintain its ROIC…this is called mean reversion. All ROIC will finally go back to COC – cost of capital.

Those who had been on OTB group would have realized that nowadays his stocks recommendation does not perform as it had used to be….as his competitive advantage – his ROIC is slowly reverting to the mean…. This can also happen to strategies from Icon…as what is working now…will no longer work in future ‘if everyone start thinking the same way’….

So, perhaps in that sense…. KC’s strategy may have a stronger MOAT….i.e a stronger resistance to fading to mean reversion in the zero sum game of stock market.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-06-27 23:19 | Report Abuse

Wao, Keen to read Duit bro articles.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:19 | Report Abuse

I rest first. U guys keep on . Tomorrow I come back to tick attendance.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:20 | Report Abuse

VenFx.

This is Icon's article..not mine.

I always produce kicimiao and boring non FA non TA articles nia

Posted by Pakcik Saham > 2016-06-27 23:21 | Report Abuse

I like kc chong philosophy

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:23 | Report Abuse

I will appoint Kc Chong type person to run my company's fund. I will subscribe Icon8888's latest write up to invest in short term profitable stocks.

As a businessman I wan to sapu all wealth

Posted by VenFx > 2016-06-27 23:23 | Report Abuse

Wonder, Any Sifus will discover for the next To Be Blue chip Counter ?

Posted by VenFx > 2016-06-27 23:25 | Report Abuse

I mean really keen on read your next counter from Duit bro ,too .

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:26 | Report Abuse

Thanks VenFx bro..

No 灵感慢慢来

Posted by VenFx > 2016-06-27 23:26 | Report Abuse

Rest well Duit .
So, that your focus will sharp .
Can kill dragon & lion next morning.

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:27 | Report Abuse

Hahahah

Kill dragon? Wakakak... Sayang dragon n katak only

Posted by VenFx > 2016-06-27 23:29 | Report Abuse

Gd nite, Duit .

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-27 23:31 | Report Abuse

Good night VenFx and all....

Hope we have time to trade tomorrow

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-06-27 23:50 | Report Abuse

As I have thought and now confirmed by Icon8888 the difference between KC Chong and Icon8888 is that KC is a long term value investor whereas Icon8888 is a short term value trader. Both see value in potential stocks and do their respective analysis Only difference is one holds for longer (more) gain while the other is happy with quick (less) gain.

One is a tortoise, the other is a hare. You know who the eventual winner is.

Posted by iamsoonoob > 2016-06-28 00:22 | Report Abuse

both are good method but the most important we all here want to know which ones are the next coming superstocks........wouldnt you all agree on that?the next coming multibagger super growth stock

value88

705 posts

Posted by value88 > 2016-06-28 08:55 | Report Abuse

Quote "I undertook the study to find out whether his method is different from mine, and if different, in what way. I want to find out whether there is anything I can borrow or adopt, if not the entire package, at least some useful parts that can augment my own strategy." Unquote.

The above is what I meant by "flexible" in our investment strategy. We should stick to our winning strategy and fine tune our skills from time to time by learning from other successful people. It would be a waste of time if we just boost our own strategy and criticise on others. We gain nothing if we do so. As what Icon8888 mentioned before, our ultimate aim is to make money from the market and improve our family life financially.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-06-28 10:14 | Report Abuse

Ultimately, I suppose the difference is how much time you have and how much effort you are willing to put into maximizing return. KC Chong's method is fairly passive, he rides on his investment long term assuming that the companies he invest can continue to utilise capital as efficiently as in the past. It is well suited to full time employees who don't have the luxury of time to scour bursa announcements every night, follow up on industry news every day, or monitor competitor's performance etc. You and I on the other hand, are active investors who uses every second to push our annual return beyond those of passive investors. We try to find unpolished gem, and take on higher risks in doing so, which is probably unwise for the general population who needs to be more concerned about keeping his/her job first and foremost before worrying about investment. So there's no which method is more superior. While your value trader method may generate higher return, you paid the price through time and effort. KC Chong may generate lower return, but he can go on cruise for years without a care in the world and still have money left over after funding his cruise from the money he made from his investments haha.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 10:27 | Report Abuse

I see ... KC went on cruise... So that is what he does when he is not blogging... Good life ah... New Zealand has such pristine environment, it must be a pleasure to be outdoor...

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-06-28 10:28 | Report Abuse

Icon went on air mah. Lagi Siok.

14,403 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-06-28 10:33 | Report Abuse

you had said it very clearly soojinhou...on what I meant as stress free.

This 'active' investing method , currently do seems to show the potential benefits clearly.....due to its short term nature unlike the passive strategy which even requires lots of patience to feel convinced...but again that is where its advantage is hidden.

Perhaps with guys like Icon...one need not be too 'active' to benefit out of it...or be overly 'passive' to lose out on that passive strategy...he he

pisanggoreng

1,065 posts

Posted by pisanggoreng > 2016-06-28 10:33 | Report Abuse

There is no one strategy that fits all, but there is a strategy that fit you.
KC is KC
ICON is ICON
me is me
different psychology different mode of play
you believe KC 100% , you can't win
you believe ICON 100%, you also can't win
you believe me 100%, die faster
God is kind,
He want you to prove that you are better than others
so, a lot of debate going on
very very good.
more the big sifu argue , more we learn .
they gain nothing, we gain all
believe me,
there is free lunch in this world
but ,
you will never get any free lunch from OTB
no money no talk ,
anything wrong ?
nothing wrong .
to give or not to give, to argue or not to argue, the decision is yours
I did not force you to believe or to agree with what I said

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 10:59 | Report Abuse

how is Baby Soros ?

soros228 Icon went on air mah. Lagi Siok.
28/06/2016 10:28

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-28 11:08 | Report Abuse

KC bbq kangaroo in NZ......... itu pasal I marah him until he disappear liao...

I dun like ppl Bbq kangaroo in NZ...................... kalau bbq kena la tapao sikit

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 11:13 | Report Abuse

they ba b q kiwi in NZ, not kangaroo

Posted by duitKWSPkita > 2016-06-28 11:22 | Report Abuse

ohhh like that ar???

sour lo

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-06-28 12:22 | Report Abuse

Icon baby big already.
But my capital getting smaller. Hahahaha.
Kindly enlighten me.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 12:45 | Report Abuse

Happy to hear baby doing well. Money slowly slowly can earn

soros228

2,032 posts

Posted by soros228 > 2016-06-28 13:16 | Report Abuse

Icon 8888, pls guide me.
Desperate already.

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-06-28 13:48 | Report Abuse

Icon8888 did you take a look at CNMC Goldmine? If you have put in a stake instead of Bornoil you would be laughing to the bank by now.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 13:52 | Report Abuse

Oh I see. I didn't buy. Thanks for sharing the info. You are one of the many sifus for me here in i3

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-06-28 14:01 | Report Abuse

Eh don't say like dat, we are colleagues and we share notes. Anyway, thanks for spending so much time to make the community more positive and productive. I don't know how you get my notes because I don't post my notes in public, but your notes are meticulous and well researched. Appreciate that.

21,562 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-06-28 14:02 | Report Abuse

who need a Sochai to rate???

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-06-28 14:03 | Report Abuse

You see why I don't post my notes in public? Haha. I don't want to benefit assholes like the person who just insulted you.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-06-28 14:09 | Report Abuse

Don't bother about him
He came out and bark few rounds and will disappear

21,562 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-06-28 14:14 | Report Abuse

-&&&& negative return STILL YTD!

SejukSam

1,001 posts

Posted by SejukSam > 2016-06-28 14:22 | Report Abuse

keep it up icon!

Posted by kcchongnz > 2016-06-28 15:28 | Report Abuse

Posted by soros228 > Jun 27, 2016 10:28 PM | Report Abuse
Well written.
Icon 1-0 KC.

Agreed. Thanks icon8888 for this article.

valuelurker

1,133 posts

Posted by valuelurker > 2016-06-28 17:27 | Report Abuse

Its all rather tiring kcchong. Everyday its about harping the same old stories, "im better, backed by research" bla bla bla.

Look, we know. FA works. We know

You could have been so much more. Instead you chose a path of mediocrity.

Spouting useless articles 'defending' your methods, 'answering' all the detractors when we all know its just a pitiful attempt to drum up interest in your course.

Do you see any of the value investing guru's touting their courses? Nay.

So much more, yet you chose the path of mediocrity. Wisdom is wasted on the old. You would think the old would want to leave a legacy, but nay, they want your small fees. A pity, really.

14,403 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-06-28 17:33 | Report Abuse

just to poke and stimulate debate here.. i would say:

'TA has highest vulnerability for erosion of its competitive advantage with time'....

'BA....without any concrete data is the 'master of speculation' '

'Believing in prominent investors with lots of money made from stock market ....is like trying to cheat devil'

14,403 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-06-28 17:38 | Report Abuse

valuelurker and soros228..u all make people very sad already now...karma will be after u!

14,403 posts

Posted by probability > 2016-06-28 17:48 | Report Abuse

this is what I can say after watching Kung Fu Panda:

Tai Lung had back stabbed Master Shifu.... :(