stick to your method if it suits you, all the best to you

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-11-16 11:30 | Report Abuse

I come here to give a LIKE...

FayeTan

Posted by FayeTan > 2016-11-16 11:31 | Report Abuse

hi Icon, I believe USD will go up as well but I don't like furniture stocks as I think eventually Trump will increase import tariff for oversea furniture What do you think?

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-11-16 11:32 | Report Abuse

I think I will take into consideration of OTB's fengsui story for my 2017 portfolio and trading plans

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 11:35 | Report Abuse

Fayetan, it is impossible to know. We will have to take a bet

FayeTan hi Icon, I believe USD will go up as well but I don't like furniture stocks as I think eventually Trump will increase import tariff for oversea furniture What do you think?
16/11/2016 11:31

10bagger10

1,007 posts

Posted by 10bagger10 > 2016-11-16 11:37 | Report Abuse

Icon sifu got consider complet?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 11:42 | Report Abuse

tak ada lah. I like stocks that have potential for earning growth within 12 months

Posted by cruger12345 > 2016-11-16 11:42 | Report Abuse

Funny... I take the view that Trump can't get what he wants to do done accroing to his pleadge during the election. Somehow he has to compromises.... USD up meanign yiled will be up... if teh yield up how is US is going to borrow with his current debt situation. It is easy to say USD will up .... but I doubt it... I don't think US wants Strong dollar. Yuan is at 8 years low .... It is illogical to have 2 super economic poer to have a strong dollar and weak yuan ... Only time can tell

Posted by ConnieChoo2015 > 2016-11-16 11:42 | Report Abuse

Hello Icon, Thank you for sharing all the information.
It seems that you are reducing the airasia shares form your portfolio from 1/2 to 1/3 since Sept? The Airasia price slump continuously this few days, what is your advise?

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 11:45 | Report Abuse

yes I reduce. I still believe in the leasing unit sale story, but the risk profile has changed so I must be discipline to finetune

Posted by CharlesT > 2016-11-16 11:47 | Report Abuse

Got study OTB's fengsui story or not? 1998/2008/2018??

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-11-16 11:51 | Report Abuse

thanks for sharing, bro icon888.(^o^)

connie

37,592 posts

Posted by connie > 2016-11-16 11:57 | Report Abuse

thanks so much icon .. just one post, i sort of comprehend the macro side of things !! i read newspaper top to bottom .. bottom to top .. then give up :( but u provide so much clarity in a few para :)

wkitwing

77 posts

Posted by wkitwing > 2016-11-16 11:59 | Report Abuse

sifu icon8888,just curious to know how you think about chinwel?another export counter beneficiary of strong USD and the the booming infrastructure development in south east asia in the near future as chinwel sell some of these required materials.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 11:59 | Report Abuse

u r welcome

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 12:00 | Report Abuse

I stay away from chin well because I don't know how the chinese competition will affect them

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-11-16 12:03 | Report Abuse

good sharing

Abismail

651 posts

Posted by Abismail > 2016-11-16 12:04 | Report Abuse

Hi icon...tq ...i prefer TGUAN

Posted by soojinhou > 2016-11-16 12:05 | Report Abuse

Well, to avoid Donald Trump's enacting tariff against all imports, safer bet is export counters that don't sell to US, like Hevea and Tguan.

Posted by VenFx > 2016-11-16 12:07 | Report Abuse

hmmm , Air asia .

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-11-16 12:10 | Report Abuse

Icon has reshuffled his portfolio....His capital must be very big to make early preparations. I'm still waiting upcoming QR by this month.

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2016-11-16 12:11 | Report Abuse

Icon888, what is ur view on cimb

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2016-11-16 12:11 | Report Abuse

Icon fund must be very big, can buy so many stocks

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 12:17 | Report Abuse

I am still very bullish about CIMB. If you ignore the price weakness due to foreign funds pull out, they are supposed to reach all time high profit by 2018 (based on various analysts' projection).

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 12:17 | Report Abuse

tkp I am a small fly.

Invest1188

772 posts

Posted by Invest1188 > 2016-11-16 12:19 | Report Abuse

Thanks icon

Kenz

181 posts

Posted by Kenz > 2016-11-16 12:35 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon..useful guide for my 2017 portfolio.really helpful

curious2

1,812 posts

Posted by curious2 > 2016-11-16 12:38 | Report Abuse

Why no more talk AirAsia?

angku

489 posts

Posted by angku > 2016-11-16 12:41 | Report Abuse

Is rubber price increase going to affect supermax earning?

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-11-16 12:46 | Report Abuse

bro icon888, what is your view about plantation stock ? & bjcorp ??

Kyou

1,225 posts

Posted by Kyou > 2016-11-16 12:49 | Report Abuse

Thx sifu icon for sharing.
Icon8888 aldy told us so much abt AirAsia, the last mention was believe the sales of leasing unit..Lol..lets pray pray..

Stockwatch

100 posts

Posted by Stockwatch > 2016-11-16 12:49 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing and giving us the macro viewpoints.Just would like to add to your views.On the export sector there would be new headwinds approaching.I would sum it as the pull and push factor.The government has put the freeze on foreign workers and has lifted the ban on certain sectors like manufacturing.However there is the push factor at play...foreign workers now in Malaysia would have finished their contracts and would not renew their contracts.Consider the following...exchange rate US$ RM end December 2014 3.50 , end December 2015 4.29 and today about 4.35.The foreign worker is repatriating less now in terms of savings and it is not an attractive option as they would rather work in a country for 2 years with a stable currency and less inflation as he is taxed 6% GST also for buying cigges and maggi mee :(
So the plans for MyEg to go to rent out hostels to foreign workers would seem a daunting task now.Just my 2 sens (and shrinking) opinion.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2016-11-16 12:52 | Report Abuse

Ricky I bought some jtiasa. Just in case cpo plummets, at least I still have FFB growth

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2016-11-16 12:58 | Report Abuse

I follow you, u buy what i sailang what....wakakakakak we follow Donald, sure win...

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2016-11-16 13:04 | Report Abuse

so u only choose jtiasa for plantation stock? jtiasa is my top pick now. (^o^)

bro icon888, what is ur view if i plan major buy in for mbsb & bjcorp in mid 2017 ?

Op3rs

396 posts

Posted by Op3rs > 2016-11-16 13:05 | Report Abuse

mr icon, may i know what is your opinion on eg?

OrangKuat

292 posts

Posted by OrangKuat > 2016-11-16 13:18 | Report Abuse

Hi Icon, looking forward you write more blog regarding to Airasia.

Posted by Ezra_Investor > 2016-11-16 13:21 | Report Abuse

Hello Icon8888 bro, it's been awhile hasn't it?
How are you faring? From your article I assume you have been doing well?

Actually, with WTK you already have a proxy to CPO, so no need to worry too much about it.

Anyway, not all Value Investors hold their stocks indefinitely.
This is a trait only practiced by certain value investors like Buffett, Graham, Peter Lynch. Other value investor such like Marks, Browne does not hold indefinitely and sell when it reaches it's above intrinsic value.
I believe you belong to the latter group. No right or wrong, just different strategies for different individuals.

Posted by ConnieChoo2015 > 2016-11-16 13:25 | Report Abuse

Thank you Icon sifu.
according to your normally practice, will you sell you "good" stock (stock that growing every quarter)when there is "big" correction?

master_tan

690 posts

Posted by master_tan > 2016-11-16 13:50 | Report Abuse

hello icon8888, its been a while not hear from you. Good to see this article helping ppl on the 2017 portfolio management.....

Posted by PlsGiveBonus > 2016-11-16 13:52 | Report Abuse

Reshuffle just because of Trump
That is absurd

21,542 posts

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2016-11-16 13:55 | Report Abuse

haha. so next 4 years export?

linges

2,689 posts

Posted by linges > 2016-11-16 14:05 | Report Abuse

good article...

Posted by foreign_fund > 2016-11-16 14:29 | Report Abuse

Donald Trump is our new President. His policy is buy US first. Buy oversea last.

jjjj4

10 posts

Posted by jjjj4 > 2016-11-16 14:58 | Report Abuse

thx for sharing..Thumb up forIcon8888

ronnietan

141 posts

Posted by ronnietan > 2016-11-16 15:19 | Report Abuse

Congrats, Icon8888, I see your articles get a lot of response, all favourable.
Welcome back.

Posted by cheunnla > 2016-11-16 15:19 | Report Abuse

thanks for sharing. Whats your view on homeriz?

meathere

748 posts

Posted by meathere > 2016-11-16 16:21 | Report Abuse

Icon,

From what I see from export stocks (value + growth) stocks combination in 1st year to growth stock of AA in 2nd year. For 2017 is another mix bag of value & growth stocks.

What I still like in the 2017 selections for the like of - Geshen, Hevea, Jayatiasa, Latitud, Poh Huat, Prolexus, Supermax, Thong Guan, WTK - there still have the basis for a good company such as values of consistent operations, good returns on capital and a pretty healthy balance sheet.

I also believe no matter who is the US president or how radical he/she is, if a company continuously derive intrinsic value from their ability to generate profit and proven consistently to be able deliver healthy earnings is a safe bet. The macro and external factors like change in tariff, demand, forex, and trade policy are consider as bonus advantages or disadvantages to a company.

Btw - since your 2017 is a mix bag of selection between value & growth stocks, guess it is covered in both ways since value stocks tend to outperform during economic growth period while growth stocks perform better in general when the economy turn to weaker. Unless anyone got a working crystal ball to tell what lies in the future, I am all ear for it.

Good sharing, hope for more constructive inputs and brainstoriming ideas everyone.

Cheers.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2016-11-16 16:48 | Report Abuse

LIKE. thanks icon8888. couldn't agreed more on "50% skill, 50% luck".

Tee Tom

167 posts

Posted by Tee Tom > 2016-11-16 18:42 | Report Abuse

uncle icon, Didnt you look into a brighting star superlon?