19 people like this.

81 comment(s). Last comment by sharonchin 2017-04-16 20:01

Posted by probability > 2017-04-01 16:51 | Report Abuse

Wonderful words from Icon...i totally agree. i3 is like a treasure now for me..

Lets not forget the strong influence from KC Chong who had helped people to 'reason' in i3...i would say he is the number one catalyst for the evolution of i3.

JN88

11,670 posts

Posted by JN88 > 2017-04-01 16:53 | Report Abuse

I3 is a small community, can also known as small IB bank, small University and so many other name can be planted. If continuously in this way. Gurantee many super investor will born here later.

So can buy tomorrow?

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-01 17:11 | Report Abuse

FEW for all
ALL for few

Thx to mentor Icon8888

jayalbert

1,574 posts

Posted by jayalbert > 2017-04-01 17:12 | Report Abuse

It s like we r in a class, got super smart, got super idiot, got bully, got introvert/extrovert, got clown, got sincere people, got people with good intention to share knowledge n experience for others to make money especially rookies n newbies, n of cos got villain .. Ha ha

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-01 17:12 | Report Abuse

Some seems doesnt change much...say koon koon n cpteh...

AllWin

782 posts

Posted by AllWin > 2017-04-01 17:21 | Report Abuse

Only join i3 in 2014? I thought you are here since ages ago by looking at the quality write up you have delivered.

jayalbert

1,574 posts

Posted by jayalbert > 2017-04-01 17:26 | Report Abuse

@fortune bull, u probably missed one name, that s bcz he s quite low profile .. His name is @jay. Check out all his comments, v informative, with facts n no bull shitting

apini

1,440 posts

Posted by apini > 2017-04-01 17:30 | Report Abuse

this morning there is on talking about DAP
that is very bad.... I suspect the intention is most likely to safeguard some BN crony companies which they have put all their monies in

jayalbert

1,574 posts

Posted by jayalbert > 2017-04-01 17:36 | Report Abuse

Yea, I know that he s an intelligent guy when I read his comments..n I know a lot of clowns too.. U all know who la

Posted by probability > 2017-04-01 17:48 | Report Abuse

another i hope i have on i3 evolution here....all those new ids less than a few months old ..with very few comments will slowly disappear...

reason is unless your comments are informative..you are just wasting space and time of others including yourself...people will stop giving weightage on these....except for some newbies with very little knowledge and cash...this newbies are not going to 'move the market' anyway..

4,592 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2017-04-01 17:52 | Report Abuse

Dear all
I actually like calvintaneng and admire his persistent and consistence in promoting those stocks with deep value assets but selling for the song. At least he always back up his valuation with study of all the small detail he can found on the company’s annual report and make his conclusion with some spice up optimism. He place high premium on assets (land and building) which is understandable as he is living in a land scarcity city state of Singapore. Of cause he can be a bit annoyance (like a flying bee keep hovering around the ear) as he likes to post his quick comments all over the place.
I also notice they are many KYY critics and his most vocal supporter stockmanmy exchanging fire and insulting each other non-stop. I only wish all can keep our comments in civil manner as this is a sharing platform to enhance our knowledge in share selection.
Welcome all the Sifus in i3 to give their diverse view on share selection. However please take full responsibility in whatever share you buy. It is your money to lose or to gain and the choice is always yours. If you have made a bad choice then learn from your mistake and move on. No need to place blame on other forever.

Wishing all A happy and prosperous year.

bercham11

11 posts

Posted by bercham11 > 2017-04-01 17:54 | Report Abuse

May I ask who started i3investor?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-01 18:02 | Report Abuse

I see you have done well for yourself.

Here is another very good article.....

HONG Kong-based Value Partners Group chairman and co-chief investment officer Datuk Seri Cheah Cheng Hye, also known as the Warren Buffett of Asia, is a former Star journalist who becomes one of the most influential fund managers in Asia.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/moneymoney/119599.jsp

extracts

"So you believe more in quantitative methods when buying stocks?

No, although we also use that for ourselves. Remember what I said about our formula for investing?

Its based on the 3Rs. The right business, the right people and the right price. The most difficult R is the right human being."

When I first join i3 last year, this forum is dominated by OTB and KC and their quantitative formulas and ratios....hardly any discussions on business and people.

But this forum also have great bloggers such wealth wizard and bones......their writings are easy to read, and addresses business, people and numbers with equal competence.

As Datuk Sri Cheah says, numbers are the easiest, it is all in front of you....but all his mistakes comes from misreading the people.

musangfoxking

3,548 posts

Posted by musangfoxking > 2017-04-01 18:17 | Report Abuse

yaloh!! talk 3 talk 4 all the time!!!! aiyoh, just listen to the great bomoh!!! just buy.. when he says so!!!!! kikikiki!!!

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-01 18:18 | Report Abuse

calvin is ok

Calvin is an estate agent and we all know what to expect.

hard assets is what calvin wants.

hard assets is fine...except no one has infinite lifes and infinite capital and infinite patience.

linges

2,680 posts

Posted by linges > 2017-04-01 18:19 | Report Abuse

:))

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-04-01 18:25 | Report Abuse

I am ok with whatever view as long as consistent

Hypocrisy irked me. Other people high gearing not ok, own stocks high gearing is ok

I dislike intellectual dishonesty

It means you are not providing a fair view. Instead you are politicking. Which defeat the purpose of this forum to share info and opinion effectively

abangadik

2,305 posts

Posted by abangadik > 2017-04-01 18:32 | Report Abuse

well said icon... then someone will come out and defend him/herself again on their stockpick..lolz.. oh well it is their money not ours..

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-01 18:36 | Report Abuse

icon

high gearing in toll roads and IPP business is fine.
high gearing in manufacturing is asking for trouble.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2017-04-01 18:47 | Report Abuse

It doesn't bother me whether Calvin view is right or wrong. It is his view. He is entitled to it. But I do have issue with people lying and spreading wrong info. That makes us need to run around to put off fire. Waste of time for everybody

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-01 18:56 | Report Abuse

when I first joined, this forum is dominated by people teaching, applying and using 20 formulas and valuation methods all based on historical data....and proud to have made millions , worth millions. A generation of number crunchers.

As if investing is so simple, that when I point that out, I became a fake accountant.

It is easy to see that the more rules, the more strict the rules, the higher the likelihood the whole portfolio will be full of stocks of the same characteristics.

FA and TA are tools. These are not guarantors of success. But sometimes presented as magic wards that will turn poor people to rich people ...what rubbish.

Posted by probability > 2017-04-01 19:16 | Report Abuse

another longterm evolution direction for i3 i foresee....or wish

all those bloggers outside i3 ..suggest to have your blogs in i3 itself...there is no special advantage by having your personal blog separately...there are too many bloggers already. (Unless those are private blogs for a fee).

I think it would be better to come out from the cocoon and lay out the facts in i3....your confidence to present it openly and face criticism has strong effects too and its way more efficient.

i3 will be like 'google' for information source...

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2017-04-01 19:48 | Report Abuse

i joined i3 in dec 2014,and this feeling of yours is shared equally by me..indeed there are many talented ppl here at i3..

(I joined i3 in 2014. Since then, I was exposed to various information and concepts provided by forum members. That benefited me a lot. I now have better feel of the market, various stocks and strategies. My performance had improved a lot as a result.)

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-04-01 20:08 |

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-01 20:39 | Report Abuse

The evolution of the real Warren Buffet into buyer of Apple and Airlines shows you there is no permanent rules.

Ricky Kiat

1,356 posts

Posted by Ricky Kiat > 2017-04-01 21:31 | Report Abuse

stock market like a gold mine, i3 forum as a library for miner . the miner who have right attitude & right method eventually will dig out plenty of gold. time will tell.

tkp2

3,027 posts

Posted by tkp2 > 2017-04-01 21:48 | Report Abuse

paperplane still the same low standard paperbrain after 1-2 years, we all no longer tiu tiu lor, grow up lah is 2017 already

Posted by KingOfLeons > 2017-04-01 21:50 | Report Abuse

So much noise....

Posted by paperplane2016 > 2017-04-01 23:24 |

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-01 23:34 | Report Abuse

I thank all the i3 sifus for their teachings especially Icon888, KYY,KChongnz, Paperplane, Stockmanny, Calvintan, Chansifu & etc. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. :-))

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-04-01 23:52 | Report Abuse

The smartest ones are in HSI forum. They can predict market trend damn accurate. That means in bull or bear they also earn. Not like many only can earn from bull. A 97/98 or 2008 crash will satu kali wipes out all the gain accumulated in around 8 yrs.

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-04-01 23:53 | Report Abuse

So far I see the best is "fairplayer".

Posted by cheoky > 2017-04-02 00:56 | Report Abuse

unicorn if you are looking at competitive lense, where is the space for newbie or oldman to invest and get rich? Why not invest in a way that does not require continuous intelligent? my heart is weak and small..

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-04-02 01:13 | Report Abuse

Newbie must take maximum risk; oldman take minimum risk.
The best trading technique in stock market would be:
All-in stocks in bull market, punt the index put warrants in bear market.
Thats why I say predicting market trend is first, picking winning stocks comes second.
This way, you will never lose in stock market for life.

"Does not require continuous intelligent" means you wanna be passive in investing or more directly lazy. This will not give you earn big money and what if the company share price drops in bear market and coincidentally the company suffer going concern issue then mah die lo.. Thats why must play the stock market by right timing.

Unicorn

768 posts

Posted by Unicorn > 2017-04-02 01:41 | Report Abuse

Actually picking winning stocks very easy only ma.. You dont need what ratio, what MA or what Stochastics one.

Whenever quarter earnings(revenue, PBT & PAT) explode and hit new high for the last 3 years and if the stock is trending flat, you hit free jackpot. Though you must know the ingredients of the sales(not one-off). Nicely written prospect is a big plus. This kind of stock sure fly till next quarter one.

EG this Feb, I bought Lionind @ 0.62 fly to a high of 0.87 in a month.
HHHcorp @ 0.100 fly to 0.13 also in a month. Bioalpha revenue explodes this Feb but I no more capital already. Also fly after QR. CONNECT also fly after QR shows revenue explodes.

So it is that easy in bull market. Now I hope market crash so that I can test my skill in put warrants punting. hehe

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2017-04-02 08:10 | Report Abuse

Unicorn The smartest ones are in HSI forum. Unicorn, u are One of the smartest one. :-))

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 08:55 | Report Abuse

During bull mkt donkey also can play god

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:02 | Report Abuse

During bull, even donkeys become Gods
But no skin no win even during bulls.

and of course forever skeptical like Charles, forever no win.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:04 | Report Abuse

2017 bull like 1993.

Both are cock years.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:04 | Report Abuse

some call it chicken years.

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 09:05 | Report Abuse

No win like charlet bought umw at 5.0+ while plp man bought umwog at 0.75....hmm...interesting

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 09:06 | Report Abuse

Charles no plp skill bought symlife at 0.70+ n plp man gets free tips fm koon to buy jaks at rm1.30+

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 09:07 | Report Abuse

No plp make 20%+ paper gain while plp make 10%+ paper gain...

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 09:08 | Report Abuse

So to plp or not plp??

Posted by VenFx > 2017-04-02 09:13 | Report Abuse

Stockmanmy , follow ne punt the chick...
Its $0.520 now. Kikiki ,,, Tp very lucrative

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:38 | Report Abuse

Jaks I make a lot of money
It pays to be close to the market maker

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:42 | Report Abuse

EG...looks like a good one from risk reward perspective anf from technical perspective.

Fundamentally, it looks like a smaller version of VS but VS gets all the attention but EG none...why is that so?

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 09:47 | Report Abuse

UMWOG can make a lot of money but must have long term perspective and let PNB/ Petronas do their magic.

Posted by stockmanmy > 2017-04-02 10:16 | Report Abuse

charles

you know there are people like you in this world?. They always end up in failures.

Know why? because you are so full with negativity.

14,538 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2017-04-02 10:20 | Report Abuse

I only negative against assholes,crooks etc...so like this also will end up in failures?i m very scare now...