11 people like this.

108 comment(s). Last comment by pdchs 2018-10-16 11:41

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 13:20 | Report Abuse

Nice to hear Jay's opinion...i certainly agree

I still think the best way to achieve it is by selling assets.

Having a small and potent country ( like a small business organisation)...is better than a big corporate where things get complicated to manage...and end up having the management itself becoming a big hole....for draining the country's money...

30% of the government revenue is going to government salary & fees...

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 13:23 | Report Abuse

trim the assets that have no competitive advantage in the long run....

i see oil could be a good idea (e.g, listing of Petronas)

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 13:27 | Report Abuse

all these taxes are only acting like resistors in the flow of electricity (electrons)...the flow of business..

it impedes the agility of businesses

12,847 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2018-10-14 13:30 | Report Abuse

Introducing some taxes into the stock market transactions will change the behaviours in the players for the better.

I don't think it will be as catastrophic as that portrayed by the doom preachers.

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-14 13:30 |

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 13:30 | Report Abuse

TAXES..

it significantly reduces Malaysian businesses competitive advantage against foreign business

a big chunk of all Malaysian businesses 'market value addition' is destroyed.

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 13:37 | Report Abuse

Its like the parents asking their children to wear a 'steel boot' and compete in a 100 Meters or Marathon run with their school mates...

just because they 'seemingly cannot afford' a Nike feather weight shoe

Posted by stockraider > 2018-10-14 13:41 | Report Abuse

Go and cut cost...cut corruption.....!!
Go and ensure ur monies well spend and productive loh...!!
Come up with the right policies that pro growth and encourage entrepreneurship and exports loh....!!
Revamp the govt system to make it smooth to avoid little napoloen interfering loh...!!
Revamp your education, training , culture system to fulfil the current commercial needs.
Stop politicing on race and religion but concentrate helping B40 and M40 loh.....!!

That should be sufficient to make msia great loh....!!

Posted by cheoky > 2018-10-14 13:48 | Report Abuse

Revert b to gst is the way.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

Good points raised by Jay. PH government intends to cover the shortfall in budget through adding new taxes simply and without doing a proper studying the consequences.

feimah

907 posts

Posted by feimah > 2018-10-14 14:04 | Report Abuse

Agree with Jay.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-10-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

current gov abolish Gst but price come down by 6%, now with ssT price goes back to Gst level for certain goods & services. so theory & practice of Gst change to Sst are very different in real life.

now Gov wants to make CGT in Bursa. The CGT theory= to tax the investors... maybe Khazanah, Thaji, Amanahsaham will be exempted from CGT, but CGT brings death to bilis, Foreign Fun Manager will trade in other AsEAN countries.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-10-14 14:43 | Report Abuse

now Gov wants to make CGT in Bursa. The CGT theory= to tax the investors... maybe Khazanah, Thaji, Amanahsaham will be exempted from CGT, but CGT brings death to bilis, Foreign Fun Manager will trade in other AsEAN countries.

without foreign Fund investors & death of bilis,local Khazanah, Thaji , Amanahsaham will corner the whole Bursa...after that in the long run these institutions want to sell stocks to whom? If No buyers in the long run, Bursa stocks will tumble...in the end Khazanah, Thaji , Amanahsaham will also die of slow death due to lack of demand towards Bursa share.

Does LGE get this point or want to be popular only?

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 14:53 | Report Abuse

We thought PH was able to cover the shortfall from abolishing GST through cutting expenditure from improving efficiency and reduction of corruption. Now, GST is replaced with SST plus new taxes. Tolls abolishing fail. No reduction in petrol....What kind of manifestos...

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:13 | Report Abuse

Tax song

A-B-C-D-GST,
Prices rise for you and me,
Mesti akan maggi mee,
semua kena GST, bayar untuk 1MDB!

E-F-G-H-SST,
Harga semua barang sama tinggi,
Masih maggi mee setiap hari,
Banyak lagi lain-lain taxes mari!!

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:18 | Report Abuse

No goodies and major manifestos koyak. Many city folks won't be happy. It's not Chinese alone. DAP is preparing for one term.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:19 | Report Abuse

They must save themselves for another term.......

....before they can even think of saving the nation...

and serving the ppl

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:21 | Report Abuse

As for now, we must continue to sing this song:

A-B-C-D-GST,
Mesti akan maggi mee,
semua kena GST, bayar untuk 1MDB!

E-F-G-H-SST,
Harga semua barang sama tinggi,
Masih maggi mee setiap hari,
Banyak lagi lain-lain taxes mari!!

tulip2018

263 posts

Posted by tulip2018 > 2018-10-14 15:23 | Report Abuse

There are more retail traders lose money in the long run. Is that fair?

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:24 | Report Abuse

No...tricky market...

....save your money....put elsewhere

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:28 | Report Abuse

Najib was so hungry for money and yet he didn't dare to touch CGT since he knows the consequences of spooking investors and squeezing economy pie smaller. PH Geng!

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:29 | Report Abuse

..just like

adding salt to wound

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:35 | Report Abuse

No... it's adding chilli power to wound.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 15:38 | Report Abuse

And then..

rub with sand paper

6,072 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2018-10-14 15:42 | Report Abuse

and also disastrous for all Malaysians.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:43 | Report Abuse

Yeah. Now, Foreign Funds are exiting massively. Bursa companies QR earnings sucks. After adding CGT, retailers would be certainly hiding somewhere. who are going to play with us?

5,849 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2018-10-14 15:47 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing, Jay.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:48 | Report Abuse

If our listed companies earnings on the rising trend, FF and retailers may not really mind for paying CGT. But our corporate earnings sucks and yet PH government intends to levy CGT. They seems being LCLY lor.

joetay2

474 posts

Posted by joetay2 > 2018-10-14 15:50 | Report Abuse

i dont like jib kor not do i like old horse.

seems like my prediction that old horse will slip back into dictatorial mode once in power will be coming true soon.

5,849 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2018-10-14 15:50 | Report Abuse

If it becomes reality, I will have no choice but to start learning overseas' markets & say good bye to Bursa.

It is too complicated when come to income tax computation. Any misconcept or miscalculation of gain/loss will get yourself killed by IRB, easily.

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-10-14 15:51 | Report Abuse

Tax song

A-B-C-D- GST,
Mesti makan Maggi mee,
semua kena GST, bayar untuk 1MDB !

E-F-G-H- SST,
Harga barang masih sama tinggi,
Masih makan maggi mee setiap hari,
Ditambah lagi banyak cukai baru mari !

I J K L -CGT,
Pelabur Bilis bayar cukai keuntungan,
Pelabur Asing semua lari,
Taiko Khazanah, KWSP disuruh beli,
Bursa jatuh kerana pembeli dah lari,
Akhirnya Khazanah, KWSP makan Maggi mee.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:52 | Report Abuse

What would happen to RM against USD if FF dispose another RM 10 billion of shares? Forex 5.0 is not a myth lor..really no eye see.

5,849 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2018-10-14 15:57 | Report Abuse

I don't mind paying tax on the gain, but extremely reluctant to face the possible disagreement from IRB officer when come to tax audit.

They may challenge you to produce every contract to substantiate the transactions.

Imagine you buy many batches & sell in many batches at different prices in a single day or many different days. It is crazy to compile "correct" gain/loss from a single share, not to mention if you buy sell more than 10 counters at different times.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 15:58 | Report Abuse

If one earnings 100% profits in the market share market during bull run for 5 years and paying CGT. But good time won't last for long and he suffer 50% loss in 6th year alone. Is it CGT sufficient to kill an investor?

Undi_PKR

936 posts

Posted by Undi_PKR > 2018-10-14 16:01 | Report Abuse

CGT Rafizi idea? No wonder Tun M never appoint you as FM or to Cabinet haha. Please lose to Azmin Ali for PKR Deputy President as well.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 16:02 | Report Abuse

Korus:

PH kah harapan sejati
Manifesto GE sukar ditepati
Berita buruk hari-hari
Nak tangkap pencuri tak jadi

Gaji besar menteri-menteri
Juga orang-orang GLC
Habislah dana negara bayar gaji
Tidak dapat sekuat mana RM dan KLSE

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 16:04 | Report Abuse

Tax song

A-B-C-D- GST,
Mesti makan Maggi mee,
semua kena GST, bayar untuk 1MDB !

E-F-G-H- SST,
Harga barang masih sama tinggi,
Masih makan maggi mee setiap hari,
Ditambah lagi banyak cukai baru mari !

I J K L -CGT,
Pelabur Bilis bayar cukai keuntungan,
Pelabur Asing semua lari,
Taiko Khazanah, KWSP disuruh beli,
Bursa jatuh kerana pembeli dah lari,
Akhirnya Khazanah, KWSP makan Maggi mee.

Korus:

PH kah harapan sejati
Manifesto GE sukar ditepati
Berita buruk hari-hari
Nak tangkap pencuri tak jadi

Gaji besar menteri-menteri
Juga orang-orang GLC
Habislah dana negara bayar gaji
Tidak dapat sekuat mana RM dan KLSE

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-10-14 16:07 | Report Abuse

We also worry of tax returns. You have to keep the records for 7 years. It's rather complex to compile unless you have set up a system strictly. Quite taxing if you are a frequent traders.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-10-14 16:13 | Report Abuse

Moneysifu,

In the US etc, brokerages etc keep track for you. You just pay on the amount shown net of trans cost.

====
If it becomes reality, I will have no choice but to start learning overseas' markets & say good bye to Bursa.

It is too complicated when come to income tax computation. Any misconcept or miscalculation of gain/loss will get yourself killed by IRB, easily.

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2018-10-14 16:22 | Report Abuse

Jaga jaga ni la dia sebenarnya

Kasar dan buli wanita

Posted by Jon Choivo Have you seen the insurance given to RMBS CDO's by AIG to Lehman Brothers etc? 

Its was so under priced and stupid, that they need USD85 billion from the US govt to be bailed out. 

Stock price drop from USD1,173 to USD19.43. Even today, its only USD 54 per share. Still 95% down from peak. 

And this is AIG, the biggest insurance co in the world. 

Guna otak sendiri boleh? You ingat china Allah ke? Takde pergi baca annual report bank-bank china ke? You want to see how the GIL expand anot? 

ICBC in 2005 before listed, bad loans about 40% tau. Not kidding. Need so much injection by china gov to get it pretty for listing. And even then, GIL was 5 times higher than world average. 

I don't care who borrow who, who invest in what, who give loan to who, who say what to who. 

If it does not make sense to me, i won't buy. 

======== 
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Sep 20, 2018 12:31 PM | Report Abuse 

Yg jon ni ada ada je 

Yg ni nak beli 10,000 shares je bukan main doubting kiraan bank bank China yg beri billion billion loan

20/09/2018 14:02

Jon Choivo Bkn takut beli. 

Got better things to buy. You ingat bursa hanya ada jaks ke? 

Mcm tu, suspend semua saham sajalah, bagi jaks trading saje! 

Kepala buto. 

==== 
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Sep 20, 2018 12:33 PM | Report Abuse 

Drop to 80 sen lg takut beli? Put in fd je la

20/09/2018 14:03

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2018-10-14 16:27 | Report Abuse

Same

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-10-14 16:31 | Report Abuse

Sarifah,

How many times do you want to be seen as a kepala buto ah !?

===
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Oct 14, 2018 04:22 PM | Report Abuse

pussycats

7,611 posts

Posted by pussycats > 2018-10-14 16:32 | Report Abuse

//Posted by moneySIFU > Oct 14, 2018 03:50 PM | Report Abuse

It is too complicated when come to income tax computation. Any misconcept or miscalculation of gain/loss will get yourself killed by IRB, easily.///

I also roughly calculate my losses or profits, very tried to calculate precisely. Damn, if CGT = reality, I have a second job of compilation of my Bursa transactions. Wrong calculations, LHDN or IRB compounds me ???% in addition to CGT 15%. Gov not taking risk in Bursa tetap untung. I opt out of Bursa, I don't want a second job monthly calculating Bursa transactions. Damn.

Valuespec

60 posts

Posted by Valuespec > 2018-10-14 16:35 | Report Abuse

Unfortunately, the PH government are just too stubborn and inexperience. Their policies mostly made without consultation and feedback from the public and local businessmen. Suddenly came out with the 3rd national car project, termination of mega project without negotiation etc.

Let them introduce the CGT and Bursa be the first local market to crash before other foreign stock market. See how could they rescue the market later!!

Stubbornness + Inexperience = Severe Disaster !

14,404 posts

Posted by probability > 2018-10-14 16:35 | Report Abuse

Why must government revenue be directly proportional to GDP expansion?

This concept of Taxation is outdated...

We dont need double the Minister for double the GDP right?

double the infrastructure for double the GDP? not necessary...see singapore

Isnt computerization by right should have reduced the labor work force for the same management?

In a business organization, there is no reason for S&A cost to increase proportionally with the production increase...

Government should be limited with fixed revenue and rather fixed expenditures.

Infrastructure developments should be as much as possible privatized, self justifying like toll collection concept.

Actually we do not need growth due to consumption volume (growth due to population) but growth in competitive advantage.

I want GDP per capita growth.

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-10-14 16:40 | Report Abuse

Bro,

Dont worry about it, the brokerage usually will track and let you know.

A least my exp from US brokerages, even tho i dont pay tax.

=====
moneySIFU I don't mind paying tax on the gain, but extremely reluctant to face the possible disagreement from IRB officer when come to tax audit.

They may challenge you to produce every contract to substantiate the transactions.

Imagine you buy many batches & sell in many batches at different prices in a single day or many different days. It is crazy to compile "correct" gain/loss from a single share, not to mention if you buy sell more than 10 counters at different times.
14/10/2018 15:57

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-10-14 16:40 | Report Abuse

Bro,

Dont worry about it, the brokerage usually will track and let you know.

A least my exp from US brokerages, even tho i dont pay tax.

=====
moneySIFU I don't mind paying tax on the gain, but extremely reluctant to face the possible disagreement from IRB officer when come to tax audit.

14/10/2018 15:57

Posted by Flintstones > 2018-10-14 16:49 | Report Abuse

Jay is back!

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2018-10-14 16:58 | Report Abuse

Tenggok la ni... buli wanita

Posted by Jon Choivo > Oct 14, 2018 04:31 PM | Report Abuse 

Sarifah, 

How many times do you want to be seen as a kepala buto ah !? 

=== 
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Oct 14, 2018 04:22 PM | Report Abuse 

Kasar dan buli wanita 

Posted by Jon Choivo Have you seen the insurance given to RMBS CDO's by AIG to Lehman Brothers etc?  

Its was so under priced and stupid, that they need USD85 billion from the US govt to be bailed out.  

Stock price drop from USD1,173 to USD19.43. Even today, its only USD 54 per share. Still 95% down from peak.  

And this is AIG, the biggest insurance co in the world.  

Guna otak sendiri boleh? You ingat china Allah ke? Takde pergi baca annual report bank-bank china ke? You want to see how the GIL expand anot?  

ICBC in 2005 before listed, bad loans about 40% tau. Not kidding. Need so much injection by china gov to get it pretty for listing. And even then, GIL was 5 times higher than world average.  

I don't care who borrow who, who invest in what, who give loan to who, who say what to who.  

If it does not make sense to me, i won't buy.  

========  
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Sep 20, 2018 12:31 PM | Report Abuse  

Yg jon ni ada ada je  

Yg ni nak beli 10,000 shares je bukan main doubting kiraan bank bank China yg beri billion billion loan 

20/09/2018 14:02 

Jon Choivo Bkn takut beli.  

Got better things to buy. You ingat bursa hanya ada jaks ke?  

Mcm tu, suspend semua saham sajalah, bagi jaks trading saje!  

Kepala buto.  

====  
Posted by SarifahSelinder > Sep 20, 2018 12:33 PM | Report Abuse  

Drop to 80 sen lg takut beli? Put in fd je la 

20/09/2018 14:03

Posted by SarifahSelinder > 2018-10-14 17:01 | Report Abuse

Hati ku kau luka...