611 comment(s). Last comment by EngineeringProfit 2020-02-28 21:45

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 15:32 | Report Abuse

the title of this is gratitude and be grateful.

gratitude and grateful....all problems can be solved.

2 systems...

China.....the role of the media is to prepare its people to be positive, grateful, united, happy, informed citizens

America....the media is know as negative news media, always negative, always fighting, complaining, protesting, suing, ....good meh?

I can tell you China's citizens are very well informed about the true state of affairs of the world.

and as for Malaysia.....Malaysia has just jumped into the bandwagon of democracy, media liberalization, plenty of politics. Like countries that have liberalised, Taiwan, S Korea....growth rate also slowed down.....that is the cost. Its also inadvertent for Malaysia.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 15:37 | Report Abuse

Wuhan hospital president dies of Covid-19

a democratic country will go into panic mode..........China will remain strong and united........

6,064 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-02-18 15:43 | Report Abuse

Can we be grateful for having our current killer bear mkt ?

Sincerely I cannot tahan anymore lah !

Tolong !

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 17:10 | Report Abuse

u should be grateful for any new experience.............

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-18 21:22 | Report Abuse

There is time for everything:

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to buy a stock, and a time to take profits that; a time to voice discontent, and a time to feel grateful; a time to feel low, and a time to fire up; a time to reflect alone, and a time to laugh with beloved ones; a time to mourn, and a time to celebrate; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to keep a distant; a time to lose, and a time to win; a time to keep money to ourselves, and a time to donate; a time to break a relationship, and a time to reconcile; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time of confrontation, and a time of peace.

*Only inner peace is ever green

4,797 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-18 22:25 | Report Abuse

Impermanence (無常) the doctrine asserts that all of conditioned existence, without exception, is "transient, evanescent, and inconstant" All temporal things, whether material or mental, are compounded objects in a continuous change of condition, subject to decline and destruction. All that exists is impermanent; nothing lasts. Therefore nothing can be grasped or held onto. Do not descend into misery and despair for any losses but to treasure and appreciate every moment and every season. When we do, we have real peace.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 22:52 | Report Abuse

what I say is democracy and...complaining is not always better.
Fukuyama says End of History....Democracy won.

not really,

democracy in Greece didn't last long, Republican Rome didn't last long.

present day democracy will not last long....

China lasted the longest............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 23:05 | Report Abuse

every country would be devastated by the virus........China took advantage of the virus to raise patriotism, pride, heart warming stories, heroes , doctors, nurses, ordinary people, building hospitals in 10 days.....

elsewhere it is about hopelessness...for China it is time for people to get behind their government, 100 million party members work round the clock to get the people together into community/ voluntary services.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 23:06 | Report Abuse

no one can beat China at what China do best...............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-18 23:07 | Report Abuse

no one can beat China at what China do best...............and gratitude....

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:09 | Report Abuse

Your view is sort of Maslow's hammer - if the only tool you have is a hammer, to treat everything as if it were a nail.

Xi's system may be the best for the mainland ppl.....

......but definitely not for the Hongkongers (the ppl's voice is clearly heard)

Also not for Finland or Msia

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:13 | Report Abuse

Just because you have a type A personality and are used to authoritarian style......

.....and demand your subordinates to be grateful

DO NOT MAKE THE DEMOCRATIC ACTION BY THE PPL OF HONGKONG NOT JUSTIFIABLE

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:21 | Report Abuse

While ppl in Tibet and Myammar are asked to be grateful....

....ppl in North America have been asked this, “Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.” *

That's the philosophy to engineer a great nation.

*The full power of this can get more things done and invented.....than just tge hospital-in-10-day thingy

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:31 | Report Abuse

When ppl say 'You should be grateful', it is often in the context that yoi should be happy that things aren't worse....

.....hence complacency could be an automatic end result from this

WARNING: Gratitude can breed complacency. Complacency breeds failure.

* But of coursw we can flip to the other side of the coin and say that the hongkongers are GRATEFUL that they stand a chance to voice out against a 'giant' bully

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:37 | Report Abuse

At times, the feeling of gratitude can be totally out of place......

.....e.g. when a mass murder-suicide by the pilot happens

*and many more examples (may13, etc)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:48 | Report Abuse

But certainly, while there is time for everything.....

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven: A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to buy a stock, and a time to take profits that; a time to voice discontent, and a time to feel GRATEFUL; a time to feel low, and a time to fire up; a time to reflect alone, and a time to laugh with beloved ones; a time to mourn, and a time to celebrate; a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to keep a distant; a time to lose, and a time to win; a time to keep money to ourselves, and a time to donate; a time to break a relationship, and a time to reconcile; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak; a time to love, and a time to hate; a time of confrontation, and a time of peace.

........ INNER PEACE, liberty and luxury in tranquility should not to be destroyed by the behavior of others!

“If you are depressed you are living in the past if you are anxious you are living in the future, if you are at peace, you are living in the present.” —Lao Tzu

AND GRATITUDE IS JUST ONE OF THE ROUTE TO THE JOURNEY OF INNER PEACE

4,797 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-19 08:52 | Report Abuse

It is the sense of belonging thus gratitude and gratefulness are seen as mutual contribution for mutual benefit and mutual gain. But when society become rich and poor divide, for the poor has nothing to belong to or to loss, then whether it is democracy or any other system the result is the same; hatred, chaos and social unrest.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 08:54 | Report Abuse

Hence, harping on gratitude (the route) is like missing the forest (inner peace) for the trees

Agree?

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 09:27 | Report Abuse

a feeling of gratitude is essential for health...health of an individual, health of a nation, no exception to it.........

like those HK black shirt idiots, sure die already...........no road back for them.

CCP will try education camps for them....but will only turn them into hypocrites only.......even virus cannot cure them, they will turn into even bigger monsters.........

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 09:28 | Report Abuse

Dear Sslee,

Although they may have less blessings to count for the indulgence of the sense of gratitude (i.e. less route to the inner peace), but religiosity should be one of the solution (not problem)

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 09:42 | Report Abuse

even the poor needs feeling of gratitude........no gratitude, become worse than monsters......

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 09:44 | Report Abuse

a person is poor mainly not because not enough to eat but because it is never enough for him............

4,797 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-19 09:53 | Report Abuse

Hahahaha,
Qqq3 you must be grateful that your apartment is big enough to house the whole family. Then imagine what a typical average Hong Kong apartment look like.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 12:41 | Report Abuse

HK black shirts are brain washed idiots...see, no gratitude turn them into monsters already...no matter how bad their situation, it was worse during their parent generation..........now, they get brain washed by their pastors and opposition politicians...........

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 12:44 | Report Abuse

I bet to differ....please do not degrade our sapiens brothers and sisters there that way

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 13:06 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq33333333 > Feb 19, 2020 9:27 AM | Report Abuse

a feeling of gratitude is essential for health...health of an individual, health of a nation, no exception to it.........

But there is time when that is an inappropriate feeling to call for (and can be rather irresponsible or insulting)........

example: ia a case of a mass murder-suicide by the pilot

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 15:12 | Report Abuse

those black shirt slogans...............even monkeys can be taught to shout slogans................

I call it brain washed, drugged, ....

simply shouting democracy & freedom but there is one law bigger than any other law and the law is...........failure has costs......now the costs is passed on to HK and also personal cost.......and serve them right.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 16:39 | Report Abuse

Steve Jobs says people don't know what they want, u have to tell them what they want..........

I have a better version. What people want, mostly not good for them.......

goes for food, music, books, habits...and yes, of course politics.....

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 16:55 | Report Abuse

These ppl are sane, intelligent and compassionate.....BUT THEY KNOW TOO WELL ABOUT WHAT THEY WANT

Let's go back to talk about Polpot who killed all the educated, academics and professionals.....

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:05 | Report Abuse

Highly evolved people have their own conscience as pure law.
(Lao Tzu)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:09 | Report Abuse

A great nation is like a great man...He thinks of his enemy as the shadow that he himself casts.
(Tao Te Ching)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:14 | Report Abuse

A leader is best when people barely know he exists, when his work is done, his aim fulfilled, they will say: we did it ourselves. Be content with what you have; rejoice in the way things are. When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you.

(Lao Tzu)

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:15 | Report Abuse

See how you cam recognise a bad (self-serving) leader....

.....vs a selfless one

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:17 | Report Abuse

Though humans are capable of reasoning, it is important to remember that rational thought is not our default setting. Instead, we are by our nature emotional and impulsive, frequently lazy, and interested in many activities other than critical thinking.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:18 | Report Abuse

How Pol Pot fooled the ppl to support his victory:

Hovernment, corporations, and religious fundamentalism—involve institutional power, whereas the last factor points inward at human vulnerabilities. What this tells us is that these various institutions, in pursuing their self-interest, will almost inevitably promote anti-reason, and that human audiences on the receiving end will be susceptible to it.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:21 | Report Abuse

Knowing this, it's little wonder that the political arena resembles a clown car, education policy gets lip service but little more, mindless consumption defines the culture, and the nation is in a state of fear that translates to a state of permanent war.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:22 | Report Abuse

Hope lies in the fact that, under the right circumstances, humans are indeed capable of reason and intellectual expression. That doesn't mean we must exalt reason to some quasi-religious status, but we should recognize its importance in modern life, especially in the crafting of public policy. But for reason to flourish, it is absolutely essential that the institutional interests that naturally promote anti-reason be properly controlled.

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:27 | Report Abuse

As anyone opposed to anti-intellectualism knows, the best modern values are rooted not in ancient texts, but in human experience, accumulated knowledge, and natural human altruistic inclinations.

Moral* is bad....when students are made to suffer the whole process of rote learning.....wasting countless hours.

*Morality made simple for the 21st century.....REDUCE PPL'S SUFFERINGS

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 17:36 | Report Abuse

(On why our edusys needs to reform: How to claim teaching moral when the learners are made to suffer?)

.......keep quiet and be grateful?????

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 17:59 | Report Abuse

profit...what use quote here quote there when u don't even recognise the HK black shirts are idiots?

each and every one should be in jail............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:01 | Report Abuse

as for pycho paths...I know one...he is the current President of USA.................

goes to show....people actually voted to have a psychopath for President..............

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 18:06 | Report Abuse

Haha...good one (for Trump)

But I still cannot share your sentiment about our sapiens bro and sis who strive against oppression

4,797 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-02-19 18:11 | Report Abuse

Haha
Trump is very good at superficial and offensive charm to get you hooked like drug addict. Many are cheering him on and asking for more abusive tweet from him.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:14 | Report Abuse

people who like to quote here quote to impress......I know another fellow just like that...That value investor KC Chong from NZ.

quote here quote there does not mean any thing one....

......at the end of the day, it is still judgments and attitudes that actions/ decisions are based on.........

I got a new theory for stock market....stock market is all about attitude. not smartness, not intelligent or not, not quote here quote there...........stock market is all about attitude............that is how I make so much money on SCIB and Kpower..................

Posted by EngineeringProfit > 2020-02-19 18:16 | Report Abuse

Xi's system may be the best for the mainland ppl.....

......but definitely not for the Hongkongers. The ppl's voice is clearly heard and should be taken seriously.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:22 | Report Abuse

Posted by EngineeringProfit > Feb 19, 2020 6:06 PM | Report Abuse

Haha...good one (for Trump)

But I still cannot share your sentiment about our sapiens bro and sis who strive against oppression
==========

u silly chap....HK where got oppression? if any oppression, it is done in the name market forces by their hero and sponsor the superman Li Kashing............they never disturb his businesses because LKS is their chief sponsor............and villian.........He is the one with the most to lose if any extradiction bill is enacted............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:26 | Report Abuse

instead of oppression by the government......in the case of HK....it is oppression by idiots..........and the whole fcuking island is incapable of dealing with it...........that is why I believe, the proper future for HK is to go back to being a fishing village...............

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:28 | Report Abuse

in the case of HK......pride is the original sin........there is no cure for that.....it is an island that prospered when China was down......and a rising China means its game over for HK................too bad.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:29 | Report Abuse

its evolve or death and they choose death.........that is the whole story.

qqq33333333

3,053 posts

Posted by qqq33333333 > 2020-02-19 18:32 | Report Abuse

by i3lurker > Feb 19, 2020 6:16 PM | Report Abuse

stop boasting
============

talking about SCIB and kpower serves a purposes....hopefully one or two will learn about attitude and stock market............