RHB BANK BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): RHBBANK (1066)

+0.01 (0.17%)

5.89 - 5.93

3,802 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 4 hours ago

stkoay

6,308 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2024-05-22 13:04 | Report Abuse

@SeekUndervalue, Yes that's why I didn't sell even it underperformed.
Don't mind keeping as souvenir....haha
....after all it is only about 0.5% of my MBB (of course nobody will believe) and ppl will say big show off...haha. LOL.

stkoay

6,308 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2024-05-22 13:20 | Report Abuse

Posted by stkoay > 2023-06-22 19:56 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901, RHB is cheap in term of valuation...but the stock hardly moves.
I bought it at 4.60 in September 2020, not much profit.
CIMB n Maybank would have been a better buy at that time.
May be it's because it's a mid cap, when institution buy, they gave priority to big cap like MBB and CIMB.

stkoay

6,308 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2024-05-22 13:24 | Report Abuse

Claim of owning RHB shares is not only posted yesterday...
...it was posted in MBB forum in June 2023....

stkoay

6,308 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2024-05-22 13:50 | Report Abuse

Actually it is very easy for one to prove what they have if they want to.
Made known how much quantity you want to sell and at what price then make the Q during pre opening (8.30 to 9am and 2.00 to 2.30pm) (of course the price must be different from other Q eg. limit down price)
The trading platform does not allow you to make sell Q if you do not have the shares in your CDS account.

Posted by jeffrey1166 > 2024-05-22 14:14 | Report Abuse

can get both gain

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2024-05-22 20:58 | Report Abuse

RHB Bank won't remain stagnant forever while Maybank and CIMB Bank keep going up.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

First half results last year were impressive but could not sustain into the second half. Hopefully this year is different.

Posted by snowball88 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

When's the latest quarterly results coming out? MBB results out and price fly to RM10. Hoping for same trend with RHB.

RHB normally announces its quarterly results over lunch time. It should be out during lunch time tomorrow. 28th day is a good day to announce results. 🤣🤣

1288Go

172 posts

Posted by 1288Go > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

I am surprised Rhb wont move at all..
Very strange.
Is it true that it's not a large cap stock so institutions sideline Rhb?

Very

Posted by terribleinvestor > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

i regret pumping majority into RHB during start of this bull run. seriously stagnant for so long. would've been easy profit had i gone straight for Maybank or CIMB.

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

1288go:
> Is it true that it's not a large cap stock so institutions sideline Rhb?

RHB, a large cap stock, has a market cap of RM24 bil. It is the 21st largest company in Bursa and is part of the FTSE Bursa Malaysia KL Composite Index. In terms of banks, it is the fifth largest in Malaysia.

stkoay

6,308 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

QoQ up 24%.....good report.

With such kind of earnings, investors can expect this year's dividend to be not less than 40 sen a share again.

mesoan

15 posts

Posted by mesoan > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@stkoay but yoy earning drop. there's high provision, any idea?

RHB Bank is now trading at a PE of less than 8.5 and a dividend yield of 7.3%, more than 2.5 times higher than Maybank's 12 month fixed deposit rate.

orbiter

25 posts

Posted by orbiter > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Nice result

raymondroy

839 posts

Posted by raymondroy > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

somehow RHB and Ambank has been the step-child within the financial sector, with Maybank, PBB and CIMB getting all the limelight, even HLFG has only 7x PER.... go figure :-) peace

i3gambler

710 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

RHB could actually give out 100 sen Dividend to make you happy.
No problem at all, just make all the 100 sen applicable for DRIP at 10% discount.
Base on 85% take up rate, RHB need to pay out 15 sen Cash only, the rest are all extra new shares.
Then the market calculate the fake DY to be = 100/550 = 18%.

Someone who had failed his O level mathematics badly has returned.

"Then the market calculate the fake DY to be = 100/550 = 18%."
Nobody calculates DY this way. Laughing stock of the forum. hahahahahahaha

i3gambler

710 posts

You are the one who calculate the fake DY that way lor.
Total Dividend 40 sen, price 550 sen, fake DY = 40/550 = 7.27%.

Hahahaha......

Still stubbornly sticking to your fallacious argument? You can check with any stock analyst how to calculate dividend yield. You are the only one in the world who calculates dividend yield this way.

i3gambler

710 posts

Very funny lor,
You calculate fake DY by 40/550=7.27%, I calculate 100/550=18%,
What is the difference? 😀😀😀

If you think RHB's dividend yield is 18%, invest RM100,000 (you will get about 18,180 shares). Keep your shares for 6 years and you would receive dividends amounting to RM108,000. After 6 years, you stand to make RM8,000 in addition to 18,180 free RHB Bank shares. Why miss such kind of opportunity?

i3gambler

710 posts

Hahahaha....
You still dun understand what is dilution. 😀😀😀

I understand dilution but what you don't understand is much worse. RHB Bank issues more shares in each DRP but it has more money to lend out, meaning it earns more in interest. Are you not aware the its dividend has been maintained at 40 sen a share for 3 years already?

smartly

6,430 posts

Posted by smartly > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

yes. simple calculation enough. no need to complicate the formula.

i3gambler

710 posts

Hahaha.
Don't you know that before they started DRIP, the dividend were much lower than 40 sen?
The magic is that they could give higher dividend because of DRIP, so the the 40 sen dividend is not real.

Silemak

95 posts

Posted by Silemak > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Don’t really care real or not as long as get 7+%.!!! U can go buy real dividend co.
But when div is low I sell.

"The magic is that they could give higher dividend because of DRIP"
Like you have claimed, they can give 100 sen dividend and increase the DRP portion to 90 sen, then issue 3 billion new shares. You really have fantastic ideas.
"so the the 40 sen dividend is not real."
So the money investors receive is also not real.

i3gambler

710 posts

Out of the 40 sen, only 31.5 sen is real, the balance 8.5 sen is not real.
1) If you want to receive that 8.5 sen Cash, you are selling off your ownership in term of percentage.
2) If you want to maintain the same ownership in term of percentage, then you would not have that 8.5 sen cash.

Real DY = 31.5/548 = 5.75%.
5.75% DY is already very good, why still want to cheat yourself?
Or you can not understand at all what is dilution?

If I invest in 1,000 RHB Bank shares at RM5.50 today and decline to take up DRP shares allocated to me, I would have received RM400 in total dividends a year later. The dividend yield works out to 7.27%. What is not real young boy? Did you mean I can't use part of the money banked into my account? Are you alright? I have already explained to you what dilution is. The bank issues more shares but it has more money to lend out to earn more interest. You seem not to understand simple Mathematics.

You have become a laughing stock on this forum, stop your nonsensical arguments.

i3gambler

710 posts

Do not confuse the less educated newbie into believing RHB DY is very high at 7.3%.
That is not real, the real DY is around 5.7%, this is already high and good.

Fact #1 :
RHB paid 40 sen dividend only after they started DRIP.

Fact #2 :
The portion of dividend that could be DRIP is actually an useless mini scale of bonus issue. If you choose to sell the bonus units, then your holding will be diluted.

Posted by Tedinvestor > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

It doesn't matter whether the dividend is 5% or 7%.I'm holding Maybank shares since January 2021. I subscribed all drip and the discount drip actually help reduce my average entry price over the years. Why making so much fuss when nobody asking you to buy? You decide on your own risks and think whatever you prefer? Stop fooling around if you are not even interested to be shareholder

i3gambler

710 posts

What making fuss?
What fooling around?
I have explained in details why its DY is actually around 5.7%.
This is freedom of opinion.
A company implement DRIP may be is because of one or more of the following reasons:
1) Not much cash to pay dividend.
2) Have sufficient cash but do not like to pay out cash.
3) Have plenty of cash but want to invest in new venture/project.
4) Want to make-up the DY look like very high, hoping it could pump up the share prices.

i3gambler

710 posts

It is my freedom to voice up and provide my opinion.
If you want to argue with me, no problem, but up to me to respond to you or not, or you can just skip my comment.

RHB has already flown one time when it started increasing dividend to 40 sen with DRIP, which many people think it is a real increase.

Posted by Value Investor Coo1eo > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Folks, we have a liability here aka @i3gambler. Just have to tolerate

i3gambler

710 posts

People come here to read/comment, may be with different agendas.
I will be a liability to some of them.

"I have explained in details why its DY is actually around 5.7%."
You are the only one who thinks RHB Bank's dividend yield is only 5.7%. The rest of the people, including all the Investment Banks and small investors who post comments on this forum think that it is 7.27% now. Do you know that the yield changes with its price?

"People come here to read/comment, may be with different agendas."
My agenda is to provide other small investors with facts, not warped opinions.

"If you want to argue with me, no problem, but up to me to respond to you or not, or you can just skip my comment."
You can count me in. I can't tolerate someone who is obviously wrong but keeps insisting that he is right.

"RHB has already flown one time when it started increasing dividend to 40 sen with DRIP, which many people think it is a real increase."
We are not talking about the past. We are talking about the present. At RM5.50 a share and with a yearly dividend of 40 sen a share, RHB Bank's dividend yield is 7.27%, not 5.7% as claimed by you. Period!

26,437 posts

Posted by speakup > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Someone got a period

Bursino

244 posts

Posted by Bursino > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

I have posted an email to KLSE Screener to seek verification on their Rolling 4 Quarters Dividend Yield of 7.29%

smartly

6,430 posts

Posted by smartly > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

LOL !!! this is what cantonese was saying "to refuse to admit fault/error by defending oneself even when the truth is obvious"

When someone sees a pretty girl, he imagines that she is naked.