MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.01 (0.10%)

9.76 - 9.81

38 people like this.

22,627 comment(s). Last comment by Kicapmanis 15 minutes ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-28 22:57 | Report Abuse

A ROE of 11 to 12% should be good enough. What is more important is Maybank must be able to pay 55 to 60 sen a share in dividends every year.

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-10-29 11:50 | Report Abuse

Investment in digital technologies is a must. Regional competitors already spend a huge sums on digital banking. Other than Malaysia newly awarded digital banking licence, Maybank must not fall behind.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-29 12:45 | Report Abuse

Maybank got apple pay dude. Since when they fall behind

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-29 13:54 | Report Abuse

This new CEO was probably chosen based on his track record while he was CEO at RHB (he did a good job at improving returns there)....PNB is the major shareholder and they want high returns to enhance dividend for their unit holders, so, how can dividend be lower when loan growth is projected to improve at a higher rate of 7%......and ROE is projected to improve by 10 to 20% from current level.....

stkoay

5,862 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-29 13:55 | Report Abuse

If dividend is lower, the CEO will probably loose his job very quickly.......haha :p

Heroking

20 posts

Posted by Heroking > 2022-10-30 10:54 | Report Abuse

Nothing is constant especially in this turbulent economic recession .Even the EPF returns this year is sceptical of high returns.

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-10-30 13:26 | Report Abuse

2023 - Malaysian economy will slip into recession.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-30 14:30 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Recession? 2023? Willing to bet on it?

Definition from Oxford Languages: Recession
'...a period of temporary economic decline during which trade and industrial activity are reduced, generally identified by a fall in GDP in two successive quarters....'

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-10-30 18:44 | Report Abuse

Technical definition does not apply. Economy is not based on science.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-31 13:27 | Report Abuse

DickyMe2, pls specify in which month of 2023. I trust you, and i want to cash out and put into gold.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-01 10:37 | Report Abuse

@DickyMe2

Bro, cannot cherry pick your points la.. Economy is based on Science. I this case it's social science (if you had done Economics at pre-U / University, you would know). Why is it a science? Bcos all conclusions and prediction of outcome of future events are based on historical data, this means it can be proven. Anything can be tested and proven time again is science.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-01 16:59 | Report Abuse

Bloodbath 1st November, hope better in less of days. Unpredictable GE15…

VTrade

2,434 posts

Posted by VTrade > 2022-11-01 18:28 | Report Abuse

Esok tiger terbang

Zxvvbn

20 posts

Posted by Zxvvbn > 2022-11-02 15:48 | Report Abuse

Actually everyone knows past history does not predict the future. If it did we'd all be rich already.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-02 16:15 | Report Abuse

Wow…limited sales on going.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-02 16:16 | Report Abuse

Someone says if break 8.45 then we will have more discount.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-11-03 11:03 | Report Abuse

Long term investors should start to accumulate Maybank again.

Posted by Investmalaysiaa > 2022-11-03 16:00 | Report Abuse

Bank all dropped after announce of rate hike!!

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-11-03 16:12 | Report Abuse

"Bcos all conclusions and prediction of outcome of future events are based on historical data, this means it can be proven. Anything can be tested and proven time again is science."
=======================
Have you read investment bankers fine print? In case you didn't, use a clinical microscope to read it. "Past performance are not guaranteed for future return. Total loss is possible and you hereby agree to absorb it." Analysis is educated man's way "guessing" future with past data. Any coincidences are revered as achievement.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-03 18:46 | Report Abuse

yes, broken 8.45, if keep dropping, next level of support is 8.28. 'Oh Ye of little faith' Gonna park some at 8.28

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-03 18:55 | Report Abuse

Okay bro if you insist. investment bankers don't want to be sued so all sorts of conditions la. But interestingly when they try to sell you some products. they always show you the prospectus of a fund performance for last 3-5-10 years, they never fail to show you the historical chart. funny la, if they don't believe that history has a way to show the possible future trend, i wonder why they so eager to show you the trend. but you are entitled to your own beliefs and conclusions bro. up to you if you want to believe or not, at the end of the day, it's your money, your decision.

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-11-04 06:15 | Report Abuse

Maybank is a secure long-term investment with good dividend payout. Once the storm over the stock price will gradually recover in time. This is best timing to accumulate if you have spare cash. Believed in your own judgement and avoid negative influence. Old man here with years of trading experiences.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-04 09:48 | Report Abuse

@skybursa, agree.
I think jeff and dickyme both not wrong. And add other factors like government, war, weather, technology, population, market employment,trend, competition and many many more. Thats why rich outrun poor.

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-11-04 10:18 | Report Abuse

Some people think they are always right! When viewpoints do not match with theirs. They are quick to label others as negative. These are the people who cause turmoil because they think only their dick is longer than others. Arrogant A-holes aplenty!

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-04 10:28 | Report Abuse

@DickyMe2 chill bro, I do not think I am always right. This sharing of ideas was started due to you saying that Malaysia will enter into recession next year. then you change to technical recession. after that you attacked my opinion saying that the trends cannot be used to be proven. Instead of calling me names and getting angry, counter my views with facts and figures and I am more than happy to learn if I am wrong. at least then in the eyes of everyone here you will be respected instead of just being someone who spews out nonsense all the time under different user names. #justsaying

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-11-04 10:38 | Report Abuse

There's no right or wrong in decisions making. Recession will not last forever. Only those with weak hold power will be at lose end. Like I said before once the storm is over the sea will calm. Stock market will return to normal. Buy and sell , in the end brokers are the one profit from us. Unless you are desperate for cash or unaffordable of risks, I suggest you cash out now.

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-04 10:42 | Report Abuse

This morning Harimau shares suddenly up but look at the Buy Rate, it was 78%, true enough as I type this the price dropped back down due to heavy sell off back to 53%.

Just sharing some ideas to others here which I learned from my IB analyst is the 'wyckoffian' logic....

....Wyckoff’s observations of supply and demand, and that the prices of securities move in a cyclical pattern of four distinct phases. Investors and traders use Wyckoff’s market cycle to identify a market’s direction, the likelihood of a reversal, and when large investors are accumulating and selling positions.

The Wyckoff market cycle phases are accumulation, markup, distribution, and markdown. Essentially, the phases represent the behavior of traders and can reveal the direction of a stock’s future price movement.

Generally speaking, the accumulation phase forms as institutional investors increase their buying and drive demand. As more interest develops, the trading range displays higher lows as prices position themselves to move higher. With buyers gaining power, prices push through the upper level of the trading range. At this Markup phase, a chart will show a consistent upward trend.

In the distribution phase, sellers are trying to gain the upper hand. The horizontal trading range in this phase will display lower price tops and a lack of higher bottoms. The markdown phase is a time of greater selling. It’s confirmed when prices break below the established lows of the trading range. Once this fourth and final phase of the Wyckoff market cycle finishes, the entire cycle will repeat itself....

I do use the RSI (relative strenght index) to see the buying momentum when am about to invest in a stock which has helped me a bit in the past if anyone is interested.

(source: www.investopedia.com)

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-11-04 11:05 | Report Abuse

@jeffchan1901
Read again, my reply is not to you.
Anyway, this is normal in forum and I am not new to these kind of quarrels.
Some time I keep quiet and some time I get suspended :-D

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-04 11:14 | Report Abuse

@DickyMe2

No worries, non taken. Like all the others here, we are just interested in the money, nothing personal. we share ideas so that even if we can learn something new or take away something from this, it will be beneficial to us. all of us just want to make money to survive.

Posted by AqsadMohamad > 2022-11-07 09:49 | Report Abuse

Boleh simpan harimau ni untuk pelaburan jangka panjang saya rasa

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-07 10:21 | Report Abuse

....In the distribution phase, sellers are trying to gain the upper hand. The horizontal trading range in this phase will display lower price tops and a lack of higher bottoms. The markdown phase is a time of greater selling. It’s confirmed when prices break below the established lows of the trading range. Once this fourth and final phase of the Wyckoff market cycle finishes, the entire cycle will repeat itself....

The trick is to be ready to ready when the price have bottomed out before the upswing 'cycle' begins once more.. just stand by your excess funds when they do. based on the above, I actually parked at 1.54 for IGBREIT based on historical lows and I managed to grab some lots last week before the climb due to dividend anouncement. just sharing that historical charts can be helpful IMO. meanwhile, gud luck all!

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-07 16:29 | Report Abuse

Thanks, Jeff.

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-11-08 08:05 | Report Abuse

You actually promote IGB riet at a financial counter? Nice move

jeffchan1901

1,319 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-11-08 10:01 | Report Abuse

it was an example to stress an earlier point. please don't blow out of context. Any who harimau investors won't be easily moved even if anyone promotes anything here

532TKY

200 posts

Posted by 532TKY > 2022-11-08 12:25 | Report Abuse

Maybank Investment Bank Bhd (Maybank IB) expects another 25 basis points (bps) hike in the overnight policy rate (OPR) to 3.00 per cent at the first Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) monetary policy committee (MPC) meeting on Jan 18-19, 2023.

532TKY

200 posts

Posted by 532TKY > 2022-11-08 12:25 | Report Abuse

The monetary policy statement (MPS) reiterated that the monetary policy stance is still accommodative, not on any pre-set course, data-dependent and monetary policy adjustment will remain measured and gradual.

"To note, BNM has tolerated periods of negative real OPR and negative differentials between OPR and the US Federal Reserve’s (Fed) funds rate in the past," the research firm said in a note today.

TSHRicky

154 posts

Posted by TSHRicky > 2022-11-08 13:14 | Report Abuse

Maybank IB noted that Bank Negara had maintained the view of a global economy facing headwinds and downside risks from elevated and persistent inflation, tighter financial conditions and China’s macro uncertainties and fallouts from geopolitical tension.

This is compared with relatively better domestic economic conditions and outlook, driven by domestic demand and an improving labour market and income.

TSHRicky

154 posts

Posted by TSHRicky > 2022-11-08 13:15 | Report Abuse

wait if price drop abit will collect again, long term is king

Posted by AqsadMohamad > 2022-11-09 10:53 | Report Abuse

Bagus bagus. Memang boleh simpan yellow tiger ini untuk jangka masa panjang

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-09 14:49 | Report Abuse

TSHRicky miss que. hahaha

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-11-09 16:55 | Report Abuse

Picked up just under 2,000 Maybank shares at RM8.49 about 2 months ago. Not too concerned about paying a few sen extra for such kind of counter.

Posted by Adam92Rosli > 2022-11-09 19:29 | Report Abuse

tibalah masa ambil profit hehehe

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-11-10 09:54 | Report Abuse

Kalau ambil profit sekarang, hanya dapat 1.5% nett, tak padan. Bila ada 3% nett, sudah boleh consider. Mungkin boleh naik sampai RM9 sebelum hari mengundi.

Posted by ckkhor0722 > 2022-11-10 09:56 | Report Abuse

nice

Ahboy96

147 posts

Posted by Ahboy96 > 2022-11-10 10:49 | Report Abuse

wow starting to fly

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-10 12:41 | Report Abuse

Klau sudah cukup baik jangan tamat.

TSHRicky

154 posts

Posted by TSHRicky > 2022-11-10 15:01 | Report Abuse

terus simpan saje, lama lama jadi bukit,

ez duit pencen

TSHRicky

154 posts

Posted by TSHRicky > 2022-11-10 15:02 | Report Abuse

but stay vigilant in case recession happen , as u can see many signals worldwide

nhbeen

187 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-11-11 09:20 | Report Abuse

Noticed something interesting? Whenever the price of Maybank going to move up, there's alwasys some small quantity of shares transacted to bring down the price. Very often only 1 share transacted to lower the price. Seems certain party trying to maintain certain low price range. Wondering.

Cslee1215

427 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-11-11 09:25 | Report Abuse

nhbeen dividend earner will understnad why.