MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

-0.02 (0.21%)

9.65 - 9.71

38 people like this.

22,533 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 16 hours ago

momo33

148 posts

Posted by momo33 > 2022-09-27 17:47 | Report Abuse

weak RM .
and economy may turn south .
so big boys all dump fast !

Posted by Investmalaysiaa > 2022-09-27 22:44 | Report Abuse

Rhb dividend also okay ma. Not meh? Pbbank and hlbank dividend even less o

jackjason

156 posts

Posted by jackjason > 2022-09-27 23:08 | Report Abuse

ESOS at 8.73 is worth to convert??? Get from market will more cheaper.

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-09-28 11:44 | Report Abuse

4QCY22 Investment Strategy - There’s No Place Like Home

We advocate investors to seek refuge in domestically-driven sectors amidst rising external headwinds.
Banks are the best proxy to Malaysia’s resilient economy, in particular, domestic consumption.

Our Overall Top Picks are MAYBANK, PCHEM, CIMB, DIGI, KLK, INARI, GAMUDA, ABMB, BAUTO and AEON.

Source: Kenanga Research - 28 Sept 2022

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/kenangaresearch/2022-09-28-story-h1649314038-4QCY22_Investment_Strategy_There_rsquo_s_No_Place_Like_Home

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-09-28 11:47 | Report Abuse

Government will probably in the coming budget encourage GLC and local institution to bring back oversea investment to support the ringgit and also the local market as oversea are facing headwind.

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-09-28 12:01 | Report Abuse

The financial turmoil of recent days appeared to be confined to Britain and was not spreading to the global economy, Yellen told reporters at the end of her visit in North Carolina. She declined to comment on Britain’s new budget, the newspaper said.

Yellen said financial markets were “still functioning well”, adding that they “haven’t seen liquidity problems develop in markets”, the report added.

Yellen said that both the US and Britain had “significant inflation problems and central banks are focused on wanting to bring inflation down”.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-28 15:53 | Report Abuse

Maybank has performed extremely well over the past 32 months, viz since the beginning of 2020. It was trading at around RM8.60 then. Investors who had bought Maybank at around RM8.60 and remain invested would have received in total dividends amounting to RM1.49 a share, not including the 28 sen a share dividend to be paid on 19 October.
The return on investments is thus around 20%. The KLCI dropped by about 125 points from 1530 points to 1405 points or about 8%. Maybank has thus overperformed the KLCI by almost 30%. Syabas Maybank!

EAGLE

Posted by EAGLE > 2022-09-28 20:02 | Report Abuse

Turun lagi. Mau collect.

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-09-29 09:30 | Report Abuse

@jackjackson, DRP price is RM8.38 and not RM8.73 as you had mentioned

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-29 10:41 | Report Abuse

Want to make RM20 from DRP issue this time also difficult. Decision : don't bother to apply.

Cslee1215

418 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-09-30 13:04 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor, think for long term, drp allow you to buy at future drop price. Rm13 is nothing

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-30 17:23 | Report Abuse

Buy share at 10% discount is surely worth it for maybank...edrp is easy & fast
..done in 10 minutes

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-09-30 18:32 | Report Abuse

Only a 3.22% discount based on an ex-dividend price of RM8.66. At today's closing price of RM8.58, the discount has dropped to 2.5%. RHB offers much better discount.

Amazonboy

767 posts

Posted by Amazonboy > 2022-09-30 20:22 | Report Abuse

My strategy is different..i wont trade drp shares...this is my long term investment plan in maybank...slowly build up

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-09-30 23:52 | Report Abuse

The Great Financial Crisis 2.0 Has Started
173,719 views Sep 30, 2022
ClearValue Tax
1.53M subscribers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cPD_eU5GCo&t=29s

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-10-01 08:33 | Report Abuse

K@uliew most of your negative comments focus in maybank forum. I guess you have great interests to accumulate cheap maybank shares. For long-term investors we don't really bother by flautution of shares price as yearly dividend are enough to make up the losses. And bash down price will eventually recover in times. Beside bank now set up reserves over 40 billion to cover bad loans. Yeah banking industry nowadays are more resilient during turbulent times.

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-10-01 15:26 | Report Abuse

Drp n divifend are chicken feed when full onslaught of recession, waiting for 5.80 or 4.80

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-01 15:58 | Report Abuse

@Maverickeking, keep dreaming! When the Dow briefly dropped below 20,000 around March 2020, Maybank held steady at above RM7. How low do you think the Dow would fall this time round?

nhbeen

185 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-10-01 17:11 | Report Abuse

I think stkoay and prudentinvestor have pointed out precisely with historical data in previous date that "Those who have bought prior to 10th April 2020, till today, they have received 149 sen plus 28 sen coming in next month....so, total dividend since then is 177 sen :)". That payout of dividends speak for itself. And it always comes down to one's investing principles: Long or short haul. If one goes back and looks at Maybank's dividend history for the past 10 years+, the payout is rather consistent. As such, holding for long haul makes perfect sense. Question is do you have the appetitte to hold this long? I have and I would.

Posted by Maverickeking > 2022-10-01 19:51 | Report Abuse

@prudent investor do you know when was the last time time MBB was 5.00 yeah u forgot but i remember cause i bought at that price hehehe

Cslee1215

418 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-01 20:10 | Report Abuse

Ohh, old junk is back, gonna talk old crapz again and even worse dreaming 4.80 instead of 5.80.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-01 22:35 | Report Abuse

@Maverickeking, Nestle was trading at less than RM10 a share before 1990. Do you expect it to drop back to this level in "The Great Financial Crisis 2.0" that you forecast?

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-10-02 11:51 | Report Abuse

We've already got an inflation crisis and an energy crisis. How about a banking crisis too?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-02 12:42 | Report Abuse

ASB, EPF and PNB already hold over 60% of Maybank shares. Over 91% of Maybank shares are held by the 30 largest shareholders. Over 98% of Maybank shares are in the hands of those owning over 100,000 shares. Maybank is ready to face a crisis of any sort. Buy when it dips.

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-02 14:11 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/10/01/the-fed-is-breaking-things-heres-what-has-wall-street-on-edge-as-risks-rise-around-the-world.html

Ironically, it is the reforms that came out of the last global crisis that have made markets more fragile. Trading across asset classes is thinner and easier to disrupt after U.S. regulators forced banks to pull back from proprietary trading activities, a dynamic that JPMorgan Chase
CEO Jamie Dimon has repeatedly warned about.

Regulators did that because banks took on excessive risk before the 2008 crisis, assuming that ultimately they’d be bailed out. While the reforms pushed risk out of banks, which are far safer today, it has made central banks take on much more of the burden of keeping markets afloat.

With the possible exception of troubled European firms like Credit Suisse
, investors and analysts said there is confidence that most banks will be able to withstand market turmoil ahead.

dragon328

1,881 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2022-10-02 20:30 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-02 23:25 | Report Abuse

Over the past 10 years, there was only one year when YTL's dividend yield was higher than Maybank's and another year when the yield was comparable. The rest of the years the yields were grossly lower. I still prefer to put my money in Maybank.

Posted by LeonardLiong > 2022-10-03 09:58 | Report Abuse

Agreed. I am waiting for cheap price again to average & accumulate

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-03 11:40 | Report Abuse

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/pricetarget/research/64880

August 2022 system loans grew by 6.8% YoY (+0.7% MoM), beating our expectations. Hence, we raise our CY22 industry growth target to 6.0-6.5%. While better business loans were expected, the continued support from household loans was unanticipated in a rising rate environment.

Maintain OVERWEIGHT on the banking sector. We are further encouraged by the strong loans growth performance, emboldening sector prospects. We continue to anticipate two more 25 bps OPR hikes in the subsequent BNM MPC meetings which could lift banking margins while allaying competitive pricing pressures. This would translate favourably on CY23 earnings, notwithstanding the lapse of CY22’s prosperity tax in addition to higher possibilities of writebacks. For the 4QCY22 season, we feature the following as our top picks :- (i) CIMB (OP; TP: RM6.35) for defensive NOII reporting as trading performances are supported by its regional entities. It also commands on of the highest CASA books amongst the large cap banks. Notably, we have awarded CIMB with a 4-star ESG rating for its sustainable financing efforts; (ii) MAYBANK (OP; TP: RM11.05) which remains our dividend favourite (7-8% yield) and provide shelter for investors preferring more secured returns. As the market share leader in loans and deposits, MAYBANK would also be widely exposed to the benefits of economic reopening.

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-03 11:58 | Report Abuse

Banking - Good Numbers All Around

Loans and deposits growth gained traction to 6.8% and 7.5% YoY respectively. Also, leading indicators remained robust and asset quality held steady. As for NIM, we expect it to broaden from OPR hikes but the magnitude may be capped by the downward normalization of CASA mix. Nonetheless, banks are still net beneficiaries of interest rate upcycle. Overall, we continue to view positively the banking sector and also, opine the risk-reward profile is skewed to the upside; the cocktail of robust profit growth and undemanding valuations will be impetus to drive performance. Retain OVERWEIGHT; BUY calls include: Maybank, RHB, BIMB, Affin, Alliance.

Source: Hong Leong Investment Bank Research - 3 Oct 2022

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2022-10-03 23:25 | Report Abuse

Lehmanm moment 2.0 coming , good luck to all bank stock holder !

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-10-03 23:38 | Report Abuse

Staying at the sidelines with cash waiting to be deployed (all-in) at the right timing...... and keep 1-2 years to sell.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-04 11:22 | Report Abuse

The investment strategy for a Maybank investor should be, buy continuously when it drops. Even if there were another Lehman2.0, Maybank is unlikely to drop below RM7.

nhbeen

185 posts

Posted by nhbeen > 2022-10-04 11:28 | Report Abuse

@prudentinvestor: That is true. Be greedy when others are fearful. For long term investor, this price averaging method works well if one is discipline enough, i.e. buying consistently over time, reinvest dividend received to accumulate more units, etc.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-04 11:41 | Report Abuse

@nhbeen, for a rock solid counter like Maybank, it is safe to apply averaging down investment strategy. You may lose some money temporarily especially when there is an economic downturn but in the long run, investors should be able to make money.

stkoay

5,823 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-04 12:19 | Report Abuse

https://www.cnbc.com/2022/10/04/asia-pacific-markets-indonesia-is-the-best-performer.html

Elsewhere in Southeast Asia, Singapore has a “large representation” of companies — such as banks — that benefit from rising yields, said Raychaudhuri, adding that the country and India, Indonesia and Malaysia are “pockets of safety.”

Timothy Moe, chief Asia-Pacific equity strategist at Goldman Sachs, said there are three positive drivers for Southeast Asian markets.

Those include their delayed recovery from Covid, the emergence of a digital or “new” economy, and rising interest rates.

“Asean markets typically have a very high exposure to banks, and banks were not the place to be the last 10 years,” he told CNBC’s “Street Signs Asia” on Tuesday. “But they are now, with the interest rate cycle turning, and so that’s been a very significant tailwind for the Asean markets.”

Posted by Stock beginner > 2022-10-04 12:35 | Report Abuse

raising interest might increase bank profit and yet the risk of default is raising too. If many business is out of business, bank balance sheet might affected as well. Take Serba and Evergrand for example.
Merely stating the risk, not proposing buy or sell

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-04 16:08 | Report Abuse

Commendable performance by Maybank so far today. Dow Futures are up 1.26% again till this moment. Hopefully Maybank's uptrend would catapult it beyond RM8.80 tomorrow.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-04 22:05 | Report Abuse

Unlikely to have Lehman2 again any time soon. Dow has staged a very strong rebound, up 740 points now on top of yesterday's over 750 points.

Posted by Stock beginner > 2022-10-04 22:11 | Report Abuse

Maybank is less likely to went bankruptcy like Lehman. What i concern is the NPL will keep on increasing due to possible world wide economic recession or stagnation

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 11:30 | Report Abuse

Guys, this forum has been raided again by UlarSawa, who is a big cyber bully posting numerous comments on Top Glove and Henyuan forums. He fakes user names of others and spews out invectives, expletives and curses on others. Please hound him out of this solemn forum.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 11:31 | Report Abuse

You are making shame of yourself Ular

27,851 posts

Posted by mf > 2022-10-05 11:31 | Report Abuse

08:30 USD Average Hourly Earnings (YoY) (YoY) (Sep) 5.1% 5.2%
08:30 USD Average Hourly Earnings (MoM) (Sep) 0.3% 0.3%
08:30 USD Average Weekly Hours (Sep) 34.5 34.5
08:30 USD Government Payrolls (Sep) 7.0K
08:30 USD Manufacturing Payrolls (Sep) 20K 22K
08:30 USD Nonfarm Payrolls (Sep) 250K 315K
08:30 USD Participation Rate (Sep) 62.4%
08:30 USD Private Nonfarm Payrolls (Sep) 270K 308K
08:30 USD U6 Unemployment Rate (Sep) 7.0%
08:30 USD Unemployment Rate (Sep) 3.7% 3.7%

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 11:34 |

Cslee1215

418 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-05 12:33 | Report Abuse

Continue to look good. Maybe important announcement coming soon after budget day.

skybursa

1,469 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-10-05 13:50 | Report Abuse

Trash comments are so sick. Please comment stuff related to Maybank or else get loss.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 14:48 | Report Abuse

Sometimes I would give him a few spanks when he behaves abnormally. Now he is faking my user name to spew out invectives, expletives, curses on me. I think apart from a foul mouth, he is basically alright.

xxxx

1,349 posts

Posted by xxxx > 2022-10-05 15:53 | Report Abuse

Come,come. Unbecoming for an old man to write such vulgarity in a public forum.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 15:55 | Report Abuse

UlarSawa is a drug addict with no shame. The word shame isn't in his dictionary. He has just escaped from a drug rehabilitation center