MALAYAN BANKING BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAYBANK (1155)

+0.07 (0.73%)

9.59 - 9.70

38 people like this.

22,521 comment(s). Last comment by stkoay 3 hours ago

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 16:00 | Report Abuse

Guys, this forum has been raided again by UlarSawa, who is a big cyber bully posting numerous comments on Top Glove and Henyuan forums. He fakes user names of others including mine and spews out invectives, expletives and curses on others. Please hound him out of this solemn forum.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 16:02 | Report Abuse

We must work together to chase him out of this solemn forum and send him back to the drug rehabilitation center he has escaped from.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 16:05 | Report Abuse

Looks like he has returned temporarily to the rehabilitation center but beware he might return with a vengeance.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 16:52 | Report Abuse

Ular, continue with your cyber bullying. The moderators may report you to the MCMC one day.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 18:11 |

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 19:22 | Report Abuse

UlarSawa, when you typed the expletives/vulgarities, have you ever pondered for a moment what you were typing? You were actually confessing to doing those totally morally unacceptable acts to your mother and daughter. You are a despicable, immoral son and father.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 19:42 | Report Abuse

"When I prudentinvestor typed the expletives/vulgarities,..."
I didn't type, Ular typed, the moderators know this, all the other commentators know this. Being outwitted now.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 19:52 | Report Abuse

Ular has been outwitted now. He has lost his plot and is grasping at every straw. Soon he will berhara kiri. His mother disowns him now. His wife is divorcing him and his daughter has refused to support him during his old age.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 19:54 | Report Abuse

Joker still refuses to admit defeat. Quickly raise a white flag and I will relent. Am I teaching you English here?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-05 20:03 | Report Abuse

My time is up Ular. May not be able to entertain you full time over the next few days. Opportunity for you to spew out more expletives.

Posted by sorrynaiklorry > 2022-10-05 20:31 | Report Abuse

Get some help man. What happen to you? Life gave you lemons and you're taking it out here? lol

skybursa

1,467 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-10-06 06:12 | Report Abuse

This mentally problematic guy had been banned.

Posted by Tedinvestor > 2022-10-07 07:56 | Report Abuse

Beware of psychopath.

masterus

3,529 posts

Posted by masterus > 2022-10-07 10:17 | Report Abuse

NOPEC

Using USD and SWIFT will be bang among OPEC members. Financial nuke.

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-07 18:12 | Report Abuse

No new prosperity tax for 2023.....VERY GOOD !

Cslee1215

417 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-07 18:58 | Report Abuse

Malaysia is kaya now.

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-07 21:49 | Report Abuse

nobody can hide behind fake names and comment rubbish. MCMC can track you using your IP address. don't believe? ask Papagomo aka Wan Muhammad Azri Wan Deris - he was identified, tried and fined almost 1Million for spreading lies.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/404259

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-07 21:57 | Report Abuse

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/highlight/2022/10/07/exclusion-of-prosperity-tax-good-for-capital-market-says-bursa-chairman/

PETALING JAYA: The decision by the government to exclude the prosperity tax under Budget 2023 is a positive move for the capital market, Bursa Malaysia Securities Bhd chairman Wahid Omar said.

“Otherwise it will potentially shave off the FBM KLCI’s 2023 EPS (earnings per share) forecast by 5% to 6%,” he said.

He added that without the tax, the consensus among analysts was that the EPS would grow at a rate of 11.5% in 2023, compared with a contraction of 1.1% this year.

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-07 21:59 | Report Abuse

Additional few sen dividend will be very good....

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-09 12:05 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 9): Hong Leong Investment Bank Bhd (HLIB) Research maintains its “overweight” stance on the banking sector due to the absence of a recurring prosperity tax and any form of loan moratorium in Budget 2023 as speculated by some factions of the investment fraternity.

“By virtue of this, Budget 2023 is a win for banks. Hence, we continue to view the banking sector positively and opine that the risk-reward profile is skewed to the upside,” it said in its Market Outlook report.

According to the research house, the combination of robust profit growth and undemanding valuations will be the impetus driving performance.

For large-sized banks, such as Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank), the target price (TP) is RM9.70 for its strong dividend yield.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/no-prosperity-tax-no-loan-moratorium-spell-win-banks-%E2%80%94-hlib-research

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-09 12:12 | Report Abuse

We reckon it is an opportunity to buy undervalued stocks in cyclical sectors like banks, construction, oil and gas, plantations, property and transportation, and defensive plays in consumer, media, telco and utilities. Blue chips, especially, are mostly cheap despite their solid fundamentals and should bounce back strongly once the political uncertainties disappear.

Trading at a consensus calendar year 2023 (CY23) price-to-earnings ratio (PER) multiple of 12.3 times, the FBMKLCI is attractive versus comparable peers at 14 times. A possible rerating post 15th general election (GE15) should bring it closer to our year-end target of 1,590 based on CY23 PER of 14.4 times.

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/budget-2023-review-comprehensive-budget-resilient-future

Heroking

20 posts

Posted by Heroking > 2022-10-11 10:49 | Report Abuse

The start of the reality show. 5.80 come come come

Pinky

3,209 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-10-11 10:57 | Report Abuse

USD 5.80

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-11 12:51 | Report Abuse

the dip today is expected due to upcoming election. it will go up once election over. meanwhile I park a chunk of my funds at 8.28 in case it drops as much.

Yu_and_Mee

3,441 posts

Posted by Yu_and_Mee > 2022-10-11 14:38 | Report Abuse

Why Maybank drop so much?

Yu_and_Mee

3,441 posts

Posted by Yu_and_Mee > 2022-10-11 14:39 | Report Abuse

Wonder Maybank holding a lot of USD or not. Anyone knows?

Heroking

20 posts

Posted by Heroking > 2022-10-11 15:12 | Report Abuse

The truth of deception will appear . The shok sdr will disappear n the moment of truth is now.

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-11 15:31 | Report Abuse

PBB also got big shark sell off in batches

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-11 16:15 | Report Abuse

Sharps falls on Wall Street coupled with political uncertainty in the country are driving the market sharply lower today and Maybank is not spared. Those with deep pockets can continue to invest in Maybank if they are confident enough but those with fewer bullets should wait.

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-11 16:59 | Report Abuse

for fun i park a few lots at 8.45 when it was 8.50, suddenly all matched. looks like 8.28 could be the waterloo.

Cslee1215

417 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-11 17:20 | Report Abuse

I m sure those jokers will comment very soon.

jeffchan1901

1,304 posts

Posted by jeffchan1901 > 2022-10-11 17:45 | Report Abuse

just a side comment, do know that market plunge before an election is normal. this is due to knee jerk reaction from fund managers who dont want to take risk due to uncertainty and possibly have a bad report at the end of the year, thats why a lot of them sell off when they 'hear' rumours... remember for us retailers we also have the saying, buy on rumours and sell on news kan? the trick is do slowly invest in the BUSINESS and when averaging down your portfolio prices, make sure the drop in price is 'worth' the amount of money you put in to lower down the price. DO NOT BE GREEDY and put all your cash into the stock at the perceive lowest price at the spure of the moment. it can go lower than the historical data charts.

All it takes is an analyst to say that the TP is now way lower, this will spark the herd mentality driving prices below the lowest dip in the last decade e.g. Maybank analyst suddenly change TP for Magnum from 1.70 to 1.58, caught a lot of retailers off guard. It has not recovered after dropping as low as 1.38 and currently at 1.45.

best to proceed with caution and collect slowly but surely... remember....

When you have money, you have time (to choose), the opposite may not necessary be the same

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2022-10-11 21:21 | Report Abuse

"The start of the reality show. 5.80 come come come"
@Heroking, when the Dow briefly dipped below 20,000 points sometime in March 2020, Maybank didn't drop below RM7. No investment bank has ever forecast that the Dow would dip below 20,000 points again even if a recession were to hit. You have repeatedly claimed that Maybank would drop to RM5.80, if you are so confident of your claim, you should use all your resources to short Maybank. This would be the most correct thing to do.

DickyMe2

1,509 posts

Posted by DickyMe2 > 2022-10-11 21:50 | Report Abuse

Almost 13% of Malaysian ringgit value wiped out. Soon will become toilet paper when it hits at RM 5 against a $. The current debt stands at RM1.4++ TRILLION or 58% of GDP. If the plunderers are elected to power expect that to double up! To add pressure to the scrotal, these pirates may reintroduce GST and other taxes, to mend holes. That is the easiest method known to dimwit leaders. Whatever current value is meaningless. Your purchasing power shrunk!

Cslee1215

417 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-12 08:56 | Report Abuse

@DickyMe2, not only ringgit, this world wide problem. Take a look in euro and other region.

Posted by morningsunshine > 2022-10-12 10:29 | Report Abuse

If price drops below 8.38 dividend payout, will all dividend pay in cash?

Posted by AqsadMohamad > 2022-10-12 12:10 | Report Abuse

Tunggu harga murah dan kutip

skybursa

1,467 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2022-10-13 06:28 | Report Abuse

Bank Negara reluctant to raise rate aggressively because of election . Bank rate differential are wide compared with others countries. Ringgit will likely hit above 4.70.

Cslee1215

417 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-13 07:52 | Report Abuse

Next opr in November.

10,265 posts

Posted by Income > 2022-10-13 21:51 | Report Abuse

Harimau jadi Kucing kah?

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-10-13 23:43 | Report Abuse

Anwar says door ‘wide open’ for talks with Dr M, Muhyiddin
'Ainin Wan Salleh -October 13, 2022 6:03 PM
https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2022/10/13/anwar-says-door-wide-open-for-cooperation-with-dr-m-muhyiddin/

kyliew

1,383 posts

Posted by kyliew > 2022-10-13 23:52 | Report Abuse

Be prepared for long stock market downturn, say expertshttps://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/highlight/2022/06/22/be-prepared-for-long-stock-market-downturn-say-experts/

king36

1,022 posts

Posted by king36 > 2022-10-14 06:10 | Report Abuse

Yeah, we may need to wait for a change in leadership in USA.
The present one is too old and stereotyped to see the changes that have happened in this new world.

Cslee1215

417 posts

Posted by Cslee1215 > 2022-10-14 10:19 | Report Abuse

More friend is better than enemy when you re in critical time. Anwar is a true politician.

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-14 13:18 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2022/10/840417/investors-likely-wait-and-see

Given the looming global downturn and political uncertainty on the local front, economists believe the stability of a new administration will augur well for the stock market.

Minority Shareholder Watch Group (MSWG) chief executive officer Devanesan Evanson said the stock markets prefer certainty and predictability.

Devanesan said this is because the markets tend to discount this uncertainty through stock prices.

Pinky

3,209 posts

Posted by Pinky > 2022-10-14 16:23 | Report Abuse

Politician/military strategist - "My enemy's enemy is my ally"
Mindless moralist - "I only work with good men"

The strategists rule the world e.g. First Emperor of China, Cao Cao, Napoleon etc
The moralists die as nobody, or at most end remembered in history writing memoirs e.g. Confucius

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-15 14:03 | Report Abuse

Fund managing firm Tradeview Capital Sdn Bhd and Phillip Research Sdn Bhd both hold the view that should a majority government be formed by the winning coalition in GE15, investors could see a rally on the FBM KLCI.

“Whether a minority or majority government is formed, we could see market recovery as some form of stability in the political landscape would be achieved.

“That being said, if a minority government is formed, despite the likely market recovery, some policy implementation risks would still remain that may deter the return of foreign investors, capping market upside,” Wong says.

On the other hand, he adds, if GE15 is able to restore political stability, the market would likely see solid recovery, with inflows of foreign interest, given the attractive market valuation and relatively healthy economic growth.

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2022/10/15/how-will-ge15-affect-the-economy

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-17 12:45 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/breakingviews-big-us-banks-shoulder-firstworld-problems

NEW YORK (Oct 14): It’s hard to be sympathetic when bank bosses effectively complain that their businesses are too safe and sound, and that customers are too conservative. Yet for the big US lenders who reported third-quarter earnings on Friday, that’s the reality. JPMorgan, Wells Fargo and Citigroup have what might be thought of as first-world problems.

Banks, then, are not the likely source of the next financial crisis. But that just means the real systemic threats lurk out of sight. Britain’s recent pension-fund margin call mini-crisis read more was an example of risk that financial regulators didn’t see coming, because they weren’t looking in the right place. The quest for sturdy and thoroughly scrutinized banks has pushed hazardous behaviour into the shadows. That makes the lenders’ solid balance sheets feel like less of a victory.

stkoay

5,817 posts

Posted by stkoay > 2022-10-17 15:18 | Report Abuse

https://www.nst.com.my/business/2022/10/841308/more-gains-malaysian-banks-higher-interest-rates-economic-recovery-fitch

KUALA LUMPUR: Higher interest rates and a firm economic recovery are likely to enhance Malaysian banks' revenue and profitability prospects, according to Fitch Ratings.

Credit impairments, however, were likely to rise but remain manageable, the firm added.

"These factors drove our recent revision of the operating environment score for the Malaysian banking sector to its pre-pandemic level of 'bbb+', from 'bbb', with a stable outlook," Fitch said in a report today.