BATU KAWAN BHD

KLSE (MYR): BKAWAN (1899)

20.00 - 20.00

504 comment(s). Last comment by moven00 1 week ago

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-09 12:11 | Report Abuse

Gallop on baby!!

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-09 18:06 | Report Abuse

How shameful. Once this stock traded at more than RM 100 per share, today selling at goreng pisang price.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-09 23:06 | Report Abuse

DickyMe How shameful. Once this stock traded at more than RM 100 per share, today selling at goreng pisang price.

I doubt it. Even if it had then perhaps there must have been a bonus issue and/or share split.

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-10 15:11 | Report Abuse

In doubt, normally they do check up. Fly back to 40 years ago. The current data is limited. Go to library and pore through old newspaper. Those days no computer. It is not bonus issue or splits which caused the slide but politic and policies since 1980s. You must thank Dr. Mahatir for killing good companies.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-11 11:04 | Report Abuse

This is the response to my open letter I got from the management of BK ...

Sorry for the late reply.

BKB has been investing in several property development projects in Australia with further capital commitments and BKB is also looking into other investment opportunities. Besides, BKB Chemical Group is embarking on several projects i.e. building on-site co-generation as reported in last year’s annual report and investing in better technology in its key process in the chlor-alkali operation.

Save for the above, the DRP will provide shareholders the opportunity to enhance their equity participation in the Company at a discounted price over long term.

Best regards,

Goh Swee Eng

Chief Financial Officer/Company Secretary

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-11 19:07 | Report Abuse

Even then it does not justify around 80% capital erosion.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-12 09:07 | Report Abuse

DickyMe - I'm trying to get some info on this erosion which I think is quite possible.

Could you provide some link or reference on this matter?

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-12 10:29 | Report Abuse

I have searched the net but unavailable. Only source is old newspaper.(early 1980), I remember looking at the stocks section - The Star. I don't have the paper now. That's almost 40 years ago.

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-12 10:45 | Report Abuse

WSJ's website historical price begins from June 1994
https://quotes.wsj.com/MY/XKLS/1899/historical-prices

Then it was around RM 2.xxx

14,344 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2019-12-12 11:11 | Report Abuse

There are some protected research papers and books about Malaysian stocks from 1970s.

Perhaps this link may provide the information if you want to dig deeper
https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S2214845015300703#bib17. Wiley Online Library requires registration, I pass on it.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-12 16:08 | Report Abuse

tq DickyMe

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-12 16:45 | Report Abuse

WSJ historical prices reveal some interesting stats.

Based on June 94 price of 2.40 vs Dec 2019 price of 16.60, compounded annual gain (excluding the handsome intermittent dividends) = 7.9%!

If we compare June 94 to Dec 2016, then the gain is 9.4%!!

I hope somebody invents a time tunnel.

Rwkl

216 posts

Posted by Rwkl > 2019-12-13 17:38 | Report Abuse

Fell from $100?ll
Wow....1lot,more than 100k? Not many could even dream buying.
I can’t ever recollect that price”

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-13 21:50 | Report Abuse

BK main man Tan Sri Dato Lee has been picking up a couple of lots but because of trading illiquidity, that was enough for the share to climb precipitously.

Just speculating - Maybe he wants shareholders to pay more for the DRP

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2019-12-15 23:16 | Report Abuse

Batu Kawan derives most of its profits from KLK, which is its own subsidiary. It is also involved in chemicals manufacturing. Batu Kawan's earning performance has been overall decreasing in last five years, whereby its earning per share overall decreased from 126.9 sen to 116 sen. Return on equity is around 7%. Dividend paid to shareholders in 2018 is 55 sen per share. Dividend yield is around 3.3%.

https://louisesinvesting.blogspot.com/2019/12/comments-on-batu-kawan-berhad-1899.html

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-16 05:49 | Report Abuse

The devil's in the details but in a nutshell ...

BK is primarily driven by CPO prices given the big chunk of dividends it receives from KLK.

However it is somewhat mitigated by the oppositely correlated impact on downstream oleo chemicals that enjoy improved margins at lower CPO.

Then there's the earnings from industrial chemicals and smaller stuff from property development.

Cipta

980 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2019-12-16 22:10 | Report Abuse

It is logical to keep only one co listed which its business overlapping. A big saving to the holding co if taking either one private.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2019-12-27 15:37 | Report Abuse

CPO rise is strangely meteoric but who's complaining!

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-01-10 17:44 | Report Abuse

Is the drop due to some nut making idiotic statements resulting in us losing the high-margin refined palm oil oleo-chemical business?

Posted by danielleesing > 2020-01-15 13:30 | Report Abuse

ipoh-based Batu Kawan Bhd is widely known as the parent company of locally listed plantation giant Kuala Lumpur Kepong Bhd (KLK). However, many may not know that Batu Kawan is also Malaysia’s largest producer of chlor-alkali chemical products, which include chlorine, caustic soda and hydrochloric acid.

Its chemical plants in Perak and Terengganu have an annual production capacity of 116,000 tonnes of caustic soda. These factories run at an average utilisation rate of close to 90%. The group’s market share is estimated at 55% to 60%.

To be sure, the bulk of Batu Kawan’s profit comes from KLK. Even so, profit attributable to Batu Kawan’s shareholders grew to RM825.2 million in FY2016 from RM483.7 million in FY2013, translating into a three-year compound annual growth rate of nearly 20%. While KLK’s is slightly more impressive at 20.2%, we had imposed a penalty on KLK in The Edge Billion Ringgit Club calculations as its FY2015 net profit fell below the FY2013 base year, resulting in Batu Kawan coming just ahead of KLK for the 2017 BRC award for highest growth in profit after tax over three years.

LouiseS

286 posts

Posted by LouiseS > 2020-01-20 12:28 | Report Abuse

Based on comparison of 44 plantation counters listed in Bursa Malaysia, BATU KAWAN is shown to be one of the TOP 8 plantation counters worthy to pay attention to and potentially invest in. BATU KAWAN stands out in performance indicators such as having consistently high earning per share (> 50 sen per share), high NTA per share (RM 14.4 per share) and relatively low P/E ratio of ~20.

https://louisesinvesting.blogspot.com/2020/01/comparison-of-major-plantations.html

Cipta

980 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2020-01-22 13:18 | Report Abuse

Batu Kawan's bleaching earth is dominant in local Palm Oil refinery.
Her subsidiaries' Syntomer is dominant in synthetic Glove manufacturing.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-01-31 12:22 | Report Abuse

I guess no DRIP take up this round in view of the steep decline in the share price.

27,854 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-03-19 22:58 | Report Abuse

European markets turn negative as coronavirus fears overpower stimulus momentum

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-04-02 15:42 | Report Abuse

The incentive to buy now is the probable 15 sen dividend to be announced in May - a yearly affair (unless management decides that the Co wants to hoard cash)

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-05-18 06:13 | Report Abuse

Come on brother!
Declare that 15 sen dividend.
Go on!
I haven't got all day.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-05-27 10:02 | Report Abuse

A massive volume by B.Kawan standards with a more than 50k shares purchased at RM14!

ttluck

769 posts

Posted by ttluck > 2020-06-04 11:51 | Report Abuse

It's time to rebound back.. MCO lifted.. Post economy stimulus plan.... India buying back...

27,854 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-06-14 19:09 | Report Abuse

AstraZeneca Reaches Vaccine Supply Deal With Four EU Nations

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-06-16 11:34 | Report Abuse

The good thing management did was to cancel all 10% treasury shares bought and now they're buying back some more heading foe another 10%.

Well done!!

pontianak

60 posts

Posted by pontianak > 2020-06-23 22:44 | Report Abuse

The forest open burning & subsequently anti palm oil campaign by the west really didn’t do good to this industry. If this industry can rise again like the olden days, Malaysia economy be on stronger footing.

27,854 posts

Posted by mf > 2020-07-13 13:02 | Report Abuse

Chaos in Parliament as PM puts forward motion to remove speaker

pushparaj

205 posts

Posted by pushparaj > 2020-08-19 17:59 | Report Abuse

Another gem like, "UNITED PLANTATIONS"

kasim

75 posts

Posted by kasim > 2020-09-09 10:04 | Report Abuse

Like never before, billboards have been erected at estates and mills, advertisements placed in the media, and intense engagement with the authorities to entice locals are done on a regular basis,

kasim

75 posts

Posted by kasim > 2020-09-09 10:04 | Report Abuse

Response thus far has been lukewarm but we have not given up hope. In absence of any success, we may have to plead to the government for help

Tashan

129 posts

Posted by Tashan > 2020-09-21 14:18 | Report Abuse

Applause

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-11-05 21:30 | Report Abuse

Saya harap serentak dengan harga CPO, dividen pun akan melambung naik.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-11-17 22:35 | Report Abuse

What a shitty acquisition of CCM!

No sane person would pay such a huge price for such a badly run co.

i3gambler

656 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2020-11-18 08:25 | Report Abuse

I look at it this way.
If the deal is bad or just to help PNB,
Then why not KLK buy it?

Plantermen

2,096 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2020-11-18 08:32 | Report Abuse

Totally unacceptable a well run company Batu Kawan { KLK } buying a shit and paying a Premium during this covid outbreak. EGM please voice out

i3gambler

656 posts

Posted by i3gambler > 2020-11-18 09:34 | Report Abuse

Aiyo, tell you another example.

TAANN bought 30.5% equity in SWKPLNT at RM2.00 at quite big premium to market price in early Year 2018.

The estate and mill were badly managed then that the average monthly FFB production was way below 20K mT.

After TAANN joined in the management since then, the average monthly FFB production increase consistently until it is now at 28.2K mT.

Chua Zhi En

1,103 posts

Posted by Chua Zhi En > 2020-11-18 12:46 | Report Abuse

I guess because of Bkawan still have room to drag down their performance if u compare it with KLK. Bkawan is still cheap so affordable to take higher risks on investment but KLK is relatively expensive, another bad decision will cause KLK turn haywire and considering KLK is a KLCI components stock.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-11-18 13:54 | Report Abuse

For the Tunku who sits on the board, it's a win-win deal. She only holds 1000 shares of BK but her father holds 337,500 KLK shares (per 2018 Annual Report).

To pay cash for CCM, KLK has to declare a massive dividend & her family will be laughing all the way to the bank.

So guys, due to this bailout, don't expect a generous dividend at BK level .

Downside risk we bear but any windfall, others get the benefit.

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-11-19 16:36 | Report Abuse

It's too late i guess.

I wonder how come the board is given such wide powers to make such a huge commitment without requiring EGM approval.

It's like Pearl Harbour sneak attack haha.

Posted by LongTermInvestor8 > 2020-11-22 16:20 | Report Abuse

Price correction coming as shown in TA chart. RSI at 80% all time high. MACD all time high and about to cross like previous crossing. Volume down

Posted by dailyklse2010 > 2020-11-26 13:44 | Report Abuse

Cash rich company, keep buying back. No signal for correction due company obviously support the price. Company have highlight the better profit in coming YR2021. YR2020 104 EPS, YR2020 120 or higher ?

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-12-02 15:37 | Report Abuse

A massive amount of BK shares bought at 17.60.

What's happening?

Chua Zhi En

1,103 posts

Posted by Chua Zhi En > 2020-12-02 17:43 | Report Abuse

A to B pocket I guess? lol

sheldon

1,384 posts

Posted by sheldon > 2020-12-03 15:08 | Report Abuse

Ah yes - the share goreng which we're world famous for.