ALLIANCE BANK MALAYSIA BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ABMB (2488)

-0.03 (0.68%)

4.37 - 4.43

6 people like this.

1,825 comment(s). Last comment by ScotFree 3 days ago

newbie911

1,111 posts

Posted by newbie911 > 2019-12-28 08:46 | Report Abuse

Market bull...but tis stock keep diving.

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2019-12-28 08:47 | Report Abuse

After feb result, rm2.30 coming

sctan

468 posts

Posted by sctan > 2019-12-28 09:36 | Report Abuse

After Feb result, abmb is free for everyone, lol.

6,175 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2019-12-28 10:01 | Report Abuse

Add

5,820 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2019-12-28 16:24 | Report Abuse

Can tau kai or curi ayam at 2.58.... catch some...

Posted by Choivo Capital > 2020-01-03 13:28 | Report Abuse

Bought some while i study abit more.

Posted by nickthebest > 2020-01-05 11:27 | Report Abuse

Damn cheap, added RM50k on Friday.

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-01-05 12:15 | Report Abuse

After feb report u can get cheaper

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-05 12:41 | Report Abuse

Buy big

Sure win

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-01-05 15:06 | Report Abuse

Buy after feb report.. sure cheaper

Posted by nickthebest > 2020-01-05 17:43 | Report Abuse

Icon gor you no buy Affin ah?

2,550 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2020-01-06 20:39 | Report Abuse

Hehe

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2020-01-07 07:02 | Report Abuse

Temasek Singapore controlled DBS Bank, owned 29+% of ABMB.

Both CEO of DBS and ABMB are from Citibank, after long service.

Plantermen

2,196 posts

Posted by Plantermen > 2020-01-07 07:18 | Report Abuse

Temasak is equivalent to our PNB. They are Singapore wealth fund. DBS, UOB and OCBC is Singapore big 3 banking groups. Alliance bank has expanded thier domestic and wealth fund management operations

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2020-01-07 08:20 | Report Abuse

Can expect good management qualities.

uptrending

1,852 posts

Posted by uptrending > 2020-01-07 08:47 | Report Abuse

Temasek Singapore akin to Khazanah Malaysia

6,175 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-01-07 09:05 | Report Abuse

Strong Buy

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-07 12:54 | Report Abuse

I hope it stays low for another one more year

would like to buy more after cashing out of others with profit

Posted by Huathuatlai > 2020-01-07 22:37 | Report Abuse

Good price to enter now?

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-01-07 22:47 | Report Abuse

No

Posted by Huathuatlai > 2020-01-07 22:48 | Report Abuse

Any suggestion on this..?

Posted by stock_investor > 2020-01-08 07:05 | Report Abuse

This stock is dead fish. Be careful.

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2020-01-08 07:13 | Report Abuse

C d feb resilt first

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-08 07:44 | Report Abuse

I hope it goes down as what gem finder predicted

Love to buy more

I have never been so sure about a stock

Drop more buy more

Posted by Huathuatlai > 2020-01-08 07:49 | Report Abuse

Okie dokie...thank all my sifu..

zhen wei & JP

1,171 posts

Posted by zhen wei & JP > 2020-01-08 07:55 | Report Abuse

Laggards.

skybursa

1,480 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2020-01-08 07:56 | Report Abuse

I had been accumulating nanking stocks for the past 4 month's. MAYBANK, CImb, AMBANK and ABMB. ABMB and MAYBANK are my largest holding in banking stocks. MAYBANK offered high dividend while ABMB offer cheap valuation.

Posted by Huathuatlai > 2020-01-08 09:31 | Report Abuse

So It is better for long term?

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2020-01-08 09:32 | Report Abuse

@icon8888 What makes you so sure about it? I read your article, decent but not exactly amazing given the other opportunities on bursa now

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-08 09:55 | Report Abuse

what other opportunities ? for example ? that would be a good way for me to explain to you why I like ABMB so much at this price

skybursa

1,480 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2020-01-08 10:28 | Report Abuse

I think the US will strike back at Iran anytime & war are near. I'm will buy more if ABMB drop to 2.50. Let's hope for more bargains.

alexsee

1,348 posts

Posted by alexsee > 2020-01-08 10:34 | Report Abuse

looks like this counter no support at all for this some time.. RM2.00 is a good entry price.. provided u dare to buy..

skybursa

1,480 posts

Posted by skybursa > 2020-01-08 11:07 | Report Abuse

RM 2 is possible if US market crash 40%. But banking stocks are the one to recover faster than others counter.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-08 11:39 | Report Abuse

I hope it drops to 2

Slurp

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-08 16:03 | Report Abuse

Bought more 259

Posted by Huathuatlai > 2020-01-08 16:21 | Report Abuse

Waiting 2.55..plz plz

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2020-01-08 18:22 | Report Abuse

@icon8888

Petron for example, B2C company at PE5 (earnings normalized), ROIC > 15 growing at the fastest rate out of all the petrol stations and able to control its entire chain of operations from refinery to distribution to pump, relatively recession proof in that everyone needs to pump petrol be it at Shell, Petronas or Petron. Recent oil price increase will likely be beneficial on a net basis despite derivative losses. Cheap, margin of safety, value, no moat but pretty good business nonetheless with government subsidising the difference in price up or down.

Why is ABMB your biggest position besides it being dumped down to the price it is now because of impairment losses. Currently trading at 0.7x P/B but ROA comfortably less than 1% now, barely 1% at its peak, gearing ratio currently 8.8, I don't know, I don't see it being that superb? Is it purely because of the impairments which may or may not be a one off provision?

Posted by stocksyndicate > 2020-01-08 22:29 | Report Abuse

Impairment was past history already accountable in previous quarter. Will buy again if hit 2.50.

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-09 03:51 | Report Abuse

Outliar it is difficult to explain

I think I can feel ABMB

When I own a lot of it, I feel very very comfortable

I can tell myself that I 100% can make money out of it, not over a distant unknown future, but THIS year

Maybe because it is a bank stock, which I know is regulated by BNM, which ensure no hanky panky even in the worst of time during Naxxx government with his hands everywhere. They are too important to fail as it will drag the economy down

Banks also have a captive market. In a certain sense they just sit there and make money

I have always like banks. The only thing is that all this while non is available for sale at attractive price

Now ABMB is here at 260 , so I jump on it

As for petronm, whatever you mentioned is not wrong. But my feeling is that I don’t understand enough of it. Fear of the unknown is the primary factor behind me not willing to punt big beyond certain size

With ABMB, I don’t have this fear

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-09 04:11 | Report Abuse

Come to think about it the Temasek factor is the reason I am so comfortable

If some other companies got sold down like this I will be alarmed as there might be something rotten inside

But for stocks like Alliance Bank (and CIMB), I know this is unlikely the case

I just know it

It is the feel

Posted by Unkerpanjang > 2020-01-09 07:07 | Report Abuse

Super example of Veblen Effect for ABMB.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2020-01-09 07:52 | Report Abuse

So in other words, you have a good feeling about the stock because of Temasek and that it is a bank. Gotta say though, it is after all the smallest bank in Malaysia, doesn't have that great numbers and with interest rates potentially dropping, you would likely need to average down more in time. I wish you the very best nonetheless and will keep an eye on it. It is ultimately trading at historic lows.

Outliar

302 posts

Posted by Outliar > 2020-01-09 07:55 | Report Abuse

Temasek's effective ownership is about 15% though.

Posted by PaulNewman > 2020-01-09 08:02 | Report Abuse

Alliance is no public bank. It is not the best managed bank in our country. Investing in Alliance bank is a bet on earnings recovery. With valuation at historical low, what seems to be a mediocre bank could be a good investment. First level thinking suggests Alliance bank earnings will continue to be affected by poor loan underwriting in the past. However, second level thinking would suggest Alliance bank had made a full provision and impairment of their riskiest loan and such provision would reduce in future.

6,175 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-01-09 08:10 | Report Abuse

Agreed, still a good investment.

Add

Posted by Icon8888 > 2020-01-09 09:06 | Report Abuse

second level thinker.

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-01-09 10:21 | Report Abuse

Outliar
Why is ABMB your biggest position besides it being dumped down to the price it is now because of impairment losses. Currently trading at 0.7x P/B but ROA comfortably less than 1% now, barely 1% at its peak, gearing ratio currently 8.8, I don't know, I don't see it being that superb? Is it purely because of the impairments which may or may not be a one off provision?

Obviously, you don't understand banking much.
Some fundamental knowledge:
1) P/B is tied to its ROE. ABMB ROE is projected around 9% v. 0.7x P/B
2) Instead of ROA, banks look at RORWA (return on risk weighted assets). Despite the lower earnings recorded in first half, ABMB RORWA is still at 1.04% (commendable)
3) Instead of gearing, to gauge the Bank's liquidity/funding and capital structure, these are the ratios to look at, as regulated by BNM

Liquidity: ABMB liquidity coverage ratio is 161.5% (way above BNM requirement of >100%)
Capital: ABMB CET1 and Total Capital ratio at 13.5% and 18.6% (way above BNM requirement of 4.5% and 8% respectively)

goldmind

Posted by goldmind > 2020-01-09 11:15 | Report Abuse

Icon8888, can I ikut you ah? I feel tempted to drawdown my FD to buy ABMB. And also GENM. Whats your view bout GENM, Icon8888?

Posted by Fabien "The Efficient Capital Allocater" > 2020-01-09 13:35 | Report Abuse

even after adjusting for apparently "riskier" asset profile, ABMB capital ratios are still very healthy

at current valuation, it's a good bet to get through this "difficult period" while waiting for the earnings (normalization of its annual loan loss provision) and hence valuation multiple to normalize