GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

4.70 - 4.72

43 people like this.

83,436 comment(s). Last comment by Michaelchan2024 55 minutes ago

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-20 20:46 | Report Abuse

4 mths gain 6% (excluding dividend). If extrapolate it, 1 yr return 18%. Seems better than 3 yrs return 25% (including dividend) :p

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-20 20:59 | Report Abuse

Sometimes need more patience when investing la.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-20 22:25 | Report Abuse

Marina Bay Sands’ Q1 net revenue rises to US$848 million as casino takings hit new record..

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/marina-bay-sands-q1-net-revenue-rises-us848-million-casino-takings-hit-new-record

GenB to follow...huat aaaar

choysun

4,312 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-04-21 08:03 | Report Abuse

Nice. Bull start for casino? Let's go :)

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 09:02 | Report Abuse

Marina Bay Sands sees Q1 earnings more than treble to $526m on record casino takings..

https://www.straitstimes.com/business/companies-markets/marina-bay-sands-sees-earnings-more-than-treble-to-526-million-in-q1

A robust recovery in travel and tourism spending across our markets is now under way,” LVS chief executive officer Robert Goldstein said in a statement on Thursday.

"In Singapore, we were pleased to see the ongoing recovery at Marina Bay Sands progress during the quarter, with the property again delivering outstanding levels of performance in both mass gaming and tenant sales,” he said.

LVS said it expects further improvement in travel and tourism spending from China and Hong Kong as airline and ferry capacity rebounds

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 09:14 | Report Abuse

新加坡Marina Bay Sands 赌场..首季盈利恢复至疫情前水平逾九成

Good news for GenB, GenM

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 09:54 | Report Abuse

It's time to switch from dividend stocks to GenB (deep value stock).

dragon328

2,280 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2023-04-21 11:56 | Report Abuse

Superb growth in MBS earnings! Revenue for Q1 rose 20% from S$907m in 4Q2022 to S$1.1 billion in 1Q2023, and EBITDA rose a much larger 45% from S$363m in 4Q2022 to now S$526m in 1Q2023.

I hope GenS can register similar growth of 20% revenue to S$650m and 36%-39% growth in EBITDA to S$350m for 1Q2023.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 12:20 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/capital/brokers-calls/mbss-1qfy2023-outperformance-could-signal-similar-surprise-genting-singapore

MBS's 1QFY2023 outperformance could signal similar surprise for Genting Singapore: Citi

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 12:21 | Report Abuse

Similar surprise for GenM and GenB

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 12:24 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/news/company-news/amid-tourism-recovery-genting-singapore-staying-out-new-overseas-projects

Amid tourism recovery, Genting Singapore staying out of new overseas projects

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 15:50 | Report Abuse

It is ok for every investor to own different stocks and stocks within different industries for risk diversification. As Genting investors, we all can talk about the good, the bad, and ugly sides of Genting..

But we can't allow an (大小眼) individual directly or indirectly promoting banking stocks in Genting’s forum

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 16:53 | Report Abuse

Brokers’ take: CGS-CIMB raises target on Genting.S... expects higher earnings after positive MBS results

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/brokers-take-cgs-cimb-raises-target-genting-singapore-expects-higher-earnings

1invest1

1,467 posts

Posted by 1invest1 > 2023-04-21 17:56 | Report Abuse

Up to 3,500 high-net-worth individuals to become Singapore citizens in 2023, most from China: report
FRI, APR 21, 2023 - 01:52 PM

Fast way to increase wealth of nation.
Also, bring in talent, skills & network.

MM2H bureaucratic cumbersome unattractive
Uncompetitive & take forever

Spore will become richest nation bef 2050.

Spore stk mkt will fly sooner than later.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-21 18:28 | Report Abuse

See the crowd at resort world sentosa today...those bank promoters 应该拉去...槍斃

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-04-22 12:20 | Report Abuse

I'm here at Highlands since yesterday. Crowd is good, not super packed but quite busy.

What I notice is alot of Indonesian travelers

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-04-22 12:21 | Report Abuse

Oh yeah, traffic seems to be building up, and the check in staff confirmed today's booking is fully booked

DestinyL

4,740 posts

Posted by DestinyL > 2023-04-22 12:22 | Report Abuse

I stayed at Geo hotel, Highlands already fully booked for yesterday

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-04-22 17:51 | Report Abuse

"4 mths gain 6% (excluding dividend). If extrapolate it, 1 yr return 18%. Seems better than 3 yrs return 25% (including dividend) :p"
@红底裤No one compares the relative performance of two counters this way. Genting was trading at around RM5.15 at the beginning of 2020. Maybank still registered a growth of 25% from the beginning of 2020, Genting has registered negative growth.

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-22 19:40 | Report Abuse

If you want to use early 2020 to compare stock performance because you bought both mbb n GenB together at the same time, thats your problem. A lot of people here bought this stock below or near 3.00. Your experience will be vastly different from other investors' experience.

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-22 19:48 | Report Abuse

The question is: Why use beginning of 2020 as comparison? Is it a fair comparison? No one here is using your comparison method. How abt use the late march 2020 low when global stock indexes synchronised bottomed n rebounded into a new bull market? Or use the early nov 2020 as date of comparison when i bought at 2.97 near bottom?

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-22 19:50 | Report Abuse

Those that bought above 5.00 will feel this is a lousy stock. Those that bough at 2.97 will feel this stock is quite good. Personal experiences will differ.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-23 12:07 | Report Abuse

Malaysia to relax visa policy as applications drop..

https://e.vnexpress.net/news/travel/malaysia-to-relax-visa-policy-as-applications-drop-4596788.html

More good news to boost the tourism industry and malaysia's economy

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-04-24 16:12 | Report Abuse

"If you want to use early 2020 to compare stock performance because you bought both mbb n GenB together at the same time, thats your problem."
That is not my problem. You can't choose the time frame to suit yourself. Can I say let's choose early 2018 or early 2013 to compare the peformance of the two counters? Genting was trading at RM9 in early 2018 and Maybank at almost RM10. In early 2013, Genting was trading at around RM9.50 and Maybank at RM9. Remember Maybank has consistently paid more than 50 sen a share in dividends for over a decade.
"A lot of people here bought this stock below or near 3.00. Your experience will be vastly different from other investors' experience."
A lot of people claimed to have bought Genting at below RM3. What about those who had bought at over RM8 years ago?

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-04-24 16:57 | Report Abuse

Will only consider buying Gentibg again after the results of the six state elections are known. Plenty of uncertainties right now.

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-24 17:25 | Report Abuse

Many also claimed abt their auto lowering average prices, their 90m fund size etc which we all know these are fakes. If they want to publicly disgrace themselves then let them be. Up to people to decide who is talking kok and who is not. I know I bought 1m shares at 2.97 and further scaled up position on that Nov 2020 rally. I trade this stock in millions of shares. The fake ones always like to falsely accuse me a fake trader. I posted my real trading records a few times here as proof Im not talking kok here.

Im sure there are some here bought at rm8.00. Sad but thats the reality of the inherently risky stock market. Defence is more important than offense. Not much choice now but to hold long term, let the Taurx success play out fully. Im confident price can go above rm10 eventually.

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-24 17:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by prudentinvestor > 27 minutes ago | Report Abuse
Will only consider buying Gentibg again after the results of the six state elections are known. Plenty of uncertainties right now.
---------------------------------

Please elaborate why state election is risky for GenB. Is Pahang state involved and Highlands will be affected? Im not a local and seldom read local news.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-24 18:36 | Report Abuse

Sarawak casino proposal

https://youtu.be/rC6b32_k4UQ

Good.. Casino license to decide by the Federal government.. not state government

Don't need to worry about the 6 state election in July .. why worry?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-24 18:40 | Report Abuse

https://www.sinchew.com.my/?p=4631459

Singapore welcomes the return of tourists from China.. 发达了!

choysun

4,312 posts

Posted by choysun > 2023-04-24 19:38 | Report Abuse

@ATK I think they know Genting is in Pahang and it's not involved in the next state election la. Fear mongering, but ok la, reversal can snap up again :p

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-24 20:11 | Report Abuse

The most bullish guy that bought nonstop above 5.00 (7 turbo charged engine, genting creme de la creme best investment for 2023, Warren Buffett investment style, mark my words etc) suddenly scared of state elections which pahang not involved :p

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-24 20:16 | Report Abuse

Buy the dip has been very rewarding for many investors especially in USA.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-04-24 20:30 | Report Abuse

"I trade this stock in millions of shares. The fake ones always like to falsely accuse me a fake trader. I posted my real trading records a few times here as proof Im not talking kok here."
You are almost as loaded as someone who claimed to have a RM90 million fund size to buy Genting. That doesn't bother me. What bothes me is whether I make money from the stock market or not.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-24 20:52 | Report Abuse

https://in.investing.com/news/dbs-group-holdings-receives-investment-bank-analyst-rating-update-3582185
JPMorgan downgrades DBS to Underweight

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/capital/brokers-calls/dbs-downgrades-ocbc-and-uob-hold-it-sees-limited-catalysts-now
DBS downgrades OCBC and UOB to 'hold' as it sees 'limited catalysts for now'

"MM2H bureaucratic cumbersome unattractive
Uncompetitive & take forever

Spore will become richest nation bef 2050.

Spore stk mkt will fly sooner than later."

Everyone is downgrading Singapore banks except bank promoters ..still promoting Singapore banks

If Singapore banks don't fly...how Spore stk mkt going to fly?

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-24 21:02 | Report Abuse

Lai lai .. buy GenB, the best recovery stock

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-24 21:22 | Report Abuse

@Prudentinvestor you already held this stock thru the lows, what other bad things have you not seen before? GenB was very badly affected by covid, incurred billions in losses due to lockdowns etc, biz still yet to fully recover. GenS though already making very strong profit (I think Festive Hotel not even operating yet). Biz definitely still not at pre-covid level yet, hence as reflected in its share price now. Wait for Tiong tourists to come.

BTW I dont have 90m cash and in fact very very far from it. There is only one person has over 90m cash here :p

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2023-04-24 22:08 | Report Abuse

There are people who still think that whatever the outcome in the impending elections in 6 states, investor sentiment would not be affected. It is interesting. As my pseudonymn suggests, I am a prudent investor and would only wait for the results in the elections to gauge the support PN still receives before making a decision.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-25 09:18 | Report Abuse

https://www.straitstimes.com/life/entertainment/jacky-cheung-to-perform-six-shows-here-in-july-over-two-weekends
Hong Kong singer Jacky Cheung will hold six concerts at the Singapore Indoor Stadium in July. The Heavenly King will perform over two weekends – July 14 to 16 and 21 to 23

https://www.theedgesingapore.com/amp/capital/brokers-calls/cgs-cimb-remains-neutral-about-banks-it-expects-see-mixed-nim-performances

CGS-CIMB remains 'neutral' about banks as it expects to see mixed NIM performances ahead of 1Q earnings

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/companies-markets/brokers-take-cgs-cimb-raises-target-genting-singapore-expects-higher-earnings

CIMB raises target on Genting Singapore, expects higher earnings after positive MBS results

About to bounce back higher and higher.. Cheers!

Posted by wallstreetrookieNEW > 2023-04-25 09:32 | Report Abuse

Las Vegas Sands up 5% after earnings beat

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-25 10:03 | Report Abuse

Tear down resistance 4.73

kl_guy

1,449 posts

Posted by kl_guy > 2023-04-25 12:06 | Report Abuse

when genS earning good mean good for genting and genm . Hotel earning will be improve with more kaki judi going to genting. Look like US economy will not cause much effect to the gambling industry .
When ppl r poor, they then try their luck to chg life.

James_Bond

3,252 posts

Posted by James_Bond > 2023-04-25 12:44 | Report Abuse

Rumors saying PN going to take over federal government. Difficult but not doable. Let’s see…

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-25 13:13 | Report Abuse

Your own rumour is it?

Apple2353

1,796 posts

Posted by Apple2353 > 2023-04-25 13:21 | Report Abuse

Don't listen to rumours lah. A lot of SKL in i3 forum

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-25 13:30 | Report Abuse

If Anwar kena caught with over RM90m cash and unable to explain where it came from, then PH may lose big in state elections :p

Posted by ClaraChan94 > 2023-04-25 14:51 | Report Abuse

on the way to RM5 again

MoneyMakers

7,496 posts

Posted by MoneyMakers > 2023-04-25 17:05 | Report Abuse

Not surprised MBS/GenS doing soo well

Weather soo hot all enjoy in GenT

MoneyMakers

7,496 posts

Posted by MoneyMakers > 2023-04-25 17:15 | Report Abuse

Not surprised also - “CIMB Thai Q1 net profit dropped 21.76% to 830Mil Baht whereby expected credit losses (ECL) surged 128% to 830Mil Baht”

Crazy ECL as big as QR profit!!

Becareful bank stocks..once bank crisis hit - bank stocks instantly drop to 0

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2023-04-25 17:15 | Report Abuse

Sell banking stocks ...public bank TP : rm 3
Lai lai... buy GenB

AngTayKor

1,881 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2023-04-25 18:15 | Report Abuse

ATK sold MBB at 8.70 last week. Held for 25 yrs since Asian Financial Crisis days. Forgot i still have some MBB shares until i saw bursa statement recently. Ha! Old stock brokerage already ceased to exist, now under another brokerage so have to reactivate dormant account. Couldn't be bothered to wait for online trading setup so i used telephone call to execute trades. Nostalgic feeling :p