GENTING BHD

KLSE (MYR): GENTING (3182)

+0.05 (1.05%)

4.76 - 4.81

43 people like this.

83,030 comment(s). Last comment by ClaraChan94 17 minutes ago

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

Posted by AngTayKor > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@choysun, price action not looking good over the past 3 days. GenS is the source of this bullish rally but its share price has dropped back down, trapping many punters who bought this week. From my previous observations, GenS may report excellent Q results but GenB sometimes may not be able to follow thru with excellent Q result. GenB's P&L always showing huge amortisation + interest expenses charges, largely caused by USA operations like Empire and RWLV. These USA entities may show positive EBITA but its actually running at a net loss, dragging the whole group level net profit down. I do hope it will not be the case again for this Q1 GenB result. Good traders dont just read charts, they also do some FA as well.

Riaz1954

1,290 posts

Posted by Riaz1954 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Most of global markets are in a bull run……but here and in particular Genting, is completely lost.

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

Posted by choysun > 15 hours ago | Report Abuse
SIA also record profits, tourism industry should continue to HUAT right? Stay invested :p
------------

SIA bearish engulfing with huge vol today. Can be dangerous to trade on headline news "SIA made historical record $2.7B yearly profit". Those amateurs who bought this morning all kena trapped liow. The devil is always in the detailed analysis of previous quarters of profit growth/decline. No doubt SIA is regionally the early mover in opening up their skies for air travel, but this advantage of charging sky high priced tickets to make super profits is over as all other airlines are catching up. The days of super profit is over and going back to profit normalisation. The market is always forward looking.

Good traders dont just read charts only. They do also FA like analysis of financial statements, analysis of industry landscape, then form their own opinion. Amateurs only see professionals keying in orders and make profit.... wah like very easy. The amateurs didnt see all the time and hardwork professionals put in when doing their homework.

Posted by DonCandleone > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@AngTayKor I was holding SIA short position but after gap-up this morning I covered back my shorts too early. Now SIA going down in earnest, should have held on a while longer... Did my FA and TA already, should have trusted it😓

choysun

4,309 posts

Posted by choysun > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

@ATK You don't think near term good? I thought uptrend still intact as supported by 200MA which is still trending up.

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

It was a huge gap up + minor short covering. But by morning 9.30am the bears have taken over. Should have trusted the price action. Yes, should have given it a little more time until afternoon session on hindsight. I understand you were affected by the dow's rally last night + SIA headline news + the initial strong opening hurrah. It was indeed a tough spot to be in. Trading is never easy. Your competitors are all very smart and has huge financial muscle to move short term price (the whales). A good trader needs strong mental psychology and conviction to your own research. Need a balance of discretion when to make a decisive cutloss or when to hold a position a little longer that has moved against you.

We all learn along the way and become more savvy. Continue to do homework and make observations. Trade properly, dont do amateur punting. I wish you good luck @Don. Forever a student of the stock market.

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

Posted by choysun > 3 minutes ago | Report Abuse
@ATK You don't think near term good? I thought uptrend still intact as supported by 200MA which is still trending up.
------------

@Choysun, chart still bullish but may pullback. Price probably wont drop much (support at 4.60 zone) until the actual D-Day GenB result.

Posted by DonCandleone > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Thanks for your advice @ATK, will continue improving and refining my trading skills🙏

choysun

4,309 posts

Lots of people on the sideline waiting for signal :p

neohts

2,210 posts

Posted by neohts > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Waiting for Q1 results and AGM.

neohts

2,210 posts

AGM please ask
1. US land still planning to sell and any buyer ?
2. Las Vegas casino listing ?
3. TauRX

keyman

426 posts

Posted by keyman > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

4.Any plan to go green rather than concentrate current biz scope.

choysun

4,309 posts

5. What are you doing in the AI space and how adoption would help transform the business..

Save

806 posts

Posted by Save > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Preparation for higher number of tourists will be started 1st June. Potential corruption at custom clearance hopefully can be reduced also. Good jobs.
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2024/05/1051390/updated-travellers-36-low-risk-countries-can-use-immigration-autogate

Posted by Michaelchan2024 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

wow! wow .. 1sgd = RM3.20 coming

Visa-free travel to China for Malaysian extended till end of 2025..
Go go..go GenM
GenM

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Struggling at RM4.69/70, like an elderly man without energy. Someone must give it some viagra.

neohts

2,210 posts

Are you sleeping, are you sleeping LKT, LKT......WTF, WTF.

rickygiam

122 posts

Posted by rickygiam > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

CEO Mr. Lim Kok Thay! Take so much salary but dont always treat GenM as your piggy bank and put impairment on coming QR results. If you still like this, PLEASE TENDER YOUR RESIGNATION LETTER...WTF

eagleye

73 posts

Posted by eagleye > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Even everyone attend AGM scold, scream & shout, he doesn't give a damn.
He's so high up there don't care abt bilis.

If he opens more casinos,
he needs more capital to do so.
Digs into GB cash pile.
Takes external loans.
More debts.
More amortization.
MORE IMPAIRMENTS !!!
Take long period to recover investments.
Share price slump, stagnant, stuck.

Only hope left is wait for Taurx.

Save

806 posts

Malaysia Q1 GDP 4.2% better
https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/711983

The government forecasts the economy to pick up pace to 4%-5% this year, from 3.7% last year, on the back of *export recovery* and *higher tourist arrivals* to bolster *consumer spending* and *business investments.*

Riaz1954

1,290 posts

Business growth, Malaysian economy growth, high level of tourists visiting Malaysia, charts of all sorts mean nothing for this counter as it is manipulated big time ….problem m at the heart is CEO private entity and family own large chunk of shares in all Genting entities ….which is basically a conflict of interest with the listed company shareholders …..Genting is being used as private entity with the legal protection of a listed company ….with poor checks and balances in place.

Riaz1954

1,290 posts

Waiting for this postive chart people are speaking about to take affect soon. A good rally is not 10 sen! A good rally should be at least 10%. Staying hopeful but also aware of the reality. 1st qtr Results are known by the insiders.

choysun

4,309 posts

Is the road ahead cleared now? :)

neohts

2,210 posts

Insider and LKT already know the result.
Up or Down within their control.
We small fish just hope for the best.
Hopefully result good and share price continue going up until AGM on 13 June 2024.

neohts

2,210 posts

52 weeks high is 5.20
Hopefully could break 5.20 ang go higher.

hw0706

783 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

result no good

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

@Riaz from 4.45 zone to almost 4.80 its not bad liow. This is not an A.I tech stock la. Got rally, kena complain. No rally, complain more. If price drop, complain nonstop....

Hafid

1,135 posts

Posted by Hafid > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

baru balik dari genting. banyak orang...tapi tak tahu bejudi kah atau saja jalan - jalan

Posted by Johnchew123 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

KLCI 1600 above + market sentiment good ,as see almost all company with Good QR , all 10 percent up from 1st day ,
Next week 24 May QR , if Genting can get net profit 300 mil , gurantee close 10: percent up first day ,
4.70 , 10:percent up Genting expect will close RM 5.20 ,
See u 27 May 2024 , RM 5.20

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

GenB attributable net profit from GenS S$247m x 53% ownership= approx RM455m.

If GenB Q1 result net profit rm300m, hungkan liow la that means all other subsi including GenP, RWG, Empire, RWLV etc running at attributable net loss of rm155m.

GenS good result already priced in hence you get to see 4.70+ now. GenB's net profit need to be at least rm600m to show that attributable net profit from subsidiaries GenP, RWG, Empire, RWLV etc are giving rm145m. The bar is not high at all for Q1 NP rm600m.

neohts

2,210 posts

ATK....so what is your projected TP ?

choysun

4,309 posts

We wait for GenP results next Wednesday first. For this week, up about 20 sens ok dy la :)

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

Posted by neohts > 26 seconds ago | Report Abuse
ATK....so what is your projected TP ?
------------

Im not the whale. I duno whats their TP.

But confirm GenB will make new ATH after Taurx grand finale.

stampid54

286 posts

Posted by stampid54 > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Thanks to these lads, Genting becomes more and more popular 😆

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/nation/2024/05/15/group-in-hot-water-after-cooking-at-genting-petrol-station/

Riaz1954

1,290 posts

@AngTayKor…..ok sir, no more complaints ….let’s be positive and hope Genting price settles above 5.20 at least. To be fair rally we had is from a very low base.we need a new price beating the 2023 high!

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

May your wish come true @Riaz 🙏

AngTayKor

1,788 posts

If GenP makes net profit rm60m for Q1, 55% ownership = approx rm33m of attributable to GenB. Combine GenS + GenP, both entities will be giving GenB attributable net profit of rm488m. If GenM + RWLV can just give another rm112m of attributable net profit to GenB, GenB's Q1 net profit rm600m liow. Its not difficult.

Lucky we have the Singapore side to power up the group earnings.

keyman

426 posts

Tp 5.20 is not over. Just for breakeven those who bought earlier. What we are looking toward is break New high. At least back to pre pendemic level.

keyman

426 posts

Profit 600 m for Q1 is not surprising. Wonder if the same remarkable QR maintain inQ2...

choysun

4,309 posts

Extension of visa free travel should boost earnings for the remaining quarters. We wait and see what can be realised :)

choysun

4,309 posts

I'm hoping it establish a newer higher support before TauRx news to propel it even further :p

Save

806 posts

Thanks ATK's estimation! if profit 600M, EPS may be more than 13sen, Huat! Personally feel that GenP contribution may be less due to low production season, GENM contribution should be higher than Q42023. (If GenP makes net profit rm60m for Q1, 55% ownership = approx rm33m of attributable to GenB. Combine GenS + GenP, both entities will be giving GenB attributable net profit of rm488m. If GenM + RWLV can just give another rm112m of attributable net profit to GenB, GenB's Q1 net profit rm600m liow. Its not difficult.)

rickygiam

122 posts

Posted by rickygiam > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

Another genting casino + resort bidding in uae. Hopefully nex week consider good news for genting....

OnTime

2,188 posts

Posted by OnTime > 2 months ago | Report Abuse

wow casino in uae? thought egypt is the only country in mideast where casinos r allowed.

keyman

426 posts

Oh No... No green, no AI..For Genting. Still doing those Lao Ko Ko biz..... No hope for tremendous rally liaw..... 6 can or not? Shareholder s are still in mud.. Struggling.... Adohai....

neohts

2,210 posts

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/712140

Genting Singapore keen on UAE casino resort development.
KUALA LUMPUR (May 18): Genting Singapore has confirmed its interest in developing an integrated resort (IR) development in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), as per its executive chairman Tan Sri Lim Kok Thay’s comments to shareholder queries at the gaming group’s annual general meeting (AGM) last Friday.

His comments were included in the minutes of Genting Singapore’s AGM in response to questions from shareholders on the company’s international expansion plans.

When asked by a shareholder if it would be interested in bidding to develop an IR in the UAE, Lim explained that bid conditions in Singapore, where the company runs Resorts World Sentosa (RWS), were for an IR rather than just for a casino.

https://links.sgx.com/1.0.0/corporate-announcements/QNB8YZ9OJ4UQB211/796217_GENS%20-%20Response%20to%20Shareholders%20questions%20for%20AGM%202024.pdf
39TH Genting Singapore ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING TO BE HELD ON 18 APRIL 2024 RESPONSES TO SUBSTANTIAL AND RELEVANT QUESTIONS RECEIVED FROM SHAREHOLDERS

1. Have the recent large-scale international concerts in Singapore by Coldplay, Taylor Swift and Bruno Mars had a positive impact on visitation and expenditure at Resorts World Sentosa (“RWS”)?

2. (a) Pre-COVID, how much and what percentage of your guests emanate from China and what is the current percentage of your guests emanating from China? How much impact do you foresee/project would the change in visa policy would have on your company? Please elaborate. (b) Is RWS already seeing significantly more visitors from China in the last few months?