INSAS BHD

KLSE (MYR): INSAS (3379)

-0.01 (1.01%)

0.985 - 0.99

44 people like this.

45,901 comment(s). Last comment by Income 1 day ago

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2017-11-06 13:32 | Report Abuse

Why do u want to recommend OTB? He is more a trader.

Insas investments are of long term nature, 3-5 years as stated in the AR. Apart from equities, they do invest in fixed income, money market and options.

Pls check Thong's background, he is a prominent Investment Banker. And also, i do remember in the past AR, they did mention about having investment team set-up overseeing this function.

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-06 13:44 | Report Abuse

OTB ? as chief advisor ? GILAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA !!! INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKK !!!

kny123

232 posts

Posted by kny123 > 2017-11-06 13:58 | Report Abuse

from google... but its 2003..punya...

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed-companies/company-announcements/4256481

The direct and indirect shareholdings of the interested Directors, Major Shareholders and persons
connected with them in the issued and paid up share capital of IGB as at 1 April 2003 are as
follows:-
Insas Berhad - - 62,759,5004 ;5.49%

Insas is a major shareholder of IGB by virtue of its deemed interest through Montego Assets Limited and Insas Plaza Sdn. Bhd. which
owns 5.49% equity interest in IGB. Insas is also a shareholder of GHKL and GMC.
u IP holds 18,894,250 shares in IGB and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Insas.
v MAT holds 43,865,250 shares in IGB and is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Insas.

6,000 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2017-11-06 14:48 | Report Abuse

With all my respect to Dato’ Sri Thong, Insas BOD and management team, my suggestion of Mr. Ooi Teik Bee to be an adviser to Insas board of expert panel as a recognition that Mr. OTB is good and he is a full time fund manager and able to concentrate fully on what he does best as oppose to Dato’ Sri Thong who need to look after so many business and its actual operation thus he might not have time to concentrate on and monitor the performance of investment holding and trading. Example: Insas bought SYF on June 2014 and today Insas is selling off SYF from beginning of year from 63 cents to current price of 44 cents. Imagine if Insas will to have invested in other furniture stock like Littitude, Liihen or Pohuat what will be the return.
Please do suggest who should I recommend to this expert panel?

Dear Mr. Ooi Teik Bee,
I am sorry to put you on the spot. Please accept my apology.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2017-11-06 15:35 | Report Abuse

In a typical treasury function, there are full time employed professionals carrying out the investment activities (doing research, site visit, buying, selling etc), with each team set-up specialising in equities, bonds, money market etc. What u need to know is what is the governance structure in place overseeing this investment function. I don’t think Thong is the one who made the call, and if so, is his discretionary authority is approved by the Board and or is there a check and balance function to mitigate such situation.

I believe there is someone heading this division who is full time observing the function. The next question is whether they have an investment committee to meet regularly and evaluate the performance of the investments and whether the investing strategies/process meets the investment objective.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2017-11-06 15:51 | Report Abuse

Looking at their equity investments, to me, they act like private equity firm. They build sizeable stake in the company and account them as associates. Their businesses are diversified because of their strategic holding in these investee companies.

mancingbursa

4,268 posts

Posted by mancingbursa > 2017-11-06 16:09 | Report Abuse

Huhu...

goodguess

294 posts

Posted by goodguess > 2017-11-06 16:52 | Report Abuse

Insas paid 12.83 million for DGSB 19.91% shares i.e 0.0475/share. At current 0.095/share there is a investment gain of 12 million. Wow !

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-06 17:05 |

goodguess

294 posts

Posted by goodguess > 2017-11-06 17:23 | Report Abuse

Hmmm.... 19.91% why not 20%. Accounting maneuvers? If that's the case than very strong case that inari portion may be realized in the coming quarter.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-06 18:30 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr Sslee, Datuk Thong is a licensed stockbroker. People like OTB used to work for people like Datuk Thong.

6,000 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2017-11-06 20:51 | Report Abuse

Dear Fabien Extraordinaire,
Thank you. I will rephrase my question in line with what you had suggested. As I study the 200 pages financial report I feel compel to ask questions on investment holding & trading as It can break Insas if there is no check and balance and team of competent experts running this core business segment.

Dear TheContrarian,
Refer page 75. With effect from 1 January 2016, the Group commenced equity accounting for the Group’s investment in Ho Hup although it holds less than 20% of the voting shares in Ho Hup, as the Group undertakes to hold its equity interest in Ho Hup for long term and is able to participate in the financial and operating policies in Ho Hup by virtue of having board representation in Ho Hup.
Thus I would think Inari will still be treated as an associated company. Anyhow I will ask the BOD is this is so or management must mark Inari investment to market value at every financial quarter report.

I paste Mr. OTB previous advice to me:
I worked in M&A before, I knew Dato Sri Thong very well.
Please be diplomatic, he will listen if you have facts and figures.
If you confront him, then what you want will be down the drain.
Please note.
10/10/2017 22:41

Dear Madam leno,
I do not know whether I accidently step on your toes/nerve or you just woke up on the wrong side of the bed this morning? Either way my apology if I had offended you. Do not get angry so easily and do not belittle people. We can agree to disagree and still respecting each other view/opinion. What the point be wealthy and rich if you cannot share your richness and happiness with other.
I will make my decision whether to keep or sell my Insas shares after I attended the AGM and evaluate for my-self whether the management is trustworthy and whether Insas still have great potential to growth.
During the incoming AGM on 23th Nov 2017, I will ask for reasonable/cost of living or better dividend. BOD helps on how and what to do to improve the INSAS share price? Some question on financial report and business outlook. I still need to read through more report before coming out with the questions to ask.
Have a good evening and Insas is indeed canteeeeek.

Posted by Hengyuan: SEXY BABE RM21! > 2017-11-06 21:09 | Report Abuse

Thong is selling. Good luck. My hengyuan going to return 100% soon,

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-07 08:13 | Report Abuse

hahahahahah .... INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKK !!!

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2017-11-07 09:43 | Report Abuse

Sslee, I DO NOT agree that you trying to suggest Dato Thong to get OTB as the advisor. Remember, OTB worked for M&A before, and you are asking him to listen to his Ex-employee, that sound very risky question to me.

To me, we should just go nicely and ask for additional dividend but not to tell him what to do. Ppl at his level may not like other to tell them what to do. You just have to show the proof and data and let him make the decision, but DO NOT tell him what to do, Rule number 1 when you talk to top management. And I strongly believe that INSAS has more than 1x OTB alike person in M&A so if you are suggesting him to get OTB as advisor, meaning you are trying to tell him that he got no body to "use" in his entire M&A. That could sound very offensive. Hence, my suggestion is remove that suggestion from your list.

Also, one question I may need your help to raise up during the AGM since I may not be able to attend it this year. From years ago, Insas uses to distribute their treasury shares as bonus share to the share holder, however since 2012, the treasury shares remains at the treasury for years. Maybe we can ask will that practice continue?

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-07 09:48 | Report Abuse

aaaaa ..... kevin veri veri sensible ... INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKK !!!

Alex Foo

12,593 posts

Posted by Alex Foo > 2017-11-07 10:15 | Report Abuse

why insaf dato sri thong keep selling at cheap price? need cash for cny?

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-07 11:39 | Report Abuse

Alex, he needs cash for Christmas.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-07 11:42 | Report Abuse

Mr Sslee, do take note of what kevin wrote.

mani_cum

265 posts

Posted by mani_cum > 2017-11-07 11:42 | Report Abuse

Dato sell warrant around 0.37 ~ 0.385. Exercise price for the warrant is RM1.000, thus buyers for the warrant is paying RM1.3++ for the mother share. U tell me who is selling cheap at RM1 at this moment??

Hahaha!!!!!!!!!!

Kranken X

112 posts

Posted by Kranken X > 2017-11-07 12:42 | Report Abuse

why no coverage this stock...?

kevin5059

933 posts

Posted by kevin5059 > 2017-11-07 15:02 | Report Abuse

Worry not for Dato selling la. Insas used to own Inari 30%++. They keep selling Inari shares until now 20% left. However, Inari shared keep surging up like no body business (due to the sustainable business growth). Hence, I believe that Dato is trying to release some shares to the open market to create liquidity. With stronger EPS, Insas shares should be going up with better liquidity. It is always not a good news when majority shares are hold by the major shareholder. Look at Public bank, how much Tan Sri THP hold?

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-07 15:32 | Report Abuse

this sslee worri over wrong stock .... when buy conmen stock ... he always claim no worri ... kakakakakak ... wake up lar old man .... INSAS in veri good hand ... u dun go and kacau kacau my ah thong aaa ..... ah thong is our golden goose laying many many golden eggs .... INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKK !!!

Alkwong

62 posts

Posted by Alkwong > 2017-11-07 15:48 | Report Abuse

sslee, ask and you may get, don't ask don't get at all. Ah thong selling warrants because he got them for free through rights issue of PA. Only fools would buy the warrants and make a loss converting them into ordinary shares and ah thong knows that. So what ah thong is doing is taking minority shareholder for fools and taking them for a ride. Minority shareholders are only useful for ah thong to keep Insas's listing status.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-07 17:44 | Report Abuse

Inari closed up 6 sen today? That means additional RM24 million gain to Insas.

mk_416

44 posts

Posted by mk_416 > 2017-11-07 18:49 | Report Abuse

but any idea why Insas still maintain or dropping.. and thong still selling his warrant..

klkk

294 posts

Posted by klkk > 2017-11-07 21:46 | Report Abuse

It's quite difficult to understand why Insas can remain at a price below its par value RM1.00 for so long.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-07 22:30 | Report Abuse

Weak stale bulls selling to cut losses.

mani_cum

265 posts

Posted by mani_cum > 2017-11-07 22:51 | Report Abuse

I still can recall Hapseng (3034) was traded bet. 1.4~~ 1.6 in year 2011 till mid 2013. Not much excitement like our Insas. But both counter have huge hidden asset yet to be monitized. Dun look at only on the sellers side, as buyers who pick those trade are not fool either. Do ur own research and have confident in the Management team to unlock more value in Insas.

Thx in advance to Mr. SSlee to raise questions especially on extra dividend which is constructive suggestion to all share holder of Insas. Remember not to cross the line and let MT do their best to enrich the entity.

Thanks and Cheers!!!!!!!!!!!

Alkwong

62 posts

Posted by Alkwong > 2017-11-08 08:55 | Report Abuse

Contrarian, have you ever considered whether Inari is overpriced? I think it's overpriced, and many commenters constant harping on Inari's value to Insas could be misleading.

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-08 09:02 | Report Abuse

kakakakakakak .... INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKKK !!!

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 10:24 | Report Abuse

Alkwong, many many months ago I thought Inari was overpriced, then the results kept showing growth and EPF and KWAP kept increasing their stakes. Insas as single largest shareholder with the lowest cost at merely around 55 sen per Inari share benefits most from the run-up of Inari's share price.

klkk

294 posts

Posted by klkk > 2017-11-08 10:26 | Report Abuse

Currently so pathetic, not Cantee....kkk at all

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 10:31 | Report Abuse

Share price of undervalued counters can stay sideways for some time and then one fine day it goes up sharply. I had this experience with OSKVI several months ago.

Alkwong

62 posts

Posted by Alkwong > 2017-11-08 11:08 | Report Abuse

Contrarian, that one day will only come when ah thong decides to be more generous in the way of higher dividends or treasury bonus of shares. Until then, it's like holding on to a metal like copper which yields nothing, tying up capital which could be better used to invest in a share like Hengyuan or VS.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 11:13 | Report Abuse

My stock portfolio is quite diversified. Today sold some Reach Energy shares for 49.5 sen, bought at prices ranging from 33-37 sen.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 11:17 | Report Abuse

If bought Hengyuan at 7.50,price goes up to 9.00 merely 20% gain. If bought Reach at 0.37, price goes up to 0.495, gain is 33%.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 11:23 | Report Abuse

We are hoping that Mr Sslee will succeed in persuading Datuk Thong to be more generous in dividend payout.

Alkwong

62 posts

Posted by Alkwong > 2017-11-08 11:24 | Report Abuse

Maybe sslee should ask ah thong for a bonus issue of inari shares - that will make insas jump.

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 13:18 | Report Abuse

Insas also can declare bonus issue 1 for 1.

Posted by StockKeeper > 2017-11-08 14:06 | Report Abuse

Boss haven't finish selling

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-08 14:15 | Report Abuse

Boss has only 850,000 warrants left in his name after Monday's disposal.

Posted by Yap Wai Loon > 2017-11-09 19:54 | Report Abuse

Keeping this is real boring

klkk

294 posts

Posted by klkk > 2017-11-09 20:18 | Report Abuse

Yeah, you are right. Insas price not Cantek at all. So boring.

leno

6,155 posts

Posted by leno > 2017-11-09 21:35 | Report Abuse

if boring ... feel free to sell off and go buy other counter mar ... other counter u buy sure crash one ... but at least not so boring lor ... INSAS CANTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEKKK !!!.

moneypedia

5,987 posts

Posted by moneypedia > 2017-11-09 21:46 | Report Abuse

Oww i see

Posted by StockKeeper > 2017-11-10 12:18 | Report Abuse

TheContrarian

9,253 posts

Posted by TheContrarian > 2017-11-13 13:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by StockKeeper > 2017-11-13 15:03 | Report Abuse

lmseng

132 posts

Posted by lmseng > 2017-11-13 15:30 | Report Abuse

Is any crisis going on in Insas? Why dropping and why warrants can dropped to 33cents?