MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-12-04 07:49 | Report Abuse

I had one friend flew from KL to Bintulu and his luggage went all over the world. He blamed MAS but he didn't realise he kept the old luggage tags attached. Of course there are many other reasons for missing luggage. At KLIA luggage management relies on KLIA people, not the airlines. Barely 10 years in operation, KLIA luggage belt is poorly maintained resulting in prequent delay of luggage collection; it is an ambarassment.

Now picture this, say after a 14hours flight from Paris you finally waited at the luggage collection belt, but luggages never appeared. One or 2 luggages appeared then stopped. Everybody waited for minutes then hour. You started to feel inpatient (who don't?) and you saw a MAS personnel standing there. You went to approach her and enquired what happened. She said the motor was faulty. You asked, is it only today. She said it happened every now and then. You asked how come no one fix it once and for all? She said it's KLIA's responsibility...

Finally the poor luggage fellow managed to do something about the motor and your luggages appeared after an hour and a half. You headed to the coupon taxi. Then there was a long queue. You waited again and finally you were in an old proton wira driven by an Indon. You actually have no issue with wira neither the Indon if not for the car which felt could break down anytime....after coming from Paris or London, where things seem to work orderlym better taxi, etc....tell me how would you feel about your hometown?

tsurukame

778 posts

Posted by tsurukame > 2013-12-04 08:05 | Report Abuse

Who is responsible for the lost luggage...Is MAS, the passenger or MAHB responsible ??

Nevets

228 posts

Posted by Nevets > 2013-12-04 08:13 | Report Abuse

Guys, why make a big fuss ?

when you travel, always buy travel insurance and make sure what you are insured of. I travel for business often and luggage lost occurs at times.

So how ? I got insured and when my luggage was lost for 48 hours, if my luggage is not found, the insurance I bought covers up to USD 500 for my item. so i have to buy everything with proof of receipt(free shopping money) Plus, due to inconvenient of me looking for my luggage, I launch a complain and demanded for compensation, although some airlines compensate me after 3 months, but accidents happens. out from the USD 500, I got additional top up for the taxi fare claims, prepaid card cost for the airport to contact me on local phone call ( roaming was super EX )

So it depends on how you look at it... It's not the airlines fault usually as it's the local airport that needs to take responsibility.

But that's not the main point, MAS is restructuring it's management, and I think a buying price of RM 0.29-0.30 is a good buy... and you wait for the egg to hatch.

Chill...

tohmas

43 posts

Posted by tohmas > 2013-12-04 15:53 | Report Abuse

haha KC, trying to get the price down to 20cents with goats?

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-12-04 17:02 | Report Abuse

oops.... sudah exposed! LOL

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2013-12-05 14:02 | Report Abuse

Luckily this 1 is Khazanah compliance lol...

alenac

2,647 posts

Posted by alenac > 2013-12-05 20:52 | Report Abuse

MAS a malaysian dilemma akin to middle income trap, reflection of a sluggish economy without clear direction.

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/266301-comment-mas-malaysian-dilemma.html

tewnama

4,251 posts

Posted by tewnama > 2013-12-05 20:57 | Report Abuse

MAS mesti ada walaupun rugi besar. Kalau tidak amoi amoi pramuragi cantik pergi mana.

Utaibesai

11 posts

Posted by Utaibesai > 2013-12-06 00:07 | Report Abuse

A union representing cabin crew members of Malaysia Airlines (MAS) today threatened to picket over the national carrier’s refusal to the acknowledge the union and the firing of its president.

A meeting between MAS, the National Union of Flight Attendants Malaysia (Nufam) and the Human Resources Ministry, scheduled for this morning over the union’s grievances, has been postponed indefinitely.

bella5

45 posts

Posted by bella5 > 2013-12-06 15:00 | Report Abuse

Hope this turbulence will settle down and MAS seriously starts to think about doing something about its profits!

Bobby31

585 posts

Posted by Bobby31 > 2013-12-06 16:41 | Report Abuse

just sell the MAS and settle all issue with the Union

Posted by Lawrence Kwan Vui Juin > 2013-12-06 17:58 | Report Abuse

Everday sleeping counter!

bobby31

585 posts

Posted by bobby31 > 2013-12-10 09:48 | Report Abuse

today wake up with volume but not in price....DRB HICOM

bobby31

585 posts

Posted by bobby31 > 2013-12-10 09:49 | Report Abuse

DRB HICOM ...are you intrested with Mas you already have Sea Port / Proton / POSTAL why don't consider MAS ....buylah buy lah

ambrosewlk

467 posts

Posted by ambrosewlk > 2013-12-10 10:08 | Report Abuse

bobby, u mean DRB Hicom buy mas via open market atm??

Posted by Lawrence Kwan Vui Juin > 2013-12-10 17:21 | Report Abuse

Maybe he wait mas drop to 1cents then he only announced to buy....

invest2mil

372 posts

Posted by invest2mil > 2013-12-10 21:00 | Report Abuse

TP for MAS is RM0.200 !

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2013-12-11 16:11 | Report Abuse

government is the backer , so it won't go down to that level, I Malaysia ma ? have to take care of air muka also...

eu7985

1,086 posts

Posted by eu7985 > 2013-12-11 19:21 | Report Abuse

So, 0.315 is the bottom to enter liao?

meena

1,072 posts

Posted by meena > 2013-12-12 09:59 | Report Abuse

MAS - Stochastic Oscillator shows over sold signal... price will go up

MyInvest

496 posts

Posted by MyInvest > 2013-12-12 15:27 | Report Abuse

Price will go up.

MyInvest

496 posts

Posted by MyInvest > 2013-12-12 15:28 | Report Abuse

@ meena, any Target price from ur point of veiw?

Wong

467 posts

Posted by Wong > 2013-12-12 16:18 | Report Abuse

i doubt... someone is holding it at 310... or else......

Posted by Lawrence Kwan Vui Juin > 2013-12-12 17:32 | Report Abuse

Everyday closing the same price... is it a unit trust?

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-12-12 17:43 | Report Abuse

Waiting for 28 or 29. :)))

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-12-13 11:44 | Report Abuse

bro Muarmali - same here :)

koyak71

752 posts

Posted by koyak71 > 2013-12-13 12:48 | Report Abuse

2014 good for airlines company ...can buy in now?

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-12-13 12:49 | Report Abuse

3.10 is a good price to buy...

PN17

321 posts

Posted by PN17 > 2013-12-13 15:32 | Report Abuse

Financial Year Quarter Net Profit (RM,000)
30/09/2013 3 -375,440
30/06/2013 2 -175,982
31/03/2013 1 -278,827
31/12/2012 4 51,373
30/09/2012 3 37,084
30/06/2012 2 -349,248
31/03/2012 1 -171,793
31/12/2011 4 -1,277,384
30/09/2011 3 -477,585
30/06/2011 2 -526,680
31/03/2011 1 -242,339
31/12/2010 4 225,918

Wong

467 posts

Posted by Wong > 2013-12-14 11:12 | Report Abuse

Personal view: If sept profit, Dec will show better profit.. if Sept show loss, More loss in Dec

Yes 3.10 is a good buy... but my target to buy in is 300

Wong

467 posts

Posted by Wong > 2013-12-14 11:45 | Report Abuse

18 Nov: show loss of RM375mil

09 Dec: the management notified might axe "BLEEDING" route...

So what do you expect in December report?

and so far MAS haven announce any route cut...

kyraftw

47 posts

Posted by kyraftw > 2013-12-16 20:09 | Report Abuse

RHB Research maintains Overweight on aviation, names AirAsia as its top pick http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Investing/2013/12/16/rhb-research-maintains-overweight-on-aviation.aspx

tshwong

603 posts

Posted by tshwong > 2013-12-16 22:49 | Report Abuse

Stupid CEO, create new routes during bleeding time. Got to STOP the bleeding first in order to save its life. Cabin almost full house, yield already break record still making loss. How about during low season after CNY?? How about next year when the new airplane deliver?? This CEO keep expanding its fleets plus adding new routes. The key turning point is to change the mind sets of MAS's management into business mind.

Eric Tee

402 posts

Posted by Eric Tee > 2013-12-17 10:18 | Report Abuse

who care?? they only know how to masuk poket

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-12-17 15:46 | Report Abuse

Mas has always been subjected to a lot of criticism. Why is it so ? Is it because a lot of people has suffered losses investing in MAS? or MAS has a lot of new investor s who have bot into MAS and are impatiently seeing the share price not moving? But the fact is MAS still has its value and charm. The MRO part of Mas is eyeing by NADI. Lets hope MAS will split its MRO and team up with NADI. anfd turn this business to profitability. Grow this segment of business as so many airlines like Air Asia, MAs are having more planes.

pypw

207 posts

Posted by pypw > 2013-12-17 16:04 | Report Abuse

I dun think mas can survive the 300 barrier for this coming days. Share price is gradually moving downward instead of stay there. scary

Wong

467 posts

Posted by Wong > 2013-12-17 16:12 | Report Abuse

if mas break 305, then i think 290 is easily....

MAS will always get critise mainly because of slow response to the market... after so many years of saying cost cutting, the cost never went down...

instead of cutting cost, Personal point of view, MAS should look into their Website and redesign to more user friendly..

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-12-17 16:22 | Report Abuse

Mas air tickets are cheap, wooing customers to fly with MAS, revenue should improve further, so does the MAS share price

Posted by AlexFernandez > 2013-12-17 19:11 | Report Abuse

so should hold on with this counter?

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-12-17 21:35 | Report Abuse

Hold with confidence, it is bottoming, after Mas spends so much to get more people fly wth Mas, things looking good. 2014 visit Malaysia is a plus point for Mas too. It is the big boys's act to depress Mas to collect cheaply that caused Mas to hover at 31 to 37 sen. So don't be fooled.

angkor

451 posts

Posted by angkor > 2013-12-17 21:44 | Report Abuse

Higher revenue does not mean higher profit... MAS is giving a lot of cheap tickets to gain market share - in return profit margin became negative.

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-12-17 23:02 | Report Abuse

Mas has no choice, wth new planes delivered, can not reduce work force, the only way to survive is to throw Cheap air tickets, win customers first, boost up revenue, indirectly cut their cost. With the jet fuel coming down in the future, economy turning up and people getting bored wth Air Asia, Mas can survive and turn profitable. Then Mas shares will be consolidated 5 to 1 and trade at rm3 again. Assuming Mas shares rise to 60 sen.

tshwong

603 posts

Posted by tshwong > 2013-12-18 00:30 | Report Abuse

Too optimistic or should say dream. Mas only targeted to profit RM10 per head, but far from achieving it. The key turning points still lay on its high cost structure. Mas needs to lean down its work force, more important, efficiency of the work force and cut down non-profit routine. But, aggressive fleets expansion plan have prevented them to cut routine. Price still stayed above 30 cents is because it already became a penny stock and many retail investors played in this counter, which seem cheap by price, but not value for them. It's easy to double or triple or even more due to its cheap price compared to its historical price. At the end of the day, Mas still needs to show us some positive number in order for its share price to take off. But, sky are getting so crowded with never-before stiff competition. Can Mas make history to beat its peer with profit? Most brokering house gave TP below 30 cents for Mas. Last quarter during peak season, Mas's losses were widen, it really broken my heart. Just hope next year during Tourism Year, usually air traffic will increase 25%, Mas can finally strike on.

andychucky28

1,600 posts

Posted by andychucky28 > 2013-12-18 00:56 | Report Abuse

All Airlines make money. Why can't MAS?

BBB79

2,689 posts

Posted by BBB79 > 2013-12-18 07:03 | Report Abuse

MAS wake up...

Wong

467 posts

Posted by Wong > 2013-12-18 07:51 | Report Abuse

What qqq say is correct, MAS is throwing the price to gain back the market share.. But did they did it at a safe way?

There are still a lot of thing that MAS need to do:
1. Consolidate aeroplane type
2. Improve their aeroplane maintenance
3. Change all seat leather (easier to maintain)
4. Improve web service and reduce ground service

Personally is MAS investor but prefer to fly AA haha...sometime AA price is more expensive then MAS but i still fly AA because of the aeroplane maintenance...had a few bad experience with MAS..

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-12-18 09:44 | Report Abuse

Air Asia share price rised from rm 1.00 to rm 3.2, Mas share price drop from rm2.2 to rm0.63 (current price 31 sen, work back for 4 for 1 right) now Air Asia share price drop from rm3.2 to rm2.3, should Mas share price move from rm0.63 to rm1.58 (or 31 sen to 50 sen)???

showa

26 posts

Posted by showa > 2013-12-18 09:47 | Report Abuse

AA maintenance is better than MAS? I doubt it very much. Maybe coincident la bro. MAS maintenance is strict because of prioritizing safety. MAS also handle other foreign airlines' maintenance so their standard practice is high. AA only for themselves and their att is to "GO' and push the aircraft to fly and avoid delay.