MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

waily

42 posts

Posted by waily > 2012-05-12 14:17 | Report Abuse

ds stock the lower history price is RM0.91(more than 5 years),the support lever is RM1.11 hope don't drop below this price. now is the best time to go in . btw invest is on own risk.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-12 14:39 | Report Abuse

Let me say a few words please. In the first place, our government WILL NEVER KILL MAS , so to say...it's our National Carrier & if mati, Malaysia habis muka, hee, hee, hee

More funds & loans are coming in to lend a helping hand to MAS and after some restructuring & using the big knife to trim the fat, MAS may move away from those red negative figures.

As of now MAS is at it's lowest price at $1.17 cents on Wednesday, the lowest since 1999.

So it's up to you to do your own decision...cheers & all the best to everyone too.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-12 14:57 | Report Abuse

Do you remember Proton, sudah mati tapi kasih hidup lagi...so the same pattern on MAS lah.

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-12 15:01 | Report Abuse

To buy MAS shares now is to hope that it'll get better. It certainly is a deviation from the basic principle of investing, that's to invest only in solid companies for the long term.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-12 15:31 | Report Abuse

Just my comments only but not buying at the moment & still monitoring.

goodhorse

22 posts

Posted by goodhorse > 2012-05-12 15:36 | Report Abuse

The company is badly managed, overstaff and uncompetitive. I don't see how it can survive in this highly competitive industry. The best solution is to close the company. Never invest in this 'dead' stk. It is best to let the prudent AirAsia to grow and compete with other airlines!!!

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-12 19:11 | Report Abuse

A friend told me that when MAS and Singapore Airline went seperate way when Singapore was kicked out of the federation, the chairperson of the Singapore Airline was summoned to meet with LKY. He was told in no uncertain term that the airline business is very tough and he is to manage it diligently and professionally and don't expect the Singapore government to bail it out. I don't have to elaborate more as any right-minded person knows what has gone wrong with MAS.

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-05-12 23:58 | Report Abuse

what do u expected from MAS if the government has been change from BN to PR??? will PR help MAS to rebound again??

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-13 03:21 | Report Abuse

Frankly speaking, for a cut throat business like airlines, you really need expertise & very very professional people to run the show & not just putting any tom dick & harry especially UMNO cronies to run an airline like MAS.

Just put it this way.....how many BN or frankly UMN cronies had been running MAS? Even the previous Chairman is any UMNO crony too who doesn't care anything about MAS as he goes as far as buying the multi-million dollar painting and another hundred over thousand ringgit attached kitchen to his suite.

People like TRI are protected species and they can screw up a national airline big time and they will get away scot free too.

There's no accountability here in MAS. Sufficient controls must be in place to ensure that things like wastage and so on are minimized or just doesn't exist at all. Be prudent & not to take it as your grandfather's company, hee, hee,hee.

And what about the bloated staff & MAS had never downgrade staff numbers. I suppose that they have too many cronies to feed, hee, hee,hee

Yes, I say cut staff from top to bottom , use the biggest knife to trim off all the fat & have a slimmer MAS.

Mas is like a big fat cow being suck dry daily by UMNO parasites. Now waiting for bail out again & again...so what do you expect my friends?

And who bears the cost of this bailout? It's we the Rakyat & our Rakyat's money...later our beloved country had no money, then what's next to do?...easy, very easy..just tax the Malaysian people more like taking candy from a kid, hee, he, hee..& finally our beloved Malaysia end up like GREECE????

How many GLCs had we to bail out..Proton, MAS, Bank Bumi[RIP}, etc....what's next on the line?

Cheers to all.

elsey

23 posts

Posted by elsey > 2012-05-13 08:06 | Report Abuse

Well said, Mr Chong! *thumb-up* Agreed 101%.
My hard-earned money being taxed to pay those parasites.

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-05-13 11:19 | Report Abuse

'My hard-earned money being taxed to pay those parasites.' It pains my heart too.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-13 15:17 | Report Abuse

Brother eagleis , this is Malaysia Boleh to the highest level....to each it's own & all the UMNO cronies is at full blast, OMG.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-14 09:55 | Report Abuse

Brother Chong, can MAS go below RM1? 1Malaysia? :)

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-14 10:10 | Report Abuse

Brother Namoyaki Takarajima , you joker with 1malaysia and $1MAS....anything is possible but I feel that with the much need injected funds, I don't think so.

maybe ask Syed Mokthar to buy over at $3,hee,hee, hee as he likes to buy everything that GLC had to offer.

Cheers brother, good luck to you today hopefully.

cyclist

158 posts

Posted by cyclist > 2012-05-14 10:16 | Report Abuse

is there any similarities between JAL and MAS?

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-14 14:40 | Report Abuse

:) Brother Chong, who knows maybe this also one of their 'tabung pemulihan strategy', they 'sea-line(KIV)', 'highway-line (KIV)' in hand and of course the 'air-line(?)' is not to be missed as well. Today is YTD Lowest till RM1.17 and that is very close to 1M already! Who know PM wants to announce BURsa Kedai Rakyat 1Malaysia (BURKR1M). Good what? P.S: Giving hint to PM. :)

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-05-14 16:33 | Report Abuse

still downtrend........

Yuzuki

1,437 posts

Posted by Yuzuki > 2012-05-14 16:44 | Report Abuse

lol market undergoing a huge korek-tion

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-14 16:58 | Report Abuse

MAS? Still people talk about this. Don't ever place hope for this. Even can rebound but will retrace more than rebound.
If really want to buy, buy at 0.50, 50% from the par value. Then can profit more.....

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-15 07:38 | Report Abuse

Hi there Cheese, you under estimate MAS badly. 0.50 is purely oversold already where TA does not indicate anything like tht yet. In my opinion, if you are a strong cash-holder investor, you may consider to buy now, and when its drops more from price tht you bought, buy more to average it down. Hey, you bought National Airplane share you know. Think about it.

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-05-15 11:36 | Report Abuse

yuzuki: hahaha.........maybe government will support MAS after GE....only if MAS union support BN...... :-)

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-15 13:25 | Report Abuse

Yazid, Good analogy. So MAS Union can expect a Durian Runtuh like what Felda peeps got theirs recently? Hmmm... Bagus, good point and valid.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-15 13:31 | Report Abuse

in fact the MAS union is holding the government to ransom lah just for their votes for the coming GE....nothing more & nothing less.

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-15 13:41 | Report Abuse

I have no idea about MAS future. But what i heard from old men, MAS counter is losing money counter.
Holding it long term, the return will be worst than inflation.
Just my thought. No offence.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-15 13:43 | Report Abuse

Perak EX-MB Nizar the brave walk into a lion's den, haa, haa, haa...now read this lah..

http://www.freemalaysiakini2.com/?p=29482

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-15 13:47 | Report Abuse

No matter how, good counter still good; bad counter still bad.

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-15 14:02 | Report Abuse

What lah Brother Chong! I thought what news affiliated to MAS and Ex-MB of Perak. Thought PR buy MAS or something. Haha, what a news.
Cheese,
No offence, being a MAS counter holder nowadays is painful as the chart shown a falling knife right at our heart. To the new investor of MAS counter, they will just wait and wait to buy. MAS counter holder maybe will think to buy more and average it down later on. In my opinion, since you said that this is a loosing money counter, why don't we leave it for a while and look for other good blue-chips counter. Its like to leave a frozen asset behind. Then later we come back here to see what grow on this land when we leave, is it grass that grew? banana tree, or some birds feeding food? then we trade it back later.

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2012-05-15 14:09 | Report Abuse

Bro NT, well said.

mcd123

244 posts

Posted by mcd123 > 2012-05-15 14:20 | Report Abuse

Yes bro NT, totally agreed with you. The best thing the present or future new govt can do with MAS is.....let it ROTTTTT...until zero.(financially & manpower)...We can always set up a new national airlines, give a new name, manage by good & ethical people....I sometime bump into some of their executives during lunch time in Kelana Jaya.Cannot tahan listening to the way they talk..as if they are better than Tony Fernandes/Kamaruddin...but in reality, they only concern about their fat salary & contributing NOTHINGGGG.

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-15 14:26 | Report Abuse

again, my thought only.
MAS is not worth to buy.

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-16 12:37 | Report Abuse

MAS stands for Mana Ada System, so what you expect? Put your money into our other national carrier AirAsia

goodhorse

22 posts

Posted by goodhorse > 2012-05-16 20:24 | Report Abuse

Agree with Jake totally. How many times the BN government has used our hard earned money to rescue the poor managed MAS. It's best to close down the company and let AirAsia to run.

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-05-17 00:40 | Report Abuse

if only airasia run the business then airasia will monopoly the market easily...it will not a good situation 4 me

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-17 00:51 | Report Abuse

Allow both Airasia and MAS to compete on equal footing...and you'll see this competition spurring both to greater heights. If MAS is lazy and not inventive, govt shud let it sink. Help those who help themselves first!!

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-05-17 13:20 | Report Abuse

i dont think MAS sell their ticket more expensive than AIRASIA but the airport tax at KLIA are more expensive then LCCT...so that is the reason why MAS still cannot cut the cost of operation...MAHB should be responsible for that...(u can try to calculate it by yrself at both of their website promotion package program then u will see who is the best without airport tax...

goodhorse

22 posts

Posted by goodhorse > 2012-05-17 13:50 | Report Abuse

Ok. If that's the case, why MAS has not taken the case to the government? If MAS can't cut the operation cost, can they trim down the overtaff, increase the productivity and efficiency. Don't forget that AirAsia is managed privately and if they are not competitive,cost efficient they are 'gone' long time ago. They can't rely on that 'Subsidy' mentality.

In actual fact, I find that MAS airticket pricing is competitive to other international airlines, on board services are good. Why MAS is losing money and has to be rescued a few times?

cheese

77 posts

Posted by cheese > 2012-05-17 14:52 | Report Abuse

eject

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-05-23 01:04 | Report Abuse

good turnover..... MAS has start to reduce it loss..... i will return back to MAS when the co start gain profit like KNM

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-23 01:21 | Report Abuse

These are my thoughts too and I'm considering. Despite the loss, there are a few positive indications. These include the financing and the leasing plan. All is not lost yet, definitely. But the price will have to come down some more to make investors/speculators take a chance - at 0.90 perhaps?

nubhan

892 posts

Posted by nubhan > 2012-05-23 01:26 | Report Abuse

MAS made a new low price again this month. Takes months to establish a bottom. Better leave it alone.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-05-23 08:55 | Report Abuse

Check this out http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/5/23/nation/11342965&sec=nation

Plan for layoff already

Posted by thunder_storm > 2012-05-23 09:40 | Report Abuse

this is dead counter since few years back

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-23 10:01 | Report Abuse

Thunder storm, not dead, they are just Rest In Peace forawhile.

mrK0K3N

143 posts

Posted by mrK0K3N > 2012-05-23 10:07 | Report Abuse

If MAS going to die, the first entity will runaway is KHAZANAH!!!

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-23 10:21 | Report Abuse

The government will definitely not allow MAS to RIP....nanti tak ada muka.

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2012-05-23 10:32 | Report Abuse

Just look at our RM10 note, you see aeroplane(mas), ship (misc). If the govt. allow them to sink/vanish....malu-lah...unless we have new notes without depicting the plane and the ship.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-23 10:38 | Report Abuse

just like proton lor, they won't allow proton to sell to company other than malaysia de...

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-23 10:41 | Report Abuse

Proton, MAS, MISC...so called household names but what about their performance? Why always bleeding and govt can't do anything in their infinite wisdom to correct the wrong and imrpove.
Talk about Wawasan 2020...just talk but no essence.

mrK0K3N

143 posts

Posted by mrK0K3N > 2012-05-23 10:42 | Report Abuse

They are sucking 'our' blood. ;-)

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-23 10:51 | Report Abuse

Brader Chong, see i told you before, they r adjusting MAS to 1M for RM1, So, 1Malaysia, 1Mas RM1. Nice lah.