MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-09-05 22:13 | Report Abuse

MAS is no diff fr AA and in fact by privilege MAS can easily compete head on with AA but sadly more than 20% of seats does not generate yield due to special privilege to Minster & Civil servants etc and on top of that manage by "blinker" management ........ am I wrong ????

kkbee

70 posts

Posted by kkbee > 2012-09-07 11:57 | Report Abuse

looks like 1.00 is important support, not sure where will it go if breaks 1.00

Posted by kueyteowlou > 2012-09-07 16:43 | Report Abuse

1.03 is the strongest support now

Posted by James Woon > 2012-09-07 16:47 | Report Abuse

hi bro kueyteowlou, did u buy MAS or MAS-CG or both? I actually hold a little bit CG at 1 cent and waiting to sell...as the expiry date is nearer would you recommend to sell or hold for a while first?

Posted by kueyteowlou > 2012-09-11 12:28 | Report Abuse

you do not have to worry about MAS-CG.. because of bursa rules having that they must provide half a cent on buy queue in no matter what circumstances.. if they don't put the queue.. just sue to SC for bursa not strict to their rules..

Posted by kueyteowlou > 2012-09-11 12:30 | Report Abuse

it is good to buy and hold for MAS.. as you see CI dropping.. but MAS is still in a very very strong support.. hahaha if you buy MAS-CG the winning will be 50% or lose also 50% lol..

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-09-11 21:36 | Report Abuse

MAS is going south..dun worry here is something to cheer about

A pretty flight stewardess emerges from pilots cabin with hair dis-levelled, blouse open and bra torn she says, no wonder they call this COCKpit.

get it..get it..

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2012-09-11 21:55 | Report Abuse

King Kong73 made my day! lol!

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-09-12 09:57 | Report Abuse

It's at 1.01, which is okay considering how much the general market has come down. One of my previous comments had compared it with AirAsia, of which most people had reasonably favoured over MAS. But as we can see, that's the nature of the market - had one bought AA then, he would be staring at a significant loss. Not to say it's a Buy (there are better counters to put one's money) but with MAS, it is so down and out that the downside risk appears to be a lot less.

pirate99

822 posts

Posted by pirate99 > 2012-09-12 10:00 | Report Abuse

This counter good.. I monitered last 2 weeks, can say its not shaky..

Dropped 2-3 cents is normal for me..

cyclist

158 posts

Posted by cyclist > 2012-09-12 14:26 | Report Abuse

Can ask Malindo/Lion air to take over MAS?

cytew

1,600 posts

Posted by cytew > 2012-09-12 14:33 | Report Abuse

Any business conducted by Malaysia GLC will not be competitive, so we need not to worry ,that it can compete with AirAsia.

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-09-18 17:43 | Report Abuse

waaa..mas steady..air asia jatuh

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-09-19 16:53 | Report Abuse

RM1.00 lah better and that made 1M = 1MAS = RM1

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-09-20 16:55 | Report Abuse

Still Standing Strong! Not bad MAS!

raviy2k13

93 posts

Posted by raviy2k13 > 2012-09-20 17:00 | Report Abuse

Must be supported by the strong UNIONS :)...another bullshit counter and company

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-09-20 17:03 | Report Abuse

UNIONS does not take place with this trend at this time around, but if you say internal source, or EPF and 'Wellington Fund', yes, that may take place for MAS performance today.

raviy2k13

93 posts

Posted by raviy2k13 > 2012-09-20 17:06 | Report Abuse

17 years ago, I worked there but have to cabut within 1 month due to the slow pace of work...at that time the boss was the infamous TR

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-09-24 21:32 | Report Abuse

close 1.00...will it fall further?

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-09-26 10:54 | Report Abuse

yes it has fallen..the fallen

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-09-26 10:55 | Report Abuse

the fallen will rise again?

ayub

25 posts

Posted by ayub > 2012-10-02 09:23 | Report Abuse

mas will fly ,.,.,.

peterkass

10 posts

Posted by peterkass > 2012-10-02 09:30 | Report Abuse

why ayub?? any reason??

ayub

25 posts

Posted by ayub > 2012-10-03 15:06 | Report Abuse

BN co.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-03 15:35 | Report Abuse

We have to separate "government" and "national property" from "BN". If not, EPF and its funds will also be (wrongly) considered as BN. But whatever, companies like this will always be decided by the government of the day, whatever that may be.

Anyway, one thing worth noting is that, regardless of the market's condition, MAS doesn't slide down too much. It goes to just slightly below 1.00 and stops there. Doesn't look attractive right now but all it takes is some news to help spike an upswing. Might be for just a while but that should be enough for a 15 sen or so gain. I believe all the negative analyses of it have already been factored in. Now, if only there's just one bit of something positive...

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-10-03 21:31 | Report Abuse

yaaa..bring Datuk Idris Jala back....

angkor

451 posts

Posted by angkor > 2012-10-07 22:39 | Report Abuse

privatization news like proton?

angkor

451 posts

Posted by angkor > 2012-10-07 22:39 | Report Abuse

privatization news like proton?

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-08 00:01 | Report Abuse

As soon it drop below 1.00, my radar will zoom in for selective collection all the way down and then wait to offload from short to long term, when it hit 0.95 , next wave will rebound back to 1.10 ..........................

King Kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2012-10-08 21:01 | Report Abuse

next qrtr result...bottomline..red still

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-09 11:52 | Report Abuse

Maybank today says "Buy", with TP of 1.20. Going to add its warrants to my "KiV" folder and see whether there's a chance to make one or two sen with.

"3Q12 will be black. We think that MAS will breakeven in 3Q12 on a 9% QoQ drop in unit fuel costs, cost savings from capacity cuts, plus higher load factors and yields as 3Q is traditionally a peak period. This will lift sentiment on the stock as the market takes comfort in the successful implementation of its business turnaround efforts. Maintain BUY, with an unchanged target price of MYR1.20/share based on 2013 adjusted EV/EBITDAR of 6.4x – in line with regional peers."

More here http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/ptres/10945.jsp

ronnie90

24 posts

Posted by ronnie90 > 2012-10-09 16:19 | Report Abuse

MAS and call warrants suddenly go up after lunch!!! Should have taken action after the alert.

bonkian

63 posts

Posted by bonkian > 2012-10-09 16:47 | Report Abuse

"higher load factors "? jz now checked from MAS traffic: AUg 12 load factor down by -2.0pts while July 12 down by -2.5pts...
checked from: http://ir.chartnexus.com/mas/operational_statistics.php
please show ur proof.. not successful trim oversize staff, how to cut cost?

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-09 20:06 | Report Abuse

This is yet another lesson and reminder of how the stockmarket market works. Day-to-day business of a company; of costs, strategies, staff deployment, competition etc. etc. are just secondary. It's sentiment and perception that count most. And if you can manage to time your entrance and exit, that would be perfect.

If making profits from the market is one's sole goal, don't be too influenced by things like "trimming costs" etc. and be led to a state of "analysis-paralysis" - trying to find the 100% perfect counter to buy. In the end, you will always miss out on potential profits coming from far-from-perfect counters. Like MAS today. After you've done your homework with some reasonable research and thinking, it's time to make a decision. If not, you'll end up forever analysing... and not making anything.

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-09 20:21 | Report Abuse

Mat, is it ok to buy @ 1.06? What is your forecasted price ?

What do you think of Unisem ? It has been hovering around RM1.00 for quite a while.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-09 20:33 | Report Abuse

@ongtkong, I certainly can't answer that - too dangerous!:-) You will have to evaluate it and decide whether you'd dare to risk your capital. But actually I had bought it at that same price in early June. Was lucky in that it immediately went up the next day and I sold off at 1.17. Will it repeat? I don't know. But the sudden interest and volume do look encouraging and there's the tendency this might continue tomorrow. By the way, I had already gotten out - got my one sen from the CF and that's fine enough with me for today's trade.

Unisem - I don't really follow this counter but I think I remember having read some analysis about it, which was favourable if I'm not mistaken. Try searching at the Unisem post, maybe there's a link to it.

ongtkong

456 posts

Posted by ongtkong > 2012-10-09 22:10 | Report Abuse

Thanks Mat for your frank comments. Appreciate that.

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-10 09:41 | Report Abuse

MAS share up...but EPF still keep selling their current share in MAS

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-10-10 10:11 | Report Abuse

@yazid, it's obvious that some other institutions are taking over from them. They had probably planned it this way. If not, MAS' shares would plummet. This is a GLC and I'm sure the government wouldn't be too happy should that happen. Ironic that it has done better for the trader than the profitable AirAsia over the past couple of days, no? That's the stockmarket for you - sometimes, the business side of things take a back seat.

It was the CJ bought and sold, not CF. Could have gotten more had I the guts to wait. Sigh... But have to stick to my basic strategy and gameplan - if there's a profit within the contra period and the same day, take it. I've had profits slip away when I waited for more; sometimes going to even less than the buying price and I would regret and regret not cashing out when I had the chance.

Posted by Siow Wei Sen > 2012-10-10 14:39 | Report Abuse

Huge volume from bottom, it is a good sign.

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-10 15:24 | Report Abuse

Ahyo, should have bought 0.99 !!! Those got in at 1.00 , should cash in n run run b4 BIG stormy rain arrive due to Euro data again !!!!

14 posts

Posted by 100100100 > 2012-10-10 15:45 | Report Abuse

MAS CG PRICE WILL INCREASE AGAIN? ANY COMMENTS?

Posted by 101111557 > 2012-10-10 16:40 | Report Abuse

i bought mas at 1.01,shall me hold or sell?any opinion?i m newbies

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-11 01:53 | Report Abuse

Bear in mind EPF is dumping shares , maybe should cash in 1/2 now , I think !!!

Posted by 101111557 > 2012-10-11 10:01 | Report Abuse

that means sell?

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-12 04:03 | Report Abuse

101111!!!!, hope u hv sold some between 1.08-1.10 ????? If not, better pray very hard it doesn't drop back to 1.01 .......... I m standing by to buy tons as soon it goes below 1.00 !!!!!!!!!!!

wcchoy

5 posts

Posted by wcchoy > 2012-10-12 12:41 | Report Abuse

what's the TP for MAS?

mrK0K3N

143 posts

Posted by mrK0K3N > 2012-10-12 14:12 | Report Abuse

Beware of CIMB market maker on this particular counter!

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-10-15 15:41 | Report Abuse

drop again...where is mat cendana, comment please....

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-10-15 16:51 | Report Abuse

On the way back to 1.00 , I'm waiting to BUY BUY 0.99, lol