MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

Jake

493 posts

Posted by Jake > 2012-05-23 10:52 | Report Abuse

With so much "protection" in place for these so called "national entities", one would expect them to be miles ahead of their "poorer" competitors, and not sagging away like rag dolls being tossed about.. What a shame!
A lot of our nation's wealth have been carelessly poured down the drain (and some of it even flowed conveniently into some 'inter-connecting' pockets) over the years.

theews82

1,895 posts

Posted by theews82 > 2012-05-23 10:55 | Report Abuse

The RSI is incredible ^^

mrK0K3N

143 posts

Posted by mrK0K3N > 2012-05-23 11:15 | Report Abuse

Personally, though TA & FA looks awesome, doesn't guarantee the counter will move. But, yeah, in finding a way, both TA & FA is applicable gauge.

Posted by thunder_storm > 2012-05-23 11:29 | Report Abuse

hi all, don't look at the FA or TA for this stock. this stock is shxt stock. save your money and go for other counter. Don't be cheated again about any news or announcement.
If can work well, won't keep losing already. something is very super wrong in the management.

nubhan

892 posts

Posted by nubhan > 2012-05-23 11:50 | Report Abuse

muslims can touch pork. but not to eat pork.

Hustle

3,615 posts

Posted by Hustle > 2012-05-23 16:51 | Report Abuse

Dive to RM0.56 can have a try lah,at least the Amoi of Mas still more pretty compared to Airasia.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-28 14:55 | Report Abuse

At 1.06, I'm going to take the risk with MAS. It's true that it suffered a huge loss last year - more than RM2 billion - and things aren't going well for the airline business. AirAsia is the better company, true, but its current price is on the high side - I'd be more comfortable if it's around 3.30 or so.

Depending on how one looks at it, I would say that despite still making a loss in the last quarter, it is lower than last year's results. Some of the plans to overcome its problems have already been announced, plus cost-cutting. Investors and the government are no longer as tolerant with the crony companies that overcharge for various services to MAS. I feel there is more will to be competitive and not put up with these politically-connected vendors anymore given its dire situation. The lower fuel prices should also help in the present quarter.

So, at 1.06, there are some similarities with Silver Bird - all the negative news have already been priced in. If some positive news come in, there should be an upswing in the price. Let's see how it goes over the next few months.

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-28 14:58 | Report Abuse

Yes brother Mat Cendana , new TGP is $1.38...let's put it this way...the Government is not going to let MAS die, that's for sure.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-28 15:08 | Report Abuse

Ah, yes, I forgot to add that about the government. We have to think like businessmen and try to be objective (after all, our purpose is in trying to make money).

Regardless of what one thinks of the company or the government, we must live with the fact that the latter is not going to let MAS die, as Chong mentioned. Even if there's a change in government, it's unlikely the Pakatan Rakyat government will let it die either. National pride is at stake here. In the worst-case situation, it could be merged with AirAsia, with the latter having full say over the running, of course.

But let's not get ahead of this. Let's just consider the near future: one positive is the arrival of the new jets. It will take some time for the benefits to kick in but merely having these jets alone will result in more interest in MAS and boost morale. Like I said earlier, although there's always the possibility the price might go lower, I'd say at of it going up in the next few months is more likely.

Su Jackie

189 posts

Posted by Su Jackie > 2012-05-28 17:37 | Report Abuse

It is very simple to turn around MAS !!!! Airline industry is subject to keen international competition. It is like any games - when we play in Malaysia on our own soil we can boast and get gold medals. As soon as we go to Olympic Games or any World Games, we are knocked out in the preliminary rounds. So MAS has been going on and on and changing local MDs upon MDs - to a point that certain MDs from other local companies are afraid to take the challenge in MAS. So if we cannot find good management leaders to run MAS - very simple - go and steal the Deputy MD of Emirates or Singapore Airline. There are plenty of them waiting to show off their skills based on merit. Its worth it - pay them heaps and you get heaps. By the way, if the leader comes from a popular airline, make sure we have good middle management team too. If you have a good expatriate MD and the rest are mostly rotten managers with old local cultures and unwilling to change, then the MD will also fail.

Good luck to Malaysia Boleh and I have waited for far too long to see what they have done wrong and wrong. when JALA is doing OK, they pulled him out to report to Koh Su Koon, what a waste. Maybe when you have good people around, very difficult to give negative instructions.

God Bless the Company.

The is no hope at all for MAS until a new international leader is appointed to bring in good cultures and management practices.

So if you want to buy MAS shares think twice - might as well put your money in Singapore Airlines. I invest in New Zealand Airlines and my dividend yield is about 7 % !!!! So good ah.

kong73

2,058 posts

Posted by kong73 > 2012-05-28 21:30 | Report Abuse

err too reflect...warren buffet avoid airline stock like a jew avoid charging interest among themselves..for him, airline counter is a radioactive stock...avoid even if she is easy meat like a 2 doller hooker.

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-05-28 21:41 | Report Abuse

Crystal clear MAS 's MD is not allowed to "Managing Director" , is merely designated as "Muppet Directive" .......... just look at the saga over the last 2 decades !!!!! As always it is the tax payer's expenses !!!!! Oh by the way, next time if you do fly on Business Class or First Class, try to socialise and make a estimation how many travellers are on "special or privilege" fares ? If truth to be known , very high % and that's our "PROFIT" ......

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-05-28 21:45 | Report Abuse

It is pretty standard when a "plc" company performing far below acceptance , if heads to be roll ....... it is not unusual to see the "Do-Re-Mi" matching out , i.e. Chairman; MD and FD and now compare to the trend of MAS's saga over the last few episode !! Thanks to nature I had disposed all my shares and more on .... all the best to the innocent holders

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-29 02:51 | Report Abuse

Let's say MAS is just like an illusion...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CMUuEwCO8yc

talk2pkc

2,300 posts

Posted by talk2pkc > 2012-05-29 04:50 | Report Abuse

chong, u r tooooooooooooo polite & generous with yr remarks, at least "illusion" have logic & flavour ................

gajah

204 posts

Posted by gajah > 2012-05-29 09:32 | Report Abuse

BUT ..... the share price is heading north!

jacklew

499 posts

Posted by jacklew > 2012-05-29 09:38 | Report Abuse

The price is manipulated by big players...

gajah

204 posts

Posted by gajah > 2012-05-29 09:39 | Report Abuse

It's all right, we ride with the waves

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-29 11:41 | Report Abuse

Gajah is right - we just go along with the ride and jump off at the slightest sign of danger. Remember this: we are businessmen in that we don't really care about the company but *ourselves*, selfish that it sounds.

waterlily

10 posts

Posted by waterlily > 2012-05-29 14:03 | Report Abuse

We must believe we can fly!!!....

Posted by Namoyaki Takarajima > 2012-05-29 14:58 | Report Abuse

waterlily, indeed we believe it in ourself tht we can fly. It is just that MAS do not believe that WE belive in them that much! If MAS beleive that we all believe in them, they can even fly higher and higer. Do MAS believe in themself and believe that they can do it?

Posted by lam622622622 > 2012-05-29 15:10 | Report Abuse

mas is flying today volume not bad , can mas fly higher ?

Posted by lam622622622 > 2012-05-29 15:48 | Report Abuse

bro.chong you recommended mas-CG before , today already 4 sen still can go in?cheerrrrrrr.

Mat Cendana

2,331 posts

Posted by Mat Cendana > 2012-05-29 16:06 | Report Abuse

Share price aside, investors/speculators should take note of MAS sukuk loans. Buyers of its new bonds are expecting a 6% annual return rate which is a bit on the high side. But MAS will have to oblige considering it is not exactly a rock-solid company. And the rate is better than MAS borrowing from the Along:-) http://bit.ly/LA6rDb

chong

3,074 posts

Posted by chong > 2012-05-29 16:06 | Report Abuse

Buy CG at 3.5 cents

Posted by lam622622622 > 2012-05-29 16:13 | Report Abuse

brother chong thank you for your advised.cheers and fly fly...........

jtpc2006

984 posts

Posted by jtpc2006 > 2012-05-29 16:57 | Report Abuse

The SunDaily reported it learnt Mohd Rashdan MAS exe Director and deputy chief exe submitted his resignation letter to MAS chairman Tan Sri Md Nor Yusof yesterday afternoon. A MAS source confirmed the report.
Any effect on share price?

waterlily

10 posts

Posted by waterlily > 2012-05-29 19:00 | Report Abuse

Namoyaki..too complicated for us to believe but yet we have to believe and by believing, together we shall fly..!!!!! Hmmmm now with too much believing I am confused... Hahaha.. Cheers.

Posted by aaron1988 > 2012-05-29 21:22 | Report Abuse

Now just thinking when to cut lost of the shares bought at 1.67...

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-06-01 01:56 | Report Abuse

retreat....

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-06-03 14:59 | Report Abuse

MAS will fly again.... come on MAS...cut n cut yr rubbish cost of operation... make money n dont create debt....

waterlily

10 posts

Posted by waterlily > 2012-06-11 22:47 | Report Abuse

Slow but steady...nice...

yclee

6 posts

Posted by yclee > 2012-06-11 23:20 | Report Abuse

can buy now?

eagleis

146 posts

Posted by eagleis > 2012-06-11 23:24 | Report Abuse

sell even ur bicycle to buy Mas hahaha

yclee

6 posts

Posted by yclee > 2012-06-11 23:30 | Report Abuse

ok buy, very takut turun lagi.

yclee

6 posts

Posted by yclee > 2012-06-11 23:31 | Report Abuse

eagleis, I new comer!

yazid7655

601 posts

Posted by yazid7655 > 2012-06-12 08:43 | Report Abuse

buy when the co start make profit

cyclist

158 posts

Posted by cyclist > 2012-06-12 11:34 | Report Abuse

Fat Cat inside MAS, woun't make any profit.

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-06-13 11:46 | Report Abuse

dont worry, when the time is come, there will return back the EAGLE to us.... today maybe up cause of the MAS sukuk progress...

lynx

Posted by lynx > 2012-06-13 15:30 | Report Abuse

And that their beloved Deputy CEO has resigned...

Posted by lam622622622 > 2012-06-13 15:57 | Report Abuse

All sleeping chairman should resign then MAS got chance to go up.

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-06-13 18:14 | Report Abuse

yeah.... give me back idris jala...

kl foong

421 posts

Posted by kl foong > 2012-06-13 19:26 | Report Abuse

The person who can turnaroung the co, they take him away.

starwood

112 posts

Posted by starwood > 2012-06-13 21:23 | Report Abuse

Hope Can Fly Like Takaful...

Posted by Winston Paul > 2012-06-13 21:25 | Report Abuse

they are pushing up the price for announcement of corporate exercise. Probably rights issue or warrants.

starwood

112 posts

Posted by starwood > 2012-06-13 21:29 | Report Abuse

From Rm 2++ To Rm 5++ Wonder Why No Unsual market for takaful????

cyclist

158 posts

Posted by cyclist > 2012-06-14 13:41 | Report Abuse

An Australian court on Thursday fined Malaysia Airlines Aus$6 million (US$5.98 million) for price-fixing linked to a massive international cargo cartel. ATF

Posted by Yazid Gonzales > 2012-06-17 21:53 | Report Abuse

dont worry.... MAS will win the cases like airasia

kcfan

1,881 posts

Posted by kcfan > 2012-06-21 22:23 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Airlines (MAS, 3 786, the Main Board of Trade and service group) today announced the latest business plan is not much new, except to take a pragmatic action, the focus is still fall push up revenues and reduce costs to the 2014 financial turnaround in one year delay than the original objective

Antz78

36 posts

Posted by Antz78 > 2012-06-21 23:29 | Report Abuse

MAS...
Pls learn from JAL.
Pls... Pls... for the sake of national pride.