MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD

KLSE (MYR): MAS (3786)

37 people like this.

15,107 comment(s). Last comment by wallstreetrookie 2020-04-18 11:57

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-07-16 13:23 | Report Abuse

seem still a lot of people wish to cut loss before price drops further eh..cut lah...bring it to 0.29, be my guest and make Kenanga happy to have prediction comes true

merzman

72 posts

Posted by merzman > 2013-07-16 14:09 | Report Abuse

Right on Muarmali ! who are the "alot of ppl wish to cut loss before price drops further" .. why still holding strong at 0.31-0.315 ! Common sense friend.

faralenz

139 posts

Posted by faralenz > 2013-07-16 14:36 | Report Abuse

price too high at 31 - 31.5 for me.

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-07-16 14:38 | Report Abuse

who are the people? look at the volume, those are the traders, ther are still people selling at 0.31 (to the anchored buyer). The anchored buyer park bid at 0.31 and at the same time ask selling at 0.315 can't be the same one who make the volume. So when the volume has gone down at 0.31/0.315 level maybe then the small fish would have finally sold off...maybe then the game change.....what do you think?

kinghu

49 posts

Posted by kinghu > 2013-07-16 14:47 | Report Abuse

Any chance of a reverse split to cut down shares volume?

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 15:06 | Report Abuse

They are pressing it down now.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 15:08 | Report Abuse

Q at 0.305. :)

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 15:10 | Report Abuse

Heading to 0.305..:))

wcs0201

885 posts

Posted by wcs0201 > 2013-07-16 15:12 | Report Abuse

waiting at 0.3:)))

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-07-16 15:22 | Report Abuse

at current speed..reaching 0.30 will take time friend

wcs0201

885 posts

Posted by wcs0201 > 2013-07-16 15:24 | Report Abuse

like you said, i hv time

afifi

2,035 posts

Posted by afifi > 2013-07-16 15:33 | Report Abuse

mahu tido tgok ini .....

wcs0201

885 posts

Posted by wcs0201 > 2013-07-16 15:35 | Report Abuse

watch the show by magna while waiting :)))

faralenz

139 posts

Posted by faralenz > 2013-07-16 16:04 | Report Abuse

big big selling at 31

merzman

72 posts

Posted by merzman > 2013-07-16 16:10 | Report Abuse

Good read and catch deadwood... game will change sooner or later... definitely in the coming weeks with the qtrly results..fly MAS fly up up to the skies!

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 17:09 | Report Abuse

0.305. :))

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 17:20 | Report Abuse

Was that panic selling?

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 17:26 | Report Abuse

They read our posting here and wanted to prove us wrong that they are not the same party parking. My orders all matched. :)

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 17:28 | Report Abuse

I was busy and missed it.

Muarmali

1,186 posts

Posted by Muarmali > 2013-07-16 17:29 | Report Abuse

I like MAS. In out in out....

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 17:35 | Report Abuse

When roughly the qtrly result will be out?

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 20:02 | Report Abuse

MAS staff key to turnaround plan

Mon, 15 Jul 2013 22:02:41 GMT

BIG POTENTIAL: But analysts are divided if it is overstaffed or operating less efficiently than rivals

MALAYSIA Airlines (MAS)'s workforce is key to the national carrier's turnaround plan, but analysts are divided on whether it is overstaffed or operating less efficiently than its rivals.

A quick check on its financials shows that MAS has 19,406 employees on its wage book, while Singapore Airlines (SIA) has 23,189.

As at end-2012, the actual sales per employee for MAS was US$221,761 (RM707,417), while SIA's actual sales per employee stood at US$524,053 as at end-March 2013.

"The turnaround plan must address this," said MIDF research head Zulkifli Hamzah yesterday.

He added that by increasing capacity, staff productivity will improve. The question now is whether higher capacity will attract a commensurate demand.

"If additional seats can be filled, the airline is a good bet for a turnaround story," Zulkifli said.

His comments came in the wake of a plan disclosed by Firefly Sdn Bhd chief executive officer Ignatius Ong, who had reportedly said a listing is on the cards for the company.

"One of the requirements for listing is to strengthen the company's position," said Ignatius, adding that Firefly is now on an expansion mode.

Mercury Securities head of research Edmund Tham said if value could be squeezed from a listing exercise, MAS shares would rally.

MAS has been trading below the 50-sen barrier and is one of the most actively traded stocks on a daily momentum.

"Capture the imagination of the investing public, MAS, which is a high-beta stock, has the potential to dominate the market, especially since Khazanah Nasional Bhd is a shareholder," said a dealer with RHB Securities.

"Potential" is a key word in the MAS story as the airline has often been tipped for greatness due to its high service standards. However, the inability to live up to its potential has landed it in the corporate restructuring room more times than any other major government-linked companies over the past 15 years.

MAS chief executive officer Ahmad Jauhari Yahya recently said the carrier's latest business turnaround plan has started to yield results.

Despite poor economic conditions, MAS' operating loss reduced by 46 per cent to RM165 million for the first three months ended March 31 2013.

Analysts, though, contend that the market, having seen more than its share of turnaround plans, only for a new one to be introduced now to revive the fledgling carrier, aren't too excited about short-term fixes.

They are looking at a word often missing in most of the turnaround plans - consistency.

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-07-16 21:55 | Report Abuse

Some one try to depress MAS price today at the close, from 4.15 pm onwards MAS suddenly saw big sell orders at 31 sen. But there is only one broker selling heavily at 31 sen. When buyer came to clear say 50 lot(50,000 shares), they will hit back at 30.5 wth 500 lot (500,000 shares) to deter potential buyer at 31 sen. I guess there is big institutional order to sell today. And the big boy trying to absorb this sell order at 30.5 sen at the close. You can see there is 4 million order matched at 30.5 sen at the close. after this big order there is a mere 2.2k wanted to sell at 30.5 sen. there is about 200k being forced sell at 30.5 a few minute before the preclosing. All this are telling us there is very few selling at 30.5 from the small retailers. Infact MAs has been trading at 31 and 31.5 sen for the last 10 days, it has show resilient despite the escalating oil price. The market seems to welcome the changes and expansion by MAS. Please be patience wth MAS, any weakness of share price is good opportunity to accumulate. The upcoming financial results would serve as a good spark for the MAS to fly higher. Do not miss the opportunity to make some money investing in MAS.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:01 | Report Abuse

Remind you guys, MAS possess the highest outstanding shares in BURSA, So?? Enough said right?

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-16 22:06 | Report Abuse

Haha. .qqq668 don't miss the opportunity to make money? confirm? If not confirm better don't invite people to join the investment

Ho Lee Man

151 posts

Posted by Ho Lee Man > 2013-07-16 22:07 | Report Abuse

SIA ....SGD10.21....A Great Way to Fly.
AASIA...RM3.19...Now Everyone Can Fly
MAS...30.5 sens....Now Everyone Can Buy.... cheers

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-07-16 22:21 | Report Abuse

Whenever I open my mouth sharing with people about opportunity investing in MAS in coffee shops, investment seminar, internet forums, I will be poured cold water or being scolded. But deep in my heart I feel this is golden opportunity to BUY MAS. SImple logic will give you an answer yes it is correct move to buy.
The reason when everyone says negative about MAS, MAS shares must be at very low level. WHen everyone has no confidence in MAS shares, It must be trading at low level. SO the strategy of buy low sell high fits very well here. When everyone talk good about MAS and hv confidence then MAS would be trading at 50 sen, right?

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:25 | Report Abuse

different people different perception. cheap can be cheaper, low can be lower, no matter how low the price is, if its not financially sound, its never a good buy. MAS had gone through so many right issues, so many promises, but never came true. Why still believe this fairy tales?Asking money for so much, and never able to turnaround.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:27 | Report Abuse

a simple example, just when people thought Dutchlady with RM20 is way expensive, it goes all the way up to RM40+? What do you learn from this scenario? A food for thought for you before its too late

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:37 | Report Abuse

jz for your information, MAS, as its price today at 0.305, has a whopping market cap of 5Billion. Imagine how dilutive it is for its shareholders.

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-07-16 22:37 | Report Abuse

Many people lost hope wth MAS, especially those who bought MAS 2 years back or longer. When you lose money you will be angry and disappointed and yr confidence level gone down. Bear in mind in Stock market there will always some body taking advantage of the situation. Especially in a recovering market like now. I think so long Malaysia still produce oil, BN in power, MAS will be here to stay. There are just too many people depend on MAS for their bread and butter. How can it fail?

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:42 | Report Abuse

first i need to clarify that i never own MAS. Secondly, i presume you said, how can it "success"! haha. MAS cant even posted a positive profit(after excluding one off return) for so many years? Do you check on its financial report? What is your confidence on MAS? Turnaround?

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 22:44 | Report Abuse

ipomember, what do you see MAS in future if making losses again ? Will TF from Air Asia be invited again ? Or it will totally dismissed ?
What about you qqq668 ?

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-16 22:46 | Report Abuse

Actually I agree with ipomember... 30 cents might look cheap but the NTA is less than 30 cents. . Net tangible assets... true..its glc company but don't forget it got kick out from klci index for a good reason. Down trending stock might be a good buy but extra caution because u will never know how low it can get. Why not wait till it really show sign of turn around?
Its good to share in forum but do not issue a buy call unless u r very positive so that other traders are not trap :-)

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:49 | Report Abuse

TuaHuat i have no idea at all sorry. Perhaps, MAS really can turnaround, but its way too early to say but i highly doubt on it after so many tries and fails. Aviation sector is highly competitive, if you are interested on MAS i suggested you to read AA financial repory, try to figure out what is the main contributor to AA revenue/profit. Then only you judge whether MAS can "FLY UP TO THE SKIES"

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-07-16 22:49 | Report Abuse

MAS need to raised 3 billion, at that time it was trading 70 to 75 sen. if you call a right issue for 3 billion, wth a ratio of 1 for 1 at 96 sen, it would be ridiculous. So they restructure it to 4 to 1 at 23 sen to make it cheaper and encourage new investor to come in to take up the rights. The number of shares has sky rocket to 16 billion. But the most important thing is MAs can turn around. Then they can consolidate their shares, may be 10 to 1 and reduce the no of shares outstanding to 1.6 billion. Then MAs would be trading like rm5 again.

Robert123

299 posts

Posted by Robert123 > 2013-07-16 22:50 | Report Abuse

My stand still valid, the recovery is on the way......, no doubt there is a huge sell down today, but who r the buyers, if i were the big boys , i will be delighted if somebody willing to sell me in bulk with a much more discount price, why not???? , last few days, we saw that huge sellers (short term traders) waiting eagerly to dispose their holdings with small gains. So , shaking out has to be done before the uptrend continue...

pari57

439 posts

Posted by pari57 > 2013-07-16 22:53 | Report Abuse

Kenanga TP 0.29c
RHB TP 0.43c.... RHB i follow.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 22:57 | Report Abuse

lol.Given stock split or consolidate, the value remains same.

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-16 23:02 | Report Abuse

Midf n hlg tp 0.27 and 0.28 ....
Value measured by PE ratio n NTA n many more but mas do not have eps or pe ratio

By the way ..One question. .What makes you think turnaround is coming with so intense competition n high oil prices at above 100 per barrel? companies cutting travel budget n volatile economy? Just knowledge sharing

TuaHuat

1,462 posts

Posted by TuaHuat > 2013-07-16 23:03 | Report Abuse

Thanks ipomember and qqq668. Pray hard if wanna involve in this counter :) good luck to all.

Robert123

299 posts

Posted by Robert123 > 2013-07-16 23:12 | Report Abuse

Only those who know how to read their mind will be the winners,after all is their game, they set the rules , we r merely the followers ,not their preys....Buy when there is bad news(bargain) , sell when the news become "TOO GOOD"....Or maybe u ve a better suggestion...

qqq668

262 posts

Posted by qqq668 > 2013-07-16 23:25 | Report Abuse

For MAS, it is wasting time talking about fundamental sometime, it is true in theory, when fundamental of MAS improve then only shares price will go up. But in this scenario do you think it applys here? Mas shares is controlled by some one very powerful. He controls. One day if he has exhausted us, or he achieves his objectives he will fly MAS up. Just wait.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 23:32 | Report Abuse

Alx gets the points. If you want to punt, MAS also not to be a good candidate!SO many shares out there who the fuck can digest it? FUND? Alot of funds are constrained and they are not eligible to buy any stocks as they want. Guy wake up please.

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-16 23:38 | Report Abuse

So I guess there is no answer that mas can turnaround. ..only gut feeling that one day it will fly without fundamental cos its politically link... as a fellow trader I think that it might recover but mas is bleeding right now. See the quarter result. The share price will follow its fundamental value one day no matter how much you goreng them. Take a look at jcy..csl..luster..Eastland. ..it will fall back to its intrinsic value. ..
My point is just don't get other traders to buy or sell if we don't even know whether it will turn around. ..Cheers mate n wish all of us the best in our trades

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 23:43 | Report Abuse

alright, i have to partly agree with you as "in the short run, stock market is like a voting machine, while in the long run, it is a weighing machine"(by B.Graham). So basically you are buying and praying? OR technically wise you are buying at support? As for its all time low every price can be a good support? haha, Frankly i think Khazanah also scare of MAS haha. if not mistaken last div is at 2007. After that no return at all still need to fork out money to help MAS from bankrupt. lol

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-16 23:46 | Report Abuse

all the best to you too alx

deadwood

204 posts

Posted by deadwood > 2013-07-17 07:44 | Report Abuse

MAS is at its all time low. Those who bought at 0.305 0r 0.30 have very little downside, for those who believe. I bought mine ar 0.315 and currently in the red. The thing is the decision to buy at this all time low price is actually a rational decision contrary to those who spurn MAS (at this price) for the reason best known to thesmselves. We shall see who are the winners in the end don't we? As for me for a penny stocks that needs small capital, even if MAS goes down to 0.10, I won't have sleepless night. Since there more upside than downside at current price, we and the like, would wait for the time to make some decent profits. We had heard you, we appreciated your concern but each man his own decision. Don't condemn others for their decisions when its contradict yours. Don't even wish them gook luck as that deems to be sarcastics.

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-17 08:09 | Report Abuse

No offence deadwood, i meant no condemn but its more on a rational basic as well. My wish on alx is for his investment path. nothing else

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-17 08:11 | Report Abuse

while people claimed that the downside risk is low, nobody mention about its debt level? We dont see downside risk by judging on its price do we? Well, maybe the worse is over for MAS, who knows right