ORIENTAL HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): ORIENT (4006)

-0.18 (2.52%)

6.96 - 7.24

642 comment(s). Last comment by geary 8 hours ago

kahhoeng

3,895 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2014-11-13 19:26 | Report Abuse

the Loh BIG family has already controlled more than 50% of the company, despite EPF and Aberdeen's more than 20% ownership, there isn't much we can do, sigh...

abcb

2,798 posts

Posted by abcb > 2014-12-24 12:26 | Report Abuse

Foreign fund from Aberdeen Asset management Asia accumulated this counter in the open market recently and this counter is severely under valued.It should worth more than RM10 and above

chenkx

95 posts

Posted by chenkx > 2014-12-24 15:04 | Report Abuse

Thanks. Bought.

abcb

2,798 posts

Posted by abcb > 2014-12-26 15:41 | Report Abuse

Third quarter profit jumped up to RM117.393 million,compared previous year RM22.13 million and profit accumulated to RM264.477 million,compared last year RM122.944 million only.Company hold RM2.74 billion cash,reserves RM588 million together with retained earnings RM3.6 billion as at 30 Sept 2014

pushparaj

205 posts

Posted by pushparaj > 2014-12-26 16:03 | Report Abuse

any cash distribution!

kingofong

372 posts

Posted by kingofong > 2014-12-27 19:19 | Report Abuse

kiam siap

abcb

2,798 posts

Posted by abcb > 2015-01-16 08:48 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen Asset management Asia Limited keeps on accumulated Orient shares in the open market and it means that there must be some good news to announce,either the management will propose for bonus issue or special dividend soon

Posted by RonnieKimLondon > 2015-02-18 01:25 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen is accumulating Oriental Holdings because the business is well managed and has a very strong balance sheet. Aberdeen is buying a business for RM7/share that is worth RM25/share. It may not be an exciting investment but Aberdeen has a superb track record in long term investment.

hw0706

739 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2015-03-18 16:26 | Report Abuse

Cash per share is 4.45. Retain Earning per share is RM5.67

4,278 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2015-03-26 17:28 | Report Abuse

Oriental got plenty of lands in Penang acquired few decades ago. They sit on the piggy bank worth more than 2 billion. The management team did not capitalised the golden opportunity of property boom in the past few years. What a pity. It seemed that MUFG was really not happy with the ancient mentality of the management. They have been reducing its stake gradually without a sign of stopping.

4,278 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2015-04-07 17:10 | Report Abuse

Both MUFG & EPF are taking turn to reduce their stakes of this chinaman company. No sign of reversing signal yet.

myone99

51 posts

Posted by myone99 > 2015-04-21 21:26 | Report Abuse

Chart is breaking the 200 days resistance .. must be something is brewing.

hw0706

739 posts

Posted by hw0706 > 2015-04-21 22:06 | Report Abuse

see tommorow how much up another 20 sen i guess. at last is wake up

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-05-03 14:51 | Report Abuse

many disposal from Arberdeen but price still up

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-05-05 18:03 | Report Abuse

still strong today

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-05-06 11:54 | Report Abuse

disposal give no impact?

Hk Wong

420 posts

Posted by Hk Wong > 2015-05-13 07:05 | Report Abuse

there are selling. so rather wait and see. wait for lower price

i3i2i1

4,731 posts

Posted by i3i2i1 > 2015-07-13 18:09 | Report Abuse

bull hammer!/shooting star? but on 3rd July is almost the same and drop back RM7

Posted by Kitty Kitty > 2015-08-19 22:57 | Report Abuse

good result

Posted by muskamal > 2015-09-17 12:45 | Report Abuse

They have good resources that the Management did not capitalize on the opportunities 2 years ago. Let's hope they wake up and give loyal shareholders what they deserve.

IVKLSE

32 posts

Posted by IVKLSE > 2015-12-13 22:26 |

Snake

158 posts

Posted by Snake > 2016-05-23 10:40 | Report Abuse

TP - RM8.00 & above

4,278 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2016-06-09 10:54 | Report Abuse

Orient got so much cash in its piggy banks. Nothing has been done even though the new generation taken over to helm the company. Young management with an old man mentality?.

Posted by Ooi Cheng Kee > 2016-08-15 10:01 | Report Abuse

ini kalilah

ckkhen

193 posts

Posted by ckkhen > 2016-08-15 12:19 | Report Abuse

Reaction to Sunday Star 14/8/16 Focus Report.

Chua Ch

Posted by Chua Ch > 2016-04-19 19:35 | Report Abuse

should be.

Snake

158 posts

Posted by Snake > 2016-08-15 17:41 | Report Abuse

Long Term Holding....

Posted by Ooi Cheng Kee > 2016-08-16 09:19 | Report Abuse

Go Go Go

bvc100x

74 posts

Posted by bvc100x > 2016-08-16 10:43 | Report Abuse

dun ask, buy now!

Thkent91

195 posts

Posted by Thkent91 > 2016-08-24 00:31 | Report Abuse

Gap down you should buy more. Assuming the dividend is 20 sen per year. That would be good if it drop until RM4. They have plenty of cash, good times or bad times they can still manage to distribute cash

milo

202 posts

Posted by milo > 2016-08-25 11:32 | Report Abuse

why can making lost...

cath0025

60 posts

Posted by cath0025 > 2016-09-14 12:24 | Report Abuse

看起来很静,可有最新消息

JT James

321 posts

Posted by JT James > 2017-01-10 23:55 | Report Abuse

What is the average dividend for this counter? 6%?

Imemyself

40 posts

Posted by Imemyself > 2017-02-14 13:47 | Report Abuse

keep on dropping ..strong downtrend...why??

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2017-02-19 00:54 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen is discarding the stock.

VFTRADER

787 posts

Posted by VFTRADER > 2017-02-28 10:48 | Report Abuse

This is good company but share price is a bit disappointed. 2016Q4 result shown net cash( short term investment + cash - all loan) is RM3.30/share..... today share price is RM6.60.....

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2017-03-03 11:45 | Report Abuse

Lok Boon Siew is still a legend.

https://car.cari.com.my/portal.php?mod=view&aid=96831

ankahill

1,046 posts

Posted by ankahill > 2017-03-03 15:46 | Report Abuse

Some big fish dumping but some big fish collecting at the same time!!

Posted by cimb1961 > 2017-10-05 21:47 | Report Abuse

Hi, anyone got any ideas about this counter..?
TQ

kahhoeng

3,895 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2017-10-13 21:50 | Report Abuse

boring but safe with increased dividend from a new boss?

Posted by Penang_lang > 2017-10-22 21:44 | Report Abuse

The construction is for the Granito@Permai affordable housing project at Jalan Lembah Permai, the Malay Mail Online reported. The development consists of a 49-storey building with two towers and 12 levels of car parks.
Property Guru website listed Granito @ Permai as the latest development by BSG Property, the property development arm of Boon Siew Group.
http://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/up-to-20-people-feared-dead-i...

Posted by jnanjali > 2017-11-08 12:09 | Report Abuse

will the news affect the share price??

kahhoeng

3,895 posts

Posted by kahhoeng > 2017-11-08 19:08 | Report Abuse

NO, BSG and Oriental are both owned by Loh family but they are not related, one listed (Oriental) with the other not.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-01-09 20:17 | Report Abuse

Aberdeen keep selling. Do they know something we don't?

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-10 11:18 | Report Abuse

I think they just buay tahan d.They buy in 2014 and 2015. Price no move for 4 years ahaha.

I can wait. Its only 6% of my portfolio anyway.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > Jan 9, 2018 08:17 PM | Report Abuse

Aberdeen keep selling. Do they know something we don't?

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-01-10 13:27 | Report Abuse

Ya, need a lot of patience. Orient is dirt cheap, assets not revalued ages ago..

Posted by Jon Choivo > 2018-01-10 14:19 | Report Abuse

From a value standpoint, its a no brainer.

Now, i can think of things i would do if i was in loh kian chong shoes that is good for the company and the shareholders, long or short term wise.

Id talk to aberdeen about buying their entire holdings are prevailing market price through open market.

Then i would sell or develop the land, not all at once, but at an increasing but sustainable pace.

Then the palm oil, i will talk to united plantations, the best plantation company in the world, for some kind of JV, letting them manage their plantation, with the financial backing of oriental.

Having said that, kian chong is competent and conservative. Depending on who you are, his conservative-ness may be a pro or a con. Im fine with it. I know my money safe, down sides very little, upsides, well if he aggressive abit, upside sure alot d. I can wait.

newbie4444

1,261 posts

Posted by newbie4444 > 2018-01-11 04:40 | Report Abuse

So many selling RM 5 better?

kakashit

1,472 posts

Posted by kakashit > 2018-01-11 11:46 | Report Abuse

Ya, Honda SG old stocks cleared dy, new production fully complied with Euro Emmission standard.

Honda Malaysia for sure is doing good with the newly open Johor 4S centre. Honda has taken over Toyota for the first seat in the non-national car segment for a long time.

So far I dun forsee Toyota has any new model that can compete with Honda, Sienta already sienz liao, lol

Plantation is a no brainer, it will grow itself.

the hospital is also closing the breakeven gap.

SG hotel already refurbished.

Most importantly Japan Yen borrowing is depreciating with the strenthening of Ringgit, thus less debt amount to repay.

So what are u waiting for? forget about Aberdeen.