SEAL INCORPORATED BHD

KLSE (MYR): SEAL (4286)

-0.005 (0.64%)

0.775 - 0.79

9 people like this.

4,114 comment(s). Last comment by Good123 1 day ago

johnte

192 posts

Posted by johnte > 2014-07-02 09:21 | Report Abuse

大鳄再等吃

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 09:25 | Report Abuse

i've forewarned this in my earlier posting a couple of days back, based on my very bad experience on SEAL 10 years ago

tssl74

529 posts

Posted by tssl74 > 2014-07-02 09:32 | Report Abuse

ggecko, don't mind me asking...back in 2005 you bought seal is due to gd fundamental or on what basis.
just wanto learn fr everyone.

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 09:43 | Report Abuse

tssl74, hope this article from the Star answers your question to me:

WITH a host of legacy issues behind it, Seal Inc Bhd, which has its roots in the timber business, looks ready to make a clean break from the past.

The Main Market-listed Seal is still lumped under the “industrial products” category on the stock exchange, which its management is in no hurry to change.

Little is known about how ownership of Seal changed hands a decade ago, after the previous owner lost control to the current major shareholders.

Seal had also garnered a dubious reputation circa 2004-2005 for being a played-up stock. Past reports indicate that Seal was a “casualty” of unusual trading activities in May 2005, which the company was at a loss to explain.

Its shares had plunged 79% in three days, wiping out RM174mil from its market value. It didn’t help that Seal had RM200mil in accumulated losses and liabilities that exceeded its assets.

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 09:47 | Report Abuse

Wow... meaning the current owner took over for free...... with the liabilities of course.....

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 09:49 | Report Abuse

in stock market, ppl has very short memory........

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 09:49 | Report Abuse

10 years is a long long time

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 09:51 | Report Abuse

Seal fundamentals are intact , profit 37% ( previously 17%) and expecting to moderate 20-30% under a competitive property environment. Rough calculation may reach 50c per share , so the selling down will not be a falling knife but an opportunity to collect. Going for long term will reap you handsome harvest. Contrarians better don't play this counter coz the buying in and selling out too volatile to handle.

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 09:54 | Report Abuse

tornado, 10 years is a long time, but until today, i m still licking my wound of loosing 300K just on this stock; i m re-producing the remaining story on seal from the star's article:

In June 2005 the same year three Penang-based individuals emerged as substantial shareholders in the company, scooping up a combined 20% following a sharp drop in its share price.

One Tan Lam San obtained the bulk of the shares (8.6%), with the rest going to Fang Siew Poh (5.5%) and Koay Teng Choon (5.1%). Tan had ceased to be a substantial shareholder in 2006, but Fang and Koay have stayed on.

Bursa filings show that Fang, the sister of executive director Doris Fang, currently owns a direct and deemed interest of 19.41% in Seal. Koay, who also sits on the board, has increased his stake to 10.35%.

Under the new management led by Chuah, Seal went through a restructuring that saw it hive off Selayang Mall and land in Seberang Prai to pare down its debts to RM5mil from RM80mil.

Its timber operations were also scaled down tremendously.

Seal had disposed of one of its key timber units, Great Eastern Mills, to a third party several years ago.

Great Eastern Mills was eventually sold to a Kelantanese businessman. However, Seal is adamant that it will not exit its remaining timber operations.

The group holds concessions for over 5,500 acres of forest in Perak and 7,000 acres in Kedah, which it has begun logging.

Its timber business was loss-making in the 2013 financial year to the tune of RM5mil, mainly due to non-recurring write-offs and a settlement with trade unions, Doris explains.

Despite making hefty provisions, Seal’s timber arm raked in an operating profit of RM2.3mil.

Perhaps due to its size, Seal is easy to miss as a stock.

It has a share base of only 215.63 million shares, and an even smaller market capitalisation of RM138mil, based on Thursday’s closing price of 64 sen, which is near its best level in two years.

Its free float stands at 63.5%, or 136.8 million shares, Bloomberg data shows. The counter has traded between a one-year peak and trough of 66 sen of 40 sen.

At its current price, Seal is valued at six times earnings and only 0.8 times book. The company has not paid dividends since at least 1991, according to Bloomberg.

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 10:03 | Report Abuse

leslie, what u said is correctla, they're in a joint venture with dwitasik to develop a parcel of land in bandar permaisuri KL, dwitasik has connection with the perak royalty

XXXvalue

457 posts

Posted by XXXvalue > 2014-07-02 10:03 | Report Abuse

the saga continues? what can be behind the huge selling in last 2 days?

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 10:04 | Report Abuse

old old story 10 yrs ago but seal is a rejuvenated company altogether....after disposing the timber co but still retained timber concessions and now is making money from property ventures .

see the link
http://www.malaysiastock.biz/Corporate-Infomation.aspx?type=A&value=S&securityCode=4286

XXXvalue

457 posts

Posted by XXXvalue > 2014-07-02 10:05 | Report Abuse

someone with large stake disposing and look like all being taken up at a fast pace...

psd57

2,314 posts

Posted by psd57 > 2014-07-02 10:06 | Report Abuse

RHB Research
Latest post: Fri, 20 Jun 09:29

SEAL Incorporated - 11 June 2014

Queensville & Bayan City 2 Projects To Boost Future Earnings

After going through a series of restructuring exercises since 2005, SEAL managed to clean up its balance sheet to a total net cash of MYR141.8m (net cash per share of 65 sen) as at end-March 2014 from a total net debt of MYR79.2m in FY06. Going forward, earnings visibility is premised on its property development projects, especially its maiden venture into Klang Valley – Queensville project in Cheras. Queensville, with a total GDV of MYR800m, is an integrated property development project that include s a mall, 49 units of three-storey shop-lots, three blocks of suites, and five blocks of service apartments. Bayan City 2 is another key project in Penang with a total GDV of MYR1bn that includes a hotel, a mall, a commercial hub, corporate offices as well as suites.

Brief background. SEAL Incorporated Bhd (SEAL) is involved in timber logging, property development and property management activities. It has a timber concession in Perak as well as property development projects in Penang and Kedah. Bayan City 2 is one of its key projects in Penang with a total GDV of MYR1bn that includes a hotel, a mall, a commercial hub, corporate offices as well as suites. In FY14, the company is planning to launch its maiden project in Klang Valley.

Queensville – a project in a prime location with good accessibilities. SEAL has entered into a turnkey agreement with Dwitasik Sdn Bhd to develop a piece of land measuring 12.46 acres in Bandar Sri Permaisuri, Cheras into an integrated property development area called Queensville that includes a mall, 49 units of three-storey shop-lots, three blocks of suites and five blocks of service apartments. This project, with a total GDV of MYR800m, would last for the next 5-7 years. It is strategically located at the prime area in Cheras with easy accessibility via Sungai Besi Expressway, Kuala Lumpur Putrajaya Highway and East West Link Expressway, coupled with being well connected to public transports such as Salak Selatan LRT station (700m away) and Salak Selatan KTM Komuter station (800m away). 70% of its 49-unit commercial shop-lots were sold after its launch last month, and the company is planning to launch its 3-block suites in phases beginning this week.

Stable recurring income from property investments. In FY13, the property investment division contributed 10.4% to its total revenue. Its key contributor – Selayang Mall Shopping Complex, which has been managed by SEAL since 1995, is enjoying a 100% occupancy rate. Selayang Mall has been contributing about MYR17m-19m in the past three financial years. In addition, the company is holding a few commercial units in its Elit Avenue project in Penang for rental yield. Going forward, the company is also planning to hold some of the units in Queensville and North Avenue (in Sungai Petani) projects for rental income in the future.

Improved balance sheet. Over the years, SEAL has tidied up its balance sheet after going through a series of restructuring exercises since 2005, to a total net cash of MYR141.8m (net cash per share of 65 sen) as at end-March 2014 from a total net debt of MYR79.2m in FY06. Profitability has improved over time to a retained profit of MYR118.1m as at end-March 2014 from an accumulated loss of MYR294.2m reported in FY06. Property development to anchor future earnings. With pending launches of the Queensville project in Cheras and the Bayan City 2 project in Penang, as well as other projects that have a combined total GDV of approximately MYR2.0bn, we believe that property development will continue to anchor its future earnings.

STAY INVESTED SEALANTS

Slimy

119 posts

Posted by Slimy > 2014-07-02 10:08 | Report Abuse

lots of skeleton in the closet

omg123

7 posts

Posted by omg123 > 2014-07-02 10:09 | Report Abuse

ggecko,
Thank you for sharing

XXXvalue

457 posts

Posted by XXXvalue > 2014-07-02 10:14 | Report Abuse

the twist and turn of this drama may unfold soon...so hold on tight.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 10:19 | Report Abuse

due credits must be given the new management team to spear the co into profits in the last 3 yrs though short of dividend given but instead brought back the co into life again after the set back 10 yrs ago....

tssl74

529 posts

Posted by tssl74 > 2014-07-02 10:22 | Report Abuse

TQ ggecko & psd57!

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 10:22 | Report Abuse

yea psd57, u said it correctly; i might also dive in after 10 years to buy seal in the next few days; this company is totally different than it was 10 years ago, future looks very bright

psd57

2,314 posts

Posted by psd57 > 2014-07-02 10:24 | Report Abuse

EVERY RETRACEMENT IS A PERFECT OPPORTUNITY TO ACCUMULATE. EXACTLY WHAT I WAS DOING IN THE MORNING. AVERAGE DOWN MY 2nd SEAL STOCK PORTFOLIO HOLDING COST. MY 1st PORTFOLIO AVERAGE 0.805c. Confucius also told to be wise and smart. in life; and a hv a good heart..................... MY LYSAGHT STOCK HOLDING S ALSO FLYING!

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 10:25 | Report Abuse

@gecko, I sincerely hope you have scoop back most of your monies lost in this counter from other counters. like the chinese saying 一朝被蛇咬,十年怕井绳。

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 10:27 | Report Abuse

Hopefully, this a great new management.

ggecko

1,937 posts

Posted by ggecko > 2014-07-02 10:29 | Report Abuse

thank u tornado; well i did actually over the years; in stock trading, rule #1: dont be greedy; also, forget the past, move ahead..

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 10:31 | Report Abuse

those who cut loss @1.14 will be damn sored coz the price is making u turn and may regain its glory soon....I think may rebound in the afternoon to 1.30 again....

kengpc

40 posts

Posted by kengpc > 2014-07-02 10:32 | Report Abuse

I hv been collecting fr 0,8 to 1.30 and still buying at today price...no regret as believe seal is the stock of the year.....cheers

psd57

2,314 posts

Posted by psd57 > 2014-07-02 10:34 | Report Abuse

SEAL IS BACK IN GREEN>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

cosway

81 posts

Posted by cosway > 2014-07-02 10:49 | Report Abuse

Looking at the historical data, SEAL on May 04 2014 was only 0.64 sen. With its insider news, spreading rumors on all public & social avenues & its syndicate-goreng characteristics, it went up more than doubled (until RM1.40) just within 2 mths.
S0 what is so great about property developers, worldwide property markets have became sluggish & sliding down gradually. There are much more solid reputable co like Mah sing, MBSB, Matrix & etc as a better more reliable choices.
Beware of a falling knife!

keng88

2,775 posts

Posted by keng88 > 2014-07-02 10:53 | Report Abuse

up..up..aging..huat ah

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 11:00 | Report Abuse

@50 c per share , how much do u rate the share ? By conservative calculation at PE 5 , should be 2.50/share . So , the present price @1.20-1.40 will constitute only PE 2.4-2.8 only . It means 2.4-2.8 years to recover your capital ....compared with Eco 90 years ! Is it worthwhile to invest or just do the contra? The answers lie with you . Do trade diligently....

zackboy

243 posts

Posted by zackboy > 2014-07-02 11:12 | Report Abuse

yes beware of this falling knife

cosway

81 posts

Posted by cosway > 2014-07-02 11:30 | Report Abuse

Rebound is just syndicate trying to get more ikan bilis on board. Simply the reflection of a sun down.
Beware! Confirmed a falling knife!

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2014-07-02 11:33 | Report Abuse

trappy......:)

Slimy

119 posts

Posted by Slimy > 2014-07-02 11:34 | Report Abuse

back to black

funitec

639 posts

Posted by funitec > 2014-07-02 11:45 | Report Abuse

Thanks PSD57, n Leslieroy carter. SEE the Facts
not some fear mongering knife throwers.Yes FEAR is very REAL,but look it in the EYE,n analyse
.If don't like it. Sell n move out.Technicals are funny, but there is FUN-de Mentals
Sell Gems not everyone buys, they doubt.
When everyone starts buying they pay to buy,this is natural.Seals do not swim with sharks, the crowd follows the shark,and get eaten when it turns around.Then again they follow.SO Sell when they want it, n Buy when they do not. It is HONEST CLEAN BUSINESS that matters, sooner or later.

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2014-07-02 11:55 | Report Abuse

Yes thanks for the very sound and useful advice , I m buying during falling knife slowly from 1.14-1.23 is my margin but for a longer term . I forget about the chart coz it changes every sec and minute and quite difficult to monitor . I seldom buy gap up shares as the risks are equal but falling knife shares are meant to collect and invest for a longer term so as to make a healthy margin...

psd57

2,314 posts

Posted by psd57 > 2014-07-02 12:09 | Report Abuse

If not happy with the stock, sell and walk away gracefully like a gentleman; if u do not hv it, please channel ur energy constructively elsewhere as there r so many good stocks out there; and if u believe in the co's fundamental remain invested. No need to mention falling knives, daggers, flying saucers; and closets with skeletons etc etc. haha

bastionne

98 posts

Posted by bastionne > 2014-07-02 12:28 | Report Abuse

Im a newbie, but I see a lot of comments talking about syndicate trying to con people. Does anyone know what is their modus operandi? How do they make money when they push up and then sell down? Im a bit confused :/

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 12:33 | Report Abuse

ggecko; It is very hard to find honest character in i3forum. There are a lot of kungfu master in a lot of hot counters and always boasts so much and you can always hear them saying they buy at damn low point on a uptrend and sell at the highs point when on downtrend. They are always ahead of the market, do you believe those retailer could out smart those big players ? I suspect these folks are just trying to show innocent/greedy newbies how smart they are so that they get supporters. I only believe smart operators managing big fund can manipulate the counter this way.

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 12:35 | Report Abuse

This is a open counter........ anyone are entitle to their own pcs of opinion......

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2014-07-02 12:52 | Report Abuse

waiting for the dust to settle....fortune favors the brave

lboonk79

486 posts

Posted by lboonk79 > 2014-07-02 12:54 | Report Abuse

lucky sold at 1.34, dont catch the falling knife, k

Probability

14,490 posts

Posted by Probability > 2014-07-02 13:01 | Report Abuse

While the clock ticks above 1.20...
confidence can only grow.

kheng

1,167 posts

Posted by kheng > 2014-07-02 13:03 | Report Abuse

I sold at 1.36 with trailing stop when the bull trap caused the price to reenter the channel ceiling upon breakout. Bought back at 1.15, the S2. Will hold for next uptrend. An exciting play.

Alex Chan

3,915 posts

Posted by Alex Chan > 2014-07-02 13:48 | Report Abuse

slow death or rebound? remains to be seen....

Posted by Tom > 2014-07-02 13:58 | Report Abuse

the time has come, once demon SEAL open forbidden power will be released
(我的中二病又发作了 :) 。。。。。)

Posted by Equityengineer > 2014-07-02 14:33 | Report Abuse

Profits will definitely be higher for next 2 quarters .., even at medium term can see handsome profit ... Buy at dip ... Like that . But I missed the 1.14

Tornado

1,938 posts

Posted by Tornado > 2014-07-02 14:43 | Report Abuse

@ee, could you pls provide some facts on what make you think profits will be higher next two quarters ?