ICAPITAL.BIZ BHD

KLSE (MYR): ICAP (5108)

-0.04 (1.32%)

2.95 - 3.03

5,944 comment(s). Last comment by PureBULL ... 1 hour ago

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-05-30 01:38 | Report Abuse

ok, buy genting at 1.50. I can add more, buy pbbank at 8.00, buy Maybank at 3.00, Panamy at 12.00. It's very easy job! Just find some companies with steady management and stable business model, then put a ridiculously cheap valuation target. I give you more. Buy Apple at 80, Google at 300, Amazon at 500. I guarantee you to make money, if you loss money you take my head and go. Such easy job! How difficult is that?

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-05-30 01:41 | Report Abuse

Yes, i also very much disgusted by his everyday china china china and lots of politics. We can hardly hear anything helpful on stock markets. We only hear one phrase all the time: long term!

Nepo

3,395 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-05-31 11:56 | Report Abuse

NTA will corrode when Boustead privatise...
Shxt gxxt related companies, their mgt not doing their job properly..

Think twice when invest in GLC...

JohnDough

148 posts

Posted by JohnDough > 2020-05-31 14:22 | Report Abuse

“There is a deep-seated part of me that can never quite let go of the idea that money is a matter of survival. This is simply part of my wiring. Intellectually, I see the abundant benefits of viewing the stock market as a game – and I have no doubt improved as an investor by taking this more playful approach.

But I also know that my shareholders’ life savings are on the line.

So investing may be a game, but for me, it’s a deadly serious game.”

The Education of a Value Investor: My Transformative Quest for Wealth, Wisdom and Enlightenment – Guy Spier

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-05-31 14:27 | Report Abuse

"So investing may be a game, but for me, it’s a deadly serious game.”
The Education of a Value Investor: My Transformative Quest for Wealth, Wisdom and Enlightenment – Guy Spier

most of the time, its ur investors who trusted u that end up "death", not u...

6,225 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2020-05-31 14:28 | Report Abuse

Just follow your guru ttb n buy Biohldy n U will make tons of $$$$ !

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-05-31 14:35 | Report Abuse

does not matter what u call it,'value investing','short-term trades',
if can see how can make money for investors, just do the needful...

ahhuat56

87 posts

Posted by ahhuat56 > 2020-06-02 11:35 | Report Abuse

In the real world when you need to manage money for others as a professional, you need to tell people clearly what is your investment philosophy and investment strategy and stick to it. When engaging the service of a fund manager, investors should already know what they are getting into.

ahhuat56

87 posts

Posted by ahhuat56 > 2020-06-02 11:37 | Report Abuse

Managing money for others is a serious responsibility. It is not a game. That's why you need a licence to do it. It is not cheap talks.

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-02 12:33 | Report Abuse

Good that we r talking principles here, so can the smart Alex who crafted this far-sighted vision, mission n goals , pls do the needful... holders r patient but we do want to enter the promise land of milk n honey in our lifetime...

ahteck85

36 posts

Posted by ahteck85 > 2020-06-03 19:21 | Report Abuse

Funny, I tot this thread is dead and it turned active all of a sudden...

For those who commented on TTB for not vesting, how do you'll know if he had increase or decrease his cash allocation? There is no announcement on Bursa. Can you'll enlighten me?

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:00 | Report Abuse

I guess we can just look at quarter reports to know ICAP cash holdings number.

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:06 | Report Abuse

Just wondering, did anyone ask TTB what he think of ICAP's reasonable buying point?
About 7 years or even longer ago (can't remember when, just long time ago when i was also one of his fanboy), i attended a show he organized (those investment week big event that spend ICAP money!) , huge hall, full-house, a guy asked him this question. His answer was, buy now, because it's cheap (discount of about 20% that time). After his answer, audience laugh. Because, he just finished a talk about world economy going down hill while stocks going uphill. Then the man continue asking him, why not buy ICAP later when world stock market finally drop to his like (he also said big, maybe 50% drop or so). He laugh too and talked meaningless shits as a reply.

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:07 | Report Abuse

Today, if we asked TTB the same question, I'm sure he'll answer the same way as before, which, any smart people think, doesn't make any sense.

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:08 | Report Abuse

If the economy disaster is coming, of course we would prefer to buy when the world full of crying in every corner. There is no reason to buy today, even ICAP. Wait 50% drop, then we consider to start buying ICAP, right? TTB ?

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:12 | Report Abuse

And the above is about "TTB MODEL OF VALUE INVESTING" thing.
Now, if we look at a different side of story. For an active fund manager, even if he's based on value investing, he'll still move around his investment during any stage of market cycle. That case, we need to invest in it no matter it's bear market or bull market, because we need his expertise to work our money for us. Such fund manager, for example, Warran Buffett.

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-04 00:14 | Report Abuse

If you prefer TTB's model of value investing, go for ICAP.
If you prefer Warran Buffett model of value investing, go for BRK-B of NYSE.

ahteck85

36 posts

Posted by ahteck85 > 2020-06-04 18:20 | Report Abuse

But the last quarterly report is on Nov 19. Even if icap released the end Feb 20 report, we will not know if icap increase or lower its cash holding during the MCO's low...

I am really puzzled.

Posted by fong7 > Jun 4, 2020 12:00 AM | Report Abuse

I guess we can just look at quarter reports to know ICAP cash holdings number.

Quincy

46 posts

Posted by Quincy > 2020-06-05 09:33 | Report Abuse

@fong7 you need to subscribe to icapital newsletter to understand if he will answer the same way as before. RM99 for internet version & hard copy. Half price for internet version only. It answers all the questions you have in you more effectively and accurately.

@ahteck85 right, now that you mentioned it. We wouldn't know what TTB did during the March - April market carnage. What are your thoughts? Time for us to go big on icap?

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:03 | Report Abuse

why would one go big on icap when can go big on gloves for 1 solid mth ???

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:04 | Report Abuse

n maybe for this June, another rotational play to distribute wealth to thee needy rakyat...

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:07 | Report Abuse

i suspect ICAP will miss out on most of these rotational plays, too risky,money ccan get lost, safer to keep tight,tight until...see a safe solid bet...at least holders know their investment is well a/c for..

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:09 | Report Abuse

at least they keep true to their charter., that is key, afterall any tom,dick,harry can make money, but with a proper solid charter, that is classy way.

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:40 | Report Abuse

if ICAP=TTB or TTB=ICAP, hope the BOD got hold of the secret manual, in case...though it seems doesnt really matter now...

Ableloser

49 posts

Posted by Ableloser > 2020-06-05 16:42 | Report Abuse

the world of investment has changed so much, but still got at least 1 constant in the market, that keep true to the right investing principles, which is keep money safe above everything else.

Posted by enigmatic ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ > 2020-06-06 17:42 | Report Abuse

If Healthcare stocks are rotational play, ICAP did not miss out this time.
But ICAP does not time the market, as any shareowner of ICAP will tell you.
Long term capital appreciation through value investing is what ICAP intends to achieve.

Vc Looi

232 posts

Posted by Vc Looi > 2020-06-06 18:49 | Report Abuse

Didn’t time the market then why hold 60% cash?

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-06 18:55 | Report Abuse

TTB is sohai market timer mah....!!

Just look at the NAV performance poor loh....!!

Posted by Vc Looi > Jun 6, 2020 6:49 PM | Report Abuse

Didn’t time the market then why hold 60% cash?

JohnDough

148 posts

Posted by JohnDough > 2020-06-07 10:53 | Report Abuse

“This is an amazingly sound place. We are more disaster-resistant than most other places. We haven’t pushed it as hard as other people would have pushed it.

I don’t want to go back to Go.

I have been to Go. A lot of our shareholders have a majority of their net worth in Berkshire, and they don’t want to go back to Go either”

Wesco Financial Corporation 2001 Annual Shareholders Meeting – Charlie Munger

ahteck85

36 posts

Posted by ahteck85 > 2020-06-09 20:36 | Report Abuse

@Quincy
icap newletter wrote on Airasia in its latest issue and the share price rocketed 21% today!!!
Its worth a read!

idunwork

431 posts

Posted by idunwork > 2020-06-09 21:45 | Report Abuse

@ahteck85
Link please

14,894 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-06-10 08:40 | Report Abuse

A lot of investments in FD

14,894 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-06-10 08:41 | Report Abuse

All long term...10 years FD

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-10 08:44 | Report Abuse

Why performance of icap so sohai one leh ??

Feb NAV Rm 3.14

June NAV Rm 2.85

I thought it hold so much cash, cannot put it to work when market crash in march meh ??

Also index up from 1250 march to 1500 june surely outperfotm against icap mah...!!

Posted by Nepo > Jun 10, 2020 8:38 AM | Report Abuse

18/2/2020 NTA = 3.14
18/3/2020 NTA = 2.66 (KLCI index at approx 1250)
3/5/2020 NTA RM 2.78
3/6/2020 NTA RM 2.85 (KLCI index at approx 1500)

From here, u know ICAP not did many investments

Nepo

3,395 posts

Posted by Nepo > 2020-06-10 08:46 | Report Abuse

18/2/2020 NTA = 3.14 (KLCI index = 1537.08)
18/3/2020 NTA = 2.66 (KLCI index = 1239.01)
3/5/2020 NTA RM 2.78
3/6/2020 NTA RM 2.85 (KLCI index = 1538.53)

From here, u know ICAP not did many investments....cry:(
Action is better than thousands of words....

Quincy

46 posts

Posted by Quincy > 2020-06-10 09:45 | Report Abuse

@ahteck85 best call ever, am still holding despite the 21% jump. What about you? The write-up on Qantas Airways was good as well.
@idunwork https://www.icapital.biz/newsletter/subscription u can choose between the two packages. Each issue, if you choose online, is only the cost of 1 Roti Canai biasa. For both online and print access, each issue will cost 1 Roti Telur.

Posted by Thinkcarefully > 2020-06-10 13:18 | Report Abuse

I just cannot understand why people buy Icap.
This company is a lot like Insas, more like a fund than doing business.
The NAPS is more important than EPS.

Insas: price 0.67, naps 2.6 dividend 2.8% PE 29
Icap: price 2.08, naps 3.1 dividend 0% PE 77

Go figure out which is a better investment.

14,894 posts

Posted by CharlesT > 2020-06-10 13:21 | Report Abuse

Sometimes they enjoyed being screwed by master TTB..or mayb doing charity to TTB

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-10 13:27 | Report Abuse

Lu Pakai otak....how can Icap be better than insas hathaway leh ?

Posted by Thinkcarefully > Jun 10, 2020 1:18 PM | Report Abuse

I just cannot understand why people buy Icap.
This company is a lot like Insas, more like a fund than doing business.
The NAPS is more important than EPS.

Insas: price 0.67, naps 2.6 dividend 2.8% PE 29
Icap: price 2.08, naps 3.1 dividend 0% PE 77

Go figure out which is a better investment.

6,460 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2020-06-10 13:46 | Report Abuse

Haha,
Can anyone answer the below question.
Why buying Inari at RM1.71 when you can use the same money to buy 2.57 insas at 66.5 cents then you still own 2+ inari and everything else in Insas?

Note: the Q3 losses are mark to market financial assets at 31th March 2020 compare to 31/12/2019
GBREIT annual report 31-12-2019: Montego Assets Limited (PCB) 10,000,000
Market price 31/12/2019: RM 1.89: 31/03/2020: RM 1.59

Omesti annual report: 31-3-2019: Insas Berhad – – 48,659,500
Market price 31/12/2019 RM 0.51: 31/03/2020: RM 0.45

OCBC Market price 31/12/2019 SG 10.98: 31/03/2020: SG 8.64

AUD deposit Refer Financial report 2019 RM equivalent 167,694,000
Loss on exchange differences- unrealized: RM (9,454,000)
AUD to MYR: 31/12/2019 RM 2.877: 31/03/2020: RM 2.672

How much will recover back will depend on 3o/6/2020 closing price.

idunwork

431 posts

Posted by idunwork > 2020-06-10 17:21 | Report Abuse

@Quincy
Thanks. Do you think Icap has put money on Air Asia this time? I remember icap has invested in aa years ago when it was very cheap.

David

112 posts

Posted by David > 2020-06-11 07:13 | Report Abuse

u never know.. next quarter's headlines could be "icap's earnings soar as TTB deploys all the cash at the market's bottom". stay tuned!

Posted by Philip ( buy what you understand) > 2020-06-11 07:18 | Report Abuse

And put his cushy job and 1.6 million in management fees at risk? Heresy!

>>>>>>>>>

Posted by David > Jun 11, 2020 7:13 AM | Report Abuse

u never know.. next quarter's headlines could be "icap's earnings soar as TTB deploys all the cash at the market's bottom". stay tuned!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2020-06-11 08:18 | Report Abuse

The unsuccessful dualvlisting project cost the shareholders of iCap a lot of money and distract the managers of iCap from focusing on what is most important: ABSOLUTE YEARLY RETURNS.

ttb should return back to GO and work harder for his business owners.

fong7

647 posts

Posted by fong7 > 2020-06-11 09:55 | Report Abuse

Next quarter? You guys don't know ICAP announces NAV every Thursday? If AA up big time and ICAP has it, its NAV will up by Thursday.

idunwork

431 posts

Posted by idunwork > 2020-06-11 12:00 | Report Abuse

@fong7
We will find out this evening if icap has substantial aa shares

Posted by stockraider > 2020-06-11 12:49 | Report Abuse

1st time this sohai 3iii talk sense loh...!!

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Jun 11, 2020 8:18 AM | Report Abuse

The unsuccessful dualvlisting project cost the shareholders of iCap a lot of money and distract the managers of iCap from focusing on what is most important: ABSOLUTE YEARLY RETURNS.

ttb should return back to GO and work harder for his business owners.

rogers123

4,018 posts

Posted by rogers123 > 2020-06-11 15:56 | Report Abuse

Sslee Haha,
Can anyone answer the below question.
Why buying Inari at RM1.71 when you can use the same money to buy 2.57 insas at 66.5 cents then you still own 2+ inari and everything else in Insas? <--Inari can move up but insas cant, stagnant

rogers123

4,018 posts

Posted by rogers123 > 2020-06-11 15:57 | Report Abuse

For sure everyone will buy the stocks can fly, if cant fly, buy for what? Like icap or insas (better than icap)

rogers123

4,018 posts

Posted by rogers123 > 2020-06-11 15:59 | Report Abuse

Just buy whatever u like now, market will only crash in Sept and Oct