HARTALEGA HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): HARTA (5168)

+0.04 (1.49%)

2.69 - 2.77

14 people like this.

33,392 comment(s). Last comment by YourQuirkyWays29 4 hours ago

AlexT12

351 posts

Posted by AlexT12 > 2021-10-19 14:11 | Report Abuse

after almost a year drop, almost 50%. there will sure be another 50% drop to maybank analyst target price. so wear your seatbelts. let the gravity do the works.

rl68

176 posts

Posted by rl68 > 2021-10-19 22:07 | Report Abuse

@Ryan83.please share the Mercator Medical 3rd QR 's link.. Thanks

rl68

176 posts

Posted by rl68 > 2021-10-19 22:14 | Report Abuse

@Ryan83. Is this the link that you got your information?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-19 22:25 | Report Abuse

Noted @AlexT12, we're prepared for the worst case scenario. When it drops below RM5, I'll be ready with seatbelts and a sack of cash. We are going on a buying spree. The more they throw, the more we go on kutiping.

Bang miskin remembered exactly a year ago when investors were running away from kaunter Genting. Manyak cakap ler nak bankrap this and that. Genting share was trading at low RM3.XX and was in a much poorer fiscal situation than Harta now. Now look at Genting, one of the hottest share here. Bang miskin regretted not kutiping Genting below 3.XX. Not making the same mistake with Harta.

Mabel

23,564 posts

Posted by Mabel > 2021-10-19 23:45 | Report Abuse

Steady Hartalega..

Meow

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-20 12:07 | Report Abuse

Fingers crossed. Hope to see continued support at these levels. RM6.50 this week would be a bonus.

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-20 14:45 | Report Abuse

EPF disposing again.

Taking out profits

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-20 15:17 | Report Abuse

But someone is buying but who?

Otherwise will surely go below RM6.00.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-20 15:30 | Report Abuse

Me waiting to buy back..

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-20 21:26 | Report Abuse

Same here. If price reaches new low, will average down. If price rebounds, will take some profit.
Bang miskin sometimes gets bored waiting for glove to reach new normal, will occasionally trade a little.

myway

497 posts

Posted by myway > 2021-10-21 08:56 | Report Abuse

U.S. probes two Malaysian glove makers over forced labour allegations -report
https://www.reuters.com/world/asia-pacific/us-probes-two-malaysian-glove-makers-over-forced-labour-allegations-report-2021-05-29/

Ryan83

1,835 posts

Posted by Ryan83 > 2021-10-21 09:22 | Report Abuse

Hartalega still staying strong above RM6

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-10-21 09:29 | Report Abuse

Hoseh !

masterus

3,592 posts

Posted by masterus > 2021-10-21 10:05 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (Oct 21): Supermax Corp Bhd’s share price fell nearly 10% in Bursa Malaysia’s Thursday (Oct 21) morning trade after the US Customs and Border Protection (CBP) said the agency will detain imports of disposable gloves produced by Supermax Corp’s wholly-owned subsidiaries Maxter Glove Manufacturing Sdn Bhd, Maxwell Glove Manufacturing Bhd and Supermax Glove Manufacturing on forced labour allegations.

masterus

3,592 posts

Posted by masterus > 2021-10-21 10:06 | Report Abuse

Who will be US next scapegoat?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 10:44 | Report Abuse

Interesting. A few weeks ago I heard about Andy Hall's petition to investigate forced labour allegations, I really did not think much about it. Now with CBP taking up the case, they may have probable cause to believe that forced labour is taking place. The next phase is to find out if they have sufficient appropriate evidence of forced labour, a far stringent requirement than just probable cause. Just have to wait for their investigation to conclude. Nothing we can do.

To me the likelihood of sufficient appropriate evidence of forced labour is quite low (just my personal opinion, I don't really know for sure). For now will be watching price trend. If it really falls below RM5.5 or even below RM5, I am looking to accumulate big time.

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-21 11:57 | Report Abuse

I am optimistic, hoping it goes to RM6.50 before quarterly results.

i think past trends reveal a jump in price before results, but not really sure.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 12:16 | Report Abuse

If price can close above RM6 today, I considered it a big win. Forced labour is a very serious allegation. When CBP opened investigation for Topglov last year, it caused Bursa to halt trading for that day.

gemfinder

6,880 posts

Posted by gemfinder > 2021-10-21 12:29 |

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 13:01 | Report Abuse

We've been through this before with CBP and Top Glove. Now TG is out of the woods, it's Supermax's turn. History will repeat. So buy when prices are low.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 13:16 | Report Abuse

So US started seizing Supermax's glove at the port? If really happens to Harta, it's my cue to buy. Now haven't reached my target price, still waiting for an opportunity to average down.
Harta has solid fundamentals, so why worry? Even if really kena, look at Topglove now, it will too come to pass.

somo1

178 posts

Posted by somo1 > 2021-10-21 13:24 | Report Abuse

Yeah, one year later. And looking at Topglov share price, they aren't doing that great either after being allowed to sell to the US again, trading near year low, isn't it?

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-10-21 13:36 |

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 13:42 | Report Abuse

Even without CBP news, it will be a rocky two-three quarters because of falling ASP and competition from abroad. Downtrend has already began since last year, so even if Topglove is out of the woods, it is joining the rest of the glove counters in doldrums. Given current sentiment no way it's gonna shoot up anytime soon.
Main question: is it (Harta) still a good buy? Yes, very much so, waiting to collect low. If you think otherwise, best exit early.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 14:49 | Report Abuse

bought since this morning before I read the news. GAH! Average cost 6.03. The investigation by CBP on Harta and Supermax was announced around May this year. Supermax got the ban. I'm quite hopeful that Harta is in the clear. TG, Harta and Kossan will benefit from this ban imposed on Supermax.

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-21 15:49 | Report Abuse

As Bang Miskin said, if can close above RM6.00 today is a big win.

I am confident it will. Looking forward to RM6.50 this month before quarterly results. That would be a real bonus.

Talking about bonus, Harta used to give out bonus shares every 3 years in the past:-

Judging from that trend I thought it would have given bonus shares this year but I guess market uncertainties that it is not in the cards now.

looiting

421 posts

Posted by looiting > 2021-10-21 16:05 | Report Abuse

Next year possibly

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 16:58 | Report Abuse

If bang miskin said so, then it is so! We live to fight another day LOL!

Anxious: As Bang Miskin said, if can close above RM6.00 today is a big win.

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-21 19:04 | Report Abuse

TG and Supermax having big downtrend today

Lucky Harta only -0.02

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 20:17 | Report Abuse

Kossan QR came out today. Not sure how market will react to latest QR in the coming days but dividend is far higher than expected (dividend 12sen, price RM2.44). Not bad!

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 20:38 | Report Abuse

@bang_miskin I was just going ask, how will Kossan QR impact Harta's price tomorrow seeing Harta is next to issue QR. I'm not sure if I should hold or sell first thing tomorrow what I bought today

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/kossan-3q-earnings-plunge-50-qoq-rm528m

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 21:46 | Report Abuse

@jolynce I have no idea how the market will react tomorrow. To me Kossan performance is well within expectation. While it is worse than previous quarter, this is to be expected due to falling ASP and temporary shutdown from EMCO. But it is still better than previous year, which is also well within market expectation. The surprise here is the12sen dividend, which is much higher than Top glove's 5sen dividend. To me this is a very good return for Kossan shareholder.

I really cannot tell you how the price will trend tomorrow. To me Kossan price may go up (good dividend and QR performance well within market expectation) but price may go down just by sentiment alone. My gut feeling tells me for Kossan 65% up, 35% down. How this will affect Harta is even less clear. Personally I will wait for market trend in the morning since nobody really knows how things would go.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 21:51 | Report Abuse

As for Harta, it is clear that EPF is disposing glove counters. But who is buying up Harta? I have no idea if it is even local or foreign. But whoever it is, it is keeping Harta's price well above RM6.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 22:09 | Report Abuse

@bang_miskin thank you for your input. Agree that we should wait and see, and not be rash. You're right in that if the price moves lower, it will be because of sentiment, and by the end of the day, it might come back up and I'll kick myself if I dispose first thing in the morning out of fear and impulse. LOL!

Very happy with Kossan's 12c dividend. That's 36 cents I've collected so far from Kossan this year, which works out to 13% return as my average cost is 2.7+. I first bought Kossan in April. Hope we'll get great news from Harta soon!

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-21 22:18 | Report Abuse

I just checked Kossan past dividend payment, and I was very very surprised. 36 sen dividend for the past three quarters at the current market price of RM2.44! Harta priced at RM6+ and only pays 50+sen, kedekut ;P Maybe I should've invested in Kossan instead of Harta.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 22:29 | Report Abuse

Hehehe... it's not too late. Kossan is very reasonably priced now but if I were to top up, I'd still prefer to do so below 2.30. I queued at 2.25 today but couldn't get so gonna try again tomorrow. I've also traded Kossan between the 2.2+ and 2.3+ range a few times.

Posted by bang_miskin > Oct 21, 2021 10:18 PM | Report Abuse

I just checked Kossan past dividend payment, and I was very very surprised. 36 sen dividend for the past three quarters at the current market price of RM2.44! Harta priced at RM6+ and only pays 50+sen, kedekut ;P Maybe I should've invested in Kossan instead of Harta.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-21 22:40 | Report Abuse

@bang_miskin I noticed that Kossan's latest QR is quite similar to its 4QFY20. So if Harta is to follow the same trend, I wonder if we'll be seeing something similar to Harta's 3QFY20? That wouldn't be too bad actually, right?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-22 08:58 | Report Abuse

@jolynce Agree. Harta upcoming QR will most likely follow Kossan's. To me Kossan and Harta follows a very similar path. So whatever happens to Kossan today would most likely happen to Harta in a week or two, or maybe even today.

To me Kossan performance is decent and not bad at all, but the market sentiment may have a different thinking. The vibes I've received so far hasn't been good. May expect another bloody morning today. Let's see.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-22 09:03 | Report Abuse

But at the same time, I am not sure how much more Kossan and Harta will fall. Both are already at pre-pandemic price range. Price below pre-pandemic level doesn't make too much sense to me, at least in the long run. To me both counters are still good for medium to long term investment. Different story for short term investment. Glove sentiment is still very poor and we expect at least two-three quarters of falling profits. Will be a rough ride.

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-22 10:15 | Report Abuse

Bang Miskin, your comments really make sense, thank you.

I agree with your observation that whilst EPF is selling, someone is buying. This is revealed by the apparent support at RM6.00 level. But who is the mystery.

Not having an inkling as to where the share is headed makes it very difficult to decide what to do.

From here, if it is trending upwards say to RM7.50 within the next 12 months I'd be happy to hold and even buy more.

If it stays at this level, I'd probably hold and enjoy the dividends.

But, the elephant in the room is whether it will drop further and if so how low?

With my Alibaba shares, even when i was down almost 35% at one point I wasn't worried as I am confident that it will bounce back.

I didn't top up as I told myself that i had reached the limit with 15% of my portfolio, having learnt my lesson with Harta , which sits at about 40% of my portfolio.

Well lets see how this week ends. Hopefully above RM6.00.

Barring a surge in buying by some institutional investors, RM6.50 this month doesn't look likely.

The key I think is China, if it's energy crisis gets worse and they ration power supply more, Msian gloves may do better for the next 6 months.

Well , one's misery may well be anothers good fortune.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-22 10:47 | Report Abuse

Glad you find my comment interesting, I am no sifu or expert, just here to lepak while waiting for opportunity to buy/sell.

Kossan is doing quite well at the moment, suprisingly high dividend as a bonus. Kossan bad card (falling profits) was revealed, and it wasn't all that bad. If Harta follows Kossan's path/QR, I will be very happy.

The potential wildcard here is that Harta is/was under investigation by US CBP. If they decided to ban Harta at the US ports, the consequences will be devastating (see Supermax now). But since Harta has a decent reputation in terms of ESG, the likelihood for such occurence is low, but nonzero.

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-22 11:34 | Report Abuse

Yup, Harta is probably one of the good guys of ESG.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-22 15:55 | Report Abuse

Yes it is because Harta's price is already back at pre-pandemic level, while profits are still waaay above pre-pandemic times, that I am very comfortable buying at this price. What more if it goes lower.

Posted by bang_miskin > Oct 22, 2021 9:03 AM | Report Abuse

But at the same time, I am not sure how much more Kossan and Harta will fall. Both are already at pre-pandemic price range. Price below pre-pandemic level doesn't make too much sense to me, at least in the long run. To me both counters are still good for medium to long term investment. Different story for short term investment. Glove sentiment is still very poor and we expect at least two-three quarters of falling profits. Will be a rough ride.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-22 16:54 | Report Abuse

bought 6.03 yesterday, sold half at 6.15 today. Price was 6.10 pre-close. I queued to sell at 6.15, and it was snapped up after pre-close. I got a good feeling about Harta!

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-22 17:59 | Report Abuse

Yes, someone is picking it up. I wonder who.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-22 19:31 | Report Abuse

In recent days the large purchases are either made early in the morning or late in the afternoon. They don't mind shopping for the best price too, just buy whatever it is on the counter.

masterus

3,592 posts

Posted by masterus > 2021-10-22 19:33 | Report Abuse

'Another leg up': Experts see oil price surge powering upstream activity in 2022
Elevated Brent and WTI oil prices now will help with upstream activities later

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-22 21:51 | Report Abuse

This is really optimistic

Posted by Anxious > Oct 21, 2021 11:57 AM | Report Abuse

I am optimistic, hoping it goes to RM6.50 before quarterly results.

i think past trends reveal a jump in price before results, but not really sure.

looiting

421 posts

Posted by looiting > 2021-10-23 21:32 | Report Abuse

Big fish are preparing to RSS gloves again. Good fundamentals? Who really cares in short term? In short term, only news matters. More bad news will be released next few months to continue profiting from RSS. Ikan bilis cannot even IDSS. So, ikan bilis became food for big fish because big fish know ikan bilis love good fundamental companies