HARTALEGA HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): HARTA (5168)

+0.05 (1.86%)

2.69 - 2.77

14 people like this.

33,392 comment(s). Last comment by YourQuirkyWays29 2 hours ago

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-10-28 09:19 | Report Abuse

Buy sell or keep !

Mini2021

1,444 posts

Posted by Mini2021 > 2021-10-28 10:07 | Report Abuse

Keep sell or buy!

Posted by iDonLikeChiGik > 2021-10-28 10:09 |

Posted by angel4896 > 2021-10-28 10:11 |

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-28 12:45 | Report Abuse

Coloured me surprised. Within the past 3 days. Harta share price lost almost 10% of its value even with no significant news. The other glove counters also experience similar losses (except Supermax, the CBP ban is a significant measure). Looks like poor sentiments still weigh heavily on glove counters.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-28 13:02 | Report Abuse

@bang_miskin Top Glove cleared by CBP.. share price also falling like mad. Glove as a sector has to do well for prices to go up. It's not like one kena banned by CBP, stay red, while the others will shoot up in price. The fact is one gets banned, the whole sector gets affected. I sincerely hope we are nearing or at the bottom already.

Ryan83

1,835 posts

Posted by Ryan83 > 2021-10-28 14:50 | Report Abuse

Hartalega going down next support 5.50-5.60

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-28 15:06 | Report Abuse

If can rebound next week to RM6.00, I might top up.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-28 15:18 | Report Abuse

With current sentiment, not sure even a good QR would push price up to RM6.

Currently most counters are experiencing a downtrend. Just have to wait for things to settle down.

Posted by Snowpiercer > 2021-10-28 16:08 | Report Abuse

If QR substantially lower than Q1, it will correct substantially as it will raise question on what is the normalised profitability

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-28 16:10 | Report Abuse

Looks like we are all trapped.

looiting

421 posts

Posted by looiting > 2021-10-28 17:24 | Report Abuse

As long as RSS is allowed , while IDSS is suspended, gloves will continue to go down. I just average down

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-28 18:54 | Report Abuse

Can just CL now

Posted by Anxious > Oct 28, 2021 4:10 PM | Report Abuse

Looks like we are all trapped.

newbie2828

113 posts

Posted by newbie2828 > 2021-10-28 19:50 | Report Abuse

Q result will be half of previous qtr like kossan. though div looks good but eventually price will drop below 5.

newbie2828

113 posts

Posted by newbie2828 > 2021-10-28 19:52 | Report Abuse

before pandemic harta price is around 4.80. with huge capacity increase everywhere now will it go down below 4.8? you judge.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-28 22:19 | Report Abuse

Please go below RM5. I plan to top up more.
@anxious Really depends on your purpose. If you buy thinking it will go up by end of this year, that's not going to happen anytime soon. The next two quarters will be worse than their previous, scaring lots of investors away. So downtrend is very likely. However if you think the current price is below its fair value ( I personally think it is), the lower the price the opportunity to accumulate. That's my plan, accumulate when price reached at certain level (for example RM5.5, RM5, RM4.5...etc). How much I plan to accumulate depends on how much I can get from selling my other recovery stocks. I don't want to overdo it because my money will be stuck for around 2 years.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-28 22:43 | Report Abuse

Even if I plan to cut loss, I want to see next QR report. If report is good, I can cut with a lower loss. If report is bad, you know this counter no hope, cannot touch, make peace with yourself and cut loss.

I plan to stay for the long run (at least 3 quarters). On your way out, please press price low low, going discount shopping.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-28 23:00 | Report Abuse

Days like this I question if I'm doing the right thing buying on the way down.. but it's not like I've not done this before and profited when the price rebounded.. the most recent being Sept and Oct. I managed to sell many of my Sept purchases in Oct and collected enough money (capital plus gains) to buy again on days like today...because I knew that end Oct will be like this, I actively sold any stock that's already in profit even blue chips like Tenaga - sold at 10.5+ and buying back now. Still, the down down down movement makes me jittery and I don't know if I should stop buying or keep doing what I feel is right. I also think that it's days like this when it feels like doom and gloom that it will proof to be the right time to buy. The heart has to be strong that's all. And use only spare cash that's meant to be kept in FD.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-28 23:01 | Report Abuse

And never go ALL IN!

Cerubic

518 posts

Posted by Cerubic > 2021-10-28 23:59 | Report Abuse

All in = harakiri

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 00:23 | Report Abuse

I am also used to this feeling. More than a year ago, I invested a substantial amount into Genting when most sensible investors are running away from the counter. Whenever Genting reached new low, I top by selling off gloves (which was rising at that time). My only regret is I stopped topping up when price reached RM3.3X. I shouldn't have doubt myself, but with paper loss of 35% percent and increasing, I just lost my cool. Yet at the same time I am quite confident that Genting will one day recover. Now with Genting near RM 5.2X, I gained some profit, though my timing is off by about 6 months!

I guess I am still making the same mistake. I began buying Harta 6 months ago when Delta variant was spreading around the globe. Harta was around RM9~10 at that time. Again my timing is 6 months off and currently sitting around 20% paper loss. But to me Harta is in a better position than Genting was a year ago, so I am not worried. My timing may be off, but I am quite convinced with my reasoning that glove will one day bounced back.

Of course never go all in into one counter. Basic investment 101. It is just too risky, even you're dealing only with a blue chip counter.

jolynce

547 posts

Posted by jolynce > 2021-10-29 00:32 | Report Abuse

@bang_miskin I can totally relate with you on the timing! Then again, how many people can successfully time the market?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 08:36 | Report Abuse

@jolynce I think most of us can't really time the market, either too early or too late, rarely on time. Which is why its so common to tell yourself, "oh if I have bought so and so, at such and such time, I could have made this amount of money!" Hindsight 20/20. If our timing so tepat, we all could be multi-millionaire/ billionaire by now! To me it's a win as long as you can earn above a certain return at a given risk level (eg lower for bank stocks, higher for tech stocks)

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 09:48 | Report Abuse

Today glove counters rally up. Quick question, QR report this afternoon, or next week?

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-10-29 09:49 | Report Abuse

Good qr result !

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 10:07 | Report Abuse

@limitup123 Sir, sini kaunter Harta. Ada ape berkenaan dengan bitcoin?

Calvin882

1,562 posts

Posted by Calvin882 > 2021-10-29 10:20 | Report Abuse

PM already indicated that no new tax will be imposed in the 2022 Budget. Thus, there is no concern on additional tax

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2021-10-29 10:37 | Report Abuse

Rally over?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 10:48 | Report Abuse

@casanwk, don't really know for sure. On some day, there's a big rally in the morning but drop back in the afternoon. On other days, the rally continues into the afternoon. There are also days when price jump at the last half hours of trading.

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2021-10-29 10:51 | Report Abuse

Next support 575
Buy?

casanwk

1,496 posts

Posted by casanwk > 2021-10-29 11:58 | Report Abuse

Next support 572
Run?

Ryan83

1,835 posts

Posted by Ryan83 > 2021-10-29 12:36 | Report Abuse

Coming QR profit should be around RM1 billion from RM2 billion last QR

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-29 12:47 | Report Abuse

Hopefully dividend not cut by half. Anything more then 15 sen would be good.

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-29 13:59 | Report Abuse

The last 4Qs , Harta paid a to total of 50.95 sen in dividends as follows:-

Q2 2020 3.85 sen
Q3 2020 9.65 sen
Q4 2020 17.70 sen
Q1 2021 19.75 sen

Total 50.95 sen
Yield 8.91%

Of course no one expects that but if the share amintains a price of say RM6.00 over the next 4 Qs and pays an average dividend of say 7.5 sen, thats already a return of 5% which is double the best available FD rates for 12 months at 2.5%.

So I'm happy to hold it at RM6.00.

Hoot9e

239 posts

Posted by Hoot9e > 2021-10-29 14:17 | Report Abuse

@Anxious, pls continue be happy at RM6.00..... . pls hold longer and enjoy the dividend...

Posted by Matcha Green Tea > 2021-10-29 14:50 | Report Abuse

You can calculate the dividend based on 60% payout ratio, based on previous QR earnings. The dividend is always declared and paid for previous Quarter Earnings. Coming QR will have 39 cents (66 cents X 60% = 39.6 or 39 cents).

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 14:50 | Report Abuse

We don't really know if price could maintain at RM6. Two-three months ago, I would have said the bottom is RM7. Now with two worsening QR ahead, I think within the next 6 months, price may test RM5, and occassionally dip below that. I still believe Harta is worth more than RM6 though (my TP closer to RM7).

Anyway I hope that the next QR (released next week?) will be good, rallying price above 6.

Ryan83

1,835 posts

Posted by Ryan83 > 2021-10-29 15:17 | Report Abuse

Hartalega next week QR if below RM1 billion profit will cause further share price drop to previous low 5.40+

Anxious

231 posts

Posted by Anxious > 2021-10-29 15:27 | Report Abuse

All this attention to one stock because I over invested in it. 45% of my portfolio in Harta alone. How did I get here? Averaging down albeit too early.

I have learnt a very very important lesson. Diversification. Luckily I bought Royal Dutch Shell when it was low last year. That somewhat compensates my paper losses here. Hopefully.

I didnt know dividend is based on previous QR earnings. If that is so , this quarter should be bumper dividend. 39 sen is double of last Quarter's dividend of 19.75 sen.

Bang Miskin, is this true?

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 16:16 | Report Abuse

@anxious I know Harta has a 60% payout ratio, but I'm not sure what that's based on. Matcha Green Tea may be right, but such info can be easily verified by comparing Q1 2021 dividend with its previous earnings (Q4 2020) here:

https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/stk/fin/5168.jsp

computed Q1 2021 = Q4 2020 EPS* 60% = 32.75*0.6 = 19.65 (announced rate 19.75)
computed Q4 2020 = Q3 2020 EPS* 60% = 29.31*0.6 = 17.59 (announced rate 17.70)

Yep, the math checks out!

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-29 17:30 | Report Abuse

Harta and TG has been a big uptrend today

risekita8

534 posts

Posted by risekita8 > 2021-10-29 17:30 | Report Abuse

Both have increased more than 0.20 today.

It is quite big

bose00

1,051 posts

Posted by bose00 > 2021-10-29 17:43 | Report Abuse

Windfall tax ?

pjseow

2,264 posts

Posted by pjseow > 2021-10-29 17:45 | Report Abuse

Matcha Green Tea , you are right . Next.dividend is 39.6 s based on.60 % of last qtr earning of 2.36 billions.

Posted by vcpmaster123 > 2021-10-29 17:58 | Report Abuse

Anyone has the exact date of the qr?

Posted by menotassassin > 2021-10-29 18:28 | Report Abuse

Govt to introduce Cukai Makmur, a special tax on a one-off basis to companies generating high profits. The first RM100 million in taxable earnings will be taxed at 24% while the remainder will be taxed at 33% for the tax assessment year of 2022.

Posted by Thirai Thiraviam > 2021-10-29 19:12 | Report Abuse

@bang miskin - Today I liquidated all my Genting and bought into Harta. I was hoping to sell Genting at a slightly higher price, but I feel safer sitting on Harta than on Genting today.

Ryan83

1,835 posts

Posted by Ryan83 > 2021-10-29 21:11 | Report Abuse

All glove companies from smallest Careplus to largest Top Glove will hv to pay 33% corporate tax starting next year as their annual profits sure exceed RM100 millions....Bad budget news for glove companies

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 22:00 | Report Abuse

@Thirai Thiraviam Looks like you are planning for long term investment? In the next 6 months or so, glove is still downtrending while Genting is still on an uptrend (tourism industry is slowly recovering). I still have a good portion of Genting, slowly selling off to accumulate Harta when price dips. I hope you're not going all in into Harta, it is still very risky move in my opinion.

@menotassassin @Ryan83. Sounds like a progressive corporate tax scheme. I don't know how I feel about it. On one hand, I am partial towards a flat corporate tax (fair to both large and small companies) but on the other hand, 33% isn't too excessive (in comparison, US corporate tax is higher, but large US companies are experts at avoiding corporate taxes).... um on second thought, it's still quite high for a developing country like Malaysia. My biggest concern with high corporate tax is that it encourages larger and more profitable companies to move towards countries with lower corporate tax.

bang_miskin

1,059 posts

Posted by bang_miskin > 2021-10-29 22:13 | Report Abuse

A 39sen dividend is the highest Harta will offer in a long time. If you want the cash dividend, buy it before ex-date (Harta will announce the date). If you are not seeking the dividend, buy it after ex-date because it will be 39sen cheaper. If you learn Modigliani-Miller theorem in finance, it doesn't matter too much whether you buy before or after ex-date :)

I just hope Harta's QR is similar to Kossan's (1billion profit as mentioned by @Ryan83). Anything lower than 1 billion profit, we may see price dipping near or below RM5 (which is good if you plan to accumulate for long term investment).