HARTALEGA HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): HARTA (5168)

+0.01 (0.31%)

3.13 - 3.27

14 people like this.

33,677 comment(s). Last comment by ket4212 2 days ago

dawchok

543 posts

Posted by dawchok > 2024-05-10 16:34 | Report Abuse

So insightful.

Chipee

494 posts

Posted by Chipee > 2024-05-10 16:43 | Report Abuse

COVID is over. I believe USTR will not extend the tariff exclusion beyond May 2024.

KimSua

Operations in HARTA and Topglove ramping up more lines relentlessly for last 3 months. What do you think is happening. US is preparing to diverse suppliers and reduce exposure to China as the tariff exclusion clause 301 most likely to end by May.

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-10 22:01 | Report Abuse

Chipee : yes this is what I predict. We will see if they will impose 25%, during Trump administration or at least 10%.

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-10 22:03 | Report Abuse

Let's wait for KOSSAN and HARTA report first. I expect better news for next few weeks.
Good luck.

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-13 12:04 | Report Abuse

Supermax is has highest risk in the big four but if the news of the end of the tariff exclusion is true it will rise the most. I am staying away from supermax due to the red flag of their internal management (family transition) issues . But the opportunity is there.

TaiMeiLi

299 posts

Posted by TaiMeiLi > 2024-05-13 20:23 | Report Abuse

Glove naysayers are chasing Harta at RM3 ? 😁

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-14 07:40 | Report Abuse

Will know by wed morning how much tariff will be impose for ppe from China. 10 to 25 percent

super911

300 posts

Posted by super911 > 2024-05-14 08:57 | Report Abuse

@KimSua coincidentally, Intco plunged heavily yesterday.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-14 10:35 | Report Abuse

The joker/nutsucker that said tariff will be lifted, has permanently disappeared. Time to rejoice, pest is gone!

SonniaFang

159 posts

Posted by SonniaFang > 2024-05-14 15:40 | Report Abuse

Harta's Q4 result will be out this week?

Investor

131 posts

Posted by Investor > 2024-05-14 19:35 | Report Abuse

The US will also impose a new 50% tariff on Chinese syringes and needles this year, while tariffs on personal protective equipment, such as respirators and face masks, rise to 25% from either 0% or 7.5% now. Tariffs on rubber medical and surgical gloves will jump to 25% from 7.5% in 2026.

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-14 22:12 | Report Abuse

China will stay in the game until 2026.

super911

300 posts

Posted by super911 > 2024-05-14 22:29 | Report Abuse

US will increase tariffs on rubber medical and surgical gloves from *7.5% to 25.0% by 2026* , putting pressure on Chinese glovemakers. This move is expected to bolster demand towards Malaysia’s glovemakers. We anticipate global glove demand to reach *405bn pieces by 2026E* (c.324bn pieces for medical and surgical gloves). Malaysian glovemakers are expected to supply around 206bn pieces, representing c.51% of the total global supply by 2026E. Meanwhile, Chinese glovemakers are anticipated to supply c.35-40% of the total global supply, producing 141-161bn pieces. The US tariff imposition is expected to aid Malaysia's glovemakers in increasing their global market share, currently estimated at c.40-45%, compared to pre-pandemic levels of c.60-65%.

This could benefit companies like Hartalega, which serves c.80% of its sales to the healthcare sector, primarily in medical and surgical gloves. Similarly, Top Glove, with c.80-85% of its total capacity in medical gloves and 5% in surgical gloves. We maintain a BUY rating for *Hartalega (BUY;TP:RM3.35) and Kossan (BUY;TP:RM2.35)* due to their strong positioning, while recommending a Sell rating on Top Glove (SELL;TP:RM0.60) due to near-term earnings uncertainty related to less efficient cost structures.

Posted by Sweetchocalates > 2024-05-14 23:48 | Report Abuse

This news was out during market open. Not much effect. See how tommorow.

Posted by Sweetchocalates > 2024-05-15 00:13 | Report Abuse

and only 2026 the tariff will start for medical gloves. i doubt the market will price in that far. that's like 2 years away. if 6 months away. yea possible. 2 years? hmmmm

Mini2021

1,466 posts

Posted by Mini2021 > 2024-05-15 06:53 | Report Abuse

Let the result take the walk..

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-15 07:06 | Report Abuse

em... can we interpret it this way? US needs gloves. their plan to replenish gloves extends to 2026. the bad is Chinese still in the game. The good is US needs a lot of gloves.

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-15 07:08 | Report Abuse

may be that explains the share movement of Intco. it rebounded after steep plunge

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-15 07:52 | Report Abuse

Ya the market has already factor in this much earlier for those who know. I suspect supermax will have a party but this will only reflect on their earnings at least 2 qtrs from now. Easier for US suppliers to switch to Harta. Anyway let's see how it goes

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-15 08:24 | Report Abuse

Trying to digest the 2026 dateline, administration directive is to allow IRS gradual phase in for the industry to react. Bare in mind they can react if industries does not comply and if Trump wins in November he might increase it further to 60 % or threaten to increase it

Posted by Michael Lee > 2024-05-15 08:58 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Gloves Sector
Gainer of US tariff hike on
Chinese gloves

Posted by Michael Lee > 2024-05-15 08:58 | Report Abuse

Strong re-rating catalyst reduces valuation discounts
We are positive on the Malaysian gloves sector, given latest US trade
retaliation on Chinese rubber medical and surgical gloves, where the
tariffs will be hiked to 25% in 2026 (from 7.5% currently). This higher tariff
is expected to close the price gap between Malaysia and Chinese gloves,
making Malaysia gloves more price attractive in the US (a key export
market). We maintain our BUY on HART (new MYR4.36 TP). We also U/G
TOPG to BUY (MYR1.21 TP) and KRI to BUY (MYR2.70 TP). Our order of
preference are HART, TOPG and KRI.
US retaliation on Chinese-made gloves
The US is hiking tariffs on a wide range of Chinese imports, from
semiconductors, batteries, solar cells, critical minerals, to medical
products including rubber medical and surgical gloves. Tariffs on rubber
medical and surgical gloves will increase to 25% in 2026, from 7.5% now.

Posted by Michael Lee > 2024-05-15 09:00 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Gloves Sector
Gainer of US tariff hike on
Chinese gloves
Strong re-rating catalyst reduces valuation discounts
We are positive on the Malaysian gloves sector, given latest US trade
retaliation on Chinese rubber medical and surgical gloves, where the
tariffs will be hiked to 25% in 2026 (from 7.5% currently). This higher tariff
is expected to close the price gap between Malaysia and Chinese gloves,
making Malaysia gloves more price attractive in the US (a key export
market). We maintain our BUY on HART (new MYR4.36 TP). We also U/G
TOPG to BUY (MYR1.21 TP) and KRI to BUY (MYR2.70 TP). Our order of
preference are HART, TOPG and KRI.
US retaliation on Chinese-made gloves
The US is hiking tariffs on a wide range of Chinese imports, from
semiconductors, batteries, solar cells, critical minerals, to medical
products including rubber medical and surgical gloves. Tariffs on rubber
medical and surgical gloves will increase to 25% in 2026, from 7.5% now.
Positive impact on Malaysia-made gloves
We expect this latest development to narrow the price gap between
Chinese and Malaysia-made glove, making Malaysia gloves more attractive
in the US market. This market has been important for Malaysia glove
makers (TOPG: 17% of sales, HART: 50%). However, Malaysia glove makers
have been losing market share to their Chinese counterparts since 2021
due to intense price war. While there is a risk that Chinese glove makers
may shift their focus to the European markets (TOPG: 35% of sales, HART:
25%), we believe Malaysia glove makers will be able to compete, especially
after a few rounds of cost rationalization and decommission exercises over
the last two years that have led to better cost efficiency.
Lower discounts on valuations are warranted
While we maintain our earnings forecasts for now, pending results/
earnings release by end-May 2024, we view this latest tariff hike news as
a significant re-rating catalyst for the glove sector. We now assign higher
PBV multiples to the glove makers under our coverage in anticipation of
improving sales. Orders resulting from the US tariff hikes could pick up as
soon as 2H25, we expect. We upgrade TOPG to BUY (from SELL, new
MYR1.21 TP [+41sen], KRI to BUY (from HOLD, new MYR2.70 TP [+62sen]),
while maintaining BUY on HART (+134sen in TP to MYR4.36).
Analyst
POSITIVE [Unchanged]
Wong Wei Sum, CFA
(603) 2297 8679
weisum@maybank-ib.co

nuemeslau

18 posts

Posted by nuemeslau > 2024-05-15 09:13 | Report Abuse

makan shark fin soup tonight

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-15 09:17 | Report Abuse

Wow!

XXXvalue

457 posts

Posted by XXXvalue > 2024-05-15 09:34 | Report Abuse

How does this translate to higher price and increase profit? What if Chinese manufacturers cut price further?

messi88

522 posts

Posted by messi88 > 2024-05-15 09:38 | Report Abuse

game rules suddenly change. thanks to US government.
this is economies of scale game. Chinese manufacturers only can cut productions.

Posted by PennyStock123 > 2024-05-15 09:48 | Report Abuse

maybe chinese will can reduce price by providing 4 finger glove...

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-15 09:54 | Report Abuse

Wow, overboughy. Good luck

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:03 | Report Abuse

hahahahahhahahahahahahhahah thanks to the fellow haters that keep my will strong!

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:05 | Report Abuse

That being said, please be cautious of fomo-ing in guys. Chase only if you believe. I do believe but I don't have to chase anymore, just wait to take profit :)

I dont think this is where it ends, sure, Harta will need to back it up with real results in the next year, but I dont see how it will not go back to at least pre-covid volume with this 19% increase in selling price for China gloves.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:06 | Report Abuse

Also please be reminded, the QR will be announced soon, and it WILL NOT show the result from this tariff news. So, it may be "disappointing" for some. Trade cautiously.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:08 | Report Abuse

@NatsukoMishima: ChINa GlOVe wIlL TakEoVeR! TarIFf WiLl BE liFtEd! PeNNy StOCk!!
@Gaussian: RM2.3!!

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAH GO SUCK NUTS AND EAT SH!T

21,650 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2024-05-15 10:12 | Report Abuse

Huat ah huat ah huat, ong ah ong ah ong

21,650 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2024-05-15 10:14 | Report Abuse

Hor Lu, HENG, ONG, HUAT AH!! LU, LU , LU

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-15 10:18 | Report Abuse

Can sell before qtrly 😁

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-15 10:19 | Report Abuse

I took some profit on Comfort. Later will reinvest into Harta when it retraced. I believe Harta can at least hit $5

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:26 | Report Abuse

@Kimsua I'm more greedy than this. And I do believe in the long term, scare if i sell now then it turns out like another YTL power then no chance to buy back at this price.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:28 | Report Abuse

Basically same page with @monetary, I don't expect that in the super near term, but wait for a year, should not be far. And we will be starting to get dividend soon as well :) so no need to rush to cash out.

If there's another crazy senseless run like covid, then yeah sure, sell, that is not sustainable.

Posted by Sweetchocalates > 2024-05-15 10:44 | Report Abuse

Huat ah

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2024-05-15 10:50 | Report Abuse

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣2026 December 31st start ???

Posted by NatsukoMishima > 2024-05-15 10:51 | Report Abuse

How many round can cut vege ? High level VIP should run now without hesitate !

Cipta

1,044 posts

Posted by Cipta > 2024-05-15 10:51 | Report Abuse

the tax rate hike effective from 2026. Chinese seller will push the stock to US in 2025 so Malaysia manufacturers may start benefit in 2nd half of 2026.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:55 | Report Abuse

hahahahhahahah joker nutsucker is back! how wrong were you? and you are going to continue to be wrong! hahahahahhahahahahhahaha

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 10:57 | Report Abuse

if i listen to you and run, i wouldnt have this nice looking green number on my screen now. go away la SEI NOOB! HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH

where's Dnex? still 40c? Swift? same? HAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA NOOB ASS GAMBLER

monetary

4,447 posts

Posted by monetary > 2024-05-15 11:08 | Report Abuse

Kossan & SuperMx are 20 - 25% above pre pendamic price. Harta still below pre pandemic price. I can't find any reason to sell Harta.

Posted by YourQuirkyWays29 > 2024-05-15 11:13 | Report Abuse

making a sell call is as dangerous as making a buy call now. good to already be in, just sit and watch how this unfold, anyhow its highly unlikely to go red for me anymore in this counter.

Feels good to be right, and feels even better to be rewarded for being right. Suck this you glove haters! Even if it drops back to rm3 im still massive green xDDD

KimSua

509 posts

Posted by KimSua > 2024-05-15 11:33 | Report Abuse

Remember this high volume is from the short sellers covering all their shares and be prepare for a sell down , as we know the qtrly report is just so and so, expect Top glove to barely break even or in the red. Trade with care, the short seller will come back soon. Selling is the hardest part.