TENAGA NASIONAL BHD

KLSE (MYR): TENAGA (5347)

+0.30 (2.50%)

12.00 - 12.36

22 people like this.

13,229 comment(s). Last comment by DividendGuy67 15 hours ago

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-06 12:02 | Report Abuse

The whole reason I buy Tenaga is for Free elektrik all paid by Tenaga dividend

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2024-01-06 19:15 | Report Abuse

Haha .. Our electricity at home is a necessity indeed, and that view that dividends pay for electricity is interesting/funny. Dividends aside, TENAGA provides price gains too - e.g. my average cost is RM8.34. To me, total returns = Dividend yield + Price gains matters. With profits, we can use this to pay forward for many years electricity bills. Haha.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2024-01-06 19:31 | Report Abuse

@Dicky, it depends on your own investment objective, which can be different than others.

TENAGA is slower stock, but can still meet someone's conservative objective. E.g. I own TENAGA because I'm aiming for 6%-9% per annum returns from TENAGA.

When I bought TENAGA around RM8-9 averaging 8.34, my goal was to get something like 5% Dividend Yield + 4% Price gain yield.

At the time, long term DPS estimate was around 40-44, giving nearly 5% dividend yield, plus minus.
So, to me, it's whether TENAGA can give me a 4% per annum price gains.

It's a no brainer that the more it is marked down, the greater the odds of this happening. E.g. if you could enter at say RM8.5 and if in 5 years time, you think you can get RM10.5 (or roughly 20% gain say), then, that's your 4% price gain per annum if one takes a 5 year view.

It's almost a sure thing that within 5 years when price was RM8.5, one day, it will get to RM10.5. With the 5% Dividend Yield, you get paid whilst waiting.

TENAGA is not a top quality stock - e.g. its DPS is volatile. But its EPS is "assured" and it has pricing power (i.e. if profits starts to decline, theoretically it has pricing power although whether it can price higher is also subject to political risk). Also, long term chart showed RM8.5 is lowish - its all time high is like RM16+, so, RM10.5 has ample Margin of Safety.

So, when TENAGA price fell below RM9, it was accumulation time. At RM10.5, it has already met my objective. But when something is rising, my exit will follow my technical outlook. Why not hold on as it continue to rise? And yes, my discipline will force me to take partial profits at higher prices, but I plan to hold a majority nevertheless as long term, we are still at the bottom half and foreigners haven't come back in a big way yet .

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2024-01-06 19:40 | Report Abuse

To paraphrase Buffet's advise to investors:
1. When you buy, don't count on a good selling price.
2. Rely instead on a purchase price so attractive, that even a mediocre sale price gives good results.
This applies to average or better quality business.
Because if the business economics is terrible, then, even a rock bottom price is too much to pay, if its value is deteriorating and more lower prices are coming.

Whether socks, or stocks, buy Quality stocks when it is marked down.

14,367 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2024-01-06 19:43 | Report Abuse

I have no doubt it is a dividend stock with limited price range. Those who bought it nearly RM20 in the 1990s are still reeling in pain. I doubt the dividend have covered their initial cost. Tenaga faces competition in energy in future. There are advances in engineering. Hope Tenaga could buck up instead of thinking this is a forever income resource. Nothing is permanent. Many careers have extinct like dinosaurs, so will energy resource. Never doubt capability of human to invent. until then be happy with the crumbs.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2024-01-07 07:58 | Report Abuse

The above post reveals the person to be an AMATEUR...$21.80 high in Jan 1994 after adjusted for bonuses etc is about $8.50 🤣 So those unfortunates who bought @ that peak & held long enough still made $ & the real high is just under $17 in early 2015 & buyers at THAT later price are the ones who are losing big. My own 1,065 shares are at a small paper loss of about $200 but if the $1,649.49 dividends earned since 2019 & the 2015 contra gain of 42.54(bought 13.56, sold 13.75) are included, no loss.👦

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-07 08:18 | Report Abuse

regardless. my Tenaga is paper profit 💪
plus i dont worry about my letrik bill cos all covered by Tenaga dividend 😎

14,367 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2024-01-07 10:55 | Report Abuse

LOL! The person who replied to my comment is happy with pittance gain and smug about how savvy he/she are in investing. This shows how hard up of a person he/she is. However, no one can stop narcissism and people who brag! Carry on riding your horse in a pot going nowhere.

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-07 12:13 | Report Abuse

Happy new year Dicky

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2024-01-07 14:09 | Report Abuse

People like DickyME{Money Exterminator} who flaunt their laughable ignorance[unaware or too dense to understand that bonuses & rights adjust old prices...soon he'll use Genting's old 2007 high of $50 to compare with today's 😸] should do themselves a favour & stay OUT of the market...or else bleed to death, or worse, drag other ppl into loss with them! [🤣🤣🤣 @ his $4 prediction for CapitalA that is still memorably hilarious!!!]

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2024-01-07 17:35 | Report Abuse

On the investor forums for Maybank and Tenaga, some people had deliberately predicated just over one and a half years ago that Maybank would soon drop to RM5.80 and Tenaga would drop to RM4.50 just to spite people. I wonder how these people think of their erstwhile antics today.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2024-01-07 17:41 | Report Abuse

>>>
To paraphrase Buffet's advise to investors:
1. When you buy, don't count on a good selling price.
2. Rely instead on a purchase price so attractive, that even a mediocre sale price gives good results.
This applies to average or better quality business.
Because if the business economics is terrible, then, even a rock bottom price is too much to pay, if its value is deteriorating and more lower prices are coming.

>>>

Agree.

Stays with great companies.

Buy it at cheap / fair price.

Downside is protected, the upside will take care of itself over a long period of investing.

Not a 100% guarantee but at a very high degree of probability.

Posted by Fabien _the efficient capital allocator > 2024-01-07 20:15 | Report Abuse

Tenaga is best proxy for electrification. The grid of the future will mean more electricity to generate, distribute, and manage. Production and consumption of electricity will see higher demand from power hungry data centres, proliferation of EVs, shift to renewable sources and also AI computers.

The capital spending to upgrade the grid means more sales and earnings growth for TNB as regulator will allow utilities to earn a return on their outlays.

14,367 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2024-01-07 20:47 | Report Abuse

I am sure your premium client is happy with your July 2023 recommendation in Tek Seng which has been sliding since pandemic and dormant till now. These are the kind of people who call themselves FUN(D) managers 🤣 I am sure your premium client must be very happy.
By the way, I don't recommend or call anyone to follow. It is your money and your risk. If you fail, it's not my problem. Some people need to be pricked for their arrogance.

14,367 posts

Posted by DickyMe > 2024-01-07 20:52 | Report Abuse

Bought TekSeng...recommended 2 premium clients last wk.

2023-07-17 15:23

M55555

951 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2024-01-08 11:15 | Report Abuse

ini hari tarak tenaga . Resting

Posted by yeinemesis > 2024-01-08 18:00 | Report Abuse

Monday blues. naik sikit2. slow and steady.

Posted by yeinemesis > 2024-01-09 17:57 | Report Abuse

Up a bit again. slow & steady.

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2024-01-10 08:01 | Report Abuse

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2024/01/09/pm-urges-glics-glcs-to-reduce-overseas-investments-and-focus-more-on-domestic-market

PM urges GLICs, GLCs to reduce overseas investments and focus more on domestic market

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2024-01-10 08:05 | Report Abuse

Very positive for Tenaga

Posted by Michael_chan2022 > 2024-01-10 08:05 | Report Abuse

Hold tight

Posted by yeinemesis > 2024-01-10 14:50 | Report Abuse

And suddenly today down she goes. Anyway keep holding for long term investment.

Novice296

125 posts

Posted by Novice296 > 2024-01-11 12:46 | Report Abuse

drop drop pls rm9

Posted by yeinemesis > 2024-01-11 18:50 | Report Abuse

Bought at 8. Most shares down at that time. If Tenaga drop at 9 must be prepared for Market drop. Then we can chase for cheap sale stock buying.

Posted by snowball2000 > 2024-01-12 15:04 | Report Abuse

dropping pretty fast now, 10.20

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-12 15:16 | Report Abuse

Boo chow. Panic selling

Posted by MohamedAqil > 2024-01-15 12:58 | Report Abuse

bagus, EPF sapu. Tunggu ia naik sampai OSK punya tp

ccpool

320 posts

Posted by ccpool > 2024-01-17 16:42 | Report Abuse

2022-08-24
My key levels to maintain bullish MS

1) 8.200- 8.275

2) 7.99-8.05

------------------------
2023-02-13
Key Level held and we got a strong follow through. As long we hold 8.505, TP- 13.0

------------------------

10.62 significant resistance. Will take some profit off here.

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-22 14:36 | Report Abuse

Berita Terkini: Tenaga has broken rm10.50 resistance. Next TP rm11

Posted by stockraider > 2024-01-23 08:20 | Report Abuse

Better avoid govt stock loh!
As you know Anwar is very socialist, he will make use of Govt GLC to support subsidy & contribute higher than required salary to push up wages of the country loh!

Thus this will result in less productivity & higher cost loh!

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-26 13:14 | Report Abuse

10.50 broken again
This time sure rm11 mali!

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-26 16:33 | Report Abuse

Tenaga 10.60!!!!!!
Rebuttttttttt!!!! Ini kalilahhhhhh!!!!!

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-26 16:33 | Report Abuse

All in!!!!

Diamond7

2,194 posts

Posted by Diamond7 > 2024-01-26 18:22 | Report Abuse

Monopoly business!
Will continue it's upward movement!

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-26 19:51 | Report Abuse

No more < 10.50
Next TP 11.00

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-31 09:42 | Report Abuse

Continue to.hold.
tenaga not Ini Kalilah, so must Lain Kali Lah

cucubud

78 posts

Posted by cucubud > 2024-01-31 11:48 | Report Abuse

@speakup, TNB started engine to your next TP.👍

ngohieng

51 posts

Posted by ngohieng > 2024-01-31 16:11 | Report Abuse

ini kalilah

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2024-01-31 19:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by dompeilee > 3 weeks ago

The above post reveals the person to be an AMATEUR...$21.80 high in Jan 1994 after adjusted for bonuses etc is about $8.50 🤣 So those unfortunates who bought @ that peak & held long enough still made $ & the real high is just under $17 in early 2015 & buyers at THAT later price are the ones who are losing big. My own 1,065 shares are at a small paper loss of about $200 but if the $1,649.49 dividends earned since 2019 & the 2015 contra gain of 42.54(bought 13.56, sold 13.75) are included, no loss.👦

Above breakeven for the FIRST time since purchase!!! Chart says it's heading to $11 easily so I can keep all of my dividends since 2020 AND earn at least a little capital gain imminently!🤗

21,544 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2024-01-31 19:46 | Report Abuse

Anwar ask local fund to buy local, not to go overseas. So big cap is the only place they going to add

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-01-31 21:44 | Report Abuse

Yessss finally...... road cleared for rm11!
INI KALILAHHHHHH!!!

M55555

951 posts

Posted by M55555 > 2024-01-31 21:50 | Report Abuse

Bought low and keep forever. Better than FD

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-02-01 07:54 | Report Abuse

you want higher yield than Tenaga yield 4.3% ? Try Sunreit, yield is 5.9% !

Deekay

164 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2024-02-01 12:42 | Report Abuse

Eh...that Reit yield is not net of tax yet. I think actual net yield might be lower.

Posted by stockraider > 2024-02-01 12:52 | Report Abuse

Do not bet so heavy on Tenaga bcos Anwar will use it to subsidize the Rakyat B40 & M40 loh!

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-02-01 12:55 | Report Abuse

Aiyoyo Sunreit even less tax still higher than Tenaga 4.3%

25,146 posts

Posted by speakup > 2024-02-01 12:56 | Report Abuse

I use Tenaga dividend to pay for my letrik bill

Deekay

164 posts

Posted by Deekay > 2024-02-01 15:00 | Report Abuse

But there are others which have better yield than Sunreit. I'm just saying 😉