SOUTHERN STEEL BHD

KLSE (MYR): SSTEEL (5665)

0.585 - 0.585

4,659 comment(s). Last comment by Atacms 3 weeks ago

Tiger_shark

1,902 posts

Posted by Tiger_shark > 2017-02-07 14:44 | Report Abuse

chicken feet transaction, give up

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-07 15:29 | Report Abuse

True, all hot stocks were transacted little before they were hot. See it will become hot or not in very near future. All depend on results.

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-07 15:39 | Report Abuse

It will need to break 1.43 to lure traders in to provide short term liquidity.

To do that, it will require an imminent decent result which is quite reasonable to achieve.

All we have to do now is buy on slight retrace between 1.32 - 1.34 and wait for show with popcorn ready.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-07 17:35 | Report Abuse

Ya, got some 1.33 & 1.35, more on 1.34 today

IamGoogle

836 posts

Posted by IamGoogle > 2017-02-07 19:09 | Report Abuse

Seem like something is being cooked here

Tiger_shark

1,902 posts

Posted by Tiger_shark > 2017-02-08 08:48 | Report Abuse

@Moneysifu, Result will be excellent. I'm simply no patient for "too small" transac. I have to learn from you "patient is golden"

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-08 09:52 | Report Abuse

the dragon is whispering to the phoenix..... i coming again soon.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-08 10:05 | Report Abuse

the dragon will ride on top of phoenix...

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-08 10:14 | Report Abuse

the phoenix is yelling on satisfaction.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-08 10:15 | Report Abuse

"harder, harder ..." phoenix is telling the dragon

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-02-08 16:43 | Report Abuse

Why became 18SX here. XD

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-08 23:13 | Report Abuse

I think it is good to share with all about the coming year's construction jobs in China, most projects carried with construction budgeted costs of more than 1b, many are even more than 10b.

中国2017年工程项目大汇总
http://www.100ppi.com/news/detail-20170208-1000824.html

Posted by beautifulmind > 2017-02-10 21:56 | Report Abuse

I have a friend who is selling steel products to cnstruction company said southern steel & ann joo are major producers in the market

mbs7633

325 posts

Posted by mbs7633 > 2017-02-11 17:06 | Report Abuse

I'm wondering whether revenue this QR will pass 600 mil due to steel products more cheaper in Malaysia than overseas, especially from China.

Provisional safeguard duties on rebar and steel wire rod started from 26 sept 2016.
http://www.miti.gov.my/miti/resources/Media%20Release/PR-ENG-PD_REBAR_SWR_vF.pdf

Also wondering that is there any write-off of inventory for this QR, previous was 20 mil.

Steel price increased 30% will surely let SSTEEL earns more money.

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-11 19:26 | Report Abuse

Let's take a guess guys..

Which EPS you think SSTEEL will achieve this coming quarter result?

4 , 5 , 6 , 7, 8 , 9 , 10, 11 , 12 , 13 , 14 , 15 cents ?

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-02-11 19:32 | Report Abuse

wondering how the risen coal price and the weak ringgit impact on the cost IMPORTing raw material for Southern Steel and Ann Joo....can they pass on the costs to the intermediate steel processors?

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-02-11 19:34 | Report Abuse

A surge in the prices of a key steelmaking ingredient took the shine off ArcelorMittal’s best quarterly earnings for two years.

Sample the FT’s top stories for a week
You select the topic, we deliver the news.

Select topic
Enter email addressInvalid email
Sign up By signing up you confirm that you have read and agree to the terms and conditions, cookie policy and privacy policy.
The world’s biggest steelmaker also said that lower US prices for the grey metal, coupled with an unexpected sharp increase in metallurgical coal, would crimp profitability in the fourth quarter.

ArcelorMittal’s third-quarter earnings were $1.9bn before interest, tax, depreciation and amortisation, slightly below analysts’ expectations, but two-fifths higher year on year. Net income was $700m, against a loss of $700m a year earlier.

Shares in ArcelorMittal dropped nearly 7 per cent on the Euronext Amsterdam exchange to €5.71.

Analysts have attributed a more than tripling in the price of the crucial ingredient, also known as coking coal, to output restrictions imposed in China, which makes almost half the world’s steel.

Aditya Mittal, chief financial officer of ArcelorMittal, said the company was “comfortable” that the higher cost input would eventually be passed on to customers.

“The global steel industry is adapting to a higher raw material cost environment. We expect it to be reflected in steel prices, but in the interim there will be a negative impact,” he added.

The reaction by investors overshadowed improving financial results that will fuel hopes the global steel industry is through the worst of the havoc wreaked by oversupply and rising exports from China. Steelmakers in many regions have seen prices for the metal rise throughout most of 2016.

With seasonally lower shipments mostly behind a 1.5 per cent drop in sales against the previous quarter to $14.5bn, the company said it was making progress in its efforts to improve underlying performance.

Despite the headwind from the rally in coking coal, the emergence of reflation in raw materials was a “clear positive” for ArcelorMittal, said Seth Rosenfeld, analyst at Jefferies.

However, since the summer, the steel price rally has reversed in the US. Mr Mittal put this down to lower scrap steel prices, compounded by a “buyers’ strike”. The company downgraded its forecast for growth in apparent steel consumption in the US to between 0 and 1 per cent in 2016, from 2 to 3 per cent. It blamed stagnating manufacturing and weaker machinery demand due to woes in the energy sector.

The company was more bullish about its other main market of Europe based on strong demand from the automotive sector.

In the teeth of the steel downturn, the company this year resorted to a $3bn rights issue to reduce its debt pile, having earlier suspended its dividend. Net debt fell to $12.2bn in the quarter, representing the lowest level since the merger of Mittal Steel with Europe’s Arcelor a decade ago, Mr Mittal said.

gwansoo

307 posts

Posted by gwansoo > 2017-02-11 20:46 | Report Abuse

It's good to see there are some people still bearish on steel sector.

14,460 posts

Posted by probability > 2017-02-11 20:49 | Report Abuse

'some' or 'a lot'....that is the key distinction to make.

gwansoo

307 posts

Posted by gwansoo > 2017-02-11 20:54 | Report Abuse

Doesn't matter as long there are.

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-12 00:52 | Report Abuse

There are still ample of time for further accumulation then.. great !

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-02-12 01:15 | Report Abuse

MrPauper, good to know that got ample of time to collect, but sad to said that I got no $$ to collect.. All $$ went in d

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-12 01:21 | Report Abuse

Albukhary, it means that your average cost is much lower too and you will gain a huge percentage of profit compared to me.

All you need to do now is wait patiently to reap your rewards. Cheers !

Albukhary

2,953 posts

Posted by Albukhary > 2017-02-12 01:45 | Report Abuse

MrPauper, I'm just small potato, my 30% gain is less than 3% gain that you made, haha! But anyway, let's hope SSTEEL present a nice quarter report, and hope it can be the first counter that limit up in Year 2017. Cheers!

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-12 01:54 | Report Abuse

Albukhary, it doesn't matter if it is a small or big potato, we are all potatoes compared to the big players..haha..

Most importantly, we all make money at the end of the day..

In SSTEEL, together we trust, together we thrust !

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-12 12:02 | Report Abuse

Yesterday Spoken to a director of a public listed developer cum construction company who is based KL & asked which steel company they normally bought the steel bars from, he said they will source directly from the major steel producers because of sirim certification requirement.

According to him, SSteel is focusing on rebar & selling at cheaper price while ann joo is more focusing niche segments such as I-beam though ann joo also sells rebar.

That explains part of the reasons why ssteel has higher revenue but thinner margin while ann joo has lower revenue but higher margin.

Lulu La

901 posts

Posted by Lulu La > 2017-02-12 12:06 | Report Abuse

Y?

mbs7633

325 posts

Posted by mbs7633 > 2017-02-12 13:34 | Report Abuse

Good sharing, moneySIFU.

thinking

101 posts

Posted by thinking > 2017-02-13 08:24 | Report Abuse

good sharing Pauper, thanks

nicky11

654 posts

Posted by nicky11 > 2017-02-13 12:08 | Report Abuse

1.38 now~~~ Keep it up

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-13 12:31 | Report Abuse

Why rally in steel stocks is far from over

http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/why-rally-steel-stocks-far-over

Ramada

655 posts

Posted by Ramada > 2017-02-13 12:41 | Report Abuse

Now no surge yet, better buy before QR releases. If result superb, then steel rally will come again.

SSTEEL at least RM1.80.

thinking

101 posts

Posted by thinking > 2017-02-13 16:26 | Report Abuse

agree, at least 1.80, 30% upside from now!

77huat77

1,782 posts

Posted by 77huat77 > 2017-02-13 17:48 | Report Abuse

Csc steel just posted bad result OMG

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-02-13 19:14 | Report Abuse

Luckily, SSteel purchase raw material in EURO currency and EURO strengthen against RM by 1.8% whereas RM weaken against USD 8.5% in last quarter.

mbs7633

325 posts

Posted by mbs7633 > 2017-02-13 19:17 | Report Abuse

Good sharing, Up_down. Seems like this is the main point for SSTEEL to make more money in next quarter.

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-02-13 19:33 | Report Abuse

Cscstel got hit by the same reason as mycron last round. Failure to pass on higher raw material cost. I got burned in mycron, I can't say I'm not worried that ssteel might be exposed to similar challenge in passing the cost. But with a non-inflated share price, ssteel is a much safer bet. Fingers crossed.

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-13 20:34 | Report Abuse

SSteel = Slow and Steady Steel

ks5S

4,601 posts

Posted by ks5S > 2017-02-13 20:39 | Report Abuse

SSteel produce steel for construction... Construction active, SSteel also up. Different from CSC Steel.

4,305 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2017-02-13 20:46 | Report Abuse

Ssteel should be able to report good profits in upcoming QR in the absence of impairment.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-13 22:20 | Report Abuse

Thanks for sharing, Up_down.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Up_down Luckily, SSteel purchase raw material in EURO currency and EURO strengthen against RM by 1.8% whereas RM weaken against USD 8.5% in last quarter.
13/02/2017 19:14

IamGoogle

836 posts

Posted by IamGoogle > 2017-02-13 22:54 | Report Abuse

I have not seen much movement for Ssteel & Masteel for the past 5 months, I believe it will be limited downside.

But not sure about Ann Joo, it went up so much if compared to masteel & ssteel during the same period.

5,855 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-02-14 01:22 | Report Abuse

Not sure how CSCSteel affecting other steel players, but see if can collect cheap or not tomorrow

MrPauper

1,031 posts

Posted by MrPauper > 2017-02-14 01:27 | Report Abuse

It might go as low as 1.32 before rebounding.. Just go for one last bargain spree

Warn3r

792 posts

Posted by Warn3r > 2017-02-14 09:06 | Report Abuse

This morning at 8:52am someone queued to sell 4000 lots at 1.20. Luckily he cancelled shortly after that. Maybe he read zeff's post. Keke.