MAXIS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): MAXIS (6012)

-0.04 (1.10%)

3.57 - 3.61

1,786 comment(s). Last comment by Needluck 3 weeks ago

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2012-11-29 21:03 | Report Abuse

my question was where does Maxis get the money to pay the dividend to its shareholder as it didn't earn that much of $$$?

1st qtr - EPS was 7.6 but dividend was 8 sens
2nd qtr - EPS was 6.2 but dividend was 8 sens
3rd qtr - EPS was 5.9 but dividend was 8 sens

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-11-29 21:07 | Report Abuse

it could be anything from partial capital repayment & tax breaks. you have to read the management report or accountants comment in their annual report or periodicals of analysts!

Digi was the same, using capital repayment!

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2012-11-29 21:09 | Report Abuse

i see. thanks.

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-11-29 21:16 | Report Abuse

this is taken from ECM libra's 25th June report on its Digi coverage, just an excerpt to understand the nature of these cash rich companies!

Valuation and recommendation
Target price of RM4.05 with a HOLD recommendation. We value DiGi using the
Dividend Discount Model (DDM) valuation to provide a clearer picture on our dividend assumption. Our target price of RM4.05 is based on cost of equity of 7.6% and long term growth rate of 1.5% which led us to arrive at RM3.99 coupled with a capital repayment of 6.4sen.

We view that DiGi is a better proxy in Telco sector compared to Maxis given DiGi’s net cash position which provides rooms for capital repayment. We also like DiGi as its high net yield of 6% should appeal to investors seeking refuge in defensive plays

Posted by KC Loh > 2012-11-29 21:16 | Report Abuse

sorry cannot put link coz its in pdf format and i just had it in my e-files!

fankim

139 posts

Posted by fankim > 2012-11-29 21:28 | Report Abuse

it's ok. thanks. i will do a search and study.

john1

297 posts

Posted by john1 > 2012-12-06 20:31 | Report Abuse

tommorrow-time to price up

Melvin G

601 posts

Posted by Melvin G > 2012-12-10 12:31 | Report Abuse

Maxis servicing is really disappointing and charges are so random. Almost 10 out of 9 of my friends received extra charges that they trying to sneak in if you don't aware.

Overcharged, sucks customer servicing, unattractive package.
Bye maxis bye!

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-12-10 15:04 | Report Abuse

Telcos uptrend is coming up now, AXIATA increase more than 3% in a single day. Next would be DIGI and MAXIS !!

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-12-11 09:21 | Report Abuse

All telcos is back !!!

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-12-12 14:40 | Report Abuse

GE will come in next 5 months,Investor should avoid GLC stock like MRCB, UEM Land, Gamuda, MMC, TM, AXIATA. Shift to investment profile by holding defensive stock like ASTRO, MAXIS, DIGI and property REIT (Sunreit, IGBREIT, PAVREIT).

minitrader

2,273 posts

Posted by minitrader > 2012-12-12 14:44 | Report Abuse

yup josh...hot counter ma...shoot up fast and plunge equally fast too...

guanteik

183 posts

Posted by guanteik > 2012-12-12 17:07 | Report Abuse

Defensive stocks doesn't mean there is no risk for the coming election, probably less, probably more depending on which angle you see it. Election results are very "scary" as well.

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2012-12-21 21:51 | Report Abuse

chieng8182 数码网络(6947))首席执行员(CEO)佐汉(Johan Dennelind)过档死对头明讯(6012)!
佐汉将从7月1日起,出任明讯的CEO,取代离职的山迪达斯。
数码网络今天收市报5.21令吉,落15仙;明讯则跌1仙至6.55令吉。
21/12/2012 20:50

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-01-08 12:36 | Report Abuse

I sell DIGI, buy MAXIS, MAXIS is first mover in 4G LTE High speed and will eat into TM Unifi Fibre internet market. Currently, MAXIS undervalued compared to other telcos because capital expenditure on network upgrade, price will adjust rise up soon ;)

Posted by felixmaskx > 2013-01-09 11:29 | Report Abuse

I keep both DIGI & Maxis, too early to tell who win. I toping who drop down more.

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-01-23 09:44 | Report Abuse

MAXIS will expand 4G LTE to JB and Penang soon ;)

lilian18

61 posts

Posted by lilian18 > 2013-02-06 10:12 | Report Abuse

Yes maxis

Chvng

27 posts

Posted by Chvng > 2013-03-24 21:02 | Report Abuse

Felix, not good. Switch to Alam and Perdana. 2013, 2014 is the years of oil and gas. Alam & Perdana will give you higher return.

Posted by felixmaskx > 2013-04-02 17:47 | Report Abuse

Thank for you tips Chvng, now day juz see and look onli...didnt buy anthing

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-04-03 17:22 | Report Abuse

At current unstable market, buy Maxis for stable investment profile and collect the stable dividen 8 cents five times per year (more than 6% per year).

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-04-10 16:27 | Report Abuse

MAXIS strong uptrend recently, supported by 4G LTE news ;)

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-04-10 18:01 | Report Abuse

another final dividen 8 cents announced today.

NRobert

115 posts

Posted by NRobert > 2013-04-10 19:40 | Report Abuse

What happened to the ' Management has committed to maintain the 40sen DPS for the next two years'?

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-04-11 15:49 | Report Abuse

Hi NRobert, where you see this info? pls share with us.

This is good news for shareholder, can earn the stable 6% dividen per year, the extra EPS will be used to reinvest in capital expenditure of 4G LTE and Maxis Home Fibre infrastucture.

NRobert

115 posts

Posted by NRobert > 2013-04-11 19:55 | Report Abuse

Headlines 27/02/2013 Maxis - Committing To A 40sen DPS

Posted by Yong Chian Haw > 2013-04-16 16:15 | Report Abuse

in fact having DPS always higher than EPS, isn't it very unhealthy for the company finance?

Abudance

2,211 posts

Posted by Abudance > 2013-04-16 16:45 | Report Abuse

Maxis has high debts. If you looking for 6% dividends pa. You should look at a reits which is rm2.60 now and give 7-8% pa. Payout is 4x a year. Defensive stock and don't have to have "heart attack" when world economy up or down!

ryan78

176 posts

Posted by ryan78 > 2013-05-03 14:04 | Report Abuse

This crony companies such as Maxis have been cheating people with expensive calls and internet charges to enrich themselves. They thrive in monopolistic environments by limiting other serious players such as DiGi from progressing and becoming agressive by using the SKMM to intervene.

If Malaysian telco industry wants to grow, they have to get rid of TM, Maxis and ASTRO from the scene.

ryan78

176 posts

Posted by ryan78 > 2013-05-03 15:20 | Report Abuse

Malaysia Government Is Spying On You
Report by US Independent Research Group - CitizensLab(Makmal Rakyat)

http://www.keithrozario.com/2013/05/the-malaysian-government-is-spying-on-you-finspy-fisher.html

Official Report Document:
https://citizenlab.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/05/shortbg-malaysia1.pdf

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-10 09:39 | Report Abuse

Another RM0.08 sens dividend just announced!!

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-22 10:57 | Report Abuse

What is holding this counter back? Doesn't seem to move above RM7.00...especially after the 4G out...

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-05-27 11:02 | Report Abuse

This counter should easily be RM8 and above but somehow someone is restraining it from going above RM7....hmmm going to keep this until end of the year to see how things are, if still hovering at this price then going to switch more to DIgi.

metalmonk

174 posts

Posted by metalmonk > 2013-05-27 17:22 | Report Abuse

simple, because it's profit margin are declining, and 4G, LTE is new and wont increase profit margin. There is no much LTE enable mobile phones in the market to get profit.

wahaha

215 posts

Posted by wahaha > 2013-05-30 11:26 | Report Abuse

CEO resign... more to drops...

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2013-05-30 11:49 | Report Abuse

EPS around 6-7 cents but declared dividend 8 cents... i wonder where they get the money to pay? any idea?

5,821 posts

Posted by yfchong > 2013-05-30 11:54 | Report Abuse

from loan lah

juggernault

1,895 posts

Posted by juggernault > 2013-05-30 11:57 | Report Abuse

ah long?

wahaha

215 posts

Posted by wahaha > 2013-05-30 13:53 | Report Abuse

COO also resigned.... downtrend for sure these few days...

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-06-03 20:56 | Report Abuse

could be a good change for the company since they couldn't seem to bring this counter above RM7..

josh

311 posts

Posted by josh > 2013-06-05 09:47 | Report Abuse

Weak management out, strong management in, rm8 soon

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-06-06 15:33 | Report Abuse

ok waiting for the August Dividend now... i'm holding on to this counter because of the good dividend pay out... and steady pricing... however i'm hoping the new management will boost it up to RM8 :)..

koosp

48 posts

Posted by koosp > 2013-06-09 21:28 | Report Abuse

I smell something wrong.look like ownership changing hand at rm7

koosp

48 posts

Posted by koosp > 2013-06-09 21:30 | Report Abuse

We hope to it breaking rm10

chimera

54 posts

Posted by chimera > 2013-06-10 16:44 | Report Abuse

Wonder why d captain suddenly leaves the ship..mmm will wait for price to drop. Surely.

nicole76

805 posts

Posted by nicole76 > 2013-06-12 09:38 | Report Abuse

Charts look like it's heading down trend again.... so deserted the ship now and waiting to see whether to pick up later when it drops further hopefully back to 6.30. :P

pyramidpoh

198 posts

Posted by pyramidpoh > 2013-06-27 16:51 | Report Abuse

Maxis former CEO Sandip will be taken over by Johan Eric Dennelind(former Digi CEO) on July 1st,2013.Do you think can invest in this stock?

iafx

4,632 posts

Posted by iafx > 2013-06-27 16:54 | Report Abuse

double check first

pyramidpoh

198 posts

Posted by pyramidpoh > 2013-07-01 13:17 | Report Abuse

Check in announcement.