MNRB HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): MNRB (6459)

+0.01 (0.47%)

2.10 - 2.13

9 people like this.

3,899 comment(s). Last comment by GLNT 2 days ago

Posted by wajatimur_28 > 2013-09-26 03:55 | Report Abuse

What is DY?please...

denver

113 posts

Posted by denver > 2013-09-26 10:03 | Report Abuse

Waja, were you asking what is the meaning of DY? D.Y. stands for Dividend Yield.

Posted by investor2012 > 2013-09-30 11:00 | Report Abuse

when will this share go up?

Superb99

6,589 posts

Posted by Superb99 > 2013-10-01 11:38 | Report Abuse

keep dropping since ex-dividend...

ccteh

33 posts

Posted by ccteh > 2013-10-05 03:07 | Report Abuse

deep discount to book value, rising revenue, strong profits, higher DY? not bad wat?

Posted by Tan Wengchuah > 2013-10-12 23:15 | Report Abuse

if no big natural disaster...no of course no unforeseen doubtful investment outlay 4 yrs ago which saw no dividends for 2-3 yrs...

Posted by Tan Wengchuah > 2013-10-12 23:16 | Report Abuse

good management...and will willing to work hard...should c this share to climb slow and steadily....

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2013-11-28 17:43 | Report Abuse

result not bad but price does not move.

cherry tomato

1,880 posts

Posted by cherry tomato > 2013-11-28 17:47 | Report Abuse

dividend yield counter, long term investment & capital appreciation.

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-11-28 19:21 | Report Abuse

When the company had this kind of earnings 6 to 7 years ago, its shares were traded at over RM 5.00 a piece.

ccteh

33 posts

Posted by ccteh > 2013-11-29 06:45 | Report Abuse

Be patient, it will come la .... Sabar he.

bonbon

181 posts

Posted by bonbon > 2013-11-29 11:26 | Report Abuse

MNRB could be hit by typhoon aftermath, says RHB research
http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-news/265417-mnrb-could-be-hit-by-typhoon-aftermath-says-rhb-research-.html

Today opened at RM3.680, now is RM3.610, losing steam, let's see how will it close today

Posted by StockLearner > 2013-11-29 14:36 | Report Abuse

Whoever buy MNRB, hold on the share although RHB research said claim ratio is high. FYI, I just check through the www.malaysian-re.com.my, in fact, the largest claim in 2013 is over RM151 million at 27th June 2013 but do not forget, quarter 2 & quarter 3 still report positive result. Why like that? because this claim is part of the calculation in getting insurance business.

I do not know the motive behind RHB research as this research house keep on saying how bad it is this counter & only quote this counter with PE 6 times whereas other counters like Takaful can be easily 12 times or 20 times for Tuneins.

Worst still, counter like Takaful or Tuneins do not have good dividend yield. No matter what happens, I will hang on my share in MNRB & with better results in FY 2014, I strongly believe dividend can easily 40 cents & above...

Cheers

Posted by StockLearner > 2013-11-29 14:46 | Report Abuse

In FY 2012, MNRB achieved 43.40 cents EPS. At that year, RM55 million is allocated for Thailand flood claim. If not, total EPS in FY 2012 is more than 65 cents. So, pertaining to the RHB research, I do not give any value on that. Claim is part & parcel of insurance business. Even catastrophic claim like Thailand flood claim in 2012, MNRB still managed to get 43.40 cents.

I will hold on my shares & wait for 40 cents dividend in FY 2014.

Posted by chaosiris > 2013-11-30 00:53 | Report Abuse

Then you dont understand the reinsurance business where the agreements can be very tricky and flawed without the proper actuarial evaluation. There is a reason why reinsurance players are trading at discount of book value to insurers in the region. The report mentioned that MNRB slipped way below RM3.00 back in FY12 when that happened, so the market understand how to evaluate the cat claims for a reason. And do you think the major shareholders pared down their stake (forgoing the fat dividends in FY13) for no reason ?

11 posts

Posted by 9010 > 2013-12-04 10:29 | Report Abuse

Anyone has any idea about their exposure to Philippines where Typhoon Haiyang hit last month?

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-06 17:01 | Report Abuse

Buffet : buy a good business during its bad times for a discounted price :D yahoo just entered MNRB :D

55,152 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2013-12-16 07:50 | Report Abuse

I like MNRB. MNRB was one of my best performing stocks for dividend yield. Warren Buffet likes to invest in Insurance Companies. There is little outlay for expenses since Insurance companies do not need to provide goods or services. It provides the assurance and protection against losses.

Insurance Companies will be a fantastic Class of Shares if not for so many untoward happenings on our Planet. The Book predicts in the Book of Revelation. Towards the end of times there will be a one ecological disaster on earth due to the profligacy and the abuse and misuse of earth's resources.

As such, Investing in Insurance Companies will require great fortitude in the face of further floods, cyclones , earthquakes and tsunami. Claims will always be there. Prediction of ever increasing earthquakes are clearly visible as the years progress. To counter losses Insurance Companies can raise premiums to cover increasing future claims. As such Insurance policy will get more and more expensive.

If you cannot stomach these uncertainties, I would invite you to consider 2 excellent counters for year 2014/2015 & beyond.

1) PM Corp - An Emerging Chocolate Manufacturing Concern.
2) MUI Berhad. Next Year Is VISIT MALAYSIA YEAR 2014 & YEAR OF FESTIVAL 2015.
The Number Beneficiary of Tourist Arrivals To Malaysia Is MUI Berhad(3891).

MUI Berhad Has CORUS HOTELS FOR TOURISTS TO STAY IN.
Travels & Tours Company To Bring Them Around
Metrojaya, Reject Shop, Laura Ashley & East India to Shop till you drop!
Quality Tudor Gold, Tango & Crispy Chocolates to buy and bring home.

Happy Investing,

Calvin, Singapore.

55,152 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 2013-12-16 07:53 | Report Abuse

Sorry typo error, "Should read as The Number One Beneficiary of Tourist Arrivals Is MUI Berhad(3891)"

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-18 03:29 | Report Abuse

hold tight this is a good share. will atleast reach rm5

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-20 02:38 | Report Abuse

insurance company boom boom

Posted by Janet Lai Janet > 2013-12-20 11:42 | Report Abuse

just would like to check how much should be enter for MUI Bhd. instead of am unable to enter for BornoilWB(7036WB),pls adv price should be enter for 7036WB. Anyway I will still hold for MNRB till next year,,,

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-28 02:00 | Report Abuse

mnrb engine starting !

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-28 02:09 | Report Abuse

TP for this potential counter atleast 5.30 !

Posted by prudentinvestor > 2013-12-30 15:09 | Report Abuse

RM 5.30 per share is possible provided earnings and dividend rate are maintained.

Posted by TrendingBull > 2013-12-31 01:20 | Report Abuse

Lets just wait for next 2 quarter report. Takaful in the making.

Invest123

1,602 posts

Posted by Invest123 > 2014-01-04 09:47 | Report Abuse

This counter you have to wait and wait.

jvhuat99

20 posts

Posted by jvhuat99 > 2014-01-06 11:48 | Report Abuse

mnrb up suddenly got any good news ?

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-01-06 15:45 | Report Abuse

who knows.. such a undervalue share...net cash per share already more than current price.

Posted by TrendingBull > 2014-01-07 07:52 | Report Abuse

this one takaful in the making ready to boom . got potential to reach tp rm7 or rm8 if quarter to quater good

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2014-01-19 11:46 | Report Abuse

Chief trendingbull, when is it going up?

lepeng85

256 posts

Posted by lepeng85 > 2014-01-24 09:00 | Report Abuse

I used to have it at around 2.7~2.8, sold out at 3.5, after half year back now it is still at around 3.59....

Posted by Kelvin Chong > 2014-01-28 21:13 | Report Abuse

TP RM 5-6 .. undervalued stock and dividend payout was consistence

smalltimer

1,501 posts

Posted by smalltimer > 2014-02-10 16:06 | Report Abuse

"dividend" coming?

Avocado_C

129 posts

Posted by Avocado_C > 2014-02-18 12:25 | Report Abuse

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=li&cat=insurance&type=LR&fund=0&cu=0

MNRB is the only licensed life reinsurer in Malaysia by BNM. I am not very familiar with the reinsurance business, can anyone from the insurance industry enlighten me? Does this mean that MNRB has a "monopoly" business?

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-18 12:51 | Report Abuse

not full monopoly.. all insurance must give minimum 20% to MNRB for reinsurance business.

Avocado_C

129 posts

Posted by Avocado_C > 2014-02-18 14:16 | Report Abuse

Thanks a lot, Gark, 20% is good enough to keep MNRB growing.

104 posts

Posted by 90754248 > 2014-02-18 14:20 | Report Abuse

MNRB owned Takaful Ikhlas too beside the reinsurance business.

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-18 14:53 | Report Abuse

PNB has been trying to sell off this company for some time already... maybe now got buyer.. :)

Posted by TrendingBull > 2014-02-19 09:09 | Report Abuse

@smalltimer moving now d

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-19 11:48 | Report Abuse

AIG is eying the takaful market and re-insurance business in Malaysia...

American International Group Inc (AIG) is plotting its entry into Malaysia's takaful market, lured by the country's economic expansion and an industry that has grown more than fivefold in less than a decade. The insurer, the world's largest before being bailed out by the United States government in 2008, will start a syariah compliant reinsurance business by June and may eventua lly offer a fuller range of services, Antony Lee, chief executive officer at AIG's Malaysian unit, said in a February 11 interview, here. Rising affluence in Malaysia will spur increased demand, he said. Malaysia accounted for 11% of the US$20bn (RM66bn) takaful or Islamic insurance contributions in 2013, a February 13 report from the Malaysia International Islamic Financial Centre showed. (BT)

Avocado_C

129 posts

Posted by Avocado_C > 2014-02-21 10:07 | Report Abuse

Gark, are you implying that AIG is interested in MNRB? I am not sure if BNM / MOF is keen on that. Remember our "Malaysian" pride factor? Btw, I am glad that this counter is inching up.

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-21 10:12 | Report Abuse

PNB has many times said they are very interested for someone to take over MNRB from their hands, open secret already...

Last time Allianz (2011) wanted to buy the takaful business out even got BNM approval but the deal fell through due to PNB wanted a higher price.

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-21 10:13 | Report Abuse

You can check all these from the previous announcement...

So I am not surprised another company might be interested now since MNRB is the ONLY licensed re-insurance company in Malaysia.

Avocado_C

129 posts

Posted by Avocado_C > 2014-02-21 10:19 | Report Abuse

Yeah, understand that PNB has always wanted to get out (didn't know about the Allianz deal though, thanks for the info). Since MetLife is buying AmLife, maybe AIG can also buy some of MNRB, foreign partners may improve their competitiveness.

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-21 10:22 | Report Abuse

well hopefully something good will come through... since AIG is interested in re-insurance company but there is only 1 license holder. Unless government issue another license then jialat...

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-02-21 11:07 | Report Abuse

wow new high rm4@@ better careful dont get stuck at high price..

Posted by hongsaw407 > 2014-02-21 11:17 | Report Abuse

Hai Yan hit Phillipines badly, but were the people there took up insurances? I doubt so bcos they must take up the special natural disaster insurance to get covered. Those poor Filipinos who were hit badly got no money to take cover (sorry Filipinos no heart feeling,I am guessing only) Moreover how much % did MNRB involved ?

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2014-02-21 11:30 | Report Abuse

According to MNRB said no significant exposure to Philippine..

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2014-02-21 11:43 | Report Abuse

this qtr i dont think got div cos usually will give on final qtr so i will prefer monitor another 3 mnths instead perhaps price adjustment ard 3.5 back?