AEON CO. (M) BHD

KLSE (MYR): AEON (6599)

1.11 - 1.13

11 people like this.

3,995 comment(s). Last comment by laucsh 4 days ago

Investeye

2,347 posts

Posted by Investeye > 2021-04-13 10:45 | Report Abuse

Good show today

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-04-13 17:22 | Report Abuse

@TreeTopView Yup a close above 1.34 is good, the next target would be 1.39, a rise above it would trigger more buying pressure. The 1.70~1.75 TP is too optimistic as of now, but who knows what will Aeon does, it has been full of surprises :P

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-13 17:23 | Report Abuse

This break to the upside has started earlier than I thought it might have. The bollinger bands were showing that something had to eventually give and that seems to have happened today.
Very good initial volume today with good consolidation during the afternoon session. Let's see if it can follow through on its good work today by strengthening in the upcoming days.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-13 17:31 | Report Abuse

Hi Wen Jun, I can see how you mention 1.39 as a target but I think that is fairly irrelevant. That 10th and 11th March area is, to me anyway, simply an overshoot area, as the highest close on those days was 1.36.

If this is a serious break to the upside, then 1.44 would be around my first bus stop.

All the best.

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-04-13 17:44 | Report Abuse

Hi TreeTopView, I understand that a candlestick body counts much more than its wicks, but failure to close at those wicks can indicate huge resistance around those prices. It is not always reliable, but it is worth monitoring. I will definitely pay attention to your Fibonacci TPs, good luck and all the best.

Posted by FakeVaccines > 2021-04-15 08:12 | Report Abuse

World covid cases 800k !!!!!
india 200k !!!!!!
Break new high soon
malaysia also keep raising!!!
Wave 4 coming!!!
Vaccine is useless???????????????

Run run run

Bluechip recover stock Crash soon

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-04-15 08:49 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-15 10:11 | Report Abuse

Is it a fake break or a retrace consolidation?
Wouldn't want to see it close below 1.33/1.34.

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-04-15 17:53 | Report Abuse

The market sentiment after lunch hour is bad as the daily covid cases rise over 2000, looks like they are flushing away contra players and weak holders. The last hour rebound is looking good, caught some falling knives.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-16 07:42 | Report Abuse

I had to go out in the afternoon so missed all the "action" at the lower levels. It looks like it was low volume, so not too damaging.
Now back at that mystical and magical 1.31 yet again, so I guess we have to see what the overall market delivers us today.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-16 08:14 | Report Abuse

A quick check shows that there has been no shorting of this stock this week. Could have maybe expected some on the high volume/rise on Tuesday but nothing, so that's a positive, IMO.
Let's blame the covid sentiment for the drop, for now anyway.

Jack888

834 posts

Posted by Jack888 > 2021-04-17 08:56 | Report Abuse

Range 1.24 support and 1.39 resistance...

Jarall

115 posts

Posted by Jarall > 2021-04-19 23:50 | Report Abuse

incoming

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-04-20 17:33 | Report Abuse

Good closing after touching 50MA, but the volume is not high, maybe more consolidations ahead.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-04-29 08:30 | Report Abuse

Let's keep a close eye on this one next week for any indicators that it might move up leading to their Quarterly results. We know what happened in the lead up to the last Quarterly, so maybe, just MAYBE we might see something similar. Nothing showing yet to indicate it will happen but worth keeping an eye on volume increases.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-04-29 08:50 |

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-03 11:38 | Report Abuse

The Covid effect strikes yet again.

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-05-03 19:07 | Report Abuse

It broke below MA50 yet still holding 1.24, things do not look good as of now

t_nike2002

364 posts

Posted by t_nike2002 > 2021-05-05 19:58 | Report Abuse

KL will be on MCO... this stock going Down... better take profit and chao first

Posted by i3lurker > 2021-05-05 20:00 | Report Abuse

MCO will be extended practically forever, you will feel like its gonna be extended forever, until after August lah.

kakakaka

already said Phase 3 cannot start

Posted by robin1967 > 2021-05-05 22:52 | Report Abuse

No profit to take. Lost adalah.

Posted by niceprofit > 2021-05-06 12:56 | Report Abuse

Aeon buy solar power from malakoff..why price drop?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-06 16:45 | Report Abuse

lol.....is that a serious question?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-08 10:28 | Report Abuse

What a week! Yet another week of Covid affecting the overall market, no surprises there, unfortunately.
For the short term at least, there was at least a couple of positives, although there is no guarantee they will remain. The KLCI support of 1,555 remained in place as we saw an upward bounce from 1,556. As for Aeon, it was able to hold the 1.17 support level so now needs to break the former 1.24 support level to have any chance of moving upwards.

If only I had a crystal ball to know if that will happen. Overall market sentiment is weak and non committal, so I'm not holding my breath for a strong rebound for now.
The Quarterly should be out in around 2 weeks time but will any positive news be enough to help a price rise? I've got no bloody idea :)
Good luck....and stay safe and smart.

FutureGains

10,260 posts

Posted by FutureGains > 2021-05-08 14:35 | Report Abuse

HIDE....many aeon is hotspot area...Beware monday

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-09 10:11 | Report Abuse

Yep, the circus continues to roll along with all the clowns taking centre stage.
Perhaps naively, I used to have hope for this country but even that thought is steadily going out the window.
May possibly see a knee jerk reaction on Monday to the latest news with the funds taking the opportunity to drop the price.

Oh well, such is life ~~~

Posted by niceprofit > 2021-05-11 00:41 | Report Abuse

Well its total mco now..no more hope..

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-05-11 05:49 | Report Abuse

Aeon malls are labeled as HIDE!

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-05-11 05:51 | Report Abuse

We r wondering if AEON really screen each and every of their customers for temperature before entering the outlets?!

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-05-19 20:25 | Report Abuse

AEON Posts Higher Profit After Tax of RM22.0 Million in 1Q FY2021

Kuala Lumpur, 19 May 2021 – AEON CO. (M) BHD. (AEON Malaysia or the Company)
posted a higher profit after tax for the first quarter of the financial year 2021 (1Q FY2021)
of RM22.0 million compared to previous year corresponding quarter of RM7.5 million, an
increase of 194%.
This comes on the back of the Company’s agile, entrepreneurial and “genba” approach to
respond to the COVID-19 pandemic resulting in improvements in merchandise gross
margin, changes to marketing mechanics and sustainable cost reduction structures.
Similarly, profit from operations and profit before tax rose to RM72.7 million and RM41.8
million respectively compared to previous year corresponding quarter of RM64.0 million
(13% improvement) and RM25.4 million (65% improvement) respectively.

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-05-19 20:26 | Report Abuse

Customers’ safety is always the Company’s top priority. To maintain physical distancing,
access restrictions were implemented at AEON malls and stores nationwide throughout
the pandemic, for example, by limiting the number of people between 150 to 300 persons
only at any one time in AEON supermarkets depending on the space of the premises. The
reduced patronage has reduced total revenue for the period under review which stood at
RM1.013 billion, 15% lower compared to the preceding year corresponding quarter of
RM1.191 billion.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-20 08:36 | Report Abuse

Taking into consideration the current covid situation, I would have thought this is a very good quarterly result.
Revenue mainly in line or marginally higher than I expected.

Bgt 9963

7,445 posts

Posted by Bgt 9963 > 2021-05-20 08:45 |

ABSBOSS

904 posts

Posted by ABSBOSS > 2021-05-22 19:59 | Report Abuse

No total lockdown.. 1.30 coming

WenJun

542 posts

Posted by WenJun > 2021-05-25 14:43 | Report Abuse

It’s been a while since I touch Aeon, was expecting it to stay sub-1.20, but looking not too bad now, although the volume isn’t too convincing. Could it be a backtest of 1.24~1.25 resistance level (previous support level)?

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-25 17:29 | Report Abuse

Yep, needs to break 1.24, then we MIGHT see it back at 1.28/1.30.
I've been quite impressed with their last two quarterlies, as they seem to be getting some traction in the business model changes. That bodes well for the future when we eventually get out of this Covid shambles.

I remain a holder but have not picked up any extra trading stock.

CUTLOST

5,178 posts

Posted by CUTLOST > 2021-05-30 20:23 | Report Abuse

Aeon come on.

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-05-31 09:44 | Report Abuse

I decided to put a couple of bids in at 1.17 and 1.18 before open, hoping for an initial panic dump. Close, but no cigar :((
Back to the drawing board~~~

TreeTopView

1,352 posts

Posted by TreeTopView > 2021-06-14 15:05 | Report Abuse

A quiet morning with only 307K of shares traded but now the big boys are having a battle at 1.31/1.32 on increasing volume. Almost 2 million gone through this afternoon in the first 30 minutes.

Posted by unicornbird > 2021-07-11 16:03 | Report Abuse

Anyone knows how many new stores Aeon can open in future? currently only 24 stores, can they easily add another 10 stores?

tyrotry

112 posts

Posted by tyrotry > 2021-07-12 14:52 | Report Abuse

will Aeon pull out?

Posted by unicornbird > 2021-07-13 08:50 | Report Abuse

dont worry, they wont pull out. Japan invade malaysia during ww2 for resources, now they can legally own a share of the economy via aeon. why would they exit?

firehawk

4,771 posts

Posted by firehawk > 2021-07-23 10:43 | Report Abuse

Given the lack of positive re-rating catalyst in the near term, we maintain our HOLD call with unchanged TP of RM1.16, based on unchanged 19x FY22 earnings. Despite the various strategies put in place we reckon earnings will be subdued following the longer-than-expected store closures with elevated Covid-19 cases.

Source: Hong Leong Investment Bank Research - 23 Jul 2021

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-07-31 12:28 | Report Abuse

Many of Aeon mall staff infected with covid! More and more Aeon shops will be ordered to close! Watch out!

apple168

6,236 posts

Posted by apple168 > 2021-08-06 15:55 | Report Abuse

OH MY GOODNESS! COVID NEW CASES 20889 in MALAYSIA!