PADINI HOLDINGS BHD

KLSE (MYR): PADINI (7052)

+0.02 (0.60%)

3.35 - 3.45

25 people like this.

8,718 comment(s). Last comment by calvintaneng 4 days ago

kasey

27 posts

Posted by kasey > 2014-06-06 11:38 | Report Abuse

Ya...Tonsil..u r rite...i support u here...Padini has strong fundamental..will keep hold

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2014-06-06 12:01 | Report Abuse

I'm quite confident the sales will soar as we close in to the GST implementation. Consumers will have a tendency to stock up on non-grocery and non perishable items before next April. Padini will have a few extremely strong quarters ahead. In the meantime, let's enjoy this round's dividends... and hopefully, stronger dividends ahead for the next few quaters :)

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-06-06 14:37 | Report Abuse

Dear Investors: Sales might soar. Nonetheless, focus must be on mental preparation and how to invest in the company in the next ten years to build wealth.

Posted by TonsilBasher > 2014-06-06 19:46 | Report Abuse

records is stronger than words only

500plus

37 posts

Posted by 500plus > 2014-06-06 22:00 | Report Abuse

Hello all. I just glanced through the comments here and I saw a lot of confused investors. But luckily, I am free enough to give all of you a guiding light. Padini, in recent years, have become a dividend play. (Does BAT/JTINTER ring a bell?) Do not expect this counter to shoot up in a short period.

Posted by stockoperator > 2014-06-07 16:30 | Report Abuse

Let me put it this way. Prices would consolidate 80% of the time. Collect ten years dividend. Be conservative in earning prospect. Price in ten years is your destiny.

xn7891

68 posts

Posted by xn7891 > 2014-06-09 15:36 | Report Abuse

today no active kah?

danny1

16 posts

Posted by danny1 > 2014-06-10 13:45 | Report Abuse

quiet, you upset someone here....

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-06-10 16:29 | Report Abuse

Buying few lots at RM1.89~

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2014-06-10 16:30 | Report Abuse

abit weird the price trend today, as if got ppl purposely pushing it down but heavy buying rate at more than 90%, Hmmm... anybody would like to share their views?

xn7891

68 posts

Posted by xn7891 > 2014-06-10 16:38 | Report Abuse

skyz u means somebody purposely push down the price and buying with the heavy rate back?

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2014-06-10 16:45 | Report Abuse

yeah. maybe i'm still new with stocks, very seldom i get to observe such scenario. the buy rate is very heavy, yet the stock is going south instead of "buying" its way up. Hmm... anybody willing to share the explanation with me? Thanks.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-06-10 17:28 | Report Abuse

I got some at 2.89 too. I have built sufficient holding on Padini. Will stop buying for the moment unless there is a fire sale.

kc_kc

52 posts

Posted by kc_kc > 2014-06-10 17:38 | Report Abuse

maybe price being surpressed to allow big buyer to accumulate cheap before dividend ex date tomorrow.

brendonyeap

1,648 posts

Posted by brendonyeap > 2014-06-10 22:43 | Report Abuse

The buyers are all fake ones....

Investor

Posted by Investor > 2014-06-11 09:54 | Report Abuse

guys, if i buy 2day any dividend? pls guide tq

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-11 10:13 | Report Abuse

Investor - NO

Posted by passion2win > 2014-06-11 10:21 | Report Abuse

powerwk, in order to get div, we should buy a day before expired date ? thanks.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-11 11:21 | Report Abuse

Yes..... you can easily see from the yesterday closing price - 1.88 and today in the previous closing price should show 1.85 around 3 cents down goes toward the dividends 2.5 cents. Hope this help.

Advice: Don't buy share because they give dividends and sell once you get it. This almost similar to very short term investor. You won't gain much especially from Padini counter by using this method. Perhaps other counter can give you higher profit and you have try before. Suggest to THINK for long term if you want to invest in stock market. Buy because of their fundamental strength; because of their future strategy and good management. This way even if you still not making much money but pretty sure you won't making negative also :-)

Posted by passion2win > 2014-06-11 13:11 | Report Abuse

Hi powerwk, thanks for your advise.. I'm plan to hold for upcoming dividend, not to make money with share price margin.

johnny cash

6,400 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2014-06-11 13:24 |

johnny cash

6,400 posts

Posted by johnny cash > 2014-06-11 13:28 |

500plus

37 posts

Posted by 500plus > 2014-06-11 13:47 | Report Abuse

It is funny to see self-proclaimed long term investor in Padini reading the comment section here everyday. Isnt this a little bit contradicting??

To the hopeful investors in Padini, do enjoy the ride. In the near term, this counter has a few obstacles to cross before it can reach new high. First, the selling by Islamic funds has to stop. Second, for the next quarter, Padini has to show earning surprises to excite the big operators. Third, the upcoming GST next year is a huge impetus against the rise of retail stocks. Well, I am no economist but as a consumer myself, low and middle class spenders will feel the greatest pinch from the new tax regimen. And GST can be bearish for all retail stocks in general in the medium term (2 years down).

So, what is left in Padini? The only thing which will attract the market's attention now is the 5%+ dividend yield. I could foresee a dividend fund coming in provided that the index continue to rise. And also, do not rule out the potential rise in interest rates in our country. 0.25% may not sound much but you cant rule it out completely either. I expect Padini to challenge 1.70 in the near term.

shinado

413 posts

Posted by shinado > 2014-06-11 16:01 | Report Abuse

Hi 500plus, most people come here to view, learn and exchange ideas irregardless of being long/short term investor. I've been holding for Padini for a year and will continue to do so as long as the company is fundamentally sound. And yet, I'm here almost everyday reading the comments section because everyone have different views and it's good to look at different perspectives before making a buy/hold/sell decision. I learned a lot from here as I'm still new to investing.

As for your outlook of Padini, I have to agree with you. With the current selling by Islamic funds still on-going, I expect the the price will go down further (slowly).

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-11 20:03 | Report Abuse

As a long term investor should not review this section daily? LOL....

If the price keep going down and lower then the price those so called Islamic funds is buying the they have he right to hold, yes? If they bought at lower price then current one they should already out, yes?

ikan bilis

241 posts

Posted by ikan bilis > 2014-06-12 23:25 | Report Abuse

powerwk, mind to explain further , i confuse liao

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-13 00:13 | Report Abuse

haha.... sorry to confuse you.

As far as I know if the Islamic fund buying Padini in the past with lower price (e.g. 1.6) then current price, let use closing price of 1.88 on June 11, then they have to let go the share on hand immediately. If they buy Padini in the past with higher price (e.g. 2.1) then they have the right to hold the stock until it reach 2.1 then only sell.

Of course I did not know the rule what if the share price keep stay at below 2.1 for some time what those fund manager can and will do???

Well, if someone see my comment and think I have miss understand something then please share and correct my comments. I'm more then happy to know :-)

Again, whatever the case, Padini is always in my portfolio as long term counter.

mfed12

48 posts

Posted by mfed12 > 2014-06-13 09:57 | Report Abuse

funny..Padini is now shariah compliant again..will be back on SC's list in Nov 2014..I dont think islamic fund selling much of padini..maybe others that may afraid the price going down after removal from shariah list..I think managament assure the islamic fund that they has adressed its shariah issue..

mfed12

48 posts

Posted by mfed12 > 2014-06-13 10:02 | Report Abuse

padini only selling clothes..not liquor or gambling company..they only need to comply their financial; cash/asset ratio etc to be shariah compliant..not a big issue..

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-06-13 13:14 | Report Abuse

By Maybank Research 13 June 2014

Expansion plans still intact – looking at about 7 PCS and 7 BO outlets in FY15 versus 5 PCS and 7 BO in FY14.

Company is now Shariah compliant and hopes to be back on the SC’s list in Nov 2014

BUY - recent selldown provides buying opportunity. TP of MYR2.35 on 14.8x CY14 PER, dividend yield attractive at 6%.

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/staticfile/242416.jsp

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2014-06-13 15:27 | Report Abuse

bsngpg, u made a good decision.

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-06-13 15:46 | Report Abuse

Hi lching: Pure Luck lah!
In fact, I made more( 1x Note3) from Huayang for about the same timing. On the other hand I was unlucky in disposing GT too early, 7 x IPhone slipped away.
Luck ah luck.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-13 18:11 | Report Abuse

mfed12-Where you get the info that padini is fact with Syariah compliance again? Personally, a bit disappointed if Padini back to Syariah list.

shinado

413 posts

Posted by shinado > 2014-06-13 20:40 | Report Abuse

powerwk, based on the latest research report from Maybank:
"Separately, management has addressed its Shariah issue (the stock was dropped from the Securities Commission’s (SC) Shariah list in May 2014) and expects to be
put back on the list in Nov 2014"

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-06-13 20:50 | Report Abuse

Powerwk- U din notice wat i posted previously.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2014-06-13 21:10 | Report Abuse

hahaha bsngpg, nevermind u slipped 7X iPhone cause selling GT but can made 14 x iPhone from MPI. being in the market for so many years, i would say luck is the main factor in determine your total return.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-13 21:45 | Report Abuse

Haiz..... I hate that Padini going back to Syariah list in November 2014. I wish that not going to happen in November 2014 LOL. If keep on going back and forth between this which the regulation may also change from time to time. This can only make the people that have the authority to decide Syariah compliance become richer. I could be wrong or think too much. Just imagine if I know who will be newly in and who will be out in November 2014. I will buy (newly in counter) and sell (counter will be out) first and get in back later. THEY this because to make some group making easy money.

Benson911- most of the time I read the latest comments and did not go back to the last comment I had read unless I have the time :-) sorry I miss your previous post :-(

Posted by Soki Phya > 2014-06-16 23:53 | Report Abuse

Padini really need a new marketing manager to promote it's brand. IN terms of brand awareness, it is losing out to H&M and Uniqlo. This could affect sales in the long term. If they can't heck it out, they could be acquired by those big boys.

Last I heard, Padini is losing out in getting good locations in mall compare to Uniqlo and H&M. The shopping malls prefer to give priority of locations to Uniqlo and H&M.

Posted by optimusx8888 > 2014-06-17 00:07 | Report Abuse

Now stil got ppls wear padini meh? Kampong ppls maybe la.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2014-06-17 00:17 | Report Abuse

never under estimate kampong people, they are the mass market.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-17 07:45 | Report Abuse

Soki - if you are good in marketing too, may be can consider applying that position to help the company and the investor :-) (provided you hold many lots in this counter)

You heard or confirm regarding the priority of location in the mall? I believe should be base on tender of render. If I'm the mall management i will choose the highest tender :-) that also mean the company need higher revenue + profit to cover the rental. I wish Padini don't tender too high and get into trouble later. Knowing that rental maybe small fish for them but that also every month commitment too.

I wonder people saying uniglo are good here ever get into uniqlo and look around their price and quality plus their design trend??

Optimusx8888 - unfortunately I'm wearing :-) and have tons of it now. Unfortunately I'm city boy too. Surprisingly kampong also wear padini. That sound good to me.

benson911

639 posts

Posted by benson911 > 2014-06-17 17:47 | Report Abuse

Pls wake up, Padini is one of top 50 brand in Malaysia with value USD92 Million for year 2013. If u do survey and ask people about Uniqlo or H&M vs Padini, Malaysians (both rural or urban) in general still recognize better on Padini.

http://brandirectory.com/league_tables/table/malaysia-100-2013

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-17 22:16 | Report Abuse

Thumb up!

johnte

192 posts

Posted by johnte > 2014-06-17 22:20 | Report Abuse

great stock, keep for long term.

shinado

413 posts

Posted by shinado > 2014-06-18 10:38 | Report Abuse

I just hope Padini would discontinue giving out dividend every quarter. It's time to retain earnings and expand more aggressively. Price would definitely fall in short term but then it will be good to collect again as the future will be looking good!

Posted by wannabeinvestor > 2014-06-18 13:12 | Report Abuse

investors choose buy because of steady dividend given...if discontinue, it won't look attractive as a package..

bsngpg

2,842 posts

Posted by bsngpg > 2014-06-18 13:21 | Report Abuse

why rear goose which cannot lay eggs.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-18 14:42 | Report Abuse

Padini have the smart and strong management. They know.....

1. What investor want in Padini is to grow slowly and steadily plus enjoy some sweetener from time to time (Dividend). At the same time investor will have the capital gain as well.

2. Not all business can be aggressively and it also depend on stage & demand. At this stage, what they are looking for is every BO or PCS they open will make profit for the company and the investor. We can't simply tembak and open BO/PCS every 20KM radius. If that going to loss money why they want to do it???

3. Profit is more important than aggressiveness (it's also depend what you mean aggressively :-)

shinado

413 posts

Posted by shinado > 2014-06-18 15:30 | Report Abuse

Of course I want Padini to give out dividends every year. What I mean is probably give out a little bit less in exchange of maybe placing more ads on billboards, radio and TV? Correct me if I wrong, but maybe H&M is advertising a little more aggressive than Padini.

powerwk

1,690 posts

Posted by powerwk > 2014-06-18 16:02 | Report Abuse

Do you know how much the ads in radio and TV will cost? I think the brand itself is not a bigger issues as it a top 100 brand in Malaysia.