KNM Group sets sights on ‘path to profitability this year’
KNM Group sets sights on ‘path to profitability this year’Friday, March 31st, 2017 at , Business | Corporate Malaysia
KNM Group Bhd, which was in the red last year, appears to be turning the corner and is expected to move into the “path of profitability this year” with overseas ventures beginning to kick in.
The one time darling of investors saw its share price plunge from the dizzying heights of RM10 in 2008 to about 56 sen last Friday. KNM chief financial officer Richard Voon said that as at July 2012, its orderbook stood at RM5.1 billion, its waste to energy projects coming up to a total RM2.8 billion and its core products accounting for the remaining RM2.3 billion.
“Our vision is to be among the top five process equipment manufacturers and turnkey systems provider for oil and gas, petrochemicals, minerals, power, environmental, renewable energy and biotechnology industries,” he told The Malaysian Reserve in an email interview.
“When we started KNM group, we were only providing low-end process equipment, but we have evolved to manufacture world class high-end process equipment and are a systems provider with state-of-theart technology.”
The company, which was in the red in 2011, is expected to return to the path of profitability this year with its Asia & Oceania division and Europe division contributing positively but the performance of its Americas division is “still under water,” says Voon.
Analysts tracking the counter said that its weak results in recent years were attributed to increased competition in the lower-to-middle range process equipment segment and reduced demand for process equipment due to economic cyclical factors.
They added that in the high-end process equipment, KNM also saw modest increase in new contracts secured due to general slowdown in capital expenditure by oil and gas majors.
From a geographical viewpoint, the group is exposed to potential macro-economic difficulty in Europe, given the rather high revenue contribution from its European business.
Voon said the South America region continues to weigh down on the Americas performance due to the slowdown on its orderbook compared to previous years, however this is cushioned somewhat in North America’s contribution from the Canadian oil sands projects.
On its immediate plans, Voon said that the company planned to list Borsig on the Singapore Stock Exchange (SGX). The move will have an indicative market capitalisation of between RM1.8 billion and RM1.9 billion, as indicated by UOB Bank Ltd in the preliminary valuation for the company, which is at 15%-20% discount to the current sector average.
OSK Research Sdn Bhd analyst Danny Chan said the Borsig listing could be “the silver lining” that the company was craving for in its return to profitability. He added the reason behind the listing of Borsig was to raise funds to expand Borsig’s compressor business.
“Presently, the compressor division is already running at a maximum capacity and there is a strong order backlog due to the delay in the delivery of the gearbox, a key component to complete the compressor which it outsources from a third party,” he said.
Chan said Borsig was expected to be the main earnings driver for the company in the future. He added that while KNM had been successful in securing contracts in the past, it needed to get “its act together” in the execution and operations of these projects.
Some of the other lingering concerns is that while it appears to be building orderbooks, it appears to be sacrificing margins.
On this, Voon said about 2% of its total orderbooks were from the legacy low-margin projects when KNM had to lower its margins to remain competitive against its counterparts in Korea.
He said this was evidenced in its quarterly results released to Bursa Malaysia where firsthalf margins were 17% compared to 15% in the corresponding period of the previous year.
“Moving forward, efforts are on getting this up to a sustainable average margin of 20% which we hope to achieve by filling our orderbook with more mid- to high-end product segments,” said Voon.
On the status of the UK job, Voon said that its RM2.4 billion Peterborough waste to energy plant was expected to span three years and once completed, will provide the group with sustainable recurring revenue base, to complement and stablise the existing business which is by and large dependent on the oil and gas industry.
“We are nearing financial closure, and Exim Bank being the lead arranger is expected to complete the syndication soon,” he said.
On its gearing, Voon said its gearing was 0.71 times as at December 2011. The company is undertaking a rights issue exercise, proceeds of which will be used to pare down its current debts.
Voon said that upon completion of the rights issue in November, its gearing level was expected to improve at 0.55 and could see gearing level further reduced to 0.28 when the warrants were fully exercised.
Hopefully today will be a green day for KNM, but personally I think it will end not that much different than today's opening price. After its final hike last Friday, there's a possibility today will be another round of flushing out contra players to force sell their purchases.
agree with Mustovoi.BORSIG already expand their big size chemical compressor business at Europe with their green technology ..waste heat recovery system, waste to energy system etc....KNM plan to listed BORSIG at Singapore Stock Exchange to expand BORSIG.KNM share price need to perform well so banks will support KNM to listed BORSIG at Singapore Stock Exchange.This cannot be done in short period.Rome was not built in one day.If BORSIG sucessfully listed KNM share pricr will be back to glory.Have faith in KNM.Have faith in General Lee !
morning to all knm fighters.. let sing red troopers song.. let we sing louder..
we're red stock troopers.. be a man is ur soul.. dare to die spirit we follow..
we'll stay on position..to take a strikes.. we're soldiers red stock hunters.. red we come..green we go.. rogue wave we ride.. calm wind we let it go..
dare to die we make it happen.. fear we blow it..brave we take it.. dare to buy that we should ride..
we're res stock troopers.. be a man is ur soul.. dare to die spirit we follow..
die die never diee either.. we dare fight to be a winner.. up we take a pride.. down we dare to ride..
tut tut trooooperrrss.. we are real fighters..we stand fight.. up we take a pride..down we dare to ride..
Morning all, molah molah molahhh yuai molah molah molah............ dont wolly on tis counter. why? coz directors buyin is good indicator of uptrending + Borsig 100% one + cronyism inside for current goverment....so molah molah molah....
remember even myeg being fitnah one losmah lah apalah wak jahidlah apalah can up up...so for knm even more powerful cronyism will nevermind, uptrending one ohhh yeahhh
molah molah molah, yuai molah lai lai lai...sori wa ala ilas2 pasar malam seller laaa...wa suka pasar malam ka pasar pagi kaaa..molah
Sell Borsig to give special dividen with 1.7 b euro . Similar like sapulah , air Asia ? Hopefully not selling goose to gain instant golden eggs ! Come on , up up up up the way ( Superman slogan )
Wow, Fantastic! Damn hot man KNM ! Now already traded at => 0.38 (+0.015) (+4.1%) ! Currently KNM was ranked no. 10 in the top active list with tot. traded vol= 9,215,000 (about 9.2 million shares) ! Keep it up KNM !
@investor_ds, (+0.015) and (4.1%) denote the changes in the stock price relative to the previous trading day's closing price. Yesterday the closing price was 0.365, and the current market price is 0.380, so the difference is +0.015, whereas the other figure is the percentage difference.
In reality, the warrant is quite useless right now, as the mother still has a long way to go to reach RM1.
The warrant should not go up anymore by now, or for the greater good, should drop to anywhere between 15-20 sen. This might sound very cruel but people need to see at the bigger picture here.
Or else, people will keep on punting the warrant while leaving the mother severely lagging behind, which will cause the collapse of both the mother and her son.
No, Warrant still ganas, you can have a look yourself, I do not have much money like you, the only way I could get big percentage profit is through cheaper shares like warrant.
This book is the result of the author's many years of experience and observation throughout his 26 years in the stockbroking industry. It was written for general public to learn to invest based on facts and not on fantasies or hearsay....
Leempeh
290 posts
Posted by Leempeh > 2019-07-24 06:46 |