ARB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ARBB (7181)

0.035 - 0.04

62 people like this.

25,520 comment(s). Last comment by whistlebower99 3 weeks ago

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 12:37 | Report Abuse

Buy and hold, buy and hold, Arbb train is coming thru

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 12:55 | Report Abuse

Troubled Malaysian carriers to get RM10bil help from Khazanah?

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia’s cash-strapped airlines could get up to RM10 billion financial assistance from Khazanah Nasional Bhd.

Sources said the potential RM10 billion would specifically be in the form of loans guaranteed by Khazanah to help the local carriers cope with the Covid-19 pandemic.

This was meant as a short-term relief for them to cover operating cost and improve liquidity, a source told the New Straits Times.

The pandemic has exacerbated the local carriers’ yields and profitability, which had already been compressed by overcapacity and irrational levels of competition particularly in Asia Pacific.

“The assistance depends on how long the Covid-19 crisis will last. Most airlines have cash reserves less than a month to keep their operations, except AirAsia Group,” the source said.

He said the government’s intervention via the sovereign wealth fund would be critical at this juncture to assist local airlines such as Malaysia Airlines Bhd, AirAsia, Firefly and Malindo Air as the air transport industry supported about 450,000 jobs in Malaysia in 2018.

“The short-term relief is important for local airlines to continue operations and keep their staff employed amid capacity reduction in certain affected routes, aircraft grounding and travel restrictions enacted to curb the spread of the virus,” the source added.

Khazanah managing director Datuk Shahril Ridza Ridzuan said he could not comment on the possible financial aid.

“Apologies but things are too fluid right now,” he said when contacted.

Malaysian carriers recently initiated a voluntary unpaid leave scheme and at least 10 per cent reduction of its senior management salary including their allowances following their reduced operations due to the pandemic.

Malaysia Airlines group chief executive officer Captain Izham Ismail confirmed that the national carrier had been in discussions with the government on emergency measures to help it sustain operation.

He said the discussions did not involve on mergers between Malaysia Airlines and AirAsia Group.

“Solutions to address the industry oversupply situation and long-term sustainability need to be addressed holistically.

“While mergers between airlines is one option, addressing the issues via regulations and policies should also not be ignored as it could just be as effective,” he said.

Izham added that any merger proposal would need to take into account anti-competition regulations, and address the numerous implementation or integration challenges including the people aspects, and respective commitments/liabilities of both airline groups.

Sobie Aviation consultant and Singapore-based independent analyst Brendan Sobie said the Covid-19 crisis presented a rare opportunity for the Malaysian airlines industry to benefit from a reset.

“However, securing government support is a critical first step if the industry is to weather this crisis and transform,” he told the NST.

Sobie pointed out that government support was needed globally and not just in Malaysia, adding that some countries had committed to supportint their aviation sector.

“This is not about the survival of the fittest airlines but about which governments will follow the likes of the US and Singapore in supporting their airlines,” he added.

Sobie said there were lots of potential components in a government support package including job support schemes, loans or loan guarantees, and reduced or waived taxes, charges and fees.

“Ideally a package in Malaysia would include all these components, resulting in a lower cost base, ensuring sufficient liquidity and avoiding layoffs.

“By maintaining jobs at pre-crisis levels, airlines will be able to restore capacity as soon as the crisis is over and resume growth,” he said adding that this would drive an overall economic recovery and ensuring Kuala Lumpur’s role as an air hub is not diminished,” he added.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 12:56 | Report Abuse

How many times and how much MAS has already taken from the nation? close it down la. We are poor now, no more natural resource to waste away like in tun m time. merge with airasia n kick out mas deadwood

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 12:57 | Report Abuse

woi quellingblaster, “The assistance depends on how long the Covid-19 crisis will last. Most airlines have cash reserves less than a month to keep their operations, EXCEPT AirAsia Group,” the source said.

Pls read carefully EXCEPT ...meaning....

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:01 | Report Abuse

Apala quellingblaster , ja ja ja

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:04 | Report Abuse

Hi quellingblaster your beloved Donald Trump......from "its a hoax", indifference to now.............expects 200,000 deaths.

That is managing expectations. Later in the season, when deaths are well below this figure, he claims credit/ victory and expect to win re election as a victorious war President......All the previous lies, mismanagement, ignoring experts/ intelligence to be buried.

managing expectations is also what the FED and financial markets do all the time.

the name of the game is always about managing expectations............in the democratic West........its always about managing expectations/ about marketing

Donald Trump can win re election, but recession is here ....

so stock market.....in the short term also about managing expectations. The idea is that when u can manage people's expectations , u can control the share market......................

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:06 | Report Abuse

hoho

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:06 | Report Abuse

What expectation you can expect from alipay88 X factor?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:08 | Report Abuse

X factor...........................worth its weight in gold once u have mastered the art of X factor................

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:10 | Report Abuse

Haha xfactor alipay88

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:10 | Report Abuse

Is it the black gold? Now you see it, now you don't! ho ho ho

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 13:14 | Report Abuse

Woi quellingblaster, u think U.S really going to have 200,000 deaths meh? Its all about managing expectations.Now that EU/ US both taking actions,the number of deaths will be contained very fast,total deaths by US by Nov 2020 will be significantly less than 50,000.Or maybe just 20,000 , who knows.

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:15 | Report Abuse

jajaja Quellingblaster..............................X factor is the difference between success and failure...................

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:16 | Report Abuse

QuellingBlaster.................for those in power, managing expectations is the key to success.

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-04-02 13:20 | Report Abuse

Its lunch time, choo choo arbb train coming pass by

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-04-02 13:24 | Report Abuse

Today lunch is salmon rice, yummy2

Posted by RevenueQueenie > 2020-04-02 13:27 | Report Abuse

Wah today you had salmon rice, nice...I am having nasi lemak only

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-04-02 13:28 | Report Abuse

Good enjoy your meal guys!

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:30 | Report Abuse

ho ho ho alipay88,

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 13:30 | Report Abuse

You have so high expectation on Trump.
During 2018-19 flu season about 35 million people in US contracted the flu with about 34,000 died.
So do your math.

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 13:32 | Report Abuse

woi quellingblaster, total deaths by the virus = direct death by the virus + indirectly death through poverty + indirect death of other patients due to lack of facilities.

indirect deaths through poverty due to lock down,India the figure may be millions.

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 13:32 | Report Abuse

managing expectations,once u can convince people deaths will be 200,000,if u are Donald Trump,u have already won.

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:35 | Report Abuse

QuellingBlaster.........................total US direct deaths from Corona to Nov will not exceed 50,000 likely closer to 20,000..................u can write this down , signed by me.......................................yours truly.

this virus, once u have distancing, that is the end of it within 2-3 months.

alipay88

365 posts

seasonal flu.........nobody takes action surely the spread is worse.............also seasonal flu harder to control and easier to spread...........

corona is mainly through droplets...............seasonal flu through droplets, aero and surface too..............................

alipay88

365 posts

the cases of corona surface and aero spread is small.....................

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:36 | Report Abuse

stop people from kissing, hugging, shaking hands in public.......should be the first step.

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:36 | Report Abuse

x factor is like managing expectations............

those in power makes their own reality..............

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:37 | Report Abuse

QuellingBlaster......................kpower $ 1.60, SCIB $ 1.80..........

as I say, when market green, these two greener...........isn't this what people want?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:38 | Report Abuse

kpower $ 1.60, SCIB $ 1.80..........

as I say, when market green, these two greener...........isn't this what people want?

its called managing expectations, also called X factor............

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:43 | Report Abuse

JPMorgan Asset Management is cautioning investors against rushing to buy equities because the market remains susceptible to negative developments in the coronavirus crisis.

“I’m not yet confident in advocating overweight risk assets positions because you’re vulnerable in that scenario to a deterioration of the news on the medical front,” said Hugh Gimber, a global market strategist at JPMorgan Asset Management, in a phone interview. “The policy measures have helped but they’re not on their own enough for us to call a definitive bottom in this market.”While global equities rallied last week and on Monday amid optimism that fiscal and monetary support measures can limit the fallout from the pandemic, the situation around the virus remains critical and companies are continuing to slash their earnings outlooks. The full extent of damage to corporate profits remains unknown, making it dangerous to turn risk-on, Gimber said.The strategist at the $1.9 trillion asset manager is closely monitoring the strength of the labor market in the U.S. and Europe for signs of how quickly the economies will be able to rebound once lockdown measures are lifted. This data can provide a signal to resume buying equities, he said.During these challenging times, Gimber recommends focusing on quality companies with strong balance sheets and low leverage both in stocks and bonds.

“You want to be investing in companies that have the balance sheet flexibility to be able to handle this short-term hit to activity and come out on the other side the strongest,” he said.

In the bond market, he favors government debt with shorter duration over debt with a longer-term maturity as he sees the gains there as more limited. He’s particularly keen on investment-grade bonds that benefit from the U.S. Federal Reserve’s and other central banks’ purchases and support measures.

He’s much more cautious on high-yield debt issued by companies with weaker balance sheets. “The central banks will help solve the liquidity challenge for corporates, but they can’t help to solve the solvency issue for those more under-pressure names,” Gimber said.

Still, the current level of high-yield bond spreads offers a good entry opportunity for those looking to invest for one or two years because in the short-term, volatility can be significant, he said.

U.S. equities advanced on Tuesday after economic data topped estimates and 10-year Treasuries climbed. Still, coronavirus remained at the top of investors’ minds as Spain suffered its deadliest day of the pandemic, and European governments doubled down on efforts to maintain rigid lockdowns.

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:44 | Report Abuse

well..even wallen the bufalo can be considered speculating and gambling...............................gambling that the virus has changed nothing...............

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:45 | Report Abuse

that his tried and tested procedure of the last few decades still applies,

gambling that buy and hold is still best................

but.....buy and hold is tortured so much , still can?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 13:45 | Report Abuse

when the history of bursa 2020 is written, it will say.............win more, lose more; win less, lose less.

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 13:52 | Report Abuse

hi happy investors of arb

Mredar

112 posts

Posted by Mredar > 2020-04-02 13:53 | Report Abuse

Quellingblaster How many times and how much MAS has already taken from the nation? close it down la. We are poor now, no more natural resource to waste away like in tun m time. merge with airasia n kick out mas deadwood
02/04/2020 12:56 PM

Hahaaaaa... Just pondering..are u a Malaysiam and truely loyal? What a shame,? Where are you going to put all the lay off staff, ...... Surely you re aware... the carrier is a strategic assets to the nation...you sholud understand better my friend. Bz is up and down. During down times you re running away ... And left us... What kind of samaritan you re...

Like it or you dont like..the airline needs to be keep flying as the nation flag carrier regardless..issue hhere is the management.....the people entrusted to manage it....correct talent for the right job..sureky success prevails.... This is the difficult parts as hiddens hands are aplenty to reap opportunities for gain regardless...emmmmm

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 13:54 | Report Abuse

Extending lockdown beyond mid April will see massive business closure! Reality!

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 13:55 | Report Abuse

Even now, so many small business especially those hawkers or small business earning their wage daily, are suffering! Really suffering! Many already ran out of money now!
In short, even today, so many small business can't afford to start their business once lockdown is lifted!
If lockdown extended further, i doubt they can even dream of starting their business!
This is the reality for the men and women on the street! You favorite chicken rice seller may not see the light of day! Same with many others out there! It's a gloom reality many are suffering in silence!
I hope MCA would be generous to extend interest free loans to this poor local chinese businesses! As i doubt government of the day would!
As for the malays, they are sure to be taken care of, let's not deny this fact!
As for indians, i am sorry but MIC just not relevant at all! It's has lost it's place long time ago!
The same with bumis as their local parties may not be rich or their politicians couldn't care less!

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-04-02 13:57 | Report Abuse

mostly will extend

Posted by RevenueQueenie > 2020-04-02 14:01 | Report Abuse

Sad to say it ,As for DAP don't expect much! The Lims only know how to get money from you and me through their dinner donation! But to return that gesture is not in their vocabulary! That's for sure! They turn so proud nowadays until lose to a backside lover gangs

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 14:03 | Report Abuse

traderstrades, not proud to mention it but true! high chances likely we see extension!

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 14:06 | Report Abuse

ho ho ho, oh Please! Even now, so many small business

even small business got some savings..........

its malay dudes, indonesian daily workers mostly have no savings.

its rob or starve............choose one. ho ho ho

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 14:09 | Report Abuse

Woi quellingblaster, wah alo eh Please lo! This is something very bad to see! have seen many took their lives because they accumulate so much debt with loan sharks! This is no joke! I hope you turn over a new leaf! You used to be on a good side with jokes but i guess you lost it since tun m turn expiry!

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 14:11 | Report Abuse

90percent case

traderstrades mostly will extend
02/04/2020 1:57 PM

Happy lock up on your own home

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-04-02 14:12 | Report Abuse

Special version this year puasa & raya, all celebrate quietly at own home..........................

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-04-02 14:14 | Report Abuse

govt purposely let people think two weeks only just to avoid panic

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 14:16 | Report Abuse

Raya? And forget balik kampong!

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-04-02 14:17 | Report Abuse

traderstrades , Just look at daily new infected! Still above 100! And Daily death! Mostly will extend!

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 14:20 | Report Abuse

ho ho ho all developing countries only has crude weapon against virus....bringing a sledge hammer to the problem.

when crisis hits, it is developing countries that will suffer most.......in the case of India, lock downs can cause millions of deaths through poverty.....no lock downs, millions will die in India due to virus ho ho ho.

Posted by Wellington Sky > 2020-04-02 14:22 | Report Abuse

QuellingBlaster, Do we have other choices?
1. Lockdown, extend till Corona stop, then business as usual.
2. Business as usual, pandemic becomes worse, a lot of fatalities, at the end business also collapse. Public fear,health system also may collapse!

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-04-02 14:25 | Report Abuse

Singapore, smart country.....gold standard in the corona fight.

COVID-19 Leadership Lessons From Singapore: Be Ready, Be Bold & Be Decisive Amid The Uncertainty

Singapore, smart country.

Malay unity government, 100 years later still dumb and stupid, cannot compare.

smart country...........speed, targeted measures, decisive but no panic, use brains/ effort

Malay unity government...........brings a sledge hammer to the problem., every crisis is an opportunity to fatten somebody's pocket.

....with Mahathir in charge, Malaysia may be closer to the Singapore example..................