ARB BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ARBB (7181)

0.035 - 0.04

62 people like this.

25,520 comment(s). Last comment by whistlebower99 3 weeks ago

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-05-22 10:18 | Report Abuse

If you are a top contributor to WHO , naturally is unjustified to be ridiculed , mocked and shamed for the world to see. Trump's act is a wake up call to the world manipulated by interests of countries using the free press to harm the US . Time for the world to demand the rich and billionaires to contribute from their gains in a free world maintained by the US and the West .

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-05-22 10:18 | Report Abuse

alipay88, I read that Bill Gates has now become the biggest contributor to WHO. He was doing so before Trump pulled the funding to the order of about $40 Million/year. Since then I recall he has pledged another $150 Million. My numbers may not be altogether correct, but this particular Billionaire is doing his bit.

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-05-22 10:20 | Report Abuse

WASHINGTON: US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo took fresh aim at China over the coronavirus on Wednesday, calling the US$2 billion that Beijing has pledged to fight the pandemic “paltry” compared to the hundreds of thousands of lives lost and trillions of dollars of damage.

Pompeo rejected Chinese President Xi Jinping’s claim that Beijing had acted with transparency after the outbreak in China, and said if Xi wanted to show that, he should hold a news conference and allow reporters to ask him anything they liked.

“President Xi claimed this week that China is acting with openness, transparency responsibility. I wish it were so,” Pompeo told a State Department news conference, charging that Beijing continued to withhold virus samples and access to facilities, to censor discussion, “and much, much more.”

US-China tensions have spiked in recent weeks, with Pompeo and President Donald Trump slamming Beijing’s handling of the outbreak.

The US has been hardest hit in the global pandemic.

At a time when many nations worldwide are urging for unity and cooperation to ramp up the fight against the virus, Trump has proposed quitting the World Health Organization over its response and called it a “puppet of China,” while Xi has pledged it US$2 billion.

“I look forward to seeing them fulfil that US$2 billion commitment,” Pompeo said.

“China’s contributions to fighting the pandemic are paltry compared to the cost that they have imposed on the world.

“This plague has cost roughly 90,000 American lives more than 36 million Americans have lost their jobs since March; globally 300,000 lives.

“Cost of pandemic could be as much as US$9 trillion, according to our estimates, cost imposition on the world of the Chinese Communist Party’s failures.”

He accused China of threatening Australia with “economic retribution” for seeking an independent inquiry into the outbreak’s origins and charged that WHO Director-General Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus had had “unusually close ties to Beijing … long before this current pandemic,” something “deeply troubling.”

The WHO and the Chinese embassy in Washington did not immediately respond to a request for comment on Pompeo’s accusations.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:21 | Report Abuse

Damage done by your president and yourself, so blaming others will not bring back the dead to life.

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-05-22 10:21 | Report Abuse

While China is responsible to a certain extent & there may be factual cover-ups which led to late admission, the US administration was also late in waking up to deal with the pandemic domestically. We have 2 bunch of morons...China & US.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-05-22 10:23 | Report Abuse

HO ho HO, “This plague has cost roughly 90,000 American lives, more than 36 million Americans have lost their jobs since March; globally 300,000 lives. Could be as much as US$9 trillion, according to our estimates.
@@@@@

Even Americans do not believe your lies, absurd allegations and demands. The loss of American lives is due solely to the incompetence of the Trump administration.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:24 | Report Abuse

Yeah! Everyone in the world is wishing that Covid-19 visited the biggest Moron is the USA President follows with their Monkey State Secretary.
This will then teach them a lesson on how to deal with their internal Pandamic instead of blaming others for their own mistake.
Idiot President policy - Blame everyone but not yourself

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-05-22 10:24 | Report Abuse

RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! --- more are definitely wishing for the corrupt CCP leaders to get infected

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:25 | Report Abuse

alipay88 ! No civilize Chinese will wish for the corrupt Trump Administration to get infected.

What evidence do you have to say that the CCP leaders are corrupt? As for the Trump Administration, there are evidence a-plenty. Trump's impeachment by the US Congress for starters.

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-05-22 10:26 | Report Abuse

In US politics, this is this norm.

Those who shouted the loudest have the most to most to lose.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:27 | Report Abuse

This nincompoop n his neocon boss together with all the American war hawks n cowboys know only 1 thing: Blame others for whatever you are not capable/competent... Or u have failed to do... Cheapskates

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:27 | Report Abuse

AND It's a pity US has Federal leaders like this pompous ass.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-05-22 10:28 | Report Abuse

HO ho HO continue to blame everyone else but yourself. See if that helps even a little bit with COVID-19 situation in US.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-05-22 10:29 | Report Abuse

HO ho HO Pompous Pompeo are you hinting that the US will sue China for the loss of lives and jobs in the US which actually resulted from the tardy and incompetent response by Trump and his arrogance in dealing with the COVID -19 pandemic. And do not sneer at the US$2 billion that China had pledged to WHO. US$2 billion is way above the paltry US$400 mil that your country contributes to WHO.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:29 | Report Abuse

Agreed

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:30 | Report Abuse

What Pompeo is saying is that >90,000 US citizens dies; and 36 millions Great US citizen lost their jobs all because of China; everything is China's fault. US Government did an "amazing" jobs to protect live and livelihood of US citizens; and this is the best outcome following the perfect report card of Trump; and He might have claimed that if Hillary who are at helm; it might be 10x or 100X worse off. Who is Pompeo trying to deceive? Maybe the US republican states countrymen; and some dumbaxx from 5 eyes countries. But, Asian can see clearly with their eyes. Not all democracy practices are perfect; and not all deeds by socialist countries are evils. Why US not targeting Vietnam or Russia? Because China is the only country that is a worthy rival of US in the next few decades.

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-05-22 10:31 | Report Abuse

Three-day notice too short for plan to reopen economy?

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-05-22 10:32 | Report Abuse

MoneyMaker168, If it is a well-thought-out decision, it would not have been just a three-day notice!

hunterrrrr

210 posts

Posted by hunterrrrr > 2020-05-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

drop again today

Posted by THEREALDEAL > 2020-05-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

The opposing stand by the six states must have come as a big shock to you and a great blow to your ego, International Trade and Industry Minister Azmin Ali.

Did you really expect them to roll over and play poodle to your orders when nobody views you as an emissary of a legal government?

How your claim that “this decision to open the economy was taken with the utmost care, caution and responsibility” may have been received with greater credibility had you come from a history of similar concern for legalities.

Where was this respect for the law, Azmin, when you usurped a duly-elected government?

Nobody denies that continued enforcement of the movement control order (MCO) would be devastating to the economy, but we have no choice and everyone believes that premature relaxation would only result in unending queues to the cemetery.

Our virus-status is wavering wildly and just a few days before this unwise lifting of the restrictions, we saw daily infections surging into three digits again when earlier we were assured that the worst was over and we were on the mend.

Strangely, you state that the relax-decision was reached after consultations among the Finance Ministry, International Trade and Industry Ministry, Bank Negara and Khazanah Nasional Berhad.

You did not mention the Health Ministry. Perhaps you hold that when it comes to the nation’s health, the Health Ministry is not relevant.

And to further support your stand, Azmin, you quote brayings from the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers and the Malay Chamber of Commerce.

What happened to the conclusions of the Chinese and Indian Chambers of Commerce, the Associated Chamber of Commerce, and the Malaysian International Chambers of Commerce? Don’t their viewpoints also matter?

Far from having a soft landing, you would have seen today that people are already thronging shopping centres not to purchase food or other essentials but to buy clothing! What would the toll soon be from this insane enthusiasm?

You seem confident in assuring that the coast is clear for restarting the engines of commerce and the return of millions to work. Why is it then that a gathering of 222 members of parliament is considered dangerous to their health?

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-05-22 10:33 | Report Abuse

Even though the licence to operate many industries comes from federal ministries, you can’t open any business or manufacturing plant without the local council approval.

Which means the local council can impose conditions. Good luck with suing the state governments. You will be in court until the next Covid appears.

jwyap

835 posts

Posted by jwyap > 2020-05-22 10:40 | Report Abuse

Profit 6.8m this quarter. good

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-05-22 10:51 | Report Abuse

No employer wants to sue any state authorities for the closure as that will open floodgates of employees suing them if staff get Covid-19 from office contacts.

The employer has to spend millions of ringgit for everyday testing to ensure their staff is free from Covid-19. Does Azmin understand the basic of economics?

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:52 | Report Abuse

Let the industry players sue the state governments if they dare. After that, they should be prepared for the consequences.

The constitutionality of Act 342 should be challenged by state governments in the High Court because it cannot possibly exclude the powers of state governments when public health, sanitation and the prevention of diseases comes under Item 7 of the Concurrent List in the Ninth Schedule to the Federal Constitution, which means both the federation and the states have concurrent jurisdiction over the matter.

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-05-22 10:53 | Report Abuse

Others have spoken eloquently of the incompetence of this government and its head honcho. What happened on Feb 29 when the legitimately-elected government was ousted will have ramifications that will last longer than the Covid-19 epidemic.

These men who have snatched power are not only incompetent but lack the morals to lead.

In the middle of a crisis such as we are now in, the answer to uncertainties expressed by the states is not to threaten them with imaginary legal actions that may be taken against them but to share with the states all information that supports the decision to reopen the economy and to allay their fears about the epidemic growing worse.

In the seven weeks of shutdown, the government must have had the time and the expertise to carry out an impact study that would weigh the different consequences of continuing with the shutdown or terminating it.

The public has not had the benefit of a considered opinion on these matters. The dilemma of deciding on lives or livelihood needs a careful consideration of all interests. This government has proven that it does not have the competence to manage these issues.

The Parliament must be convened, and not for one day only, to deliberate more carefully the matters that are affecting the country - economic and health matters. Also, to take steps to chuck this bunch of usurpers from power.

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-05-22 10:54 | Report Abuse

I am for opening of the economy. But to give three days’ notice, and after which you threatened to sue, doesn't sound good on you as the minister.

The state government has every right to protect the people's health and businesses of their respective states.

Life: I believe that one of the main reasons that this government "re-opens" the economy so hastily is because the government could be running out of funds under the Special Relief Fund (SRF) for SMEs (small and medium enterprises).

This is disastrous for many SMEs. There is much hype, emphasis and talk from the government on this relief fund to help SMEs tie over their cashflow at affordable interest rates over the next six months due to this crisis.

Bank Negara could have informed the government last week on the situation on the SRF Fund hence this sudden and hasty action by the government on May 1. If it is a well-thought-out decision as what the government says, it would not have been just a three-day notice to Malaysians.

This situation is similar to the previous announcement when the wage subsidy fund had Allegedly dried-up… sigh.

Posted by QuellingBlaster > 2020-05-22 10:55 | Report Abuse

HO ho HO Azmin is rapidly losing the plot politically and he knew it. That’s why he resorted to using threat - legal action instituted by businesses against the respective state governments.

Legal action? What legal action? Businesses suing the respective state governments on the ground of loss of profit because they (respective states) tighten health control to protect the rakyat?

On the other hand, his political arch-rival Ismail Sabri Yaakob had earlier said each state could tighten the standard of control by delaying or tighten the control for the safety of the rakyat in their respective states.

The truth is there is only one winner in this battle. And that is Ismail Sabri.

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-05-22 10:56 | Report Abuse

With regard to not having the Minister of Heath at the table, perhaps Azmin thought it is pointless to include a clueless imbecile who advises the public to drink warm water and who has spoken with 500 of his counterparts. Would you have bothered to include such a person in any serious discussion?

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-05-22 10:57 | Report Abuse

Azmin's strong points are in plotting and scheming. The economy tanked when he was the Minister of Economic Affairs. Does it look like he understands Economics?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-05-22 10:57 | Report Abuse

MOH is a metaphor..what the actual message was,is to get an input from the MOH in this case from the DG,Asst DG,Chief clerk or tea boy..those who have the pulse on the matter with stats..not air suam cum RM30Million PPE stealing backdoor minister.

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-05-22 10:58 | Report Abuse

I think we should have the right to practise CMCO. It's still everybody's decision to see whether we can open or not, but at least we must have the option. Now it is a big business disadvantage for some firms and factories 'cause the competitors in other states can operate earlier.

Moreover, Sabah government should allow the people to do outdoor sports, so there is some happiness about what we have achieved. It's about time to encourage and motivate our people, not continuously spreading fear which will cause only hesitation and paralyze us.

Instead our politicians prefer to stay home and play their stuipid political games.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 10:59 | Report Abuse

PN should follow Taiwan & South Korea by setting up public testing tents at various public places. By now, genuine test kits that can provide results within hours should be in stock and implemented.
Also widespread spray disinfecting should be carried out in public places. Disinfecting tents & equipment should be readily available.

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-05-22 11:02 | Report Abuse

If Azmin is a responsible (and hardworking) Minister, he wouldn't have been in this position. He should have instructed his Ministry to come out with an exit strategy from MCO #1 and send it to the respective states for comments. This is how it should have been done. I agree with Penang's CM, he is truly LAZY. Minister like him and most likely the whole cabinet is only interested in politics and not the people. If you look at the SOP dished out, it is haphazard to say the least. How can pubs be allowed to operate when people who drinks alcohol cannot social distance, just an example.

We will wait till GE15 kaw kaw punish them!

Kenny Chua

206 posts

Posted by Kenny Chua > 2020-05-22 11:03 | Report Abuse

Too Little time for businesses to prepare for conditional MCO.....‘I simply find it amazing in Azmin’s wordy statement, not once did he mention Health Ministry.’

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-05-22 11:04 | Report Abuse

International Trade and Industry Minister Azmin Ali, your decision to open up the economy with the conditional MCO (CMCO) is purely based on monetary and not health considerations.

If it was the latter, why did Prime Minister Muhyiddin Yassin announced a further two-week extension previously only to then announced on May 1 that it was cut short by one week? It would seem that decision-making in government is haphazard.

If you wanted to open up, a longer advance notice should have been given for preparations and the number of new cases should have fallen to single digits. News of rising numbers in Singapore and reports of new infections in Japan and Germany after the easing of restrictions have raised concern amongst the state governments and public.

The SOPs (standard operating procedures) have been issued late to make any meaningful preparations easy for opening. The government has failed to consult the public, a majority of whom are concerned about the supposed flattened curve which does not seem to be flattened enough.

Perikatan Nasional (PN) should be more efficient in decision-making and more transparent before accusing state governments of non-cooperation.

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-05-22 11:05 | Report Abuse

"This decision was taken with the utmost care, caution and responsibility supported by data and findings by the Finance Ministry, International Trade and Industry Ministry, Bank Negara and Khazanah Nasional Berhad," said the minister in charge of the economic cluster, Azmin Ali.

The above statement is exactly why the public is doubtful on the decision to ease MCO to allow businesses to operate. There appears to be no input nor involvement from the Health Ministry. If a business closes down or goes bankrupt, it can reopen again. But a life is lost, it’s gone forever.

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-05-22 11:05 | Report Abuse

I am also simply find it amazing in Azmin’s wordy statement, not once did he mention the Health Ministry. As far as the rakyat is concerned, we want the Health Ministry to take the lead in making decisions involving our health.....

Posted by WellingtonSky > 2020-05-22 11:07 | Report Abuse

MCO under the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases Act 1988.”

He also said: “Hence, the state governments are urged to co-operate in executing the federal government’s decision to regenerate the economy.”

Isn’t the main aim of gazetting the CMCO supposed to be to prevent and control infectious diseases? So shouldn’t decisions be made based on the advice of the Health Ministry and experts from the infectious disease field?

But it looks like decisions are made more to pander to the whims and fancies of industry players rather than for prevention and control of infectious diseases.

Don’t get me wrong. I am for the economy to regenerate. But it shouldn’t be done at the expense of the health safety of our rakyat.

Industries should be allowed time to adjust working environments to comply to prevention and control of infectious diseases. A one-week notice for the industries to reopen would be nice. So May 12 should be a good time to reopen.

Some states have “defied” the order of the federal government but I don’t think they do it with any negative intention. After all, hadn’t they fully cooperated with the federal government during the first three MCOs?

It was because they knew that it was good for their states. For this CMCO, they certainly can foresee problems arising should they follow the federal government’s decision.

Though all states have been struck with the Covid-19 problem, we have to understand that they are not similarly struck. So how can we have one blanket decision for all states?

alipay88

365 posts

Posted by alipay88 > 2020-05-22 11:07 | Report Abuse

This is what happens when you form a federal government without the people’s mandate - individual states will revolt as decisions at the federal level doesn’t appear to be in the best interest of state constituents, let alone states led by the current government parties that seem to be at odds with one another.

There is no confidence in federal leadership, hence why it’s imperative that Parliament resumes before industries and economies are forced to.

Plus, the only ministry that is seen as relevant and crucial at this point of time in our history is the Health Ministry, and their recommendations appear contradictory.

Posted by SweetMemoryLane > 2020-05-22 11:08 | Report Abuse

You think industry players will all play to your tune? The state governments may have their own concerns which are equally legitimate, and they are well entitled within their own jurisdiction to determine what, when and how businesses should re-open.

What Malaysian businesses want is for the federal government to provide leadership, to plan, pre-empt, instead of coming up with such last-minute decisions.

Just because the decision has finally and belatedly made, does not mean everybody needs to go back to work all at once. In fact, that might well be reckless.

You should go and advise the backdoor PM to convene a full parliamentary session. Don't wait for relief laws and measures to be debated in July.

Debate now so that Attorney-General’s Chambers (AGC) can help draft it for passage in July. If you only wait until July, where is the public consultation and engagement?

All this shows is (1) PN is running scared and (2) it is ill-prepared for the next steps - probably flying by the seat of its collective pants just to get these sets of SOPs out.

For something so simple, why do they make it so complicated?

Posted by MoneyMaker168 > 2020-05-22 11:09 | Report Abuse

I guess business owners today, especially with a minister that feels like he is doing a great favour to them, have lost the actual purpose of why the MCO was first implemented.

Failure to adhere fully to the stringent requirements of social distancing and protective gear results in possible death.

Until a vaccine is found, we live in an environment that requires all of us to wear masks continuously and to be suspicious of everyone that comes near to us.

How many of our workers have been tested? How many of those that line up to buy food at the restaurants are free of the virus? Does a ‘V’ appear on their foreheads if they have the virus?

So, it’s always better to be safe than sorry.

Posted by traderstrades > 2020-05-22 11:10 | Report Abuse

"This decision was taken with the utmost care, caution and responsibility supported by data and findings by the Finance Ministry, International Trade and Industry Ministry, Bank Negara and Khazanah Nasional Berhad," said the minister in charge of the economic cluster, Azmin Ali.

If what we are seeing is an example of the above, I shudder to think what would happen if they didn't take "utmost care, caution and responsibility",

Anyway, I feel really assured in the decision by the Government on the CMCO after I read that the owner of Nirvana thinks that it is a great idea.

Posted by RAMPAGE GODLIKE ! > 2020-05-22 11:12 | Report Abuse

Little time to prepare? Don't tell me during this 2 months of MCO, they never think about reopening or restarting and how to go about doing it? If they don't then it's their fault lah. They are truly horrible managers who have to wait for instructions before they take actions.

Posted by Zillionaire > 2020-05-22 11:13 | Report Abuse

For the good health of all rakyat or be cursed to hell if there is another wave like Japan, Singapore etc. Would he think and act differently if he is the Minister of Health. Yes, the economy is very important but as many have said, is life of a worker cheaper than the profit for the businessman and taxes for the government??? Yea, you can say comply with SOP. The SOP is flipping and many F&B outlets are fuming mad. Common, let's be frank. Is the enforcement going to be fair and not prejudiced? We have seen how the poor was jailed and fined to the max but the rich and well connected were treated differently. I hope this coronavirus opens the eyes of all Malaysians and will not to easily be swayed by slogans and lies. Punish those by kicking them out in the next GE.

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-05-22 11:15 | Report Abuse

Its Brunch TIME!

Elaine Tan

425 posts

Posted by Elaine Tan > 2020-05-22 11:15 | Report Abuse

Happy.....

Posted by BatistaWorldChamp > 2020-05-22 11:51 | Report Abuse

BOOOO YAAAAAH

Posted by BatistaWorldChamp > 2020-05-22 11:51 | Report Abuse

The world champ is here!