OLDTOWN BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): OLDTOWN (5201)

10 people like this.

2,545 comment(s). Last comment by haziqaz 2024-01-26 14:28

limch

2,968 posts

Posted by limch > 2017-05-26 02:55 | Report Abuse

Why Franklin Resources keep disposing if the result is good?

25-May-2017
Insider
FRANKLIN RESOURCES, INC (a substantial shareholder) disposed 316,400 shares on 23-May-2017.
25-May-2017
Quarter Result
Quarter Result on 31-Mar-2017[#4] QoQ - -59.31% YoY - -46.03%.
24-May-2017
Insider
FRANKLIN RESOURCES, INC (a substantial shareholder) disposed 368,000 shares on 22-May-2017.
23-May-2017
Insider
FRANKLIN RESOURCES, INC (a substantial shareholder) disposed 284,400 shares on 19-May-2017.
22-May-2017
Insider
FRANKLIN RESOURCES, INC (a substantial shareholder) disposed 146,800 shares on 18-May-2017.
https://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/800001942.jsp

vzcb1t

86 posts

Posted by vzcb1t > 2017-05-26 03:38 | Report Abuse

Some OldTown cafe is really not good. They need to put in more training for their staffs as some outlet not seems to understand making coffee must use boiling water.
Furthermore, no specialty on their food.
The most basic item, "roti bakar" is worse than any other coffee shop. Too stingy on their kaya and butter.
As many ppl go OldTown for coffee, they need to improve on their basic toast, improve the kaya quality and cannot be too stingy.
These basic things can easily bring up or bring down their brand.
Besides, OldTown cafe's Wi-Fi is lousy. The management need to subscribe better Wi-Fi.
With this type of lousy services, I expect their cafe might not making money but I don't expect it is making a big loss.

icon1234

24 posts

Posted by icon1234 > 2017-05-26 06:06 | Report Abuse

Although the qr result not very good, but it will not be bad, still with profit.

suregain

1,611 posts

Posted by suregain > 2017-05-26 06:38 | Report Abuse

Icon1234, if tis d case oldtown should not trade above rm3 cos canot made more profit

i7trader

174 posts

Posted by i7trader > 2017-05-26 07:04 | Report Abuse

Based of PE x20 times, Oldtown now only worth RM2.6, T_T we're over-estimate the earning power.

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-26 07:43 | Report Abuse

I agree with moneySIFU. The result is not that bad. Good homework done.

Goinvest88

495 posts

Posted by Goinvest88 > 2017-05-26 07:47 | Report Abuse

Prov. Of doubtful debts in cafe chain might be closed down of franchise cafe chain. Can cafe chain give you credit sales? This might be one off expenses, also can be recurring if the shop keep on closed down. Overprice with pe x 20 times. Where got ppl want to invest cafe chain / coffee with return waiting of 20 years due to inconsistent earning.

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-05-26 07:59 | Report Abuse

TP = RM 2.

Market is pricing oldtown kopi to make RM 100m net profit every year. Now the growth story is less rosy expect kopi to go down. Kopi o kopi o ohhhhhh kopi o!

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2017-05-26 08:19 | Report Abuse

EPS just slighly above 2 cents. Agree with Flintstone and Hongwei. lets see will it gap down at 9am later

Mgician

716 posts

Posted by Mgician > 2017-05-26 08:38 | Report Abuse

Ramadhan will begin on 26 May... so it must have some impact on next QR too.

suregain

1,611 posts

Posted by suregain > 2017-05-26 08:40 | Report Abuse

open down 31sen... those bought rm3.50 die liao

2,955 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2017-05-26 08:56 | Report Abuse

I agree with Apollo Ang. Sometimes we have to be realistic. We cannot be paying a cup of mamak kopi-o for RM 15.

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-05-26 09:02 | Report Abuse

haha....lao sai 20%...

Posted by support1234 > 2017-05-26 09:03 | Report Abuse

Add more @ 2.50...

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-05-26 09:04 | Report Abuse

tp 3.10

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2017-05-26 09:04 | Report Abuse

I wonder where are those who said TP RM4 when qtr result out.

Andry007

1,902 posts

Posted by Andry007 > 2017-05-26 09:05 | Report Abuse

when go up 2-3%, when go down a 20% wow

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2017-05-26 09:09 | Report Abuse

rumors jack ma privatize oldtown tp RM5.8

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-05-26 09:10 | Report Abuse

Long term TP RM 2

2,517 posts

Posted by abang_misai > 2017-05-26 09:10 | Report Abuse

rumors Warren Buffett privatize oldtown tp RM25.8

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2017-05-26 09:11 | Report Abuse

rumors usa nationalize oldtown tp usd$125

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2017-05-26 09:12 | Report Abuse

I wonder if Moneysifu will still be in this thread. coz previously after the rise and fall of Pensonic, he also mysteriously disappeared

TM1166

95 posts

Posted by TM1166 > 2017-05-26 09:12 | Report Abuse

Still a good company...

Posted by cruger12345 > 2017-05-26 09:13 | Report Abuse

moneysifu. Thanks for your input. I choose to sell and find others counter. Thanks for your hardwork. I do agree that the result is not so bad. But I opt to cash out and use the capital on stg else.

Posted by Investor_King > 2017-05-26 09:14 | Report Abuse

any idea why oldtown suddenly drop so much?

lazycat

899 posts

Posted by lazycat > 2017-05-26 09:15 | Report Abuse

rumors their ingredient contain virgin boy urine

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-05-26 09:19 | Report Abuse

moneySIFU must be facing margin call now , last wed bought at 3.07/11. and dare to be so boastful...

optimus9199

2,794 posts

Posted by optimus9199 > 2017-05-26 09:19 | Report Abuse

moneySIFU dah lari kuat kuat....and he must be facing margin call now...bought at 3.07/3.11 on Wednesday and dare to be so boastful.

i7trader

174 posts

Posted by i7trader > 2017-05-26 09:20 | Report Abuse

Someone called RM2 is too cheap... It is still expanding the business, around 2.5 - 2.6 should be at this level.

nekosan

3,637 posts

Posted by nekosan > 2017-05-26 09:24 | Report Abuse

eh no expert said the result is nice actually ? lol

Posted by Flintstones > 2017-05-26 09:25 | Report Abuse

Haahahahaha!!! Tat sifu sau pei oledi. Bad result just say bad result la. Dun twist the fact like johnson lee jjptr!

Goinvest88

495 posts

Posted by Goinvest88 > 2017-05-26 09:26 | Report Abuse

@lazycat, please be careful, later you get suit

Posted by Cornerstone > 2017-05-26 09:26 | Report Abuse

ohhhh why lao sai?? OMG....

ehtan

219 posts

Posted by ehtan > 2017-05-26 09:29 | Report Abuse

today close 2.5, the within 2monts time will be going to 1.50...this is the punishment to the management because they play around with the profit.

TM1166

95 posts

Posted by TM1166 > 2017-05-26 09:29 | Report Abuse

rebound

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-26 09:31 | Report Abuse

Sapu, thank you for those sell cheap to me

gogogogo

964 posts

Posted by gogogogo > 2017-05-26 09:34 | Report Abuse

wow

gogogogo

964 posts

Posted by gogogogo > 2017-05-26 09:34 | Report Abuse

to be honest not easy to predict quarterly result.

5,848 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

My entry cost is 2.70 & I have said I accepted the fact it is not a good result, but I see the positives out of it.

At this price, why should I sell? My cut loss price is 2.44, I will sell when it reach my bottom line. Make your decision for your money

Buybuybuy

695 posts

Posted by Buybuybuy > 2017-05-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

Better dumb this shares . Poor management will lead to this company bankrupt.

Posted by Cornerstone > 2017-05-26 09:35 | Report Abuse

this kind of stock trading at PE of 19 times ??? need to think twice

skyz

Posted by skyz > 2017-05-26 09:36 | Report Abuse

optimus9199, u really believe he bought 3.07 and 3.11? he probably accumulated way much lower and have unloaded all and just left forum. lesson to all, when sudd blog and articles are released in tandem in price push, just be cautious and do more alternative research. the article is good, solid facts and figures. but sometimes the intentions are questionable.

lwyy60

477 posts

Posted by lwyy60 > 2017-05-26 09:38 | Report Abuse

Lolz, Dont play with fires, once get enough please stay aside otherwise bear with the risk/high return @ cost lolzz

Star8888

353 posts

Posted by Star8888 > 2017-05-26 09:40 | Report Abuse

I not sell any of Oldtown stock but buy more during weakness around 2.50.

Posted by 2ez4airasia > 2017-05-26 09:41 | Report Abuse

Was thinking to buy 3.08 yesterday...but thanks 2.5 now...free coffee LOL

The result is not that bad tho, don't just look at the final figure.

5,848 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-26 09:41 | Report Abuse

Believe or not is up to you, pls avoid if you have blindly follow & without doing your homework.

I take it & accepted it for this is my money. I don't responsible for others. I have said it many times before.

Posted by Mohd Fahmi Bin Jaes > 2017-05-26 09:41 | Report Abuse

tp 3.20

5,848 posts

Posted by moneySIFU > 2017-05-26 09:42 | Report Abuse

Skyz, are you blind?

Posted by leslieroycarter > 2017-05-26 09:42 | Report Abuse

Any share with sudden gap up for no apparent reasons , must be very careful of insiders job . Do not chase up coz u may get trap with no clue of how it has happened. Be contented not holding the share coz may be another day , u can buy it at a more reasonable price. Just be patience.

Posted by support1234 > 2017-05-26 09:42 | Report Abuse

Add more,Thank you for those sell cheap to me....