OLDTOWN BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): OLDTOWN (5201)

10 people like this.

2,545 comment(s). Last comment by haziqaz 2024-01-26 14:28

jenngu

95 posts

Posted by jenngu > 2017-12-13 13:52 | Report Abuse

yes, maybe buy bitcoin can get rich faster if done right...

WiseTrade

16 posts

Posted by WiseTrade > 2017-12-13 16:34 | Report Abuse

Selling Oldtown now is a bad decision. Jacob is more than happy to absorb all your stocks at below 3.18 in the market now. They have the power to suppress the Oldtown price thus making impatient investors to let go of their stock and absorb it. If the deal of Jacob is called off, it's even better because Oldtown is easily RM4 in one year time with their rapid growth in China. Suppressing the market and making it side way for the past 6 months is most probably Jacob's doing as well.

Dailou123

18 posts

Posted by Dailou123 > 2017-12-13 17:18 | Report Abuse

Why still have so many idiots selling their shares now?

sleang

170 posts

Posted by sleang > 2017-12-13 22:05 | Report Abuse

just a question, if Jacob cannot acquire 90%, then this deal is Off, right ?

venton

159 posts

Posted by venton > 2017-12-14 10:14 | Report Abuse

@Dailou123 why call others idiot when they just want to take profit? if you think that 3.10 is too cheap then you have chance to buy it now, you should be happy that they are selling at 3.10!

shuyin

74 posts

Posted by shuyin > 2017-12-14 11:03 | Report Abuse

maybe he bought at 3.25? hence why he's so agitated

12,802 posts

Posted by 3iii > 2017-12-14 13:29 |

Dailou123

18 posts

Posted by Dailou123 > 2017-12-14 16:57 | Report Abuse

Will old town share price drop below 3?

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-12-14 17:54 | Report Abuse

OldTown entered agreement to open cafe outlet in Cambodia.

kentwoon

1,841 posts

Posted by kentwoon > 2017-12-14 19:04 | Report Abuse

Sell

kentwoon

1,841 posts

Posted by kentwoon > 2017-12-14 19:14 | Report Abuse

Holland

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2017-12-19 23:03 | Report Abuse

oldtown open outlet in wat wat country also not your business, they go holland.

Syndicates

865 posts

Posted by Syndicates > 2017-12-26 13:59 | Report Abuse

Any odds that competition commission of Singapore will not allow this takeover?

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2017-12-26 15:43 | Report Abuse

if i accept the offer, should i fill up any form?

Posted by Lew Chin Hoong > 2017-12-28 14:19 | Report Abuse

the price is already 3.10 now, wait another few month to get additional 0.08 + 0.04(dividend) is not really realistic. but high possible that oldtown will distribute 80-90% of the net cash to shareholder for the "One Last Time". My suggestion is Sell now, if you have others share that can bring you >5~10% of profile. Else, just wait for privatize saja la.

chesslim

890 posts

Posted by chesslim > 2017-12-29 10:38 | Report Abuse

Oldtown this quarter dividen only 0.03 lah.

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2017-12-29 13:04 | Report Abuse

Yes. My broker also advise to sell now as share price is difficult to breakthrough 3.18. Nobody won't buy this counter beyond this offer price.

cckkpr

219 posts

Posted by cckkpr > 2017-12-29 16:23 | Report Abuse

JDE Asia is buying from the market at 3.10 now. I hope that they will not have enough shares to take it private and will have to maintain the listing status. In that case, definitely the share price will go higher than 3.18. Same like Hovid, the offer has become unconditional but to take it private they have to get 90% of all the shareholders who were listed at the date of the offer, which is not easy.

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2017-12-30 08:19 | Report Abuse

Poor shareholders...no more AGM ( & free coffee & souvenirs) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGJTAYlm6No

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2017-12-30 09:53 | Report Abuse

JDE offer not only to the Board, it applied to all shareholder's as well and whether they manage to get 3.10 or not is another issue.

Do not think the price can go 3.10......since all the Board Members agreed to let go.

They will not interested in maintaining the listing status as they won't go for all the hassle reporting deadline,protocols, requirements and holding AGM/EGM to seeks shareholders approval.

They only interested in the branding and the markets that OLDTOWN is conquering especially China.

Without listing status, everything can be done swiftly and profits remained back in their coffers rather than sharing with the shareholders.

Even they not getting the require 90% threshold shares, they can dump their holdings below the offer to scare those reluctant to sell at the first place and grab from the open market.

Remember cash is KING and they are the KING at the moment.

Take it at 3.10 or below..............just my opinion as a biz preposition.

Instead of paying 100% for RM3.10, they just push the price down to buy at cheaper valuation...))

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2017-12-30 10:00 | Report Abuse

Small fund or big funds in OLDTOWN only interested in good returns and don't mind taking the 10% premium, further they do not fall in love with stocks. They only interested in making monies and good returns for the funds.

As for the Board Members, they have reaped multiple thousand times returns before the listing of OLDTOWN. They are in listed CHONG NGAI KNITTING COM before selling the same to another acquire pocketing hundred millions.

So this is the 2nd windfalls for the Board through OLDTOWN after successfully developing the brand after so many years of hardworks.

If i am one of them, i would cash out now and enjoys my fruits of labor.

ktsk88

5,284 posts

Posted by ktsk88 > 2017-12-30 10:17 | Report Abuse

Do not forget the Board Members already gained from dividends, bonus shares and the run up of the share price after bonus back to the offer of 3.10.

mujihero

34 posts

Posted by mujihero > 2017-12-30 14:14 | Report Abuse

Rm3.1 is really under value. This is malaysia no 1 FMCG which can easily double the value in 3 to 5 yrs. CHINA mkt alone can provide this company to grow by 20% yoy. Dont understand why the owner want to cash out at this price. So short slighted. Fund mgmt and minority shareholder should block this and keep the company listed

mujihero

34 posts

Posted by mujihero > 2017-12-30 14:34 | Report Abuse

What a waste to sell to the dutch. This is not proton. For sure we dont have the comparative and competitive advantage to compete in the auto industry and we need to sell to the chinese. Coffee business with our own secret formula and hard work and having such a big uptap market in Asia, come on la, chinaman from ipoh, dont be so cheapcake n so lazy and to run away with rm700 or rm800m. Pls make ipoh, ipoh chinaman, malaysian, and this country proud of you and make Malaysia great again. Chinese will call you 汉奸。supported u all these years to drink yr coffee, and invest in yr company. If ever the deal go through, will stop drinking white town old coffee.

cyeec2000

992 posts

Posted by cyeec2000 > 2017-12-30 14:40 | Report Abuse

Mujihero: major shareholders consisted of 51 percent, its not easy if they all wanna to cash out.

mujihero

34 posts

Posted by mujihero > 2017-12-30 14:46 | Report Abuse

They can cash out, but this is not a great price. Hate to say this, they should get IB to do a beauty parade. I think the chinese buyer from hk or china can pay even better than the dutch

mujihero

34 posts

Posted by mujihero > 2017-12-30 15:03 | Report Abuse

Nevermind la, oldtown white coffee is owned by the dutch? Can now drink chekhup and pwroot

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2018-01-01 08:44 | Report Abuse

Chekhup not my favor. Taste too sweet. Pwroot also so so only.

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2018-01-10 09:58 | Report Abuse

Sold at 3.08. Bye bye OldTown

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2018-01-15 12:15 | Report Abuse

anyone received any forms for the takeover yet?

Posted by Brin Toh > 2018-01-16 09:01 | Report Abuse

Not received any yet. Hope they settle it ASAP

Dailou123

18 posts

Posted by Dailou123 > 2018-01-18 20:47 | Report Abuse

Can’t hold this stock anymore, going to drop below 3

chesslim

890 posts

Posted by chesslim > 2018-01-18 22:11 | Report Abuse

Waiting take over lah, min rm3.20, before take over hold this counter can enjoy free dividen.

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2018-01-19 09:44 | Report Abuse

no point sell now, wait for the takeover, some more should buy few more also....so cheap...wonder pple not buy....discounted 3.18-3.05=0.13

nanas

126 posts

Posted by nanas > 2018-01-19 11:07 | Report Abuse

good earning, eps, per..why sell? insider? is it true?

limkokthye

6,039 posts

Posted by limkokthye > 2018-01-20 22:07 | Report Abuse

keep buying la, because oldtown selling 3 in 1 white coffee to china, huge profits

11,888 posts

Posted by dompeilee > 2018-01-22 09:58 | Report Abuse

Farewell Oldtown...guess your days as a listed company are numbered: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XGJTAYlm6No

gungho92

388 posts

Posted by gungho92 > 2018-01-23 15:38 | Report Abuse

Can earn 15 sen if buy now?

Posted by Lew Chin Hoong > 2018-01-23 22:17 | Report Abuse

The return is 5-6% (assume 2-3% dividend + 4-5% capital gain), if you dont have better stock to invest, can buy and hold for years. but for me, i rather put my money somewhere else.

Kvin74

24 posts

Posted by Kvin74 > 2018-01-24 23:43 | Report Abuse

preconditional voluntary offer at 3.04???? how come??

Surewind

292 posts

Posted by Surewind > 2018-01-31 08:18 | Report Abuse

Global coffee maker Jacobs Douwe Egberts BV's (JDE) takeover offer for OldTown Bhd has turned unconditional after receiving valid acceptances totalling 238.32 million shares or a 51.45% stake in the company today.

In a filing with Bursa Malaysia today, CIMB Investment Bank Bhd, which represents Jacobs Douwe Egberts Holdings Asia NL BV — the indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of JDE, said the unconditional offer will be kept open for acceptances for at least 21 days from today.

On Dec 11, 2017, OldTown received a pre-conditional voluntary general offer from JDE in a deal that values OldTown at RM1.47 billion or RM3.18 a share. OldTown's shareholders — Old Town International Sdn Bhd (42.58%), OldTown's management director Lee Siew Heng (1.34%) and Mawer Investment Management Ltd (7.52%) — who collectively hold a stake of 51.45% in the group, had provided irrevocable undertakings to accept the cash offer.

JDE does not intend to maintain OldTown's listing status.

Shares in OldTown closed two sen or 0.66% higher at RM3.05 today, for a market capitalisation of RM1.41 billion. Its share price has risen 7% since its announcement, from RM2.85 on Dec 10.

This means all shares goes at RM3.18?? Anyone know if i queue to sell at 3.18 or i just need to wait for them to offer me?

Patrick13

1,971 posts

Posted by Patrick13 > 2018-02-02 09:27 | Report Abuse

Trading suspended again.

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2018-02-02 10:28 | Report Abuse

so may uncertain to this pre-con....wait2 until today oso no form send to me....anyone can advise?

Posted by Lew Chin Hoong > 2018-02-02 10:38 | Report Abuse

the letter will be issue within 21 day after the notice (30Jan2018) http://disclosure.bursamalaysia.com/FileAccess/apbursaweb/download?id=84952&name=EA_GA_ATTACHMENTS

xexlone

387 posts

Posted by xexlone > 2018-02-02 10:45 | Report Abuse

thank you!

Greenpower

304 posts

Posted by Greenpower > 2018-02-03 11:19 | Report Abuse

so aft the form been signed, when the money base on 3.18 per share will bk in to our account? any dividend will added?

thiam1129

41 posts

Posted by thiam1129 > 2018-02-05 16:48 | Report Abuse

Can Oldtown still go above RM3.15?

gungho92

388 posts

Posted by gungho92 > 2018-02-06 14:15 | Report Abuse

Majority have accepted price offer of 3.18 i dun think they will counter offer higher price.

chesslim

890 posts

Posted by chesslim > 2018-02-06 17:02 | Report Abuse

这几天的股市表现还是 OLDTOWN 最可爱 。