SUNWAY BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): SUNWAY (5211)

+0.03 (0.86%)

3.47 - 3.66

9 people like this.

4,241 comment(s). Last comment by fortunefire 10 hours ago

Posted by Ong Yee Hor > 2020-12-09 10:40 | Report Abuse

invest icon. May I ask you if sunway declare bonus issue, will the Conversion price for Sunway PA will also adjust according?

sbsoo111

65 posts

Posted by sbsoo111 > 2020-12-09 11:08 | Report Abuse

if look at the recent icps, my WA get a free share too. so it will be adjust

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-09 15:52 | Report Abuse

at 1.13 with 0.0525 as dividend, the yield is 4.64% now.

sbsoo111

65 posts

Posted by sbsoo111 > 2020-12-09 16:09 | Report Abuse

cheap will go cheaper, 1.05 is more reasonable. it just like how 'president hahahahahaha' perform their company

Adam Lim

120 posts

Posted by Adam Lim > 2020-12-09 21:18 | Report Abuse

sunway-PA, i applied excess and i got all of them...not bad, already got captial gains if I want to sell it, if i keep it then got around 4%++ dividends

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-09 21:44 | Report Abuse

@Ong Yee Hor, Check this Prospectus dated 6th Nov https://www.sunway.com.my/investor-relations/announcements/. In Appendix II under “Adjustments to the Conversion Price”. Is clearly stated that The Conversion Price is subject to adjustment if there are any alteration to the share capital whether by way of rights issue, bonus issue, capitalization issue, consolidates, subdivision or capital distributions. The conversion price will be adjust accordingly

AlfI3

1,249 posts

Posted by AlfI3 > 2020-12-09 22:34 | Report Abuse

Hi, When Sunway will declare bonus ya? Had it been announced?

Posted by Kareemabduljabbar > 2020-12-10 09:14 | Report Abuse

Why is mother 146 and PA 133 when conversion is 100 ? Why cant it be 103 or even 93 ? Thank you.

sbsoo111

65 posts

Posted by sbsoo111 > 2020-12-10 10:08 | Report Abuse

the price is still adjusting, either it will stay at dividend yield of 4% (rm1.31) or it will just stay at discounted price of 15-25% from the mother share (1.09), the best is to hope is it can stay at price of the same as mother share, or it could also possible to be 130% vs mother share when the sentiment is super good. right now that's too many people will take profit as you see from the comment above, many get a cost price of rm1, and queuing up for profit.

sunway is a old man share, don't expect a wild cat

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-10 10:14 | Report Abuse

PA at 113 and Sunway 146 makes PA very attractive after considering possible higher dividend from Sunway. 33 cents of different makes PA gets extra average 7.33 cents per year. Sunway has to declare on average 12.25 cents yearly to match PA value now.

memorylane

249 posts

Posted by memorylane > 2020-12-10 11:26 | Report Abuse

sold all my mother share @ 1.46, switched to PA @1.13 ... the discount is too deep to ignore...

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-10 11:39 | Report Abuse

@memorylanr You are fast. I though of doing that too but I love my Sunway too much. Instead of Selling Sunway , I still looking at what other share to sell in order to switch to Pa

thesteward

6,760 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-12-10 16:18 | Report Abuse

This is for me the best construction co. Can consider the wb ...anything below 32 sen should be good . Fingers crossed

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-10 16:48 | Report Abuse

Luckily I still keep all 3 Sunway, Sunway PA and WB

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-10 16:50 | Report Abuse

Conversion price for Sunway WB will reduce to 1.35 from Oct 2023 onwards. When Sunway cross 1.6. Sunway WB will follow closely

thesteward

6,760 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-12-10 17:09 | Report Abuse

Beautiful close

thesteward

6,760 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-12-10 17:09 | Report Abuse

Tomolo spike fingers crossed.

SCK82

234 posts

Posted by SCK82 > 2020-12-10 17:31 | Report Abuse

last year 2019, around 1.85. This year end 2020 , TP 2.0. A series of good news is coming.

thesteward

6,760 posts

Posted by thesteward > 2020-12-10 22:51 | Report Abuse

Yes

AlfI3

1,249 posts

Posted by AlfI3 > 2020-12-10 23:03 | Report Abuse

Window dressing for great construction stocks will b ignited any moment now twds d end of 2020 closing. Sunway w fundamentally sound results is one of d target for many fund hses

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 00:27 | Report Abuse

last year 11/12/19, Sunway is 1.69. Sunway WB 0.355 and final conversion price in Oct 2023 is 1.44. Premium to convert is 0.105 or 6.2%. This year 10/12/20, Sunway is 1.54. WB 0.27 and final conversion price adjust to 1.35 in Oct 2023. Premium reduce to 0.08 or 5%. Sunway WB is getting cheaper looking at expiring date is still 46 months away.

maxxtiew

78 posts

Posted by maxxtiew > 2020-12-11 06:07 | Report Abuse

@invest icon, is the "exercise price" on warranty refer to conversion price before expiry date? So if we buy WB at 0.27, our cost on conversion will be 0.27 + 1.35 = 1.62 (base on your example above)? Thank you!

AlfI3

1,249 posts

Posted by AlfI3 > 2020-12-11 07:00 | Report Abuse

Ya, it sounded interesting to learn abt this WB conversion subject. Kindly eleborate invest icon

Posted by Ong Yee Hor > 2020-12-11 09:52 | Report Abuse

@invest icon, when sunway pay dividend to sunway FA i think sunway mother price also will be adjusted right? Thank you

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-11 11:17 | Report Abuse

Hmmm...sounds right too...
When PA gain 0.0525 dividend and Mother gain also say 0.0525 dividend, then its like neutral for PA holders. After Mother gain its dividend, Mother's price will adjust lower and this narrows the gap between Mother and PA.

Does this concept make sense?

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-11 11:19 | Report Abuse

SUNWAY not really a construction co

it have property, hospital, REIT

RainT

8,448 posts

Posted by RainT > 2020-12-11 11:20 | Report Abuse

SUNWAY start up trend now

Alfonso

3,116 posts

Posted by Alfonso > 2020-12-11 11:20 | Report Abuse

Sunway got hampalang business, diversity

Alfonso

3,116 posts

Posted by Alfonso > 2020-12-11 11:21 | Report Abuse

jom shopping at sunway pyramid!

Posted by Jian Bin Siew > 2020-12-11 11:30 | Report Abuse

@memorylane, are both of us thinking alike only? Hahaha

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 14:04 | Report Abuse

Currently WB conversion price is RM1.56 but will reduce 7 cents per year. By Oct 2023, the final conversion price is Rm1.35. So, if you buy WB at 0.27 today and just need to top up Rm1.35 after Oct 2023 but before Oct 2024 expiry date to convert into Sunway mother share

@maxx papa
is the "exercise price" on warranty refer to conversion price before expiry date? So if we buy WB at 0.27, our cost on conversion will be 0.27 + 1.35 = 1.62 (base on your example above)? Thank you!

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 14:28 | Report Abuse

Before the Ex date for Sunway PA to entitle for Dividend of 5.25. Sunway PA is call Cum dividend 5.25 cents. At Ex date, the Sunway PA is call Ex dividend. That means Sunway PA price will adjust by 5.25 or 5.5 cents after Ex dividend. No adjustment to the Sunway Mother share.

@ Ong Yee Hor
when sunway pay dividend to sunway FA i think sunway mother price also will be adjusted right? Thank you

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 14:30 | Report Abuse

@ Ali Baba, paying dividend to Sunway PA does not affects the Sunway Share price.

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-11 14:56 | Report Abuse

Thanks invest icon.
I try to mean that, once Mother receive its own dividend like past years, Mother share price will be adjusted lower. Say, Mother is RM1.60 and got dividend of 0.05. Mother share price ex-dividend will be RM1.55.

When this happens, the gap between Mother and PA will be narrowed. Is that correct?

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 14:58 | Report Abuse

@ Ali Baba, yes, price will adjust accordingly after receiving Dividend. But, normally before dividend Ex, price will also move up. So, it will not have any significant effect unless Sunway is using Reserve to pay dividend but not Current profit to pay dividend.

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-11 15:14 | Report Abuse

Thanks. Sunway always has sufficient profit to pay the dividend. Not a problem. :)

trader808

290 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2020-12-11 17:40 | Report Abuse

invest icon - Today Sunway and sunway PA go in opposite direction. Mother share up 3 sen but PA was down 3 sen. what is the logical explanation. Have you any clue?

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 19:52 | Report Abuse

@trader808, what clue you need? The world is funny, most people only want to chase high but scare to buy cheap. when the price drop, they start to feel panic. These people are usually ignorant and will panic sell at unreasonable low price without knowing the reasons. Most likely some group leads the sell down so that they can buy in later. For me, I’ll wait and see how low these people will sell and will starts buying when ever I have spare fund. After all, I wish I can sapu everything but too bad I can’t afford.

trader808

290 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2020-12-11 20:46 | Report Abuse

Correct. I do not see any logic in their action. These are short term weak holders with myopic investment prospective. If you pay 1160 per lot today and over a period of 5 years the company pays back interest of 52.5 x 5 = 262.5
you cost becomes 1160 minus 262.5 = 897.
Convert it and sell in open market at 1570 the profit is 673.
Take 673 divide by 897 is 75%
Sunway will soar higher when the RM1b proceed form the ICPS are use wisely and mightily for the expansion of the hospital n health care and when covid is behind us.

Posted by Ong Yee Hor > 2020-12-11 20:58 | Report Abuse

I think sunway FA sell down due to Excess shares which their cost only RM1.00 Anyway in long term Sunway and sunway PA and WB will go in same direction

cshee1

4 posts

Posted by cshee1 > 2020-12-11 21:04 | Report Abuse

Sunway PA is less traded because most fund managers are not allow to trade preference share, this would probably be one of the reason of the price gap now. Also preference share have fixed dividend and expose to risk of sunway declaring higher than expected dividends. Third is that preference share is generally not accepted as collateral shares for margin facilities. Anyway the price gap is acceptable and attractive

jaynetan

1,417 posts

Posted by jaynetan > 2020-12-11 22:08 | Report Abuse

Sunway pa ,to be exact , enjoy interest , not dividend, semi-annually.
It is marginalble .
Pa price will catch up with its mother shares until , probably , one or two sens less than its mother shares upon approaching the fourth year.

invest icon

1,083 posts

Posted by invest icon > 2020-12-11 23:07 | Report Abuse

YES, Sunway PA will only enjoy fix dividend of 5,25 cents for first 4 years. CGS-CIMB offer 100% margin for Sunway but only 80% margin for Sunway PA.

Noni

668 posts

Posted by Noni > 2020-12-11 23:30 | Report Abuse

No 5.25%, is implied. Not fixed dividend.

AlfI3

1,249 posts

Posted by AlfI3 > 2020-12-12 07:11 | Report Abuse

As for cap Appreciations investmn, PA is certainly more prospectif than d mother w such an arbitrage over d 3-5 yrs period. Sooner down d road; d PA prc will closing up d gap

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-12 09:16 | Report Abuse

Yes, the PA 5.25% dividend is not fixed however, if you do the calculation the 5.25% only needs RM58M yearly from Sunway's net profit.

Now, if we look at Sunway historical net profit, then you would be able to see how likely they can pay out the RM58M for PA holders.

Another condition, in order for Sunway mother holders to receive their dividends, PA holders must be paid 1st. So, do you think they will jeopardize their yearly dividends track record to Sunway mother holders?

ali baba

356 posts

Posted by ali baba > 2020-12-12 11:18 | Report Abuse

wow...i am amazed.

"Kareemabduljabbar What a bunch of morons. The PA is 118 but. Mother share is 157. PA trades at a massive 33 percent discount. As yourself why why why. Why does the mother share zoom up from 146 to 157 but PA goes DOWN ? Ha ha ha.
12/12/2020 10:32 AM"

trader808

290 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2020-12-12 15:14 | Report Abuse

It takes time for PA to catch up to the mother share. Over time the gap will narrow and will become hugely diminish as it moves closer to the expiry date. This will happen slowly safely and surely.

Posted by woshigushen > 2020-12-13 17:10 | Report Abuse

sunway wb freaking cheap. no one notice ??? any reason ??? if healthcare listed, 2023 should be 1.28 to convert.

Posted by woshigushen > 2020-12-13 17:12 | Report Abuse

1.28 + 0.275 = 1.555
hoot 9 eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee