ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BERHAD

KLSE (MYR): ASTRO (6399)

0.295 - 0.305

20 people like this.

8,157 comment(s). Last comment by Bohya777 4 days ago

Posted by Ramakrishna > 2022-09-15 12:31 | Report Abuse

Use yr own analysis to buy,

fusing79

99 posts

Posted by fusing79 > 2022-09-20 22:15 | Report Abuse

How much KWSP has sold Astro share ?
Why KWSP continue selling Astro ?

HowAh

963 posts

Posted by HowAh > 2022-09-21 20:14 | Report Abuse

oh wow....results are late.... must be terrible

Havefun

361 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2022-09-22 22:45 | Report Abuse

Epf selling everyday

Vhydro

1,553 posts

Posted by Vhydro > 2022-09-26 23:27 | Report Abuse

Dividend 1 sen only, semakin kurang

Vhydro

1,553 posts

Posted by Vhydro > 2022-09-26 23:46 | Report Abuse

Debt is increasing, not a good sign as global interest rate keep increasing, need more money to serve the debt

fortunefire

1,361 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2022-09-28 15:36 | Report Abuse

KWSP keeps unloading so that they can buy other potential stocks and announce good dividend to the EPF members.

Havefun

361 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2022-09-30 16:24 | Report Abuse

EPF still own how much shares?

dragon328

1,910 posts

Posted by dragon328 > 2022-10-02 20:37 |

Havefun

361 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2022-10-06 21:17 | Report Abuse

Epf finally buying….

fortunefire

1,361 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2022-10-12 16:43 | Report Abuse

today drops 5% 0.67! KWSP keeps disposing shares?

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-12 22:29 | Report Abuse

tnang, dont just look at DY. DY will be even better if share price keep sliding! DY was just history, it does not guarantee the future dividend pay out will be same.
Avoid stock that is on down trend, low can be lower tomorrow.

alex

1,346 posts

Posted by alex > 2022-10-12 22:49 | Report Abuse

astro has very huge huge debt..... but still can pay consistent dividend... impressive loh.... provided still earning $$ lah...if not... pay debt interest also cannot tahan ...

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-13 10:18 | Report Abuse

for all broadcast matches like coming worldcup they need to pay fees to host. With USDMYR in current situation....you think what it means.

ivanlau

1,325 posts

Posted by ivanlau > 2022-10-13 18:18 | Report Abuse

-------- quote -------

Stock: [ASTRO]: ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BHD

2022-05-12 19:50 | Report Abuse

------- quote ---------

Stock: [ASTRO]: ASTRO MALAYSIA HOLDINGS BHD

Mar 23, 2022 8:12 AM | Report Abuse

Golden Summit So-chai chong buy call this stock, let us c what will happen, yesterday closing 1.05 .....
--------- unquote ----
today closing 0.965 !!!

-------- unquote ------
today closing 0.655 !!

Vhydro

1,553 posts

Posted by Vhydro > 2022-10-13 22:10 | Report Abuse

cheeseburger

for all broadcast matches like coming worldcup they need to pay fees to host. With USDMYR in current situation....you think what it means.

> Wa, world cup want start liao baru mau bayar the broadcast fee ah? are you serious?

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2022-10-15 19:30 | Report Abuse

After earnings announcement on 26 Sep, the share price has broken support near 83.5 sen and crashed. I averaged down at 0.665, as it looks over-extended. That announcement showed increase in USD borrowings by nearly USD900m vs prior report. That's a massive increase in borrowings, equal to Astro's entire market cap of around RM3.5n. This is around the announcement change in Group CEO from Mr Henry Tan to Euan. As I look deeper, it's to lease more transponders on MEASAT3 satellite. My guess is ASTRO is not taking the price fall lightly but digging deeper to turnaround their business, looking for high future growth? If you are pessimistic about ASTRO's future, then, I guess this is getting to their grave faster with even bigger debts, if the business plan fails. ASTRO really need to explain better the future growth in their business plans, and I like to see Analysts comments to ASTRO management future business plans. As the price fall is over-extended to 0.665, I bought more. Let's see if this is a correct decision or not over the next few years. As usual, this is high risk, keep it a small % of one's diversified portfolio.

My one consolation is that ASTRO's dividend yield is high and is extremely well covered by their Operating Cash Flow. For 6m to 31/7, Operating cashflow is 665m vs Dividend bill of 182m; H1 earnings is 190m also covers it. So, near term dividends should be alright. But ASTRO manages its dividends soundly - if earnings fall, they'll reduce dividends which I like because that's a good sign of a soundly managed company. At RM0.665, the valuations are not demanding at all. A market cap of 3.5 billion generating 0.7m of Operating Cashflow over 6 months is very undemanding valuation.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2022-10-15 19:37 | Report Abuse

To keep the story short, comparing Q1 to Q2:
- Revenue shrunk -9% and further shrunk -11%: ASTRO needs to grow its future revenue.
- Lease on MEASAT3 transponders non-current loans grow USD900m. ASTRO is very serious to grow its future revenue.
- Price at 0.665 is all time low since inception.
What's your take? Is this company accepting its death? Or is this company fighting back extremely hard?
I am taking a bet it is fighting hard for its survival with its new Group CEO.

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-22 21:16 | Report Abuse

Revenue is dropping every year since 2017. Net profit also reducing year after year. There is no grow catalyst in Astro with new expansion into broadband remain to be seen. Shall stay out from Astro for now. the DY may not be attractive anymore with headwind in subscriptions.

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-22 21:34 | Report Abuse

EPF is non stop disposing the stock.

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-22 21:35 | Report Abuse

@Vhydro , Yes if you are in this industry you shall know they are not making full payment yet to the host.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2022-10-23 16:29 | Report Abuse

cheeseburger, if you haven't got any exposure in ASTRO yet, then, I agree there's no rush to enter into ASTRO as the long term decline in subscriber revenue is a real one and that decline is still the case even for its most quarter reports.

And yes, there is no catalysts for growth in sight yet to arrest this decline. ASTRO relies so much on subscriber growth to generate its earnings, any new investor into ASTRO should wait to see a real catalyst, a real "inflexion point" to positively turn around ASTRO's business model.

For this kind of business, ASTRO making all time price low, etc. is not a real reason to enter for long term investment, because many times in the past, when it first made new lows, wait and price keeps making new lows. And investing for high current dividend yield also doesn't make sense when it keeps cutting its dividends, meaning what looks like high dividends can become smaller and smaller dividends in the future. The combined effects of long term declining price and long term reduction in future dividends doesn't justify entry.

As for me, I'm stuck with my small % holding. I am now at a stage where I am praying for short term price volatility to reduce my position at a smaller % loss. I am hoping for price volatility in the next 6 months to retest 80-82 sen and there I plan to reduce my position. There is no guarantee price will get there. In any case, I'm not in a rush but every lousy quarterly report earnings that keeps showing declining revenue growth will probably press the price down even further and further. As they said, support once broken becomes resistance, so, I'm going to join these sellers to sell at each resistance and try to reduce my losses, as it is really very hard for ASTRO to positively turn around its business model. All the BUY call analysts are hoping too much, when the positive catalyst - the real change - and the real result - is still not there yet.

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2022-10-23 16:49 | Report Abuse

https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/astro-invest-more-local-content-streaming-services-%E2%80%94-group-coo.

1.5 months ago, Euan keeps trying to change market perception of ASTRO, talking about "transformation plans", "further invests in global streaming services", "reimagine business model", "making ASTRO an incredible effective machine", "partnering with global OTT players like Netflix, Disney+, ...", "aggregate streaming services", etc. ... - but ...

1. Obviously, market doesn't believe him, as price drops hugely after that.
2. Does ASTRO management really know what to do to arrest that subscriber decline, or are they just grasping at straws with beautiful conceptual market words, where 3 months later, subscriber revenue keep falling i.e. Marketing BS with no real positive impact result?
3. Would be good to see a real analyst who projects declining revenue, declining profits and then put a number to the price, even if lower than current price. That may then set the floor to the price.
4. ASTRO management needs to plan for declining revenue, cut costs, keep a lean team and prepare for a sunset company. Otherwise, keeping costs high when revenue declines will drive this company to zero eventually. No point throwing more $$$ into a sunset industry. They now have a tough choice - spend and revenue keep declining, or reduce spending substantially and revenues decline faster but may give higher profits. When ASTRO first started, nobody saw how fast Netflix, Disney+ etc. will grow nor how fast illegal TV boxes will grow, but we are here now, the new reality is here now, and the question is will ASTRO do the right thing to shareholders i.e. recognize this is a sunset industry, keep costs down to only necessary activities, look to sell itself to newer growing players i.e. do the right thing for its shareholders.

10,338 posts

Posted by Income > 2022-10-25 07:45 | Report Abuse

If You Get COVID, Do This to Slash Your Risk by up to 8.5x

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-25 17:32 | Report Abuse

@DividendGuy67 , sorry to hear this, really hope you can get out of the woods if the dead cat rebound...sometimes we have to cut loss and move on. Yes i agreed Astro is probably in sunset business.

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-10-25 17:35 | Report Abuse

probably EPF is cutting loss as well...non stop dumping

Vhydro

1,553 posts

Posted by Vhydro > 2022-10-28 00:39 | Report Abuse

When IBs give buy call, we should sell instead

cheeseburger

2,773 posts

Posted by cheeseburger > 2022-11-01 16:43 | Report Abuse

for simple reason, there is no growth catalyst in this business at this moment. No growth = dividend cannot be sustained = limited upside for stock price

xiaoeh

2,118 posts

Posted by xiaoeh > 2022-11-01 17:32 | Report Abuse

Maybe Astro is tracking Netflix share price

fortunefire

1,361 posts

Posted by fortunefire > 2022-11-04 16:37 | Report Abuse

sunset business.

UncleFollower

1,111 posts

Posted by UncleFollower > 2022-11-08 17:50 | Report Abuse

Too many better alternatives over this

reuben

18 posts

Posted by reuben > 2022-11-30 18:28 | Report Abuse

Why today up 5 cents?

Posted by DividendGuy67 > 2022-12-01 08:24 | Report Abuse

Looks like fund managers are now picking up value stocks as their outlook for new Malaysia government is net positive. ASTRO is beaten down too much. If the new government doesn't screw up, we will have seen the bottom for ASTRO.

kingJ

125 posts

Posted by kingJ > 2022-12-06 16:58 | Report Abuse

Bright side - World cup brings good income.

trader808

287 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2022-12-07 21:29 | Report Abuse

If last year's announcement date is observed than Astro is expected to announce its 3rd quarter result on 9th Dec Friday.

Posted by bhullar_1972 > 2022-12-09 19:40 | Report Abuse

No announce yet lor.....they make so much money, need more time to count :)

25,067 posts

Posted by speakup > 2022-12-11 11:27 | Report Abuse

Astro can fight Netflix & hotstar?

RWG

1,051 posts

Posted by RWG > 2022-12-15 20:32 | Report Abuse

holland liao

trader808

287 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2022-12-15 23:32 | Report Abuse

1. Astro has experienced a major down trend for the past few months. The share price has collapsed from a height of 1.10 and hit bottom at 64 sen then inched up somewhat to close at 71 sen today. Market has expected the poor result and deterioration in profit performance. The fall in share price has preceded several months before the announcement of bad result today. Hence, to a great extend, the quarterly result has largely been factored into the declining share price.

2.When market opens tomorrow, there will be some selling pressure and fall in price. However,considering the remarks from its press release that the company still record a normal PATAMI of 73m and the decline in profit is largely attributed to the appreciation of USD against the Ringgit the quantum of fall in share price will therefore be limited and constrained in my opinion.

3. When this happen, it should not be alarming. In fact it opens up an opportunity to enter at a lower price level and ride on the bright prospect and great business of Astro for long term value investing and capital appreciation.

4. Share investment is about identifying a great company that has missed one or two quarterly performance like ASTRO or overwhelmed with bad news like ARMADA few years ago so much so that the share price has collapsed to an unthinkably low level, we want to buy them and accumulate more fearlessly. Otherwise, it is unwittingly wasteful.

OKU_2020

4,720 posts

Posted by OKU_2020 > 2022-12-16 08:59 | Report Abuse

RUNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
BOOO CHOWWW CCCCCCCC

Posted by Investsmart60 > 2022-12-16 09:34 | Report Abuse

All their numbers bad. Debt level too high. Negative current assets for some time now. Long term assets mostly intangible. Main biz keep losing customer.

But somehow they still got cash although consecutive quarter negative cash flow

All these holland or not holland u think.

troy88

2,563 posts

Posted by troy88 > 2022-12-16 11:09 | Report Abuse

Wow, such a bad QR. Glory days long gone..

trader808

287 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2022-12-17 21:36 | Report Abuse

1.Since 2014 till the present day Astro has never have a loss year. In fact it has been generating profit between 450m and 770m every year and given out about 91 sen cumulatively in dividend for the past 9 years.

2.It is a well managed company with sustainable business that has demonstrated excellent resilience in a fiercely competitive operating environment. Judging by the distribution of cash dividend and its yield, the company is indeed a cash generating machine.

3.Just because Astro has a bad quarter,it is not doom and much less Holland. One undesirable and less than attractive financial quarter does not define ASTRO.

4.This is a bias perception and is akin to someone picking a beautiful white cat and search thoroughly all over its body, found a black hair then shout out it is a black cat.
17/12/22

Posted by Investsmart60 > 2022-12-18 00:02 | Report Abuse

Debt level too high. Negative current assets for some time now. Long term assets mostly intangible. Main biz keep losing customer.

Read above. It is not just “a bad quarter”. It is a systematic problem, a time bomb waiting to explode.

Mar2083

725 posts

Posted by Mar2083 > 2022-12-18 13:10 | Report Abuse

Friday closing 0.685
Look like will hit above 70sen Monday

trader808

287 posts

Posted by trader808 > 2022-12-18 14:26 | Report Abuse

1.Thank you for your analysis and contribution. Appreciate your advice and points of concern on the weakness of its balance sheet, income and cash flow statement.

2. My posting is intended to share an alternative view and my personal perception of the counter. It may or may not be correct.

3. Going forward , let's allow the natural forces of supply and demand to determine the long term equilibrium share price of Astro.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2022-12-18 15:42 | Report Abuse

Astro

How strong is its economic moat?
Who are its competitors?
Is Astro stronger today compared to 10 years ago?
Will it be a stronger company 10 years from now, compared to today?

Answering these questions will be more protective to your capital than analysing its financial statements which will actually reflect the answers to the above questions.

Havefun

361 posts

Posted by Havefun > 2022-12-28 09:25 | Report Abuse

Wow is it at historical low now at .645? Will this support hold?

Good123

24,748 posts

Posted by Good123 > 2022-12-28 11:46 | Report Abuse

buy sebelum terlambat :)

2022-12-16 0.685 0.94 +0.255 (37.23%)
BUY
RHB-OSK
2022-12-16 0.685 0.82 +0.135 (19.71%)
HOLD
PUBLIC BANK
2022-12-16 0.685 0.75 +0.065 (9.49%)
HOLD