Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-04 07:26 | Report Abuse

Every year at the beginning of the year, investment banks would recommend some stocks which they think would out-perform the market. Maybank, Public Bank, CIMB, TM, Tenaga, Digi, Axiata, Sime, AirAsia etc, the same ones are always on the lists. Nothing wrong with the recommendations as most of them would do well I believe. But the problems of these recommendations are: 1. Almost every investment bank is recommending the same companies, is there any chance that they would earn extra-ordinary return as everyone is chasing the same stocks? 2. Nearly all funds, local or foreign own them because of the liquidity which is good. But if every fund has to own them, won’t the price been chased up long ago to its intrinsic value? 3. Is there any conflict of interest with the investment banks who have funds holding these stocks, or have business dealing with the companies recommending these stocks? 4. Most companies recommended are big capitalized companies. What is the potential of high growth in order to achieve high return in the future? 5. These stocks are well known by everybody in the market, the institutions and retail players. What is the chance that they are selling at bargain price, and hence the chance of high return? Do you have any hidden gem which is tucked in some where undiscovered, unloved and institutional investors have no mandate or interest to buy them for the time being, and selling at bargain price. The chance to earn 50% return a year, a double bagger, five baggers or even ten baggers. An ugly duckling which would turn to a beautiful swan in the near future? Which one and why?

22 people like this.

1,225 comment(s). Last comment by chang0509 2014-06-06 13:43

nightrader

140 posts

Posted by nightrader > 2013-01-05 09:05 | Report Abuse

mphb.....after corporate exercise would be all nfo business
dividend expected to be good

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 09:15 | Report Abuse

moven00, yeah beri Cepat cepat kaya. A long term investment stock. Just a quick glance at Cepat. Its turnover and earnings improved substantially by 27% and 80+% respectively last year, giving a EPS of 14 sen per share. However, due to the lower price of palm oil which affect every plantation company, its third quarter cumulative result is not impressive at all. Looking at it, its turnover and net profit would probably revert to those of 2010. Likely EPS would be about 8 sen. At 97 sen per share, PE is 12+. Ok lah. But in my opinion not that great. Have you compare with say TDM for value, and SOP (I like) and TSH (not what i like though) for growth?

skyland

644 posts

Posted by skyland > 2013-01-05 09:55 | Report Abuse

MENANG has improved its eps last 3Q at 1.48, 3.89, 1.96...NTA 0.62...volumn improving...chart look very nice...once break 0.36 sure goreng kao kao...hearsay going to announce good news very soon

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 09:59 | Report Abuse

mphb, yeah well covered. corporate exercise unlocking its value. Share price increases and hence increasing shareholder value. Just have to see if price has reflected fully on its value already or not. Agree god stock.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 10:08 | Report Abuse

skyland, you memang menang besar ah if you bought it says 6-12 months ago. But it is another property counter. Many property companies are also very good value. One must be very sure and know a lot more about this company than others to hold this stock. The balance sheet not good though.

nightrader

140 posts

Posted by nightrader > 2013-01-05 10:22 | Report Abuse

gcb..higher cocoa prices would boost profit
eyeing US market for growth

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 10:45 | Report Abuse

gcb = giant ci bai hahaha..

this stock very nice :D , no , seriously , gcb is really good, have a second look if u wan to make money in 2013

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 10:56 | Report Abuse

mkland have 2,400ha landbank in M'sia worth billions of ringgit(according to sunbiz(sun newspaper dated 20/12/12, the land is worth RM5 billion) compare to current market capitalization of RM410 million

nightrader

140 posts

Posted by nightrader > 2013-01-05 10:59 | Report Abuse

fat cat...what price u got in? lossess?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 11:08 | Report Abuse

ya, in loss , but i buy very small amount only, so its okay.. no problemo :p

1.98 and 1.8 = average 1.89 , should have buy at 1.59 , but it rebound too fast :(

what about yours?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:17 | Report Abuse

Guan Chong? OMG, not for me. I looked at it before when it showed very good profit one quarter. My conclusion was the profit is not real. It appeared that gcb is not doing business, but speculating on coco future, gambling. Profit not tied with cash flows, always negative cash flows, warning! Look at the balance sheet, ugly! High receivables and inventories (stocking up coco and considered sold?). Borrowing huge and keeps on increasing. Why? No cash comes in every year, only "profit". Financial shenanigan? Definitely not for me. I will advise my good friend fei mau look more closely at it. Same advice to nighttrader. Well don't follow me, I may be wrong. Trading may still make money if you are the few lucky one, not for investing for long-term.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:24 | Report Abuse

sephiroth, MKLand? I have commented in another thread before as below:

[Posted by kcchongnz > Dec 25, 2012 05:54 PM | Report Abuse X
Again the revenue and earnings of MK Land for this few years is relatively little. It could be an asset play as its NAB per share is 89 sen, is 2.7 times its share price of 33 sen. Even with the Graham net-net valuation of MK Land at 40 sen, ignoring its asset of 160m in plant and equipment and assuming value of its receivables and property development cost at 50% of their stated value, is still higher than its share price of 33 sen. It has quite high debt of a total of closed to 200 m though and hence quite high annual interest payment of 20m. The good thing is it has stopped haemorrhaging since its worst performing year in 2008 when it lost 65 m, and the subsequent 26 m loss. That is the peril of a highly leverage company. Again there are so many other property companies which are also highly undervalued, many of them even cash rich. So is there a better story for MK Land?]

Talked about undervalued property stock, why not look at say Plenitude?

Chung

533 posts

Posted by Chung > 2013-01-05 11:28 | Report Abuse

kcchoongnz what about Alam ? closed at 0.765 ? any advise for me ?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 11:28 | Report Abuse

ya i have the concern too, thats why i only buy at a ' testing ' amount.

but kcchong, you have to realize , this gcb is world top 5 cocoa processing manufacturer , speculating on cocoa future is part of the business.

and since you talk like this, i going to have a second or maybe third look at it, thanks! :p

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 11:33 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, debt reduced to RM174.47m as per quarterly and as per public investment bank report "Setiawangsa land and certain plots identified for sale in Damansara Perdana with combined market value of >RM300m", the money from land sale can easily turn the company to net cash company

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 11:34 | Report Abuse

i mean as per quarterly report 30/9/12

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:34 | Report Abuse

fei mau, do you notice that I seldom talk negative about a stock? This is because most of the time I am not sure. Hack I am not an investment banker or what. How much do I know? But when I talk negative about it, I really mean it. I don't BS around. You know that right? Again I may be wrong. Hack, I am just an ordinary retail investor.

che bob

69 posts

Posted by che bob > 2013-01-05 11:37 | Report Abuse

we can see klci reached its highest ever and GE is around the corner. expecting bull until the day come. many counters have reach their psychological barriers.

can anyone comment on effect whether in short, mid and long term investment when for 2013 1st quarter OPR will remain 3.0% with CPI 1.5% then upscalling when subsidial beneficiary rationalisation occured + minimum wages + GST in 2nd quarter just after GE. expected CPI increase to 2.7% and OPR reduced to 2.5% until end of june.

will the stock plunged again like 2007, that time fa or ta were useless? many counters depends on political support by current government policies.

any sifus can share how they survive such.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:37 | Report Abuse

A company hedges its commodity used for doing business, not speculate. gc gambles. Go Google to find out the difference between hedging and speculating.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:41 | Report Abuse

che bob, there are thousands of economists in the world. 50% say one thing and the other 50% the opposite. Nobody can predict the macroeconomic situation right consistently. There are too many variables. Read the following link.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-01-04/almost-all-of-wall-street-got-2012-market-calls-wrong.html

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 11:42 | Report Abuse

kcchongzz, plenitude is not liquid, another property counter, malton should be ok as NAV RM1.43 almost 3.6 times of current share price RM0.525 (Dividend yield 4.7%) Mercury securities report
P&L Analysis (RMm) FY11 FY12 FY13F FY14F
Year-end 30 Jun
Revenue 462.5 341.3 362.9 511.2
Operating Profit 105.7 74.4 48.5 75.8
Depreciation (2.4) (2.2) (2.2) (2.3)
Net Interest (8.2) (6.0) (5.1) (3.5)
Pre-tax profit 98.0 84.7 43.4 72.3
Effective Tax Rate (%) 26.0 24.0 24.0 24.0
Net Profit 72.6 64.4 35.0 58.5
Operating Margin (%) 22.9 21.8 13.4 14.8
Pre-tax margin (%) 21.2 24.8 12.0 14.1
Net margin (%) 15.7 18.9 9.7 11.4

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:46 | Report Abuse

sephiroth, this was what I said:
[kc: koay, you talked about plenitude, it is really undervalued, isn't it? Net cash 1.40 per share. NTA 3.13. So much land sapu at cheap price by Daim still at book value. av EPS for the last few years about 30 sen. Trading at 1.80+. Talk about value, no other property company can match.]

If you are interested in property stock, why not buy Plenitude which already has huge cash and huge land bank at book value. Some more every year makes so much money? Which aspect of MKLand can match Plenitude. Again, you may know more about the value of MKLand than me. Don't take what I said.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 11:56 | Report Abuse

sephiroth, liquidity is not my concern when I invest for the long-term. Like Fat Cat said, if it is liquid, it may not be a hidden gem any more because everybody knows about it and the value may have been fully reflected in its price already. There may be other concerns about Plenitude, nothing is perfect in this world, but liquidity is not one.
Thanks for your information on Malton. Again I always take analysts forecast with a pinch of salt. I said before, not I said, but from research I have read, forecasting by analysts especially on both ends of the bell curve, were often off by a wide margin when compared with actual. But obviously you know more about Malton than me. I will look at it some time. Hope somebody else can comment on Malton.

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 12:00 | Report Abuse

seems plenitude is very good deal although dividend is only 2.7%.will collect some and hold

King Kong73

2,052 posts

Posted by King Kong73 > 2013-01-05 12:02 | Report Abuse

also eversendai...my source from petronas said that that technip have been awarded a few projects this year.

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 12:05 | Report Abuse

my malton history, bought at 0.555,0.525,0.50 & 0.46 and sold all at 0.68 in Jan'12. Bought again at 0.525 and 0.50, just collect dividend at the time being

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 12:07 | Report Abuse

sephiroth, please note that i did not ask you to buy, although I used the word "buy" which was wrong. I should have a word "consider" in front. I hold Plenitude for some time already at a loss, though small one if dividends are taken into account. I said there are other concerns about Plenitude. One of them is "is the management has the interest of minority shareholders at heart?" There is so much cash, why doesn't the management distribute more annual dividends out, instead of the mere 5 sen? Is the management intending to squander the cash for themselves? The credibility of the management to me is the most important when considering investing in a company.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 12:12 | Report Abuse

king kong, sealink? I look at it before about a year ago. It has no match when compared with Coastal Contracts. Anything changes recently?
Eversendai? Read about a good report from an analyst. Haven't study it myself yet. Will look at it one day.

che bob

69 posts

Posted by che bob > 2013-01-05 13:31 | Report Abuse

micronln
below 50 cents, 52 weeks changes 80%
good cash flow
dividend
trending

skyland

644 posts

Posted by skyland > 2013-01-05 13:35 | Report Abuse

prestariang berhad how?

che bob

69 posts

Posted by che bob > 2013-01-05 13:40 | Report Abuse

prestariang has a tight bond with current government supplying IT infras and devices. consider GE as turning point.

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 13:40 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz, yes i am considering plenitude, pjdev(net yield 4.7%, 5 sen gross) amprop(revenue mostly from uk, very high div yield, started to wake up last week), sbccorp( consistently make good profit, nav RM3.36, share price RM1.03). fyi malton boss is desmond lim substantial holder in pav reit who can easily take malton private(market cap only RM218m. Check this link http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2012-11-21/billionaire-lim-unmasked-as-pavilion-reit-outpaces-malaysia-ipos.html

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-01-05 13:43 | Report Abuse

prestariang pay dividend every quarter, yield above 8.5% although modal perdana(ministry of finance vehile) keep dumping nowadays

alexliaw

25 posts

Posted by alexliaw > 2013-01-05 13:47 | Report Abuse

YES, I am considering SBC and AMprop too

skyland

644 posts

Posted by skyland > 2013-01-05 13:57 | Report Abuse

Arank not bad

che bob

69 posts

Posted by che bob > 2013-01-05 13:59 | Report Abuse

yup. currently prestariang paying handsome div yearly yet less liquid. expecting to be at bargain price from april forward. another stock:

skpres

ta called 'mini cash cow'
constantly payind div
less liquid but trending from 0.10 to 0.35
positive cash flow
strong business demands for plastic base products

tan gk

Posted by tan gk > 2013-01-05 15:07 | Report Abuse

jtiasa will perform at 2013

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 15:18 | Report Abuse

Prestariang certainly has good potential. What is the value of Prestariang? It depends mainly on its growth expectation.
Prestariang made 33.64 m with a revenue of 118.5 m last year, a net profit margin of 30%. A discount cash flows analysis on its owners’ earnings (refer to Buffet’s definition) with the following data and assumptions.
Growth of 15% for the next 5 years, and 3% subsequently.
Discount rate 10%, i.e. 6% risk premium over the long-term MGS rate of 4%
ROE at stable growth at 12%
Net capital expenses at 3m per year

The discount cash flows analysis of the owners’ earnings yield an intrinsic value of 2.80, a margin of safety of whopping 59% over its present price of 1.14. Is the growth assumption of 15% for the next 5 years too optimistic? What about 10% growth rate? It will yield an intrinsic value of 2.32, or still a comfortable MOS of 51%. In actual fact, using a reverse discount cash flows analysis, the market is pricing Prestariang with an assumption of negative growth of 5% for ever. Is this logical, or is there an opportunity to profit from investing in Prestariang now?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 15:27 | Report Abuse

jtiasa tan g k? I remember one blogger Dali "hard sell" (just joking) this before. It basically say how much and how much their plantation land worth, per hectare how much and came up with a figure to say Jtiasa should worth how much. I looked at it and no thanks. I don't know if the land value really can worth that much if you try to sell all, and after you sell all, what to do? Performance, balance sheet and cash flows nothing compared to many much better plantation companies. Many of them also claim that their land worth how much and how much.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 15:29 | Report Abuse

Posted by che bob > Jan 5, 2013 01:31 PM | Report Abuse
micronln
below 50 cents, 52 weeks changes 80%
good cash flow
dividend
trending

Never heard of. What do they do? What is their moat? Any interesting and plausible story to tell?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 15:31 | Report Abuse

Posted by skyland > Jan 5, 2013 01:57 PM | Report Abuse

Arank not bad

Why not bad? why it ranked A?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 15:39 | Report Abuse

kcchong, what your recommendation?

other than kfima, plenitu , got any more?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 15:54 | Report Abuse

fei mau, you are setting a trap on me to be charged with hard selling? Don't play play. But seriously the few topics I have posted contained many good ones already. I am no expert. What do you expert from a civil engineer living far far away and trying to invest in the Malaysian market? I am very happy with my return of investment in these three years though. Luckily I only start to play big (in my low standard only) again from three years ago when nobody wanted to look at the market. But my ROI is no way to match with many people here as you can see from a thread I posted here. But if you still want my opinion, you could actually see them with all the reasons why I think so in this i3investor website. I have almost vomited all already throughout the threads. You know how to find them. Why did I do it in the first place? Too free here with the sheep. Besides I was scouting for hidden gems too. Hoping people could share with me too. Hard sell? Do I sound like one? Do I need to?

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 15:59 | Report Abuse

dude.. no hard feeling la, i was just joking on the hard selling la... you really take me seriously on that?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 16:01 | Report Abuse

Definitely not you. You know who I mean, don't you?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 16:19 | Report Abuse

fei mau, read these,
Posted by kcchongnz > Jan 2, 2013 11:21 AM | Report Abuse X
I actually welcomed very much criticism, I always say. Yours are welcomed too. However I prefer any criticism with facts and substantiations. If you don't have, it really doesn't matter too. But when you said my facts, solid facts are merely based on faith, then I think you have overstepped the boundary. I show you mountains of facts. Facts you nay dispute. However, you don't dispute it, probably you can't, and you just ridicule me that I am basing on faith. Come on, show me your facts. Dispute my facts with your facts. Be intelligent in discussion.

Posted by iafx > Jan 2, 2013 11:29 AM | Report Abuse
mountain of facts or BS? all yr data first copied from other reports not made by u, then uses theory/formula which can be found on www, books, lastly add a bit of your emotion. Yeah, that's a lot of fact - to hard sell the counter?
let's see when ptaras would announce bonus issue, or maybe just private placement. by then, whether what you said here is a fact, or merely just market talk.
btw, no body try to change you ... no one would bother, it's just view, cannot take it? ... hahaha.

Posted by iafx > Jan 4, 2013 03:11 PM | Report Abuse
left hand write to right hand, right hand greet the left hand, all by same person trying to hard sell.
actually, ptaras is a nice pick, despite a few down sides. there is no need for you to sell so hard.
hahaha...

And other demeaning statements in this thread which you probably have read. I have posted many comments in this and other website, many of them I disagreed with others and others disagree with me. Some even with hard statements. But nothing personal. In fact many opposite views are beneficiary. But see what kind of things he said.

Posted by Fat Cat Tim Buddy > 2013-01-05 16:25 | Report Abuse

Hater gonna hate.

The Wise will ignore them.

Those never learn will become like kcloh. :P hahaha! ..

so.. just relax man, life is too short to be unhappy.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 16:36 | Report Abuse

Lan mau, I re-post this here.
Posted by kcchongnz > Jan 4, 2013 04:03 PM | Report Abuse X
Johore Tin is doing very well after the acquisition of Abel Dairies. Most corporate acquisitions are value destroyers, but for Johore Tin's acquisition of Able Dairies is a rare exception. Margins actually improved and operation efficiencies jumped by leaps and bounds. If you do a discount cash flows analysis, you will see that the present price of RM1.75 provides a high margin of safety. Read this.
http://www.stocks-unleashed.com/

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-05 16:37 | Report Abuse

Scientex, also from the same website below:

http://www.stocks-unleashed.com/

My valuation of the intrinsic value of Scientex is between 4.50 to 5.50.