Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-01-04 07:26 | Report Abuse

Every year at the beginning of the year, investment banks would recommend some stocks which they think would out-perform the market. Maybank, Public Bank, CIMB, TM, Tenaga, Digi, Axiata, Sime, AirAsia etc, the same ones are always on the lists. Nothing wrong with the recommendations as most of them would do well I believe. But the problems of these recommendations are: 1. Almost every investment bank is recommending the same companies, is there any chance that they would earn extra-ordinary return as everyone is chasing the same stocks? 2. Nearly all funds, local or foreign own them because of the liquidity which is good. But if every fund has to own them, won’t the price been chased up long ago to its intrinsic value? 3. Is there any conflict of interest with the investment banks who have funds holding these stocks, or have business dealing with the companies recommending these stocks? 4. Most companies recommended are big capitalized companies. What is the potential of high growth in order to achieve high return in the future? 5. These stocks are well known by everybody in the market, the institutions and retail players. What is the chance that they are selling at bargain price, and hence the chance of high return? Do you have any hidden gem which is tucked in some where undiscovered, unloved and institutional investors have no mandate or interest to buy them for the time being, and selling at bargain price. The chance to earn 50% return a year, a double bagger, five baggers or even ten baggers. An ugly duckling which would turn to a beautiful swan in the near future? Which one and why?

22 people like this.

1,225 comment(s). Last comment by chang0509 2014-06-06 13:43

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 16:47 | Report Abuse

i mean stop jus because i am rich u are poor

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2013-07-02 16:49 | Report Abuse

What is wrong with this newbiestock guy? Dear newbiestock, may I know what is the good not-cheap stock recommended by you please?

sephiroth

14,119 posts

Posted by sephiroth > 2013-07-02 16:52 | Report Abuse

newbiestock=optimusrich=sohhai67=cheebai= retard

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2013-07-02 16:52 | Report Abuse

bjcorp/karyon/lion ind/ytl land/skpress/ntpm/asiapac..

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-02 16:53 | Report Abuse

I think we should just ignore newbie. He is just trying to attract attention. Don't get intimated. As for kcchong, otb and kcloh, keep up the good work.

aunloke

974 posts

Posted by aunloke > 2013-07-02 16:53 | Report Abuse

I sold my PBB @ 13+, Bstead @5+ and change to penny stocks like Multico (62 sen ) tanbun (58 sen ) huayang @ 1.2+ and I can say that I'm very happy with the switch.

oldpro

40 posts

Posted by oldpro > 2013-07-02 16:56 | Report Abuse

good one, sephiroth

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 16:57 | Report Abuse

look u poor people like cheap stock cos u have the hope of it becoming big one day like pbbank and digi but u think u are investing but all u are doing is gambling. as your shrink what is this disease called.. now u know why u guys are poor and the rich guys rich cos they only buy pbbank petdag and the works.. like i said poor people will neva get it..

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 16:59 | Report Abuse

if you poor people wan to become rich do that the rich do.. u know why rich people buy houses in damansara heights cos it was expensive then u know where it went much much more expensive but i guess u are poor people its nice to see u guys here trying to become rich with ur gambling attitude

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 17:00 | Report Abuse

how come no analysis of any stock worth more then RM3 ????
u poor people get it ?? why u are poor???

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 17:00 | Report Abuse

cheap stock ALWAYS loose out in the long run get it?????ALWAYS

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 17:02 | Report Abuse

its sad and pathetic to see you guys here talking cheap stock. admin should tell u to talk expensive stock also to be fair after all this is a site where people come to learn and talk so how come u poor people infest this site ?? where are the rich people??

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2013-07-02 17:12 | Report Abuse

since u expert in exp shares i willing to listen to your recomendation so do please show us wat u got:) please show us about your analyst on exp stocks;)

gark

924 posts

Posted by gark > 2013-07-02 17:12 | Report Abuse

Hahaha you value the stock cheap and expensive based on price per share??

You are much more idiotic that initially thought. Donlt worry too much if that is how you value share... you will lose all your money in no time.

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2013-07-02 17:15 | Report Abuse

You know, this newbiestock is quite an entertainment. Rm 3 or Rm 300 does not really matters to me. The "value" is what matters.

And to me, stock capitalisation is also important.

Again, this is my own judgement and coming from a newbie not-rich guy as well..

optimusprime

1,149 posts

Posted by optimusprime > 2013-07-02 17:21 | Report Abuse

newbiestock, buy coastal la. join me, i collected 200,000 lot already. eveyday i buy since limit down. target 3.00 sup sup water.

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2013-07-02 17:24 | Report Abuse

Optimusprime, coastal is "cheap" according to him as his way of valuing stocks is by price per share. He may only buy those GAB, BAT, KLK etc.

:)

Posted by Ammar Roshidy > 2013-07-02 17:33 | Report Abuse

There is no rich or poor stocks, Just high risk or blue chips. Usually the rich go for blue chips, as there are already there. And they do not have time to think about the high risk stocks. Everyone has to start some where. Start by loosing some money and learn from it. BTW even the rich play penny stocks you may just not know it.

Steve Jub

4,203 posts

Posted by Steve Jub > 2013-07-02 17:42 | Report Abuse

kcchong, u can remove those post which u think abusive.

Tiago Gt

408 posts

Posted by Tiago Gt > 2013-07-02 18:18 | Report Abuse

how about nextnat?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-02 18:32 | Report Abuse

L & G, any comments? Thanks.
Posted by oldman > Jul 2, 2013 04:35 PM | Report Abuse

I made some comments on L&G when asked half a year ago as below:

Posted by kcchongnz > Dec 9, 2012 05:53 PM | Report Abuse X
Is L&G really such a steal? Of course it is if the story told by Mr Ooi about the 75m profit for the next 8 years for the foresta condo project is correct? That cash flows alone is already worth 400 m or 67sen per share, using a discount rate of 10%. Is that projection correct? How the hell I know?

Let us just forget about the projection, as profit projection 8 years away is a very hazardous things to do, in my opinion. Looking at its financial statements for the last few years, and the last couple of recent quarterly reports, my opinion is that I would have no worries investing in this stock. There have been no loss in the last few years, quite ok in cash flows and balance sheet is healthy. Just worry a bit about its Australian operations, but not too big an issue. Buy the share at 40 sen, much better than many many hot stocks pitched about nowadays. No worry lah. If the story doesn't materialized, it is still ok with that price. If the story comes through, there will be big payoff.

However I change my mine recently due to the unfair RPT of buying the asset from its major shareholder which was not done at arm length. I won't touch this type of company with dubious credibility.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 18:45 | Report Abuse

lolz@u poor people.. fakes.. sad for u all la.. idiots

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 19:34 | Report Abuse

all you poor little people trying to become rich wit stocks do la buy lottery ticket bete la

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-02 19:38 | Report Abuse

By the way, to those self-declared "rich" people, how many lots of KLK. BAT, Nestle, PBB, Amway you are holding ?

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 19:52 | Report Abuse

up urs inwest88 i don hav to prove anything to u . u are a poor shit. u can lick my rich nuts OK like all people do LOLz

inwest88

5,628 posts

Posted by inwest88 > 2013-07-02 19:55 | Report Abuse

Why is someone getting upset ? I didn't mention anyone specifically !!! upset ?

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-02 20:05 | Report Abuse

Newbiestock, you really make a fool out of yourself.

Cant you see how much you can learn from valuation done by KC Chong and the guys here who are investigating stocks from their financial report?

If you dont like what is here, just leave and go make quick money on penny stocks

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 20:07 | Report Abuse

LOLZ@alx all u poor people are alike.

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-02 20:08 | Report Abuse

By the way newbie, if you had lost a lot of $$, its ok. Dont be bitter...you can start fresh again ya ... all the best to you :)

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 20:09 | Report Abuse

this site should ban all poor people who advocate their crap stocks for their personal benefit. what losers. sad and pathetic. ooi tek kcchong kcloh. all show characteristics of poor people

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 20:10 | Report Abuse

lolz@alx lose $ are u sure ah? LOLz if u say so .

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-02 20:13 | Report Abuse

wasting my time here wit poor little people. they all can lik my nuts

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-02 20:13 | Report Abuse

Its ok... I understand the feeling. Newbie, take heart ya. Things will be good for you.

Hi KC Chong, seriously, learn a lot from your post. If you have a blog, I would like to read as well.

What do you think is the acceptable price to book ratio?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-03 08:08 | Report Abuse

alx, there is no standard for acceptable price-to-book value. It depends on the type of company, their operation efficiencies etc. Some light asset companies have low book value but high price because their earnings capacity is from their business model, industries and their intangible human asset etc. Some companies have huge asset but earns little. The "book" value is also often an accounting value which is historical, or far from its realizable values, or its replacement value etc. So many analysts do not rely on P/B to make decision.

Price-to-book is more meaningful for banks where assets and liabilities are marked to market. Acceptable P/B for banks also depends on the return of equity of the banking business. For example, if the ROE is 15% and my required return is 10%, an acceptable P/B value may be 1.5. Just an example.

Whereas for a company like Jobstreet which earnings are not dependable on its real assets, P/B of 5.8 may not be expensive as it has a ROE of 27%.

alx

213 posts

Posted by alx > 2013-07-03 09:55 | Report Abuse

Thanks KC ! Appreciate it

ipomember

615 posts

Posted by ipomember > 2013-07-03 10:01 | Report Abuse

Kcchong, i think myeg is a good company. But the P/E is high now. What P/E you willing to pay for this kind of company?

hng33

19,946 posts

Posted by hng33 > 2013-07-03 10:07 | Report Abuse

Hidden gem, KPS and Puncak

ryan7642

1,998 posts

Posted by ryan7642 > 2013-07-03 10:08 | Report Abuse

seriously i think Genting Hong Kong which listed in Spore is a super HIDDEN GEM so can seriously consider buy it;)

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:23 | Report Abuse

fakes sifus=kcchongnz kcloh ooi tek cos they advice people to play little stocks that are cheap below RM3 cos they are poor and like to see that they have many shares in their CDS. they neva talk about RM15 RM10 worth shares because these poor people can ony get a few shares. u look at the PE ratio to see la. pathetic poor people making other people poor also.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:25 | Report Abuse

pathetic poor sifus should be banned from this site for being stupead!!!!! analyse maybank la PE low also what about cimb la. these are not gems ah??? ur hidden gems are like ur nuts will always be hidden. cheats all cheats kcloh kcchongnz ooi tek

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:25 | Report Abuse

pathetic poor sifus should be banned from this site for being stupead!!!!! analyse maybank la PE low also what about cimb la. these are not gems ah??? ur hidden gems are like ur nuts will always be hidden. cheats all cheats kcloh kcchongnz ooi tek

Jaack1

56 posts

Posted by Jaack1 > 2013-07-03 11:25 | Report Abuse

Dear Mr KC Chong,

What is your view on FABER?

Tks/Rgds

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:28 | Report Abuse

jaack1 buy la proper stocks dont ask that kcchongnz unless u are a dam fool and an idiot which looks like it i think .. LOLZ

Posted by kcchongnz > 2013-07-03 11:28 | Report Abuse

Posted by hng33 > Jul 3, 2013 10:07 AM | Report Abuse
Hidden gem, KPS and Puncak

It does appear that hng33 have uncovered those gems above.

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:30 | Report Abuse

well look kcchongnz poor sifu advising a poor man to become fake rich with many cheap stocks LOLZ

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:31 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz u advice me la !!! wow KPS and puncak good la... for speculation sake.. called yourself investor.. liar and cheat

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-07-03 11:32 | Report Abuse

Posted by newbiestock > Jul 3, 2013 11:23 AM | Report Abuse
fakes sifus=kcchongnz kcloh ooi tek cos they advice people to play little stocks that are cheap below RM3 cos they are poor and like to see that they have many shares in their CDS. they neva talk about RM15 RM10 worth shares because these poor people can ony get a few shares. u look at the PE ratio to see la. pathetic poor people making other people poor also.

i own maybank shares dumbo! need listerine to gargle that stink hole of yours? :)

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:33 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz advise people not to buy puncak!! look at puncak today!! LOLZ

Posted by KC Loh > 2013-07-03 11:33 | Report Abuse

sorry i complete forgot about you after bring my mutts out yesterday. maybe the frustration showing because you waited so long! sorry ar..... LOL

Posted by newbiestock > 2013-07-03 11:34 | Report Abuse

kcchongnz what happend to ur puncak ler??? LOLZ