Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-12 08:05 | Report Abuse

My Golden Rule of Investing: Companies that grow revenues and earnings will see share prices grow over time.

16 people like this.

3,694 comment(s). Last comment by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ 5 days ago

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-21 10:32 | Report Abuse

Those born in 1930-50 generation eventhough life is hard but their earning power still enable them to invest in equity, properties and land.

I am worrying for my children generation where their earning power can hardly enough to buy a house and start a family.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-06-21 10:53 | Report Abuse

SSLee

Thanks for your insightful response. Will elaborate on this further.

Isn't it rude that the post above was flagged and disappeared? I just do not understand some people's thinking. Sad.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-06-21 10:53 | Report Abuse

These are mostly Rapists and or Children of Rapists

During and Post WW2 around 5 million men, women and child were raped.
Some say numbers are several times higher.

The highest number of rapes were by Russians soldiers estimated to be above 2,000,000 German women raped.
So these Russian men who died in Ukraine were Grandsons of WW2 Rapists.

Thats why Russians invaded Ukraine, its all because of the free sex rape of Ukraine men women and children.

Posted by Sslee > 14 minutes ago | Report Abuse

Those born in 1930-50 generation eventhough life is hard but their earning power still enable them to invest in equity, properties and land.

I am worrying for my children generation where their earning power can hardly enough to buy a house and start a family.

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-21 11:40 | Report Abuse

I3lurker,
For your misbehaviour. I just report abuse your above comment.

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-06-21 15:06 | Report Abuse

I remember my grandparent story on the horrible suffering during WW 2.

My grandparent had to hide with all his children in the jungle from the JAPANESE soldier.

So WW2 is not a laughing matter but the worst tragedy in human history.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-06-21 16:20 | Report Abuse

Death and rape are keynote data for economics growth during 1930 to 1950 period you mentioned.
All other economic factors are nothing compared with death and rape.

Dun mention a time period
and then turn to be coward,
unless you were always a coward from the day you were born and still are.

Hiding your head under the sand does not make death and rape any less relevant to economics theory.

Posted by i3lurker > 2023-06-21 16:33 | Report Abuse

Have a look at Ukraine today.
The economics of Ukraine are driven by death of Ukraine citizens, property destruction and
rape of Ukraine men, women and children.
Some Ukraine children are kidnapped to Russia for long term enjoyment of horny Russian men.

Ignore key data and your economics Equation just does not balance.

Example as follows: -
in Malaysia when a Mat Rempit dies, it can cost up to RM300,000.00 ... more minus than plus wink wink
all the nasi and drinking tap water wasted.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-06-30 23:30 | Report Abuse

What you choose to invest in should be boring and easy to understand.

Many pile new money into an investment after it has done well, and it usually ends badly.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 11:15 | Report Abuse

Simple mathematics in investing. Knowing these 2 formulae in depth will make you very rich.

1. Simplified formula for compound interest:
A = P (1+r)^t

A = How much money you end up with
P = The amount of money you invest
r = The annual return your money earns while invested
t = The number of years your money is invested

2. Calculating Returns
R = (Pf - Pi + D) / Pi

R = Rate of return
Pf = Latest market price of asset
Pi = Market price of asset when bought initially
D = Dividends (total) received

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 13:58 | Report Abuse

1. Simplified formula for compound interest:
A = P (1+r)^t

A = How much money you end up with
P = The amount of money you invest
r = The annual return your money earns while invested
t = The number of years your money is invested

Rank these variables in order of their importance.
Rank these variables based on the level of control you have over each.
#1 - Number of years your money you invest
#2 - The amount of money you invest
#3 - Annual return your money earns while invested

The variable that investors have the most control over is HOW LONG THEY STAY INVESTED. Sadly, many investors sacrifice time invested (something they can control) in a futile effort to maximize returns (something they can't control).

There is a way to speed up the wealth-building process. It is not accomplished by trying to increase your investment returns. It is accomplished by focusing on the varibale that investors have the second most control of: HOW MUCH MONEY YOU INVEST.

There is only one way you can influence your annual investment returns: BY CHOOSING HOW AGGRESSIVE YOUR PORTFOLIO ALLOCATION IS. The more of your portfolio that is invested in risky assets like stocks, the higher your expected returns will be. Yes, you can influence your returns, but that is done at the beginning when you select your PORTFOLIO ALLOCATION.

SUMMARY:
It is not the return of what you invst in that matters, it is the return you are able to capture by staying invested. If that means giving up some expected returns in exchange for a level of volatility yu can stomach, then so be it.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 14:06 | Report Abuse

Simplified formula for compound interest:
A = P (1+r)^t

Warren Buffett: "Time is your friend: impulse is your enemy. Take advantage of compound interest, and don't be captivated by the siren song of the market."

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 14:06 | Report Abuse

A = P (1+r)^t

Warren Buffett: "Time is your friend: impulse is your enemy. Take advantage of compound interest, and don't be captivated by the siren song of the market."

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 14:15 | Report Abuse

2. Calculating Returns
R = (Pf - Pi + D) / Pi

R = Rate of return

The rate of return is defined as the difference between the end of period market price of the asset and the beginning market price of the asset; and including all dividends paid by the company during the whole period; divided by the beginning market price of the asset.

You will wish to own a business with good competititve advantage for a long time. Over this long period, its intrinsic value can be expected to grow and you would have collected many years of dividends beside enjoying its expected higher market price.

Stay with good quality company, managed by honest people and buying this at a fair or bargain price; and keep almost always for a long term.

Keep investing very simple indeed.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 15:54 | Report Abuse

A = P (1+r)^t

Compounding over the long term is truly the 8th wonder of the universe.
Today, the amount P in my portfolio is an 8 figure.
Hopefully, the 9th figure will be realised sooner.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 21:53 | Report Abuse

Calculating Returns
R = (Pf - Pi + D) / Pi

R = Rate of return

Examples:

Berkshire Hathaway B shares
2000 US 36.40
2023 US 341.00
R = (341 - 36.4 + Dividends) / 36.4
= (304.6 + 0) / 36.4
= 8.4x

Padini
2010 RM 0.80
2023 RM 3.88
R = (3.88 - 0.80 + Dividends) / 0.80
= (3.08 + Dividends) / 0.80
= (3.08 + 1.085) / 0.80
= 4.165 / 0.80
= 5.2x

Parkson
2010 RM 4.17
2023 RM 0.18
R = (0.18 - 4.17 + Dividends) / 0.18
= (- 3.99 + 0.36) / 0.18
= -3.63 / 0.18
= - 20.2

Dutch Lady
2010 RM 14.00
2023 RM 22.34
R = (22.34 - 14.00 + Dividends) / 14.00
= (8.34 + 20.85) / 14.00
= 29.19 / 14.00
= 2.08x

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 22:14 | Report Abuse

Insas
2010 RM 0.50
2023 RM 0.81
R = (0.81 - 0.50 + Dividends) / 0.50
= (0.31 + 0.133) / 0.50
= 0.443 / 0.50
= 0.88x

TSH
2010 RM 0.76
2023 RM 0.92
R = (0.92 - 0.76 + Dividends) / 0.76
= (0.16 + 0.33) / 0.76
= 0.64x

Bonia
2020 RM 0.80
2023 RM 1.83
R = (1.83 - 0.80 + Dividends) / 0.80
= (1.83 - 0.80 + 0.247) / 0.80
= (1.03 + 0.247) / 0.80
= 1.277 / 0.88
= 1.45x

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-01 22:40 | Report Abuse

Hengyuan
2010 RM 10.68
2023 RM 3.07
R =(3.07 - 10.68 + Dividends) / 10.68
=( - 7.61 + 1.11) / 10.68
= -6.50 / 10/68

Yinson (adjusted share price)
2010 RM 0.07
2023 RM 2.56
R = (2.56 - 0.07 + Dividends) / 0.07
= (2.49 + 0.2643) / 0.07
= 2.75 / 0.07
= 39.3x

PChem
2010 RM 5.50
2023 RM 6.00
R = (6.00 - 5.50 + Dividends) / 5.50
= (0.50 + 3.00 ) / 5.50
= 3.50 / 5.50
= 0.64x

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 07:39 | Report Abuse

iCAP
2010 RM 1.97 (share price)
2023 RM 2,08 (share price)
Total Dividends received RM 0.295
R = (2,08 - 1.97 + Dividends) / 1.97
= (0.09 + 0.295) / 1.97
= 0.304 / 1.97
= 0.15x

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-07-02 07:46 | Report Abuse

Insas
2010 RM 0.50
2023 RM 0.81
R = (0.81 - 0.50 + Dividends) / 0.50
= (0.31 + 0.133) / 0.50
= 0.443 / 0.50
= 0.88x

PChem
2010 RM 5.50
2023 RM 6.00
R = (6.00 - 5.50 + Dividends) / 5.50
= (0.50 + 3.00 ) / 5.50
= 3.50 / 5.50
= 0.64x

Thanks 3iii
You make my day.
My Insas is actually better than Philip' Pchem

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 14:48 | Report Abuse

FD
2010 RM 1.97
2023 RM 1.97
Interest received 3% yearly
R = (1.97 - 1.97 + Interests) / 1.97
= (1.97 - 1.97 + 0.7092) / 1.97
= 0.7092 / 1.97
= 0.36 or 36%

Hopefully, your return on your invested stock beats the return of risk free FD.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 15:39 | Report Abuse

QL
2010 RM 0.85
2023 RM 5.36
Dividends 31.75 sen

R = (5.36 - 0.85 + 0.3175) / 0.85
= (4,51 + 0.3175) / 0.85
= 4,8275 / 0.85
= 5.68x = 568%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 15:46 | Report Abuse

Aeon Credit
2010 RM 2.11
2023 RM 11.26
Dividends (total) 405.16 sen

R = (11.26 - 2.11 + 4.05) / 2.11
= (9.15 + 4,05) / 2.11
= 13,2 / 2.11
= 6.26x = 626%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 16:36 | Report Abuse

Glove counters

Harta
2010 RM 0.61
2023 RM 1.89
Dividends156.28 sen
R = (1.89 - 0.61 + 1.5628) / 0.61
= (1.28 + 1.56) / 0.61
= 2.84 / 0.61
= 4.66x = 466%

Topglove
2010 RM 0.51
2023 RM 0.81
Dividends 97,88 sen
R = (0.81 - 0.51 + 0.9788) / 0.51
= (0.3+ 0.98) / 0.51
= 1.28 / 0.51
= 2.51x = 251%

Kossan
2010 RM 0.44
2023 RM 1.29
Dividends 84.2 sen
R = (1.29 - 0.44 + 0.842) / 0.44
= (0.85 + 0.842) / 0.44
= 1.69 / 0.44
= 3.84x = 384%

Supermax
2010 RM 0.60
2023 RM 0.80
Dividends 50.41 sen
R = (0.80 - 0.60 + 0.5041) / 0.60
= (0.20 + 0.5041) / 0.60
= 0.704 / 0.60
= 1.17x = 117%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 22:46 | Report Abuse

PLANTATION STOCKS

Company …. 2010 (RM) …. 2023 (RM) …. DIV (sen) …. Return %
INNO …. 0.45 …. 1.23 …. 57.5 …. 301%
KMLOONG …. 0.73 …. 1.77 …. 75.56 …. 246%
UTDPLT …. 7.76 …. 15.48 …. 838.83 …. 208%
FAREAST …. 1.67 …. 3.7 …. 72.89 …. 165%
BLDPLNT …. 4.51 …. 10.5 …. 58.33 …. 146%
BKAWAN …. 13.63 …. 20.76 …. 845 …. 114%
KRETAM …. 0.32 …. 0.6 …. 6.7 …. 108%
MHC …. 0.63 …. 0.89 …. 27.87 …. 86%
TSH …. 0.76 …. 0.92 …. 44.1133 …. 79%
GOPENG …. 0.48 …. 0.34 …. 38.21 …. 50%
CHINTEK …. 8.11 …. 7.92 …. 314 …. 36%
IOI …. 4.18 …. 3.73 …. 154.84 …. 26%
SBAGAN …. 2.7 …. 3.25 …. 5.82 …. 23%
CEPAT …. 0.78 …. 0.68 …. 26 …. 21%
HSPLANT …. 2.7 …. 1.86 …. 134 …. 19%
UMCCA …. 6.35 …. 5.08 …. 225.83 …. 16%
GENP …. 6.94 …. 5.9 …. 167.42 …. 9%
NSOP …. 4.87 …. 3.55 …. 135 …. 1%
SOP …. 3.06 …. 2.45 …. 46.58 …. -5%
TDM …. 0.36 …. 0.18 …. 15.84 …. -6%
JTIASA …. 1.18 …. 0.69 …. 14.37 …. -29%
RSAWIT …. 0.45 …. 0.14 …. 3.73 …. -61%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-02 22:50 | Report Abuse

Company …. [YEAR] (RM) …. 2023 (RM) …. DIV (sen) …. Return %
FGV …. [2012] 5.03 …. 1.45 …. 54 …. -60%
BPLT …. [2014] 1.11 …. 0.93 …. 45.29 …. 25%
SIMEPLT …. [2017] 5.29 …. 4.15 …. 43.2 …. -13%

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-07-03 07:33 | Report Abuse

Thanks 3iii for the summary on Glove Stock.

So that is what happen if you buy and keep your stocks in a safe for 13 years without monitoring the external and internal conditions that will cause the demand and supply imbalance.

Imagine if you have sold Harta, Topglove, Kossan and Supermax near their peak price, what will be your rate of return?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > Jul 2, 2023 4:36 PM | Report Abuse

Glove counters

Harta
2010 RM 0.61
2023 RM 1.89
Dividends156.28 sen
R = (1.89 - 0.61 + 1.5628) / 0.61
= (1.28 + 1.56) / 0.61
= 2.84 / 0.61
= 4.66x = 466%

Topglove
2010 RM 0.51
2023 RM 0.81
Dividends 97,88 sen
R = (0.81 - 0.51 + 0.9788) / 0.51
= (0.3+ 0.98) / 0.51
= 1.28 / 0.51
= 2.51x = 251%

Kossan
2010 RM 0.44
2023 RM 1.29
Dividends 84.2 sen
R = (1.29 - 0.44 + 0.842) / 0.44
= (0.85 + 0.842) / 0.44
= 1.69 / 0.44
= 3.84x = 384%

Supermax
2010 RM 0.60
2023 RM 0.80
Dividends 50.41 sen
R = (0.80 - 0.60 + 0.5041) / 0.60
= (0.20 + 0.5041) / 0.60
= 0.704 / 0.60
= 1.17x = 117%

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 10:06 | Report Abuse

SSLee

I am always bemused by posts that a person has made few hundred percent on their latest stock pick over a short period. How many shares did he hold or has?

The long term investor truly focuses on a very long time horizon. I shared my simple maths on compounding. Reread this if you must to understand the power of compounding gains (as opposed to compounding losses).

At any time, I have 8 figures invested in stocks. Thankfully, the portfolio has compounded, not a few hundred percentage points in a short time, but a few percentage points over a short while but over a long time, with each doubling the incremental gain is equivalent to the total gains of the previous whole lifetime of the portfolio. Herein lies the power of long term investing, that few experiences. Moreover, the yearly dividends are just amazing. 6 figures dividends yearly and I hope these can soon grow to 7 figures in near future.

Of course, some share prices became over-exuberant. For a long term investor, he can either sell all (rarely), sell some (often and sometimes) or not sell at all (often). The most important point is to always not buy when the price is high. Buy when it is fair or undervalued. You can have the option to execute the sell as I stated above. Even if you do not sell, you will generally be fine.

Of course, you will also met some losses in some stocks. Even with the 100% losses in these, in general, the multibagger gains and the dividends received from the rest of the portfolio, more than cover these.

Keep investing simple. Enjoy life. Enjoy the time that financial freedom offers oneself.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 11:32 | Report Abuse

Every thing at a stand still except finance and speculation in wall street. And that is the reality

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-07-03 12:01 | Report Abuse

I agree with 3iii invest only on those companies that are well managed and give yerly dividend but you must also monitor the external and internal factors that will cause the company doing extremely well or extremly poor and time your selling.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:11 | Report Abuse

For the time being Tesla and ev is what is active and indispensable

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:16 | Report Abuse

What compounding? U can compound up and compound down too

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:17 | Report Abuse

Big funds can talk about diversification. Diversification is the external tool to stabilise the environment

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:19 | Report Abuse

In the absence of diversification, choose Tesla and ev for time being.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:19 | Report Abuse

Bursa? Forget it

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:35 | Report Abuse

Putting all your eggs into insas is not call investing and certainly not compounding

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:39 | Report Abuse

If u want big performance u need to have significant portion in start ups/ new listings/ meme stocks/ trends/ big pictures/ .....and non bursa investments

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 12:41 | Report Abuse

If u follow book theories, gains cannot compensate for losses.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 12:45 | Report Abuse

Lessons from 1997:

This was the most severe bear market. I was a relatively newbie in stocks. But I observed many valuable lessons from many seniors who have been invested much longer.

1. Met a friend who was about 10 years my senior in Genting Highlands in 1998. He was up in Genting for a break. He shared that he sold all his stocks in 1997 during the bear market. I am very certain he sold his stocks at very low prices. Have similar stories of others doing the same too.

2. Few years after 1997, I was talking to a housewife. She too was involved in the stock market during the bull preceding 1997. When the stock market collapsed, she continued to hold onto her stocks. She shared her stock portfolio with me. They were all penny stocks with no possibility of good outcomes except one. I advised her accordingly, asking her to sell all her stocks except that one counter. She approached her remisier who also advised her and sold all her stocks to realise whatever residual amount there was. I too advised her not to buy stocks on her own. A few years later, the one stock left in her portfolio was sold at higher value. I think she has not entered the stock market since.

3. My personal portfolio. I did buy and sell in my early years, though not often. In 1997, I was too caught in the bear market. I held onto these stocks. My remisier often shared so and so had sold all their stocks, but this did not influence my inaction. The portfolio went down in value over months. In 2002, realised that my portfolio value was higher than its value before 1997. A lot of the value was derived from dividends. What protected my portfolio? Stay with good quality growth companies, those giving dividends are a bonus.

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2023-07-03 15:43 | Report Abuse

Now I got so much pain from the mkt ! What to do ?

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 15:46 | Report Abuse

Lesson from 2008 Global Financial Crisis

1. Met a friend whose husband is the main investor in her family. During the 2008 crisis, they decided to sell everything and got out of the stock market. I think they got out at low prices too; driven by fear. Almost 4 years later, I met them again. The recovery of 2008 was very fast - almost V-shaped recovery. They did not get back into the market, as they thought the market had ran away from them and the prices were too high. They watched from the sidelines painfully.

2. During the 2008 GFC, I observed my stock portfolio value went down with the bear market. I did not sell any stocks in this downturn. PBB was a stock that went down from ?RM 17 to ?9.00 (will need to check again its actual prices.) It was a painful 2008, to see the prices of the stocks in one's portfolio going down in 2008, culminating with the Lehman Crisis in Sept/Oct 2008. Warren Buffett shared, : It's time to own America! The swing upwards did not occur until March, 2009. From then onwards, it was a V-shaped recovery and it was just exhilariting looking at your beaten down stocks rebounding by leaps and bounds. Once again, holding the good quality growth stocks with dividends, have been very safe for long term investors. Many of the stocks I have today, had been tested in 1997 and 2008.

6,070 posts

Posted by ahbah > 2023-07-03 16:03 | Report Abuse

KUALA LUMPUR (July 3): Foreign selling of local equity on Bursa Malaysia stretched into its eleventh consecutive week, widening to RM359.9 million last week from RM240 million in the previous week.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 16:36 | Report Abuse

>>>
I agree with 3iii invest only on those companies that are well managed and give yerly dividend but you must also monitor the external and internal factors that will cause the company doing extremely well or extremly poor and time your selling.
>>>>

Timing your selling and buying. This sounds so simple. Many tried. I have not met any that can do so consistently, even in i3 investor forum.

Sell quickly when there is something fundamentally wrong with the company's business which you assessed to be permanent. Sold Transmile; financial shenanigan. Sold Maybulk; this company made most of its profits from selling their bulk carriers. With the financial downturn in 2008, this business model is kaput. There are many similar companies trying to sell their bulk carriers too. Sold Guan Chong in past: upside limited, downside risks. Sold Hai -O in past: turnaround company. Full value realised, limited upside, bigger downside. Acquired and held onto KAF until taken private: deeply undervalued due to valuable asset (land in Conlay).

In general, the reason for selling quickly is if you perceive the company's business has fundamentally deteriorated beyond rescue. You will need to sell quickly. As for the rest, you have time to analyse and study. Do not just sell because the price of a stock has gone down. However, will need to focus on its business to reassess why if any?

4,917 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2023-07-03 17:09 | Report Abuse

What I mean time your selling is sell at near the peak when the share price rise is running ahead and beyond the fundamental (overpriced). And buy back when the share price is oversold.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 17:33 | Report Abuse

Posted by Sslee > 19 minutes ago | Report Abuse

What I mean time your selling is sell at near the peak when the share price rise is running ahead and beyond the fundamental (overpriced). And buy back when the share price is oversold.
===================

if u use traditional yard stick like PE, NTA , dividends etc.............then there is only one conclusion...........sell wall street and bursa and buy HK........................................

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 17:40 | Report Abuse

>>>
Posted by Sslee > 24 minutes ago | Report Abuse

>>>

Stay with high quality growth companies. You will remain fine for the long term. Only sell when its fundamentals deteriorated beyond rescue.

Pricing or timing.

Timing is a foolish endeavour in my opinion. We can see many examples in this forum.

Pricing makes a lot of sense. Buy when it is priced low and sell when it is priced high, relative to its intrinsic value.

There are TWO ways to pricing strategy;
1. Buy low and sell high (partially or wholly).
2. Buy low and never sell even when overvalued (unless it is obviously ridiculously priced).

Strategy 2 ensures that you continue to hold great companies for the long term to gain from the power of long term compounding your gains.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 2023-07-03 17:54 | Report Abuse

PLANTATION STOCKS

Company …. 2010 (RM) …. 2023 (RM) …. DIV (sen) …. Return %
INNO …. 0.45 …. 1.23 …. 57.5 …. 301%
KMLOONG …. 0.73 …. 1.77 …. 75.56 …. 246%
UTDPLT …. 7.76 …. 15.48 …. 838.83 …. 208%
FAREAST …. 1.67 …. 3.7 …. 72.89 …. 165%
BLDPLNT …. 4.51 …. 10.5 …. 58.33 …. 146%
BKAWAN …. 13.63 …. 20.76 …. 845 …. 114%
KRETAM …. 0.32 …. 0.6 …. 6.7 …. 108%
MHC …. 0.63 …. 0.89 …. 27.87 …. 86%
TSH …. 0.76 …. 0.92 …. 44.1133 …. 79%
GOPENG …. 0.48 …. 0.34 …. 38.21 …. 50%

FD .... 1.00 .... 1.00 .... 36 ... 36%

CHINTEK …. 8.11 …. 7.92 …. 314 …. 36%
IOI …. 4.18 …. 3.73 …. 154.84 …. 26%
SBAGAN …. 2.7 …. 3.25 …. 5.82 …. 23%
CEPAT …. 0.78 …. 0.68 …. 26 …. 21%
HSPLANT …. 2.7 …. 1.86 …. 134 …. 19%
UMCCA …. 6.35 …. 5.08 …. 225.83 …. 16%
GENP …. 6.94 …. 5.9 …. 167.42 …. 9%
NSOP …. 4.87 …. 3.55 …. 135 …. 1%
SOP …. 3.06 …. 2.45 …. 46.58 …. -5%
TDM …. 0.36 …. 0.18 …. 15.84 …. -6%
JTIASA …. 1.18 …. 0.69 …. 14.37 …. -29%
RSAWIT …. 0.45 …. 0.14 …. 3.73 …. -61%

Company …. [YEAR] (RM) …. 2023 (RM) …. DIV (sen) …. Return %
FGV …. [2012] 5.03 …. 1.45 …. 54 …. -60%
BPLT …. [2014] 1.11 …. 0.93 …. 45.29 …. 25%
SIMEPLT …. [2017] 5.29 …. 4.15 …. 43.2 …. -13%

Comments:

Stay focus on the few companies with superior returns.
The majority fail to beat the returns provided by risk free FDs. Will need to learn the reasons for these?
JTiasa is touted in this forum as the most undervalued relative to its NTA price. It is priced lowly for obvious reason: just look at its returns. At the bottom of the pile.
Those who wish to invest long term in plantation stocks should seriously focus on Kim Loong and United Plantations.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-03 22:50 | Report Abuse

if u use traditional yard stick like PE, NTA , dividends etc.............then there is only one conclusion...........sell wall street and bursa and buy HK........................................

sales timing of individual stocks very very difficult.

easier is hedge funds....................like it, charge in, don't like charge out. The whole market, I mean, every thing I mean.

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-04 09:34 | Report Abuse

The whole market, I mean, every thing I mean. Also call decisive...

qqq47660

8,711 posts

Posted by qqq47660 > 2023-07-04 09:36 | Report Abuse

Hedge funds don't really care what company. They more interested in trading characteristics