Posted by 3iii > 2018-08-12 08:05 | Report Abuse

My Golden Rule of Investing: Companies that grow revenues and earnings will see share prices grow over time.

20 people like this.

3,979 comment(s). Last comment by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ 2 days ago

PureBULL ...

2,619 posts

Posted by PureBULL ... > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

FA or TA is secondary.
If these 2 above r so great = then all IB staff in FA n TA research
will be the richest beings in all countries.

In stocks for the long haul,
Its abt how to catch future GWS, Great Winning Stocks at right timing pts.
n in all mkt, only talents in QA, the quants r doing v well.

there r 4 ways to big money in stocks on KLSE.

if u talk FA n try to be like warren B, don't LOL urself.
ask what crap stocks r u holding now?
+++++++++++++++++++++++++
warren B only buy stocks on
# 1 way i.e. Perpetual Growing Biz or stocks.
EX of warren's stocks:

https://www.tradingview.com/x/B3ITj9sB/
https://www.tradingview.com/x/PaQj8V65/
https://www.tradingview.com/x/NC0nsyOu/
https://www.tradingview.com/x/9oQFCKhZ/
this is why warren's kocky to say, wish stock mkt closes for 3 years!

in msia, extremely choosy warren might go for:
MBB, https://www.tradingview.com/x/FNyqlEpP/
+ perhaps some others like,
QL, https://www.tradingview.com/x/sPAGQH52/
n U must do so to be able to walk abt n hau.lian abt.

PureBULL ...

2,619 posts

Posted by PureBULL ... > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

In stock investing,
UPtrend's our friend.

RISK's our # 1 enemy.
# 1 iliot pres dtrum said,
Protect the downside, UPside will take care of itself.

This is the invincible model :

G SOROS - "Economic history is a never-ending series of
episodes based on falsehood and lies, not truths.
It represents the path to big money.
The object is to recognize the TREND whose premise is false,
ride that trend, and step off before it is discredited"
" Don't invent, COPY this as above stated", a top billionaire hedgee on wallstreet shouted.

G Soros is an uptrend purebull follower n is advising us to focus on the big money.

Jim Rogers - "Figure out the money and you’ll figure out what’s going on."

Jim Rogers is asking us where is the big money in charts n to find them ourselves.

https://purebull-bursatrader.blogspot.com/2012/12/can-we-learn-in-stock-mkt-yes-or-yes.html

56,889 posts

Posted by calvintaneng > 1 month ago | Report Abuse

ttt

what is happening ?

This will happen

Dlady is suffering from the "Law of Diminishing Return"

Do more can earn even lesser

INVESTING IN AN INFLATIONARY ENVIROMENT: What Are The Stocks To Avoid & The Assets to Buy, Calvin Tan

https://klse.i3investor.com/web/blog/detail/www.eaglevisioninvest.com/2024-11-20-story-h474669926-INVESTING_IN_AN_INFLATIONARY_ENVIROMENT_What_Are_The_Stocks_To_Avoid_The

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 4 weeks ago | Report Abuse

A bubble is formed when prices become based on something other than expected returns.

Various terms have also been used to describe this phenomenon: "animal spirits", "the madness of crowds" and "bandwagon effect".

What these phrases all describe is a reckless behavioural process whereby exuberance leads invetors to observe what others are doing and simply join in.

The euphoria of the crowd or herd will pump money into that favoured stock or sector, inflating the price of the stock(s). The price(s) become detached from the fundamentals of the business(es).

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 4 weeks ago | Report Abuse

The market reflects the "judgments of milions of investors, manyu of whom are hihgly knowledgeable about the prospects for the specific companies that make up the broad stock price indices.

It is indeed difficult to analyse a bubble: when it started, why it started and why it burst. There are no hard and fast definitions of a bubble, for one thing, and there are often a number of reasons for the bust, which does make analysis challenging, even for policymakers.

The first rule of compounding is to never nterrupt it unnecessarily.

Charlie Munger

Compounding works best when you can give a plan years or decades to grow. Endurance is key.

7,007 posts

Posted by Sslee > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Compounding works if you already have a big sum of capital.

But to get a big sum of capital, first you need to work harder then just watching paint dry. You need ROI above the compounding rate.

So young man nothing come easy, you need to work double hard as for old man like Philip, 3iii or even me we can afford to sit back, relax and let our money do the job for us.

godhand

1,955 posts

Posted by godhand > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Hahaha if you are a natural compounder u will find ways to compound your wealth

godhand

1,955 posts

Timing of buying and selling is the most critical decision you need to make if you are not as rich as Philip and want to outperform the market

If you are as rich as Philip then no worry you can continues average down your cost at the down cycle and if you do that long enough then for sure the up cycle will come one day and your stocks start to perform again

Or u can just avoid buying cyclical business. life dont have to be tough

7,007 posts

Nothing come easy. Remember there is no free lunch it this world and life is tough and don't take it easy.

xiaoeh

2,814 posts

Posted by xiaoeh > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Agree with Sslee sifu
"Life don't have to be tough" have been misleading many many youngsters especially fresh graduates
they are seeking kind a "work life balance" working style before they can develop surviving skill
as they have been brainwashed by motto created by old birds that already developed all kind of surviving skills

xiaoeh

2,814 posts

Posted by xiaoeh > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

"survival skills" to be exact

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Posted by Mikecyc > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Haha as posted earlier, I learned from ethical Sifu 3iii posts in Netx during debated against Conartist Callvin for 15 months … n recently in TSH …

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha why I called Konartist sslleee ? His Kon gang promoted Netx also :

1st Lies :

Haha wow Konartist Sslleee is an “ Attention Seeker “ .., approached me 1st in Netx on 2020 telling Lies replied my post which directed to Konstockraider to bail out Stockraider on Insas-WB whom play wayang in Insas-WB forum with Calvin whom invested RM 5000 …

Then Konartist Sslleee said StockRaider Win 1 Myvi in Netx RI .. StockRaider said Win 2 Myvi… both blowing bla bla bla Klon the Wayang Script on Insas-PB and WC …

After Konartist Sslleee posted in Netx , his Kon gang in Tunepro, Hengyuan, Petronm started to promote Netx … will post n delete own posts …..beware .

—-

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha Netx after share consolidation 25 into 1 on September 2020 … the price is worst than those delisted stocks price …

godhand

1,955 posts

It really depends where u stand. Are u ahead of life or behind. When your life is not set life has to be tough. When your life is set why want to intentionally make your life miserable

7,007 posts

Young man you have a long life ahead of you so don't waste living other people life, be brave to take risks/adventures and live life to the full.

godhand

1,955 posts

How can u tell I'm young though. Not really a risk taker. I did work very very hard to get to where I am

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

3rd Lies

During stock bet : Tunepro 0.45 on 10/3/21 , cut win 0.49 on 12/3/21 after 2 days - Why ? .. Konartist sslleee Kon gang Probability ( Crack Spread Wayang in Hengyuan n Petronm at RM 7.00 ) aka VictorYong in Tunepro since Jun 2020. 

VictorYong n Good123 appeared in Netx after Konartist sslleee appeared… posted long long essay to promote Netx … later deleted all the posts …

>> Konartist Posted in Insas on Jan 2022 that sold Tunepro after 2 years ..

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

My dear friends,

If you are young, count your good fortune. You have a long investing road ahead. Invest in yourself. Understand investing in good/great stocks for the long term. Stay long and you will be amazed the wonder of compounding. You do not have to be very rich. Just be reasonable and not too rational. A small amount today, compounding positively over many long years grow into an amazing figure indeed.

Know the games you wish to play. Don't play if you do not know the games, especially focussing on their risks first and always.

Good luck, you will need a bit of this too. Opportunity benefits those who are well prepared to recognise and seize it.

Posted by Integrity. Intelligent. Industrious. 3iii (iiinvestsmart)$€£¥ > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Hopefully, I will still be around for 2 decades or more. My focus remains long term, allowing compounding to work its magic indeed. 🙏

>>>
Posted by godhand > 6 hours ago | Report Abuse

Timing of buying and selling is the most critical decision you need to make if you are not as rich as Philip and want to outperform the market

If you are as rich as Philip then no worry you can continues average down your cost at the down cycle and if you do that long enough then for sure the up cycle will come one day and your stocks start to perform again

>>>

Your investing will be affected by your past experiences and this is obvious.

You will need to develop your own investing philosophy which can deliver a reasonable return on your investing to meet your investing objectives for the time period you are aiming at. Perhaps, your investing lifetime is many decades.

The importance of sticking to your investing philosophy without being frightened out of it by a bull or bear market cannot be emphasized.

How good is your investing philosophy and your ability to stick to it, in the ups and downs of the market place?

Investing is a lot based on temperament, a bit of mathematics, some intelligence and the ability to stay aloof from the herd (the herd is often wrong in the long run).

godhand

1,955 posts

Haha maybe philip can tell u a little bit about me

godhand

1,955 posts

I have compounded my wealth few fold. Partly has to thx him. To compound your wealth consistently u need more than timing the market.

godhand

1,955 posts

I would say your habit is the most important trait distinguishing returns long term

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha the difference between Conartist Callvin n Konartist Leee :

1.) Conartist will not directed Wayang with aka id to Promote stocks …

He did promoted Pump n Dump stock Scomies in his blog … but he denied many times until I am posted his Blog .. Scomies in PN17 within a month … Conartist said is a small matter as mother Scomi shl payback the Loans … Both are Delisted..

2.) Konartist will directed Wayang with Kon gang aka id acting as Negative n Positive commentators .... 2024 Wayang in TSH with gang aka id as Negative commentator in TSH to promote Jtiasa … gang aka id as Promoter in Jtiasa…

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha Phillip ? Serba story teller even knew is in Account Fraud…….

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Posted by Mikecyc > 3 weeks ago |

7,007 posts

If you are young, count your good fortune.

Indeed how nice to be young, as you can afford to make mistake, learn from the mistake and start all over again.

To compound your wealth consistently u need more than timing the market.
Care to elaborate?

12,668 posts

Posted by Income > 3 weeks ago | Report Abuse

Young tikus but no RM,uselessx。
Old tikus but scam people, even worse。
In life don't cycle here & cycle there
last last bicycle masuk parit buntar?

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

>>>
Posted by godhand > 21 hours ago | Report Abuse

>>>

https://myinvestingnotes.blogspot.com/2008/10/market-fluctuations-as-guide-to.html

Two ways to profit from the market swings: Timing or Pricing

Since common stocks, even of investment grade, are subject to recurrent and wide fluctuations in their prices, the intelligent investor should be interested in the possibilities of profiting from these pendulum swings. There are two possible ways by which he may try to do this:

- the way of timing and
- the way of pricing.

By timing we mean the endeavor to anticipate the action of the stock market—

- to buy or hold when the future course is deemed to be upward,
- to sell or refrain from buying when the course is downward.

By pricing we mean the endeavor
- to buy stocks when they are quoted below their fair value and
- to sell them when they rise above such value.

A less ambitious form of pricing is the simple effort to make sure that when you buy you do not pay too much for your stocks.
This may suffice for the defensive investor, whose emphasis is on long-pull holding; but as such it represents an essential minimum of attention to market levels.

We are convinced that the intelligent investor can derive satisfactory results from pricing of either type.

We are equally sure that if he places his emphasis on timing, in the sense of forecasting, he will end up as a speculator and with a speculator’s financial results.

This distinction may seem rather tenuous to the layman, and it is not commonly accepted on Wall Street. As a matter of business practice, or perhaps of thoroughgoing conviction, the stock brokers and the investment services seem wedded to the principle that both investors and speculators in common stocks should devote careful attention to market forecasts.

(KISS version, Keep It Simple & Safe)

Strategies for buying and selling.

For buying (ABC):

A. Assess Quality, Management and Valuation (QMV)

B. Buy good quality stocks.

C. Buy these stocks at a discount (Margin of Safety)

(If you select your stocks carefully, often one can hold them for long periods. The idea is to allow compounding over the long period to work in your favour.)

For selling (1,2,3,4):

1. If you need cash for emergency. (But then, hopefully, you will have separate money for such emergencies. The cash invested into the market should be separate.)

2. You will need to sell URGENTLY (QUICKLY) if there is something wrong with the fundamental of your stock (example: fraudulent accounting, etc). At other instances, you do have the time to SELL at leisure.

3. Your stock has gone up too high. By your assessment, at that price the upside return is less, but the downside risk is more, then you may wish to sell to REINVEST INTO ANOTHER STOCK WITH MORE FAVOURABLE UPSIDE REWARD/DOWNSIDE RISK RATIO.

4. On occasions, you have identified a very good BARGAIN, you may wish to sell some of your stocks to REINVEST into these stocks to capture a higher upside/downside reward risk ratio that these stocks offer.

Defensive Portfolio Management = 2.
This is to prevent harm to the portfolio.
Urgent attention needed.

Offensive Portfolio Management = 3 & 4.
This is to optimise returns of the portfolio.
Have the time to sell at leisure.

Why do you Sell and When?

1. Reducing serious loss

When the fundamentals of a stock have deteriorated, sell to protect your portfolio.
This decision should be make quickly based on the facts and situations, in order to keep your losses small.

2. Taking profit

Profit should be realised from sales of stocks in the following situations:
(I) when the stock is obviously overpriced, or
(II) when the sale of the stock frees the capital to be reinvested into another stock with potentially better return.

Not taking profit in the above situations can harm your portfolio and compromise its returns.
In other circumstances, let the winners run.

3. Underperforming stocks

Underperforming stocks should also be sold early.
Hanging onto underperforming stocks is costly too.
There is the opportunity cost that the capital can be better employed for higher return.
Also, hanging onto these lack-lustre stocks reduces the overall return of your portfolio.

Pricing the stock

The 2 ways:

1. By pricing we mean the endeavor to buy stocks when they are quoted below their fair value and to sell them when they rise above such value.

2. A *less ambitious* form of pricing is the simple effort to make sure that when you buy you do not pay too much for your stocks. This may suffice for the defensive investor, whose emphasis is on long-pull holding; but as such it represents an *essential minimum* of attention to market levels.

We are convinced that the intelligent investor can derive satisfactory results from pricing of either type.

7,007 posts

Indonesia, Malaysia and global palm oil industry players committed to NDPE.

So before pricing the stock need pricing the industry then only pricing the individual industry player.

Jayatiasa is now my main stock in my portfolio for the reason I wrote in my AGM questions.

First and foremost please convey my congratulation to Jaya Tiasa’s BOD and Management team for a job well done with another stellar set of positive results FYE 2024: EBITDA RM 356.54 million, PBT RM 200.26 million, PAT RM 128.97 million (EPS 13.31 cent), dividend 6 cent and a new milestone for Jaya Tiasa in net cash position

The No Deforestation, No Peat, No Exploitation (NDPE) policy is a sustainability commitment that aims to create a more environmentally and socially responsible palm oil industry. The policy includes:

No deforestation
This includes not converting natural forests or high conservation value forests to other uses.

No conversion
This includes not converting non-forested natural ecosystems like peatlands to other uses.

No exploitation
This includes not allowing child labor, forced labor, discrimination, or other violations of worker rights.

Free Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC)
This includes obtaining consent from indigenous peoples and other local communities.

Zero burning
This includes not burning.

Conservation
This includes conserving high conservation value (HCV) areas, high carbon stock (HCS) areas, and peatlands

7,007 posts

Now you know why I say Philip not selling Pchem at the upcycle and hold to cash is a mistake.

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha what a Best Pretender n Best Director in Netx , Insas , Hengyuan n Petronm Wayang Konartist ssllleeee … 2024 Wayang is on Jtiasa ( Kon gang aka id as Negative commentator in TSH to promote Jtiasa…with other aka id in Jtiasa as Promoter)..🤣🤣🤣👍👏

Konartist n his Kon gang are so desperate le on Jtiasa… had tried many ways to prevent me to post in Jtiasa !!! And shouting many times with TP over 52W H RM 1.53 !!!🤔

Oh on Phillippe Pchem … referred to his Top 4 screenshot list ard March 2021 …

Pchem with cost RM 8.17 ….if sold at RM 10.00 on April 2022 … illustrated Profit is 22.4 %

On Konartist ssllleeee Insas :

Konartist the 2nd Lies is Posted Twice on his Top 4 List on 2021 ... saying Averaging down Insas to ard 88.5 sen but being exposed is Averaging Up from 83 sen , later own deleted the 2 posts …

He did not sell Insas on 2022 at RM 1.20 .. illustrated Profit is 35.6 % as he set the TP RM 1.50 ( as usual is twisting , just like he is dumb dumb hold Xingquin until is Delisted on September 2019 even knew is in Account Fraud.. a Big Big order cannot be verified by Auditors.. The big order volume as illustrated by an analyst is Containers front to end line up shl be from KL to Seremban …🤔

But he is Lucky as has 2nd Opportunity to sell Insas at RM 1.20 on February 2024 …

👉Look like he is Trapped High in Jtiasa as March 2024 is the Highest 52w H RM 1.53 ..

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha thanks to ethical Sifu 3iii posts , despite I learned on FA , and also learned :

1.) Stock MOAT

2.) how to use VWAP : currently posted in Jtiasa debating against the Konartist.

Lead me to learn on :

3.) Benjamin Graham formula:

The formula can be represented by the square root of: 22.5 × (Earnings Per Share) × (Book Value Per Share). For applying this method, two conditions must be met. The Profit to Earning ratio (P/E) should be < 15. Also, the Price to Book ratio (P/B) should be < 1.5.

The Graham number (or Benjamin Graham's number) measures a stock's fundamental value by taking into account the company's earnings per share (EPS) and book value per share (BVPS). The Graham number is the upper bound of the price range that a defensive investor should pay for the stock.

4.) Point 1 to Point 4 case study :
Point 1 = Peak Range … Point 2 = Slide Down …. Point 3 = Swing Swing Swing range ….. Point 4 = Downtrend..

During The Konartist play Crack Spread Wayang to promote Hengyuan at RM 7.00 in Insas … ethical Sifu 3iii posted Market is on Sale … I am posted is in Point 1 = Peak Range..later the Konartist asked me on Hengyuan n Petronm Point 3 and Point 4 ..

I am posted Point 1 to Point 4 case study in YTLpower forum also !

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Haha Pokkai TinKosongHuangbk blowing PMCORP with TP RM 2.00 , see its Value since 2013 wow.. ( Calvin blowing RM 5.00 to RM 10 ) …must be loss naked liaw .. want to share ❤️in PMCorp wow .... hibernated more than 7 years in a cave since 2014 until 2021… must be created a lot aka id … beware .

>> Pokkai TinKosongHuang joined the Kacukan 🐍Tippu Tippu gang ( even Tippu newbies membership fees RM 100 ) in TopGlove on 2024 to promote HK/China and US stock ____. Beware ..

Aka ID Marry n MrHuangbk n jc963852 are Banned permanently.

Aka id MrHuangbk is banned permanent recently due to created many similar id / abusive id to post abusive n unethical contents ..

Mikecyc

47,016 posts

Among the many participants in this forum, Philip is outstanding. :-)

Warren Buffett and Charlie Munger had a third member in their group 40 years ago when they first started. They made investments together. He was Rick Guerin.

Warren said, " Charlie and I always knew that we would become incredibly wealthy. We were not in a hurry to get wealthy; we knew it would happen. Rick was just as smart as us, but he was in a hurry."

In the 1973-1974 downturn, Rick was levered with margin loans. The stock market went down almost 70% in those two years, and he got margin calls. He sold his Berkshire stock to Warren at under $40 a piece. Rick was forced to sell because he was levered.

Charlie, Warren and Rick were equally skilled at getting wealthy. But Warren and Charlie had the added skill of staying wealthy. Over time, this is the skill that matters most.

Jesse Livermore was another who was very good at getting wealthy, and equally bad at staying wealthy.

Getting mone is one thing. Keeping it is another.

Getting money requires taking risks, being optimistic, and putting yourself out there.

Keeping money requires the opposite of taking risk. It requires humility, and fear that what you have made can be taken away from you just as fast. It requires FRUGALITY and an acceptance that at least some of what you have made is attributable to luck, as past success cannot be relied upon to repeat indefinitely. Always be afraid. Only the PARANOID survive.

To summarise money success in one work, it would be "survival"

You should be RISK LOVING and yet completely AVERSE TO RUIN.

The idea is that you have to take risk to get ahead, but no risk that can wipe you out is ever wroth taking. The odds are in your fvour when playing Russian roulette. But the downside is not worth the potential upside. There is no margin of safety that can compensate for the risk.

Same with money. The odds of many lucrative things are in your favour. But if something has 95% odss of being right, the 5% odds of being wrong means you will almost certainly experience the downside at some time in your life. And if the cost of the downside is RUIN, the upside the other 95% of the time likely ISN'T WORTH THE RISK, no matter how appealing it looks.

LEVERAGE pushes routine risks into something capable of producing ruin. The danger is that rational optimism most of the time masks the odd of ruin some of the time. The result is we systematically underestimate risk. In a market crash, those with high leverage had a double wipeout. Not only were they left broke, but being wiped out erased every opportunity to get back in the game at the very moment opportunity was ripe. They were done.

[In this forum, we observed an investor in Jaks who got wiped out due to leverage. He sold assets to cover his margins.]

7,007 posts

Life has a time span. So make the best of that timeframe to acheive something worthwhile.

You need luck and skill to be successful in stock market but no matter how good you are or how good a company can be, when world recession kick in every stock will meltdown to less than half it value.

KYY lost 90% of his wealth holding dayang too long with margin finance.
Hence margin finance is a two way sword, its cut both way.

7,007 posts

As of his jaks if only he told everyone early that he is voting down two of the independant directors to vote in his nominees, most likely every AGM attending shareholders will support him and Jaks will has different ending.