UNITED PLANTATIONS BHD

KLSE (MYR): UTDPLT (2089)

+0.16 (0.64%)

24.84 - 25.12

Financial

Financial Year 2020

Financial Year Annual Audited Account Annual Report View
Ann. Date Ann. Date
5 people like this. Showing 50 of 3,008 comments

lionel messi

Yes sir, that's the right attitude and aptitude for value investing.

Tanleechoo

Tqsm ooihk899 for sharing ..hihi I m weak to read the details.tqsm again

Pinky

siapa jual dia rugi

Sardin

Hi Ooi, mind to have a private detailed discussion?

ooihk899

Hi Sardin, may I know which are the topics you would like to discuss.
I would prefer to discuss in the forum if it is related to UP.

BudiLee

Yes, just talk here lah, don't be shy, we all are friend friend here. Today UP ok, right?

BudiLee

tomorrow another good day. Siapa jual dia rugi

Sardin

It is OK as I don't want to create fear.

ooihk899

Sardin, if UP is able to reduce their production cost n increase their output,
then they may be able to maintain result.

ooihk899

It's harder to predict their profit since they only hedge
1/3 of their output as per AR info. I also do not know how
much they already sell forward along the way until QR out.
But I believe we are in good hand, hope this year Div is around 1.5.😄

ooihk899

Sardin, just spill it out lah. What to worry? It's only discussion.

GS

which plantation company have minimal(or 0%) forward sales positions?

Sardin

Hi GS, try search on small plantation company

ooihk899

Sardin, what's your fear? Share with us ma!😊

Sardin

It can be summarised into 2 main points:
1. Selling cpo considerably below market value
2. Lesser cpo output
And looks like both are going to happen together. Besides that there are a few more things I try to figure out.

ooihk899

FY2023 Q1 ASP 37xx, This year CPO price Jan 3783.5 Feb 3949.5
Mar 4215.5 Info from MPOB.
UP hedge 1H 53620MT @3980. So, I don't think Q1 will affect much.
Have to look out for Q2 if CPO stay above 4200 for Q2.
Output wise, if it's below 5% YoY, will not affect much. Will catchup
starting Q2.
This year UP forward sales volume is low compare to last few years.
Up trend in CPO price will have lesser effect on profit.
Hopefully they can cover it with higher yields.

ooihk899

Sardin, does my explanation 'masuk akal'?
Please let me have your thoughts.

Sardin

Not sure if output with catch up in Q2 because El Nino effect is known to be lasting for months / years. RM 3,800 / MT in Q3 a bit too much of the discount compares to BMD FCPO in Jul, Aug, Sep.

Greenying

Very healthy discussion and analysis 😀

ooihk899

2H forward contract qty is 28550MT, around 1/4 of UP Malaysia
plantation 2H output. I think effect will not be so much.
As for output, you can attend the AGM to ask the management on the
effect of El Nino on FFB production

observatory

Does El Nino affect UP?

Maybe you can study changes in yield per mature hectare for its Indonesian and Malaysian plantations respectively during the historical El Nino years.

The questions are
1. How does El Nino affect Peninsular Malaysia and Kalimantan?
2. Do we have strong or normal El Nino in 2024?
3. How does it affect CPO price?
4. What is the net result if there is declining yield but higher prices?

What about the prices and outputs of other competing oil crops?

I suspect even professional traders find it difficult to answer confidently.

dam82

long time never come here ... hope can grow more after ex date ...

Sardin

@Observatory
The El Nino effect in 2024 is expected to be at moderate level, and of course it will push up the CPO price.
However, the high price of CPO is meant to compensate the reduction of output. If output is low, production cost per metric ton will be higher (assuming constant fixed cost, such as salaries, chemicals, etc.) and if the selling price is not high enough, it will squeeze the profit margin considerably.
How much this will affect UP, I am not confident to answer and I am far from being a professional trader.
But when I water my plants, and hang my clothes, phew... the weather is really really hot, I could feel the abnormal amount of heat. If this is only "moderate" I don't know how a serious El Nino feels like? My trees do not bear good fruits compares to a few months back, a lot less fruits and smaller fruits are what I got.

Sardin

UP did a risk assessment, I forgot which page on the annual report. Weather / climate has a rating associated to high risk and high impact besides the commodity price. I hope the contracted price had more than enough to adverse the impact of lower production. But I also know it is difficult to get a good deal / price stroke a few months back when effect of El Nino is not yet manifested. I believe there is a margin squeeze, hope it is a light one.

ooihk899

Ytd Feb drop 3.8%, let's wait for Q1 production figure next week.
Anyway QR will be release on 26th. 😃

KingKKK

26th April or May?

ooihk899

26th April , QR out. Bullish or not depend on QR,
production quantity n their CPO ASP.

Pinky

What is that joker spamming

BudiLee

I am so happy to see UP's price start rising again today.

BudiLee

I think I have to sing that song again, coz UP price rising so high today, Yeayyy! Keep go up, keep go up! Siapa jual dia rugi 😃

Sardin

Wah. Very good harvest woh. Very good surprise!

ooihk899

Should not worry about the output,
YoY Q1 CPO output up by 1.9% overall.
Q1 Own production YoY up by 2.9%😁

Greenying

Cheers!

dam82

trust the management ... i still think their tanah rata not reach the optimum palm oil output when that kick start the output will be fantastic ..... for now i just wait and see while all enjoy riding utdplt don't forget to grab a carlsberg beer and enjoy your day ... hahah kena promote mah ...

JrWarren

fking haze from Sumatra make my nose itchy, hope more rain coming in mid April to deal with the fire & Haze.
Most important is providing water source for the palm oil in this El Nino time.

BudiLee

Cheers everyone!

BudiLee

Hohoho let us all witness the passing of RM25 today! Bravo UP!

BudiLee

Quick buy some more now while the price is still below 25

BudiLee

😀😄😀

LossAversion

2nd round of profit taking, before buying back lower for dividends soon. he, he

Sardin

Going to RM 28. 😄

BudiLee

Can anyone tell me, how much is the broker fee + any other fees involved every time we buy or sell stocks?

Sardin

@BudiLee, check the contract note you received

This is the best bluechip plantation share loh!

BudiLee

@Sardin, ok noted, thanks.

BudiLee

Congrats UP, you just passed the line of Ji Go = Dua Lima , moving up further! You can do it! 😍😎

8 hours ago

MoneyLovesMe

Siapa jual dia rugi, sebab UP price akan naik terus sampai hari Jumat ini.

8 hours ago

JrWarren

glad UP surpassed RM25, so will it drop after ex-date?
Hardly, because the fund manager's dividend expectation still there and the price movement will reflect their expectation:

1. What is the cash reserve after dividend payout ? If got extra cash means extraordinary dividend.
2. Are the production & CPO price same / better than 2023? Yes for 1Q2024, if 2Q & 3Q result suggest better production, CPO price maintain at 4k, fund manager will arbitrage & push up UP share price.

6 hours ago

BudiLee

Thanks for your thoughts, JrWarren

6 hours ago