86 comment(s). Last comment by paperplane2 2015-10-20 14:55

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2014-12-30 17:45 | Report Abuse

Maybe im the only person that thinks Hapseng fundamental is not as good as many people though, I bought it around June 2013 and dispose all of it around mid this year. FY2014 profit hit record high mainly due to fair value gain, strip off that, core profit would have fallen by close to 40-50% of FY2013 level. Also the increase risk concentration of relying on property sector to support the group's earning. Hapseng is relatively new to property development, but property division already contribute almost 60%+ of earnings. Other division such as Automobiles selling Mercedes, fertilizer, quarry are either flat or down in 2014, exception being plantation, but from the long term, it seems like property is the only division that can support this growth. I am not denying who knows they can do really well in property, but the risk is crystal clear.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-12-30 18:04 | Report Abuse

Love to hear your "careful FA" on London Biscuits.

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2014-12-30 18:19 | Report Abuse

FA include biscuit balance between crunchiness and chewiness; aftertaste; cholesterol & sugar level; biscuit per fullness (the more a person can consume without feeling full, the better) etc

Steve Jub

4,203 posts

Posted by Steve Jub > 2014-12-30 18:25 | Report Abuse

think so true they said majority will lost in share market. the minority are those sharks and value investor+some 'luck'? myself also switch to property investment instead mostly. left a little bit for unit trust. little bit, one counter for stock for now.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-12-30 18:28 | Report Abuse

Posted by murali > Dec 30, 2014 05:39 PM | Report Abuse
Kc,sometimes its easier to make money when MKT is down...

Murali,

Fully agreed with you. That is when the cheap sale is. Either buy socks or stocks, it is good to buy when the market is down.

We buy stocks for long term wealth building, not for 湿湿水 pocket money. What to do, not rich mah. No so much luck, oop luck?

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2014-12-30 18:42 | Report Abuse

Hm since u say im so naive to believe, that means u dont have evidence to proof it is the management and CEO that dump the shares that caused the drop today? or the speculators? Or maybe everytime the share drop you will come and laugh at me ?

JT Yeo

Posted by JT Yeo > 2014-12-30 18:58 | Report Abuse

lol ok i wish i can ask Mark, alright so ure talking from your experience, i cant comment much on your experience

ttb88

14 posts

Posted by ttb88 > 2014-12-30 19:16 | Report Abuse

So Kcchong, mind to share example of share that u bought recently during the downturn? Thanks.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-12-30 19:19 | Report Abuse

Posted by ks55 > Dec 30, 2014 05:34 PM | Report Abuse
kcchongnz -- You didn't come across, that doesn't mean none. With a little bit of luck, I dare to tell you, there are people with that type of calibre.

"I would like you to imagine a national coin-flipping contest. Let's assume we get 225 million Americans up tomorrow morning and we ask them all to wager a dollar. They go out in the morning at sunrise, and they all call the flip of a coin. If they call correctly, they win a dollar from those who called wrong. Each day the losers drop out, and on the subsequent day the stakes build as all previous winnings are put on the line. After ten flips on ten mornings, there will be approximately 220,000 people in the United States who have correctly called ten flips in a row. They each will have won a little over $1,000.

Now this group will probably start getting a little puffed up about this, human nature being what it is. They may try to be modest, but at cocktail parties they will occasionally admit to attractive members of the opposite sex what their technique is, and what marvelous insights they bring to the field of flipping.

Assuming that the winners are getting the appropriate rewards from the losers, in another ten days we will have 215 people who have successfully called their coin flips 20 times in a row and who, by this exercise, each have turned one dollar into a little over $1 million. $225 million would have been lost, $225 million would have been won.

By then, this group will really lose their heads. They will probably write books on "How I turned a Dollar into a Million in Twenty Days Working Thirty Seconds a Morning." Worse yet, they'll probably start jetting around the country attending seminars on efficient coin-flipping and tackling skeptical professors with, " If it can't be done, why are there 215 of us?"

milopanas

167 posts

Posted by milopanas > 2014-12-30 19:42 | Report Abuse

cukupla kcchongnz lu sendiri tak mau join.kata ni game tak penting tapi cakap banyak sekarang.tengok lu punya stock analysis cenbond, padini,kuchai sudah tau lu koyak.

jgn kata market tak bagus.adakah growthinvestor,ooi teik bee,hjey,skyland tau market koyak dari oktober?top 4 ini ialah stockpicker terbaik di i3.mereka yg patut cakap sekarang.

Posted by banganglu > 2014-12-30 19:46 | Report Abuse

kc tu saja nak kecoh. semua stock dia koyak habis pun. pandai pulak nak cover line kecoh dengan cakap kosong dia tu. diangkat pulak ks55 konon pakar saham, dahlah ks55 ni batang hidung kembang kena pujian kosong

milopanas

167 posts

Posted by milopanas > 2014-12-30 19:56 | Report Abuse

cukupla kita tunggu top 4 cakap.mereka sudah bukti boleh untung masa bear market.tunggu mereka cakap.

lching

1,402 posts

Posted by lching > 2014-12-30 19:58 | Report Abuse

are we going to have Stock Pick 2015?

Posted by banganglu > 2014-12-30 20:00 | Report Abuse

Bukan main lagi puji ks, macam dumb and dumber jerr pasangan sumbang ni. ks tu beli saham yang nak delist pun, London Biscuit tu bukan dah basi ke? Dah tu kejar SKPetro masa harga minyak menjunam. Lepas tu tambah gelak lagi, dibeli or harga 14 sen sedangkan hari ni pun 9 sen boleh beli senang lenang. Pasangan dumb and dumber katakan

milopanas

167 posts

Posted by milopanas > 2014-12-30 20:00 | Report Abuse

kita tunggu top 4 ni cakap dan pilih stock utk 2015.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2014-12-30 21:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by milopanas > Dec 30, 2014 07:42 PM | Report Abuse

cukupla kcchongnz lu sendiri tak mau join.kata ni game tak penting tapi cakap banyak sekarang.tengok lu punya stock analysis cenbond, padini,kuchai sudah tau lu koyak.

jgn kata market tak bagus.adakah growthinvestor,ooi teik bee,hjey,skyland tau market koyak dari oktober?top 4 ini ialah stockpicker terbaik di i3.mereka yg patut cakap sekarang.

What is a cynic? A man who knows the price of everything and the value of nothing. OscarvWilde

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2014-12-30 21:13 | Report Abuse

I fail to achieve my target - a CAGR of 15%.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-30 21:36 | Report Abuse

Everyone is welcome to join the 2015 stock pick on http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2015/67467.jsp

milopanas

167 posts

Posted by milopanas > 2014-12-30 21:47 | Report Abuse

a plagiarism act from kcchongnz.bagi credit kat soruce la.

http://wallstcheatsheet.com/business/why-you-cant-beat-warren-buffett-in-a-coin-flipping-contest.html/?a=viewall

milopanas

167 posts

Posted by milopanas > 2014-12-30 21:49 | Report Abuse

saya mau join tapi tunggu top 4 cakap dan join dulu.

SS661M

1,016 posts

Posted by SS661M > 2014-12-31 07:01 | Report Abuse

ks55. You said u r 70% invested (50%reit 20%share other than reit). Can the 30% reserve money make significant difference if market really crash?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-12-31 08:14 | Report Abuse

ks55,

I assisted a philanthropist who made multimillion investing in the stock market and he gave out a lot to charity, helping the needy people to universities, and contributing to social activities. We are not talking about RM5m or RM10m, but may be RM100m. Yet he seldom talked much about it.

I have so many friends, classmates whose children have graduated from overseas becoming doctors, dentists, engineers, accountants, successful chefs and great home makers. Many of my friends and classmates also have a lot of money from their career, business as well as from the stock market, yes , many from the stock market, and yet they never talked about their wealth etc.

But I doubt anyone cares about all these, about how rich one is. so lets concentrate on discussion and sharing about investment in i3investor.

Lets talk about your London biscuits since you peddled it so much in another thread as it seem someone named milopanas is not happy about us discussion about the fundamentals of stocks and investing here, or he seems only think that whatever his comments, all over the place, are much valuable than anyone else. Let us go here:

http://klse.i3investor.com/servlets/forum/600067199.jsp

1,403 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2014-12-31 08:29 | Report Abuse

Kc, eager to know your strategy for 2015.

bracoli

2,579 posts

Posted by bracoli > 2014-12-31 08:37 | Report Abuse

kcchongz pls participate in this.

YiStock

1,984 posts

Posted by YiStock > 2014-12-31 08:42 | Report Abuse

Mr Tan, if not too much trouble to you, May i suggest you also do a quarter review and sum up at the end of one year for one whole year review. Thank you.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-31 08:46 | Report Abuse

Hi YiStock , I try my best

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-31 08:48 | Report Abuse

@kcchongnz, I hope you can participate http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2015/67467.jsp

in my opinion, you are one of the contributor in i3 who help me learn a lot.

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-31 08:50 | Report Abuse

@OTB, @growthinvestor, @HJey, @skyland, @intelligent_investor, @soojinhou, @thundercat, @爱丽斯 梦幻世界, @AndyKah, @WiseEye, @jester, @Fat Cat Tim Buddy, @YiStock

I hope to see you all in year 2015 thread http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2015/67467.jsp

jester

852 posts

Posted by jester > 2014-12-31 08:57 | Report Abuse

Dear Tan KW, you will surely see me in year 2015 thread. Good job in organizing this and providing those reviews. Kudos to you as well.

wwwcomment

448 posts

Posted by wwwcomment > 2014-12-31 16:15 | Report Abuse

Kss55, may i know what is your profession before you retired? Thx

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-31 17:27 | Report Abuse

Congratulations to the Winner - Ooi Teik Bee http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2014/67447.jsp

ttb88

14 posts

Posted by ttb88 > 2014-12-31 18:32 | Report Abuse

Dear Tan KW, Where is kcchong, why not in the list?

Posted by kcchongnz > 2014-12-31 19:25 | Report Abuse

Posted by ttb88 > Dec 31, 2014 06:32 PM | Report Abuse

Dear Tan KW, Where is kcchong, why not in the list?

Sorry I am a little wary about new id in i3investor and that was why I did not response to your questions. But since you are quite persistent in asking about me, here it is.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_challenge_2013_2h/36174.jsp

Well, this was suppose to be my pick here which Tan KW did not accept it. Read this in the thread

"I would take this as my only stock for the challenge going on now."

after all the ex-dates for 5 for 1 split, its 1 for 1 bonus, dividends etc, at today's price of RM1.44, the total return so far is 275%!

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2014-12-31 19:31 | Report Abuse

Haha.. KC how nice if tht was really your only pick in real life

Tan KW

1,408 posts

Posted by Tan KW > 2014-12-31 22:47 | Report Abuse

@kcchongnz, i might miss your pick for 2014. please accept my apology.

let's join us for 2015 http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_2015/67467.jsp

your pick will benefit most of us.

kc888

122 posts

Posted by kc888 > 2014-12-31 23:16 | Report Abuse

Yes Kcchong, we are waiting for ur pick.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-01-01 05:47 | Report Abuse

Noby, you can see what was the motive of this new id ttb88 in i3investor asking about my pick in 2014. Was it because he really interested in my sharing of stock investing? Read for yourself:

Posted by ttb88 > Dec 30, 2014 07:16 PM | Report Abuse
“So Kcchong, mind to share example of share that u bought recently during the downturn? Thanks.”
The above question was asked twice, exactly the same words, the first one deleted and asked again to make sure I saw it. But again I ignored it. See the “tone” of the question? As I ignored him, he asked again, to Tan KW now.

Posted by ttb88 > Dec 31, 2014 06:32 PM | Report Abuse
“Dear Tan KW, Where is kcchong, why not in the list?”
See his “eagerness” of knowing why was I not in the list? I was then clear of his motive of asking, crystal clear. That was why I posted this comment here:

“Posted by kcchongnz > Dec 31, 2014 07:25 PM | Report Abuse X
Sorry I am a little wary about new id in i3investor and that was why I did not response to your questions. But since you are quite persistent in asking about me, here it is.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/stock_pick_challenge_2013_2h/36174.jsp

Well, this was supposed to be my pick here which Tan KW did not accept it. Read this in the thread

"I would take this as my only stock for the challenge going on now."

after all the ex-dates for 5 for 1 split, its 1 for 1 bonus, dividends etc, at today's price of RM1.44, the total return so far is 275%!”

Tan KW did confirm that. So this guy asked the wrong question to the wrong person. He should know very well that Tan KW is my friend. Or he just wanted to kachau Tan KW also.

“Posted by Tan KW > Dec 31, 2014 10:47 PM | Report Abuse
@kcchongnz, i might miss your pick for 2014. please accept my apology.”

Was I trying to boast? You would understand that I am not that kind of person. This guy just wanted to see what my failure in stocks would be in 2014, if any, then rejoices and “sings” endlessly in i3investor to prove his point? This guy has been trying to do that all the time, each time with a different id, but failed miserably because he just can’t understand anything finance to be able to find mistakes in my numerous posts in i3investor, which I believe there are many.

Well I did have a few stocks in my sharing which did quite badly last year which I will address them soon. If one has written about scores of stocks for the past year, I would unseat all the giants of investing; Warren Buffett, Charles Munger, Joel Greenblatt, Walter Schloss, Peter Lynch etc if I do not have any stock which has gone down in prices in the volatile market last year. In fact I have a number of stocks which did badly.

To curb his “happiness” about it, or "幸灾乐祸”, for now I will just tell him that the overall performance of those stocks I wrote about within the past one year, did reasonably ok though the performance is far below those top 5 in the “2014 contest”. And you do know value investing horizon is not a year or two, but a long-term endeavour.
Read below you will know what I mean about this guy ttb88.

“Posted by ttb88 > Jan 1, 2015 12:20 AM | Report Abuse
OTB, Kcchong and CPteh, tis 3 fellow keep promoting to join their courses but not even dare to join this friendly game.........where are them???”

What has it got to do with him when people make some earnings for the effort they put in? Anyway, thank him for promoting my online value investing course. I have gone through 4 courses now. Some participants did drop out because either value investing is not right for them (which I have explained in details before they joined), or they couldn’t commit their time to do it along the way. But to curb his mindset of "幸灾乐祸”, I would tell him most are very happy about the course, and if I would to put the positive comments written by them here, it would occupy many pages.

Sorry for this long winded post.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2015-01-01 08:41 | Report Abuse

KC, when you are good, there are bound to be those who are jealous... just ignore them and keep up the good work.

Posted by murali > 2015-01-01 08:59 | Report Abuse

Kc'why waste time to entertain one or two jokers while many of us know n appreciate yr good sharing here

Posted by murali > 2015-01-01 08:59 | Report Abuse

Keep up yr good work in 2015.happy new year 2015!!

skyland

644 posts

Posted by skyland > 2015-01-01 11:49 | Report Abuse

Haha...i also can get rank 4 for 2014? Thanks Tan KW....my 2015 pick all sai lang into Seacera

Posted by Intelligent Investor > 2015-01-01 12:24 | Report Abuse

Whoever interest to learn value investing should join Mr. Chong course. It will serve as the best new year gift for yourself.

Happy new year. And, happy value investing.

chrischan

645 posts

Posted by chrischan > 2015-01-01 12:52 | Report Abuse

i want learn from ooi teik bee,growthinvestor,hjey and skyland.impressive returns!

ttb88

14 posts

Posted by ttb88 > 2015-01-01 13:07 |

Posted by lookingaround > 2015-01-02 08:39 | Report Abuse

Me no "ball", x dare to show the profile.
ttb88 no "ball" also, x dare to show the profile.

Posted by iiinvestsmart > 2015-01-02 10:48 | Report Abuse

I extend my congratulations to top 4 whom beat the market by a wide margin. I presume those dispute the result fail to understand one of the most profound investing principles.

The is no such thing as a fool-proof stockpicking strategy. The effectiveness and efficiency of strategy depends on execution part by an investor. Two investors with exact same portfolio at opening could end up with different rate of return.

Luck is what happens when preparation meet opportunity.

Posted by kcchongnz > 2015-01-02 15:03 | Report Abuse

Posted by ttb88 > Jan 1, 2015 01:07 PM | Report Abuse
Kcchong no "ball", x dare to join the game.

What is so important that I must join the "game"?

I "no ball"? How you know?

Since exactly one year ago, I have written 91 posts in i3investor, or about two posts a week.

http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kcchongnz/

There were about half a million readerships already. Any posting in a public forum like this subject to various scrutinies and criticisms, whether constructive or malicious.

So why you said I "no ball"? What have you contributed to i3investor? How come you got more balls than me?

Something is not right about you. Go see a doctor.

Posted by growthinvestor > 2015-01-02 23:13 | Report Abuse

thank you milopanas and tan kw for compute the result.thank you again.

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-20 14:11 | Report Abuse

wow, OTB last yr also 60%

paperplane2

3,235 posts

Posted by paperplane2 > 2015-10-20 14:55 | Report Abuse

160% return in 2 year is super duper good, even for a fund manager