11 people like this.

224 comment(s). Last comment by hawkeyes82 2018-12-05 18:35

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-06-14 12:54 | Report Abuse

superb thinking !!!

(c) To grow your portfolio big time does not mean that you should act recklessly and take risky positions. Don't always think of betting big to get rich quick. It doesn't work that way. There is no direct correlation between risk taking and superior return. Be calm and steady - 80% of your time (let's say), you should have a diversified portfolio. Shop around, pick up small positions in good value stocks (3% to 5% of portfolio) to feel the pulses of the market. When the timing is right, unleash your animal spirit to try to make a killing. There is no textbook or formula on how to do it. You have to figure it out yourself, sorry.

4,281 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 12:59 | Report Abuse

I am fully agreed with this point. Don't expect any understanding from the people around you. Never ever talk this topic with others while initiating a full time investing traders as your career until you have been proven in making good returns.

Another very important factor is we must have the passion in this stock investing or trading career. Making a good returns from the stock market is simply part of the game. lolz

Extracted:
(f) Last but not least, by quiting your job and going full time investing, never allow people to accuse you of "lazing at home to play the share market". That is very demoralising. You don't deserve that. Tell yourself that you are starting a business. In a certain sense, that is true. You are coming up with sizable capital to nurture something so that one day you can reap huge economic benefits out of it. If that is not business, then what is business ? Treating full time investing as a business will give you a sense of direction and vitality. It makes you feel good. A positive mindset enhances your chance of success.

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 13:15 | Report Abuse

great to have a lot of optimism on investing in stocks....

but always be reminded, the median of normal Bell curve of return is probably at 6.6% like rchi had said....

you can obtain such return only if you fall into the average category..

for newbies expect 50% loss the first few years...

If one goes to go full time with a more than 1.5M capital, its more important to ensure you have enough experience in stock market (at least 5 years i guess) with making at least 1M out of that 1.5M you made is from the market before resigning...

prove it to yourself u are great first before thinking you can be great...

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 13:35 | Report Abuse

after reaching the threshold of 1M, u need to start diversifying a lot more..

peppapig

21 posts

Posted by peppapig > 2018-06-14 13:38 | Report Abuse

targeted audience article, kikikikik. thanks

how you come out with your initial capital ? at what age you did that ?

since you mentioned it at your concluding remark (1) - "It depends on many factors such as your age, your annual finanical needs, the ease of you getting back to work force, etc (if it is very easy for you to get back your job, you can go full time investing even if you have only RM100,000 capital, right ? "

you worked with IB prior wasn't it until you go full time?

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-06-14 13:42 | Report Abuse

Probability,for every movie star born there were hundreds of thousands of hopefuls who get their dreams quashed.
Altho the odds of investing/trading are far better,like 5 % will make it,how many of this 5 % will really shine.
Hope those contemplating on investing as a career think hard before starting.
For me,i personally think one has to be extremely interested in the markets as a start.
Only then,one will be capable to think of ways to defeat Mr Market after a period of time.

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-06-14 13:45 | Report Abuse

I was invited to give a talk to interns of a major stockbroker few months back.I gently turned down the lady director and told her "let them lose some money,that is the fastest way to learn".

Posted by Acupuncture > 2018-06-14 13:45 | Report Abuse

I never thought to retire or someday something change my mind..

Posted by Icon8888 > 2018-06-14 13:46 | Report Abuse

peppapig I last time worked for klinik 1Malaysia as a gynae

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-06-14 13:47 | Report Abuse

ICON shared his experience and knowledge. Appreciate that.

peppapig

21 posts

Posted by peppapig > 2018-06-14 13:47 | Report Abuse

hahahaha...looks like this 5% is the magic percentage in most of the sectors

becoming boss, also almost the 5%

successful in MLM & insurance agent also around 5%

actually arh...since this 5% figure is everywhere. I think developing correct mentality toward this 5% might be the keys.

peppapig

21 posts

Posted by peppapig > 2018-06-14 13:48 | Report Abuse

Posted by Icon8888 > Jun 14, 2018 01:46 PM | Report Abuse

peppapig I last time worked for klinik 1Malaysia as a gynae

holy shit!

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-06-14 13:51 | Report Abuse

not true. i ask my fren, u know what he said?

wait malaysia gooding first, then only i come back

Posted by qqq3 > Jun 14, 2018 12:17 PM | Report Abuse

Businessman Lee Kim Yew has high hopes for the month-old Pakatan Harapan government, and more so for an end to the country’s persistent “brain drain” problem.

Lee, who criticised the former BN administration in the lead-up to the 14th general election, shared how young Malaysians overseas had recently been telling him of their desire to return home to serve the country.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-06-14 13:53 | Report Abuse

aiya, turn out just advice after advice, no wonder selling advice is more profitable than taking one these days

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-14 13:53 | Report Abuse

If you are young still an work, never be a full time investor

Icon is just sharing with you a right investing attitude

Icon already advised you to take shares trading as doing business

Then

Which business on earth is sure to make money

It is only can make money

That is why he said you need 1.5 M

When you have 1.5m, then you can afford to lose

Only if you can afford to lose, then you will not be defeated by the market

Learnt?

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-06-14 13:53 | Report Abuse

i'd rather conduct seminars and training on trading than to earn from trading consistently

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 13:55 | Report Abuse

Can also conduct e-meeting and cohort...can earn some money or worst comes to worst at least few cups of free coffee

Posted by shortinvestor77 > 2018-06-14 13:55 | Report Abuse

Ayoyo To be honest, generating 7% returns pa is pretty meek for the risk taken.. But it's also an honest article on the daunting headwinds one face when trading for a living... Making 2% per trade is certainly easier than trying to do 200% bagger.... But if making that 2% makes for one to overtrade and shoots anything that moves, that'd be an early wake for your trading venture

I'm a scalper cum momentum trader.. My returns have averaged between 50 to 150% pa.. My Trading velocity (volume) is very high.. Sometimes, could be up to 4 times my capital in a month... I hold very little long term positions and I'm on cash 70% of the time... I will never bag the multi baggers of otb or kyy but that's alright.. I have my own edge and I'm not sorry about it
14/06/2018 11:22

Can Ayoyo also share your experience and knowledge as a full time trader through an article? TQ.

peppapig

21 posts

Posted by peppapig > 2018-06-14 13:56 | Report Abuse

@icon, test you abit ar, since you say you was a gynae.

Internal term used by gynae "vegetable" means what ?

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 13:58 | Report Abuse

why don't sailang $ 500,000 all in into Sendai.....that may launch you into employment free worries.....

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 14:00 | Report Abuse

Alex™ > Jun 14, 2018 01:51 PM | Report Abuse

not true. i ask my fren, u know what he said?

wait malaysia gooding first, then only i come back
==========

early bird catches the worm.

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Jun 14, 2018 01:58 PM | Report Abuse

why don't sailang $ 500,000 all in into Sendai.....that may launch you into employment free worries.....

I think chances of becoming a stupid idiot cursed by an oldman is more likely

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

I think new era Malaysia is the best country in the world.

tecpower

3,536 posts

Posted by tecpower > 2018-06-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

Normally you should diversify your postfolio by investing in completely different sectors, but I'm interested in diversifying my portfolio in an abnormal way that does not depend on sectors.

peppapig

21 posts

Posted by peppapig > 2018-06-14 14:01 | Report Abuse

confirmed you was not gynae kcloh....hahahaha

don't blame the university...

by they way, i'm not leno.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 14:02 | Report Abuse

charles....

I offered an option.....a good option too.

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-06-14 14:03 | Report Abuse

KC Loh...long time din hear this nic d....lol

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:04 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Jun 14, 2018 02:02 PM | Report Abuse

charles....

I offered an option.....a good option too

Better invest in Annjoo....or Lionind (if u like Koon Bee) for 6m to 12M

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 14:05 | Report Abuse

KESM i keep very little. Its for longterm as i think it stands benefit when more and more cars use semi conduct

About cyclical play, it is normally 3 years to 5 years. I have earned the first round on Annjoo. Now I guess Lionind much undervalued.

Last time I rmemeber lumber cycle, Lingui if you all can still remember. It returns 400% in 2-3years time. I made mistake selling too early near 100%....
So I say it still got some leg, because policy on tariff is until 2020. 2019 will still be ok at least, I guess. 2020 I will start selling, which might or might not be their peak.

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2018-06-14 14:05 | Report Abuse

So why did a gynae become an investor?Can get more high than looking at ladies ....

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:05 | Report Abuse

ok la... since we are i3 members...we are more intelligent than the whole market and the super rich retirees playing tikam on Bursa...

yes - we shall consistently make more than 20% return from the market!

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 14:09 | Report Abuse

Posted by rchi > Jun 14, 2018 01:45 PM | Report Abuse

I was invited to give a talk to interns of a major stockbroker few months back.I gently turned down the lady director and told her "let them lose some money,that is the fastest way to learn".
============================
wise words from rchi. Some ppl really need to learn from school of hard knocks.

Only when you bang yourself to wall only you realised

ongmari

2,003 posts

Posted by ongmari > 2018-06-14 14:10 | Report Abuse

i just wonder why i keep losing since i started over traded in 1996..97....again in 2001...then in 2013..almost 500k gone + interests 100k? ...now from ground zero...re starts...

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:12 | Report Abuse

Posted by ongmari > Jun 14, 2018 02:10 PM | Report Abuse

i just wonder why i keep losing since i started over traded in 1996..97....again in 2001...then in 2013..almost 500k gone + interests 100k? ...now from ground zero...re starts...

After 20 years+ in the mkt n yet u dont understand why u cant make money then maybe u shouldnt be in the mkt at all

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:13 | Report Abuse

we need him charles...if not we cannot make 20%/yr

davidtslim

130 posts

Posted by davidtslim > 2018-06-14 14:14 | Report Abuse

Icon: Good article. I practicing similar strategy as per your articles in the last two years.

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:15 | Report Abuse

Posted by CharlesT > Jun 14, 2018 02:13 PM | Report Abuse X

Or pass yr money to let Ooi Teck Bee manage...just like what Koon did since 2014

I personally think that KoonBee (Stock Code 003) is the best stock Koon has ever invested so far

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:18 | Report Abuse

whats that stock code 003?...cannot find

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 14:25 |

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 14:26 | Report Abuse

not making any money...and no losses in 2018 already outperform most people.

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

Posted by qqq3 > Jun 14, 2018 02:25 PM | Report Abuse

clearly 2018 , KYY has out performed OTB....and perhaps out performed most people .......

Can see can song but cannot realise....lol

By year end OTB's performance shall improve if his Steel makes a come back which I think is very likely

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:27 | Report Abuse

wei..its works both ways... Koon acts as a catalyst to unlock the value of stock 003...then its shoots up lor...

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:28 | Report Abuse

We need to convince Koon on steel stocks..he is adamantly against liao!! :(

Posted by CharlesT > 2018-06-14 14:30 | Report Abuse

Posted by probability > Jun 14, 2018 02:28 PM | Report Abuse

We need to convince Koon on steel stocks..he isar adamantly against liao!! :(

We saw Lionind moves few hundred percent higher without koon early this year

But with Koon sure will be easier n faster lah..like Heng Yuan last year

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 14:31 | Report Abuse

FD is the best return so far in 2018.

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:31 | Report Abuse

no worries on steel...its KAMBING very soon..stay tuned.

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:41 | Report Abuse

China is the monster driving force...u cant stop this tsunami effects.

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-06-14 14:44 | Report Abuse

oi, why session break? now already 2.44pm

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 14:44 | Report Abuse

Its forming a large vacuum on steel output.......

myongcc5

708 posts

Posted by myongcc5 > 2018-06-14 14:45 | Report Abuse

Unles u hv possess these following 5 qualities,only then u can b full time investor:

1 Knowledge (able to do good analysis of any stock)
2 Experience (gone thru economic cycles)
3 $$$$$ (the more , the merrier)
4 Balanced Emotion (between greed n fear)
5 Maturity (being considerate)

All the best n happy holidays!!