good for u, i need to find 1.5mil also

Posted by ITreeinvestor > 2018-06-14 10:27 | Report Abuse

Maybe need another article. How to get 1.5mil

Posted by Invest_Sensibly > 2018-06-14 10:33 | Report Abuse

Great talk by icon8888

Posted by Icon8888 > 2018-06-14 10:37 | Report Abuse

in a certain sense, you guys are correct. Full Time Investing is not as glamorous as it looked. Many are forced into doing it (like prostitution haha) because of career dead end etc. If you are still young, have room to grow (career advancement, expertise, etc), you should stick to your job. Full time investing is actually the last resort

==========================

abu wait. let me find 1.5mil first
14/06/2018 10:19

Alex™ good for u, i need to find 1.5mil also
14/06/2018 10:26

ITreeinvestor Maybe need another article. How to get 1.5mil
14/06/2018 10:27

12,591 posts

Posted by Alex™ > 2018-06-14 10:38 | Report Abuse

i dun care, i want skim cepat kaya

just give me stock pick that huat 38 times in 2 days

Posted by cheoky > 2018-06-14 10:44 | Report Abuse

Come jb. I treat u Kari ikan talapia. U let me tap your wisdom.

Posted by Fabien Extraordinaire > 2018-06-14 10:53 | Report Abuse

mine is 4mil before i can quit my job.

NOBY

936 posts

Posted by NOBY > 2018-06-14 11:11 | Report Abuse

Really inspiring. Thanks !

Beary

1,553 posts

Posted by Beary > 2018-06-14 11:12 | Report Abuse

Very irresponsible article.

Icon has gone bonker due to lack of love and affection.

Chong Hon

110 posts

Posted by Chong Hon > 2018-06-14 11:16 | Report Abuse

i need 2 to 3 m, this is what i want before. Thanks for sharing

Ayoyo

379 posts

Posted by Ayoyo > 2018-06-14 11:22 | Report Abuse

To be honest, generating 7% returns pa is pretty meek for the risk taken.. But it's also an honest article on the daunting headwinds one face when trading for a living... Making 2% per trade is certainly easier than trying to do 200% bagger.... But if making that 2% makes for one to overtrade and shoots anything that moves, that'd be an early wake for your trading venture

I'm a scalper cum momentum trader.. My returns have averaged between 50 to 150% pa.. My Trading velocity (volume) is very high.. Sometimes, could be up to 4 times my capital in a month... I hold very little long term positions and I'm on cash 70% of the time... I will never bag the multi baggers of otb or kyy but that's alright.. I have my own edge and I'm not sorry about it

Posted by soojinhou > 2018-06-14 11:24 | Report Abuse

You have dissapointed a lot of ppl today by saying 1.5m is the number to shoot for. And I agree with u, anything less will be quite scary should big bear comes visit.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 11:35 | Report Abuse

It’s a high barrier of entry to come up cash upfront at least 1.5 million. We can lower barrier through past track successfully records. If you can grow your capital from 100k to 500k in less than past 10 years, it shouldn’t be a problem to go for full time investing or trading with capital barely 500k. Of course, we may need some passive income or savings to support family expenses for next 2 years to be conservative.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 11:40 | Report Abuse

or you can start small and work your way up....

say one third will do....

that means portfolio of $ 500,000 instead of $ 1.5 million.

you can margin/ gear up.

that means $ 250,000 will do........

KYY says he started with $ 300,000.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 11:40 | Report Abuse

but be warned...the timing is no good.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 11:42 | Report Abuse

if you sailang $ 500,000 into one stock......

$ 500,000 is enough capital for a decent operation.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 11:46 | Report Abuse

Don’t expect fast money from Bursa all the time in the crisis market. We may not able earn a single cent in 6 or 12 months but the returns is tremendous once we have gone through this critical period. It’s not advisable to simply jump into full time if one without backing with good records....Don’t underestimate the bear power..crushing our confidence.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 11:47 | Report Abuse

good one Icon

Posted by DisCiPline > 2018-06-14 11:49 | Report Abuse

Protect capital is much important than thinking to make tons of money at the moment, how to full time wor

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 11:50 | Report Abuse

up down has wise wording.

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 11:53 | Report Abuse

by Fortune Bull > Jun 14, 2018 11:49 AM | Report Abuse

Worst still, Pakatan leaders are directionless! LGE more interested to create tension in the market! Mahathir with his silly ideas! If this two head are imcompetent, then who's going to create positive environment for capital market! I have no idea and no confidence at the moment!
=============

you do not understand ...that good government does not mean market up immediately. Rome is not built in a day. Biggest chaos is always at end of old regime and beginning of new regime.

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 11:55 | Report Abuse

The pressure of full time investing or trading is rather different from freelance. Self psychology management is important to keep us moving forward and no looking back. Keep working hard to look for opportunities even though blocks are ahead of us.

Ricky Yeo

Posted by Ricky Yeo > 2018-06-14 11:58 | Report Abuse

To become a full time investor is first to have the ability to accumulate and compound wealth, which means first is to focus on not losing over winning big, on what not to do over what to do. That is - not doing stupid things. Not doing stupid things translate to making good decisions over the long term. That require a huge dose of humility, to acknowledge the limit of ones knowledge, to know what you don't know. In other words, trade less, don't put ego in your position, and don't check the share price everyday. They sound simple, that's why it is call stupid things - because it is hard.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 11:59 | Report Abuse

But the drought finally ended when the stocks I picked started bearing fruits (12 months after I quit my job). And the profit came in like a flood. It not only replenished my depleted capital base, but also allowed me to cover some of my future expenses. The feeling of relief is priceless. I will forever remember it.

Csn share more or not for this? 1 stock or few stocks strike the day?

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 12:01 | Report Abuse

Bull Bro, I compare Annjoo vs Lionind, still thinks Lionind got more upside.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 12:02 | Report Abuse

Lionind-my estimation
EY ROC
25.2% 15.85%

Annjoo-my estimation
EY ROC
10.7% 19.47%

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:03 | Report Abuse

y Fortune Bull > Jun 14, 2018 11:58 AM | Report Abuse

China is the new Rome! China build roads, rail and sea links so that one fine day, they are more powerful than Rome! You do you because of roads built by the romans, they conquer so many countries! Only in Malaysia we have bunch of incompetents who want to cancel all the infrastructure projects just to satisfy their little ego!
=======

you saying lets keep the dance and music going a bit longer....

the country is saying enough is enough, no more dance and music ...back to basics.

4,857 posts

Posted by Sslee > 2018-06-14 12:05 | Report Abuse

I wish to see more people attending AGM, get to know your business partner, ask the hard questions and if suspect red flag, hold auditor and major shareholder accountable and report to Bursa and SC.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 12:05 | Report Abuse

yet, it current COF sustainable, Lionind is churning like 0.35 per share, per annum (compare 0.88 share price now) v.s Annjoo churning like 0.66 per share, per annum (compare share price 2.25 now)

Purely on numbers Lionind seems upper hand, but Annjoo paid high div yields with fast inventories turnover, Lionind is stingy on dividend, and own parkson which keep bleeding past few quarters.

hard decisions

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:08 |

filidon

634 posts

Posted by filidon > 2018-06-14 12:08 | Report Abuse

Good one, nice sharing Icon Sifu. Financially independent is always my Lifetime goal. This article let me have a different perspective of thinking.

tftey

326 posts

Posted by tftey > 2018-06-14 12:14 | Report Abuse

Good article. Well done Icon8888

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 12:16 | Report Abuse

Fortune Bull. Foreign funds keeps selling Bursa shares like no tomorrow after GE 14. Lolz. They still hold RM 11 billion value of shares as at now. I would expect them to liquidate their position in next few months. Pressure in RM is seen after FF exited RM 6 billion in a month. Expect RM to go lower in short term so certain export related counters are back to investor radar...opportunities.

Posted by Fortune Bull > Jun 14, 2018 11:49 AM | Report Abuse

Worst still, Pakatan leaders are directionless! LGE more interested to create tension in the market! Mahathir with his silly ideas! If this two head are imcompetent, then who's going to create positive environment for capital market! I have no idea and no confidence at the moment!

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:17 | Report Abuse

Businessman Lee Kim Yew has high hopes for the month-old Pakatan Harapan government, and more so for an end to the country’s persistent “brain drain” problem.

Lee, who criticised the former BN administration in the lead-up to the 14th general election, shared how young Malaysians overseas had recently been telling him of their desire to return home to serve the country.

Beary

1,553 posts

Posted by Beary > 2018-06-14 12:18 | Report Abuse

I guess Icon is just testing the water while he considers relaunching his short lived subscription service.

Yup, unlike dabbling in the stock market, subscription service is a sure win business.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 12:18 | Report Abuse

Hi qqq3 bro. Ya. Many says steel no good with mega project cancel. But i think long-term govt will still invest to dev infrastructures. With policy of tarriff still in tact, i hope next yr alsp steel ca. Continue performs

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:19 | Report Abuse

plane......such shares, you buy when results are poor and about to turn around....you don't buy when results are excellent.

21,546 posts

Posted by paperplane > 2018-06-14 12:20 | Report Abuse

I zfill think export can continue perform ok. Malaysia need exports to help the nation. With slightly lower currency below 4 will be helpful

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:25 | Report Abuse

plane

long term sustainable growth is worth a lot of money....long term certainty of earnings is worth a lot of money.....

cyclical shares when they produce excellent results is time to sell....not time to buy........

Posted by qqq3 > 2018-06-14 12:28 | Report Abuse

exports is always a productive sector....but potentially a lot of difficulties, difficult to find good investments....have to be very accurate.

too obvious, ....and any time can be sold down without warning.

huat stock

2,797 posts

Posted by huat stock > 2018-06-14 12:29 | Report Abuse

No worth to read, wasting time...not practical

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 12:33 | Report Abuse

Be aware of RM depreciation in near future due to foreign funds exiting Malaysia market. It may affect import related companies bottom lines..

FF position in Bursa
Year 2014 - Sold RM 6.9 billion ( Forex USD 3.5 )
Year 2015 - Sold RM 19.5 billion ( Forex USD 4.292 )
Year 2016 - Sold RM 3 billion ( Forex USD 4.485 )
Year 2017 - Bought RM 10 billion ( Forex USD 4.059 )
Year 2018 until now - Sold RM 3.6 billion ( Forex USD 3.992 )

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-14 12:33 | Report Abuse

what icon said is correct

shares trading is a rich man game

you need more money to win

remember,

MARKET DID NOT DEFEAT YOU, YOU ARE DEFEATED BY YOU OWN DISTRESSES

i bought Ekovest @0.90

but I still have money to buy at 0.60

if my target is just 20%

with its solid asset backing ,no right thinking mind will think this is an impossible mission.

you need million to make another million

but you do not need a million , just need a good plan to make a 20% gain

the problem is how long can you wait

how strong can you overcome you own distress

4,283 posts

Posted by Up_down > 2018-06-14 12:39 | Report Abuse

Paperplane. Anymore legs in your multi bagger, KESM?

Mytrd

617 posts

Posted by Mytrd > 2018-06-14 12:42 | Report Abuse

Good sharing from icon

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 12:44 | Report Abuse

now i have just reached 0.99 M...please recommend 1 jackpot stock which can give a return of 50% in just few months..

i desperately need to resign quickly now!

tak boleh tahan already...

Halite

8,633 posts

Posted by Halite > 2018-06-14 12:47 | Report Abuse

icon just sharing with you a general theory and you thank him a lot

I share with you a more specific plan with a good pick

there isn't any sign of gratitude

that is why many choose to talk nonsense than sharing good view

Posted by probability > 2018-06-14 12:48 | Report Abuse

ekovest boleh 50% gain ke?

lizi

1,968 posts

Posted by lizi > 2018-06-14 12:52 | Report Abuse

wisdom !!!

qqq3 plane

long term sustainable growth is worth a lot of money....long term certainty of earnings is worth a lot of money.....

cyclical shares when they produce excellent results is time to sell....not time to buy........
14/06/2018 12:25