84 comment(s). Last comment by Philip ( buy what you understand) 2022-01-26 21:17

Powerplay666

1,023 posts

Posted by Powerplay666 > 2022-01-23 11:35 | Report Abuse

Totally in agreement. Tech is definitely not the play for this year. Locally I like MSC, Focus Lumber and Ancom a lot. More than 70% portfolio heavy on the above currently.

Posted by stockraider > 2022-01-23 11:38 | Report Abuse

Remember your best defense agst inflation n mkt crash is to invest in palm oil stock loh!

2,946 posts

Posted by gohkimhock > 2022-01-23 13:11 | Report Abuse

Philips is the only one sifu I respect in i3 forum. The others are all garbage with own personal agenda and selfish..

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-23 13:18 | Report Abuse

Philip is ok lah...not to say very good but at least not a bad ass

Posted by CharlesT > 2022-01-23 13:24 | Report Abuse

Good sifus like KC Chong n Icon8888 etc left quite some time ago...

Now I3 is very quiet

Posted by probability > 2022-01-23 13:32 | Report Abuse

only Charlest sifu surviving...proven the fittest...most adaptive...just like sifu OTB..does not matter black or white cat..as long as can catch the rat

Posted by probability > 2022-01-23 13:35 | Report Abuse

myself left clueless on what is the strategy that works in bursa...simple PE 10 thesis appears to be hidden in the sand for now...as future earnings prediction became increasingly difficult...

i believe with the tech stocks dropping some sanity on valuation will appear to bursa

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:38 | Report Abuse

What! Steel price is dropping! Phillip, you must be kidding! Another 2 months, you find people screaming and shouting of limited steel supply! Have you look at steel futures lately!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:40 | Report Abuse

China is reducing steel production, by force! I wonder where did your 'friends' get their supply from China!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:41 | Report Abuse

Even Japan already anticipate steel supply crunch! They are buying steel factories in Thailand!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:44 | Report Abuse

Basically Phillip will miss out on oil and steel one year rally!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:48 | Report Abuse

The world is not crashing! Only US markets are in for super major correction! Why, because after holding rate for long time, printing money like no tomorrow, and feeding Dow Nasdaq until waaaaaayy overvalue!
I mean, i thought Dow could only go as far as 20k points! I mean, nobody thought it would go to 35k points!
Since Fed is hiking rate 3 times this year, you looking at Dow going back to 20k points again even lower!
As for inflation, it's self inflicted! I mean, US has been printing money faster than newspaper! Basically, dollar is cheaper than a piece of your daily dose of hardcopy news!
So now they trying to make dollar valueable again by increasing rate! Hence inflation will go down! It's just basic economics for you!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:50 | Report Abuse

So dollar will strengthen but you won't notice it! Price of goods will not go down! But value goes up quietly! Meaning, price of goods will remain stagnant with very little increase over the years!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:52 | Report Abuse

As for your 'friends' who bought Rolex, Rolex has been favorite among the rich for decades! It's not something new!
Yeah, sure, Rolex price continues to go up! But i tell you, if you buy Rolex today, finding buyer tomorrow is quite hard! You need to go to middlemen to sell your Rolex! And of course middlemen want some cut!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:53 | Report Abuse

Or you can try and sell you Rolex in social media directly to potential buyers! Only to find scammers all over you!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 13:58 | Report Abuse

By the way, there's no inflation theme stocks! I don't know where you get this idea! Theme are for stocks that go up! Not stocks that will go down! I think you got it wrong!

Posted by Marigold123 > 2022-01-23 14:05 | Report Abuse

Adjustable mentality & cognitive towards acceptable real factors

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2022-01-23 14:13 | Report Abuse

Every trader or investor worth their salt should know the no.1 rule..."never fight the fed".Further this rally frm the lows of march 2020 was purely fueled by liquidity.Those techs,which fetched pe's of up to 100 is just another hype,when powell sneezed techs caught the cold.

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2022-01-23 14:15 | Report Abuse

Wait for the dust to settle.For now cash is king.If you know how to short the index,you can short some fkli futures.

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:16 | Report Abuse

Property
Property
Property

Always a good investment to hedge against inflation

rchi

20,912 posts

Posted by rchi > 2022-01-23 14:19 | Report Abuse

Yes,charlest is good.He is the one to watch.

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:19 | Report Abuse

I like to invest in properties. ROI good

hahahaha but definitely not like stockraider who making money out of poor people

Hehehehehe

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:21 | Report Abuse

If you want to buy property now, go to auction! Not worth buying new ones! Already overinflated price! No margin even if you hold for 5 years!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:22 | Report Abuse

I bought properties in Johor few years back! Best decision ever! Didn't expect during this few years gone up so much!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:25 | Report Abuse

I bought like 5 landed in Johor! Gone up by 40% in less than 5 years!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:25 | Report Abuse

Tobby few years back means 2014 ??

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:26 | Report Abuse

I was thinking of selling them off before Covid, fortunately all are rented so i KIV! Thanked goodness i didn't sell back then!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:27 | Report Abuse

Uncensored! No! That's way to far!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:28 | Report Abuse

Around 2016, 2017 and the last one 2018!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:29 | Report Abuse

those who bought after 2015 could still have great capital gain ???

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:29 | Report Abuse

Started buying in Johor as i started selling the ones in KL!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:29 | Report Abuse

Posted by uncensored > Jan 23, 2022 2:29 PM | Report Abuse

those who bought after 2015 could still have great capital gain ???

Answer : Yeah! But those who bought in 2019 and beyond, not so good!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:30 | Report Abuse

However, i bought landed ones in open market not auction! If i bought in auction, i think i would made a killing!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:32 | Report Abuse

well not if you bought a property in Iskandar Johor...

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:33 | Report Abuse

Basically all needed some refurbishment! But nothing major, just repair here and there! And no contractor involve, all done directly by those you know who! I mean, why give fat margin to contractors when the workers can get better pay directly!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:34 | Report Abuse

Posted by uncensored > Jan 23, 2022 2:32 PM | Report Abuse

well not if you bought a property in Iskandar Johor...

Answer : Dude! Yeah! In Johor you need to be mindful! Do you homework before buying to sell back!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:35 | Report Abuse

I like commercial property more than resident property.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:36 | Report Abuse

Commercial a bit too high for me! But yeah, better of course!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:41 | Report Abuse

For commercial property during the bull runs in 2011 to 2015 could give you a ROI of 1,000% (based on initial capital invested ) when you sold off.

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:44 | Report Abuse

If based on property price the ROI is 200 to 300%

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:52 | Report Abuse

Yeah, if you bought back your property back in 2005, you are laughing all the way to the bank! 2011 to 2015 was the best time to sell!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 14:53 | Report Abuse

Anyway, i don't see much value if you buy nowadays! Auction yeah! New ones, no!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 14:58 | Report Abuse

Only problem is that in Auction there is a lot of hidden costs.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:07 | Report Abuse

Yeah, you are responsible for unpaid bills! So do you homework before buying auction one!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:09 | Report Abuse

That's why i only go for landed for auction! I mean, overdue council fee quite manageable! For apartments, not so! Need to settle management fee! Water and electricity too!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 15:09 | Report Abuse

especially if the ex owner refused to move out of the house.

One things lack in Malaysia is the law on Landlord & Tenant Act

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:10 | Report Abuse

Yeah! That's why you need to personal look at the property if it's occupy or vacant! If occupy by ex owner, a bit of problem!

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:11 | Report Abuse

By law you can charge the ex owner rental! Or seek a lawyer to get the police to ask them to move out! Another pain there!

uncensored

2,694 posts

Posted by uncensored > 2022-01-23 15:12 | Report Abuse

Malaysia should have a regulation on Landlord & Tenant.

Posted by Tobby > 2022-01-23 15:12 | Report Abuse

That's why better to check if it's vacant first! Vacant ones are so much easier!